DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Response dated 10/29/2025. Claims 1 and 3-19 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. All pending claims therefore have an effective filing date of 7/7/2023.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments, see page 8 of 13, filed 10/29/2025, with respect to claim objections of claims 1, 14, and 16; the 112(a) rejection of claim 17; and all 112(b) rejections with the exception of claims 10, 13, and 14 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections of claims 1, 14, and 16 have been withdrawn; the 112(a) rejection of claim 17 has been withdrawn; and all 112(b) rejections with the exception of claims 10, 13, and 14 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments, see page 8 of 13, filed 10/29/2025, with respect to claim objections of claims 8 and 13; the 112(a) rejection of claim 10; and the 112(b) rejections of claims 10, 13, and 14 have been fully considered and but are not persuasive. The claim objections of claims 8 and 13; the 112(a) rejection of claim 10; and the 112(b) rejections of claims 10, 13, and 14 are to be maintained and are again provided below, updated, and awaiting proper correction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 9-12 of 13, filed 10/29/2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant has argued against the prior art rejection of former claim 2, now incorporated into currently presented claim 1, however the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Specifically, the Applicant has argued against the citation to secondary reference Choi, alleging that “…the expected speed of the vehicle in Choi may not qualify as the target vehicle speed…” however the Examiner notes that the “expected speed” [Choi] was mapped to align with the “current vehicle speed” [as claimed], and similarly, the “speed limit” [Choi] was mapped to align with the “target vehicle speed” [as claimed]. This mapping, as previously presented, and again presented below, renders the Applicant’s argument moot because the Examiner never cited “…the expected speed of the vehicle in Choi…” with “…the target vehicle speed…”.
A detailed rejection follows below.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 inconsistently states “…a deceleration for moving obstacles…” and “…the deceleration for the moving obstacles…”.
Claim 13 currently states “…wherein the required torque is determined by adding a slope compensation torque, on air resistance compensation torque, and a rolling resistance compensation torque to a reference torque…” which the Examiner recommends updating to instead state “…wherein the required torque is determined by adding a slope compensation torque, [ [ on ] ] an air resistance compensation torque, and a rolling resistance compensation torque to a reference torque…” so as to overcome the grammatical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 10, the claim currently states “…sliding gradient (as sliding gradient increases, distance control becomes faster)…” however “sliding gradient” is not a term one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize, and the additional information provided in parentheses does not assist with interpretation. Neither the specification nor drawings provide any additional support to assist the Examiner in understanding this term.
One of ordinary skill in the art may assume this term refers to a “coefficient of friction”, however no such terminology has been included in the Applicant’s disclosure. Similarly, according to the Applicant’s arguments (10/29/2025), the term “sliding gradient” refers to “…a control gain or a tuning parameter…”, however this does not provide adequate support for understanding. Additionally, there is no mention of gain anywhere in the Applicant’s disclosure; similarly, [0028] of the instant specification details Beta as being a tuning value, but this does not represent a sliding gradient.
Claim 11 is also rejected since the claims are dependent on a previously rejected claim.
Claims 10-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the claim currently states “…sliding gradient (as sliding gradient increases, distance control becomes faster)…” which is indefinite because a “sliding gradient” is not a term one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize, and the additional information provided in parentheses does not assist with interpretation. For the sake of compact prosecution, the Examiner will interpret the term “sliding gradient” as referring to friction.
One of ordinary skill in the art may assume this term refers to a “coefficient of friction”, however no such terminology has been included in the Applicant’s disclosure. Similarly, according to the Applicant’s arguments (10/29/2025), the term “sliding gradient” refers to “…a control gain or a tuning parameter…”, however this does not provide adequate support for understanding. Additionally, there is no mention of gain anywhere in the Applicant’s disclosure; similarly, [0028] of the instant specification details Beta as being a tuning value, but this does not represent a sliding gradient.
