DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 5 of the claim, the term “the main damping piston” should read –the damper piston—to be consistent with the previous claim terminology for this element of the invention. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 3,831,626 to Peddinghaus.
Regarding Claim 1, Peddinghaus discloses a fluid redirection system (see Figures 1-4) comprising: a damper piston 9, the damper piston 9 having a plurality of compression ports and a plurality of rebound ports 5-8 (see Figures 1, 3, and 4 and column 3 lines 3-14); and a fluid ramp 13’,13” on a first side of the damper piston 9 (i.e., the portion of the piston on the left side of piston rod 1 in Figures 1-4), the fluid ramp 13’,13” being of a shape that creates an angled exit for fluid exiting the damper piston 9 (see Figures 1-4 and column 3 lines 17-39).
Regarding Claim 2, Peddinghaus further discloses that the fluid ramp 13’ consists of a round ramp (see Figure 2 and the rounded end of edge 15).
Regarding Claim 3, Peddinghaus further discloses that the fluid ramp 13” consists of a beveled ramp (see Figure 4 and ramp portion 13”).
Regarding Claim 4, Peddinghaus further discloses that the fluid ramp 13’ consists of a square ramp (see Figure 1 and the squared edges at element 13’).
Regarding Claim 5, Peddinghaus further discloses that the fluid ramp 13’,13” is not present all around the entire edge of the damper piston 9 but rather the locations are based on where fluid flows when exiting the plurality of compression ports and the plurality of rebound ports 5-8 (see Figure 1 and Claim 1 of the reference, wherein groove portions 13’,13” don’t extend across the entire width of piston 9).
Regarding Claim 6, Peddinghaus further discloses that the fluid ramp 13’,13” redirects fluid flow to merge more seamlessly with the boundary layer along a wall of a cylinder (as implied from column 1 line 61 – column 2 line 4).
Regarding Claim 7, Peddinghaus further discloses a second fluid ramp 13’ on a second side of the damper piston 9 (i.e., the portion of the piston on the right side of piston rod 1 in Figures 1-4), the second fluid ramp 13’ being of a shape that creates an angled exit for fluid exiting the damper piston 9 (see Figures 1-4).
Regarding Claim 8, see Claims 1 and 7 above.
Regarding Claim 9, see Claim 2 above.
Regarding Claim 10, see Claim 3 above.
Regarding Claim 11, see Claim 4 above.
Regarding Claim 12, see Claim 5 above.
Regarding Claim 13, see Claim 6 above.
Regarding Claim 14, Peddinghaus discloses a suspension system (see Figures 1-4) having a cylinder, the cylinder comprising a wall (inherently present and housing the piston assembly of the reference), a piston shaft 1, a damper piston 9 coupled to the piston shaft 1 and configured for operation within the cylinder (see Figures 1-4), the damper piston 9 configured to divide the cylinder into a compression side and a rebound side (inherently forming part of the shock assembly of the reference), the damper piston 9 having a plurality of compression ports and rebound ports 5-8 (see Figures 1, 3, and 4 and column 3 lines 3-14), and a fluid ramp 13’,13” on a first side of the damper piston 9 (i.e., the portion of the piston on the left side of piston rod 1 in Figures 1-4), the fluid ramp 13’,13” being of a shape that creates an angled exit for fluid exiting the damper piston 9 (see Figures 1-4 and column 3 lines 17-39).
Regarding Claim 15, see Claim 2 above.
Regarding Claim 16, see Claim 3 above.
Regarding Claim 17, see Claim 4 above.
Regarding Claim 18, see Claim 5 above.
Regarding Claim 19, see Claim 6 above.
Regarding Claim 20, see Claim 7 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. 3,199,636 to Bourcier de Carbon, U.S. Patent No. 9,879,777 to Kobayashi et al., and Japanese Patent No. JP 5922948 all disclose fluid redirection systems similar to applicant’s.
PAMELA RODRIGUEZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/PAMELA RODRIGUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616 01/21/26