Regarding claim 13, the claim currently states “…wherein the required torque is determined by adding a slope compensation torque, on air resistance compensation torque, and a rolling resistance compensation torque to a reference torque, which is obtained by multiplying the target deceleration by a vehicle weight and a dynamic loaded radius of tires…” which is indefinite because it is unclear to the Examiner what exactly is obtained. The claim describes the calculation of a required torque utilizing different variables, but is not clear about what is obtained. If the “required torque” is determined via summation of variables, but then also obtained by multiplying variables, it is unclear which of the two calculations is valid.
Regarding claim 14, the claim currently states “…wherein the required torque is determined by adding a slope compensation torque and a feedback compensation torque to a reference torque, which is obtained by multiplying the target deceleration by a vehicle weight and a dynamic loaded radius of tires…” which is indefinite because it is unclear to the Examiner what exactly is obtained. The claim describes the calculation of a required torque utilizing different variables, but is not clear about what is obtained. If the “required torque” is determined via summation of variables, but then also obtained by multiplying variables, it is unclear which of the two calculations is valid.
Claims 11 and 15 are also rejected since the claims are dependent on a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US-2022/0114889; hereinafter Choi; already of record) in view of Oldridge (US-2016/0318501; already of record).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a regenerative braking control method of a vehicle (see Choi at least [0002] and [0045]), the method comprising:
…
setting a target deceleration of the vehicle to a designated deceleration … in response that a designated preliminary obstacle is not present ahead of the vehicle (see Choi at least [0051] "The controller 20 may determine the expected speed of the vehicle at the deceleration event point based on the vehicle driving information detected by the driving information detector 11 and the deceleration event information provided by the navigation device 18, and may perform control for indicating the expected speed of the vehicle. Here, the deceleration event may be the deceleration event with a prescribed speed limit, that is, a speed limit section or a speed limit camera present on a travel path, as described above. There among, the position of the speed limit section in which the expected speed of the vehicle is acquired may be a position at which a section start sign indicating section start is installed.");
determining a required torque for the vehicle to decelerate at the target deceleration (see Choi at least [0045] "The acceleration and deceleration of the vehicle may be calculated based on torque of a driving device (driving torque and regenerative torque) or the like, in which case the torque may be a torque command (an engine torque command, a motor driving torque command, or a motor regenerative torque command) for the driving device. This may be determined based on the vehicle driving information by the controller 20, and it is well known that the driving torque command, the regenerative torque command, and the like may be determined based on the vehicle driving information by the controller 20, and thus a detailed description thereof will be omitted in the specification."); and
generating the required torque in the vehicle using regenerative braking (see Choi at least [0045] "The acceleration and deceleration of the vehicle may be calculated based on torque of a driving device (driving torque and regenerative torque) or the like, in which case the torque may be a torque command (an engine torque command, a motor driving torque command, or a motor regenerative torque command) for the driving device..."),
…in response that a current vehicle speed is equal to or greater than a target vehicle speed (see Choi at least [0066] "When comparing the expected speed of the vehicle with the speed limit and predicting over speed at the forward deceleration event (the speed limit camera), the display controller 31 may warn the driver by providing an effect of changing an indicated color of the deceleration event (the speed limit camera) and the vehicle region on the road to setting color or blinking an indicated portion, as shown in FIG. 4."), the … vehicle speed being determined by adding a designated pre-input vehicle speed value to a vehicle speed at a moment that the accelerator pedal is released (see Choi at least [0052]-[0053] "FIG. 2 is a diagram for explaining a method of determining an expected speed of a vehicle in some forms of the present disclosure, and the controller 20 may determine the expected speed of the vehicle using vehicle speed information and vehicle acceleration and deceleration information that are acquired by the driving information detector 11, and the remaining distance information to the position of the deceleration event (the speed limit section, the speed limit camera, or the like) provided by the navigation device 18 according to Equation (1) below. v*=√{square root over (v.sup.2+2as)} (1). Here, v* is the expected speed of the vehicle at a deceleration event point, v is a real-time vehicle speed (an actual vehicle speed) detected while the vehicle travels after detecting the deceleration event, a is acceleration and deceleration of the vehicle, and s is the remaining distance (which is the updated remaining distance) to the forward deceleration event point from the current vehicle position.").
However, while Choi details the occurrence of a deceleration event and the implementation of a torque to decelerate the vehicle, Choi does not explicitly detail the following:
…determining, by a controller, that a designated downhill cruise condition is satisfied, in response that an accelerator pedal is released during a period of time when a regenerative braking switch is in an ON position…
…setting a target deceleration of the vehicle to a designated deceleration for downhill cruising, in response to determining that the designated downhill cruise condition is satisfied and in response that a designated preliminary obstacle is not present ahead of the vehicle…
…determining a required torque for the vehicle to decelerate at the target deceleration…
…generating the required torque in the vehicle using regenerative braking…
…wherein the designated downhill cruise condition is satisfied … a target vehicle speed…
Oldridge, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…determining, by a controller, that a designated downhill cruise condition is satisfied, in response that an accelerator pedal is released during a period of time when a regenerative braking switch is in an ON position (see Oldridge at least [0056]-[0057] "Referring again to FIG. 3 regenerative braking can slow the vehicle and recharge the batteries at a consistent rate. During regenerative braking the system controller 12 increases or decreases regenerative braking torque linearly in response to a measured vehicle mass, a downhill road grade measured by the inclinometer 38 and any increase in acceleration due to gravity, toward maintaining a target constant deceleration rate and downhill speed seamlessly with interaction required from the driver other than his brake pedal or throttle pedal actions in response to the road situation for the vehicle. Regenerative braking that is managed by the digital electronic controller would thereby enhance the charging process. The accelerator position sensor 26 would detect when the throttle pedal is released by the driver and the brake Sensor 28 would detect when the brake pedal is depressed by the driver. The system controller 12 receives this data, and uses vehicle mass to activate and control at least one regenerative braking motor acting as a generator on a drivetrain for the vehicle... Referring again to FIG. 1, braking resistors 58 are connected to the power distribution box 56 and are activated by the system controller 12 switching solid-state control relay(s) ON or OFF during regenerative braking as shown in FIG. 3, the resistors 58 are utilized when the batteries reach (X) % SOC 20, where X is a predetermined charge level of said battery pack 48. The excess kinetic energy is then dissipated into the braking resistors 58…")…
…setting a target deceleration of the vehicle to a designated deceleration for downhill cruising, in response to determining that the designated downhill cruise condition is satisfied and in response that a designated preliminary obstacle is not present ahead of the vehicle (see Oldridge at least [0056] "Referring again to FIG. 3 regenerative braking can slow the vehicle and recharge the batteries at a consistent rate. During regenerative braking the system controller 12 increases or decreases regenerative braking torque linearly in response to a measured vehicle mass, a downhill road grade measured by the inclinometer 38 and any increase in acceleration due to gravity, toward maintaining a target constant deceleration rate and downhill speed seamlessly with interaction required from the driver other than his brake pedal or throttle pedal actions in response to the road situation for the vehicle... The power management system's regenerative braking subsystem can thus enhance downhill braking and ensure vehicle safety while increasing power recovery.")…
…determining a required torque for the vehicle to decelerate at the target deceleration (see Oldridge at least [0056] "...During regenerative braking the system controller 12 increases or decreases regenerative braking torque linearly in response to a measured vehicle mass, a downhill road grade measured by the inclinometer 38 and any increase in acceleration due to gravity, toward maintaining a target constant deceleration rate and downhill speed seamlessly with interaction required from the driver other than his brake pedal or throttle pedal actions in response to the road situation for the vehicle...")…
…generating the required torque in the vehicle using regenerative braking (see Oldridge at least [0056] "Referring again to FIG. 3 regenerative braking can slow the vehicle and recharge the batteries at a consistent rate. During regenerative braking the system controller 12 increases or decreases regenerative braking torque linearly in response to a measured vehicle mass, a downhill road grade measured by the inclinometer 38 and any increase in acceleration due to gravity, toward maintaining a target constant deceleration rate and downhill speed seamlessly with interaction required from the driver other than his brake pedal or throttle pedal actions in response to the road situation for the vehicle...")…
…wherein the designated downhill cruise condition is satisfied (see Oldridge at least [0056] "Referring again to FIG. 3 regenerative braking can slow the vehicle and recharge the batteries at a consistent rate. During regenerative braking the system controller 12 increases or decreases regenerative braking torque linearly in response to a measured vehicle mass, a downhill road grade measured by the inclinometer 38 and any increase in acceleration due to gravity, toward maintaining a target constant deceleration rate and downhill speed seamlessly with interaction required from the driver other than his brake pedal or throttle pedal actions in response to the road situation for the vehicle. Regenerative braking that is managed by the digital electronic controller would thereby enhance the charging process. The accelerator position sensor 26 would detect when the throttle pedal is released by the driver and the brake Sensor 28 would detect when the brake pedal is depressed by the driver...") … a target vehicle speed (see Oldridge at least [0056] “…The electronic controller would for example maintain a target speed set by the speed of the vehicle at the time of throttle deactivation by the driver…”)…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the detection of a deceleration event and corresponding vehicle actions as disclosed by Choi with a regenerative braking switch and torque commands to achieve a desired deceleration as taught by Oldridge with a reasonable expectation of success so as to optimize the maximum amount of energy possible via regenerative braking in specific scenarios (see Oldridge at least [0009]-[0011]).
Regarding claim 17, Choi in view of Oldridge teach a regenerative braking control system of a vehicle, the system comprising:
a controller configured to execute the regenerative braking control method of claim 1 (see Choi at least Abs and [0036]),
a regenerative braking switch configured to provide a signal indicating user's selection of activation of a regenerative braking function of the vehicle to the controller (see Oldridge at least [0057] "Dynamic braking is the use of the electric traction motors of a vehicle as generators when slowing. The dynamic braking is termed rheostatic if the generated electrical power is dissipated as heat in brake grid resistors, and regenerative if the power is returned to the supply line. Referring again to FIG. 1, braking resistors 58 are connected to the power distribution box 56 and are activated by the system controller 12 switching solid-state control relay(s) ON or OFF during regenerative braking as shown in FIG. 3, the resistors 58 are utilized when the batteries reach (X) % SOC 20, where X is a predetermined charge level of said battery pack 48...");
an accelerator pedal sensor configured to detect release of the accelerator pedal and to provide information related to the accelerator pedal to the controller (see Oldridge at least [0056] "…The accelerator position sensor 26 would detect when the throttle pedal is released by the driver and the brake Sensor 28 would detect when the brake pedal is depressed by the driver. The system controller 12 receives this data, and uses vehicle mass to activate and control at least one regenerative braking motor acting as a generator on a drivetrain for the vehicle..."); and
a motor and a retarder controlled by the controller and configured to generate the required torque in the vehicle (see Choi at least [0045] "The acceleration and deceleration of the vehicle may be calculated based on torque of a driving device (driving torque and regenerative torque) or the like, in which case the torque may be a torque command (an engine torque command, a motor driving torque command, or a motor regenerative torque command) for the driving device. This may be determined based on the vehicle driving information by the controller 20, and it is well known that the driving torque command, the regenerative torque command, and the like may be determined based on the vehicle driving information by the controller 20, and thus a detailed description thereof will be omitted in the specification.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the regenerative braking control techniques as disclosed by Choi with the regenerative braking activation requests as further taught by Oldridge with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, Choi in view of Oldridge teach the regenerative braking control system of claim 17, further including:
a navigation system configured to provide information related to speed cameras ahead on a road on which the vehicle is running (see Choi at least [0050] "The navigation device 18 may provide the deceleration event information of the forward side of the vehicle along with the current position information while the vehicle travels in the state in which a driver sets a destination and a travel path to the destination is generated. Here, the deceleration event information may include position information of a speed limit section and a speed limit camera ahead of the vehicle on the travel path, a prescribed speed limit, and the remaining distance information to the position of the deceleration event (the speed limit section, the speed limit camera, or the like) from the current vehicle position."); and
at least one of a front camera or a front radio detection and ranging (RADAR) configured to detect information related to preceding vehicles ahead on the road on which the vehicle is running (see Choi at least [0048] "…In detail, the preceding vehicle detector 17 may include a radio detection and ranging (RADAR) sensor or a laser detection and ranging (LADAR) sensor installed in the vehicle...").
Claims 3-9, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Oldridge as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Petridis et al. (US-2024/0270251; hereinafter Petridis; already of record).
Regarding claim 3, Choi in view of Oldridge teach the regenerative braking control method of claim 1, wherein, upon concluding that the designated downhill cruise condition is not satisfied (see Oldridge at least [0052] "Adaptive power management is used while the vehicle is driving, for instance if the vehicle is driving downhill then the power requirements [kW] are substantially less and the power available can be scaled back further depending on the road grade measured by the inclinometer 38. As shown by the plot in FIG. 4, the power required to drive an electric vehicle up a 3% Grade 102 is substantially higher than 0% Grade 104, and substantially lower if driven down a −3% Grade 106. Also shown in FIG. 4 is the fact that more power is required to operate an electric vehicle as its mass increases, as measured by the vehicle mass sensor 36."), the target deceleration is … determined depending on a slope of a road on which the vehicle is running (see Oldridge at least [0052] "Adaptive power management is used while the vehicle is driving, for instance if the vehicle is driving downhill then the power requirements [kW] are substantially less and the power available can be scaled back further depending on the road grade measured by the inclinometer 38…" and [0056] "...During regenerative braking the system controller 12 increases or decreases regenerative braking torque linearly in response to a measured vehicle mass, a downhill road grade measured by the inclinometer 38 and any increase in acceleration due to gravity, toward maintaining a target constant deceleration rate and downhill speed seamlessly with interaction required from the driver other than his brake pedal or throttle pedal actions in response to the road situation for the vehicle...") and the designated preliminary obstacle (see Choi at least [0067] "For example, when a vehicle travels at a speed of 100 km/h on a road with a speed limit of 80 km/h and then receives information on the speed limit camera 500 m ahead the speed limit camera to decelerate the vehicle, if the expected speed of the vehicle at the position of a speed limit camera after 500 m, the vehicle may be predicted to be in an over speed state at the position of the speed limit camera...").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the regenerative braking control method as disclosed by Choi with slope determinations such as further taught by Oldridge with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 1.
However, neither, while the combined teachings of Choi and Oldridge describe the determination of a deceleration according to various external influences, neither Choi nor Oldridge explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…set to a minimum value among candidate decelerations…
Petridis, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…set to a minimum value among candidate decelerations (see Petridis at least [0122]-[0123] "Example 18 comprises Examples 11-17, the controller further configured to: determine the first vehicle's speed; determine that the first vehicle's speed is below a first threshold speed; and select a second regenerative braking profile, wherein the second regenerative braking profile has higher regenerative braking than the first regenerating braking profile. Example 19 comprises Examples 11-18, the controller further configured to: determine that the first vehicle's speed is above the first threshold speed but below a second threshold speed; and select a third regenerative braking profile, wherein the third regenerative braking profile has lower regenerative braking than the first regenerative braking profile.")…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the regenerative braking control method as disclosed by Choi with the selection of a minimum deceleration such as taught by Petridis with a reasonable expectation of success so as to utilize the most efficient regenerative braking controls for specific encounters (see Petridis at least [0003]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 4, Choi in view of Oldridge and Petridis teach the regenerative braking control method of claim 3, wherein
in response that the road on which the vehicle is running is a flat road or an uphill road (Oldridge), one of the candidate decelerations is determined a deceleration for coasting (see Choi at least [0045] "The acceleration and deceleration of the vehicle may be calculated based on torque of a driving device (driving torque and regenerative torque) or the like, in which case the torque may be a torque command (an engine torque command, a motor driving torque command, or a motor regenerative torque command) for the driving device. This may be determined based on the vehicle driving information by the controller 20, and it is well known that the driving torque command, the regenerative torque command, and the like may be determined based on the vehicle driving information by the controller 20, and thus a detailed description thereof will be omitted in the specification."); and
the deceleration for coasting is a predetermined constant value (see Oldridge at least [0056] "Referring again to FIG. 3 regenerative braking can slow the vehicle and recharge the batteries at a consistent rate. During regenerative braking the system controller 12 increases or decreases regenerative braking torque linearly in response to a measured vehicle mass, a downhill road grade measured by the inclinometer 38 and any increase in acceleration due to gravity, toward maintaining a target constant deceleration rate and downhill speed seamlessly with interaction required from the driver other than his brake pedal or throttle pedal actions in response to the road situation for the vehicle...").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the regenerative braking control method as disclosed by Choi with a steady deceleration such as further taught by Oldridge with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Choi in view of Oldridge and Petridis teach the regenerative braking control method of claim 3, wherein
in response that the road on which the vehicle is running is a downhill road (Oldridge), one of the candidate decelerations is determined as the deceleration for downhill cruising (see Choi at least [0045] "The acceleration and deceleration of the vehicle may be calculated based on torque of a driving device (driving torque and regenerative torque) or the like, in which case the torque may be a torque command (an engine torque command, a motor driving torque command, or a motor regenerative torque command) for the driving device. This may be determined based on the vehicle driving information by the controller 20, and it is well known that the driving torque command, the regenerative torque command, and the like may be determined based on the vehicle driving information by the controller 20, and thus a detailed description thereof will be omitted in the specification."); and
the deceleration for downhill cruising is set depending on a difference between the target vehicle speed and the current vehicle speed (see Choi at least [0067] "For example, when a vehicle travels at a speed of 100 km/h on a road with a speed limit of 80 km/h and then receives information on the speed limit camera 500 m ahead the speed limit camera to decelerate the vehicle, if the expected speed of the vehicle at the position of a speed limit camera after 500 m, the vehicle may be predicted to be in an over speed state at the position of the speed limit camera...").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the regenerative braking control method as disclosed by Choi with the determination of a road’s slope such as further taught by Oldridge with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Choi in view of Oldridge and Petridis teach the regenerative braking control method of claim 3, wherein
in response that the designated preliminary obstacle is a speed camera, one of the candidate decelerations is determined a deceleration for stationary obstacles (see Choi at least [0067] "For example, when a vehicle travels at a speed of 100 km/h on a road with a speed limit of 80 km/h and then receives information on the speed limit camera 500 m ahead the speed limit camera to decelerate the vehicle, if the expected speed of the vehicle at the position of a speed limit camera after 500 m, the vehicle may be predicted to be in an over speed state at the position of the speed limit camera. In this case, as shown in FIG. 4, the driver may be warned by providing an effect of changing indicated color of the speed limit camera and the region of the vehicle on the road or blinking the indicated portion."); and
the deceleration for stationary obstacles is set to a deceleration required for the vehicle to reach a speed limit of the speed camera, in response that the vehicle reaches an enforcement position of the speed camera (see Choi at least [0067] "For example, when a vehicle travels at a speed of 100 km/h on a road with a speed limit of 80 km/h and then receives information on the speed limit camera 500 m ahead the speed limit camera to decelerate the vehicle, if the expected speed of the vehicle at the position of a speed limit camera after 500 m, the vehicle may be predicted to be in an over speed state at the position of the speed limit camera...").
Regarding claim 7, Choi in view of Oldridge and Petridis teach the regenerative braking control method of claim 6, wherein the deceleration for stationary obstacles is determined by a following Equation (see Choi at least [0052]-[0053]):
acam =
(
v
c
a
m
2
–
v
c
u
r
2
)
2
*
m
a
x
(
d
c
a
m
,
d
m
i
n
)
,
wherein
acam: deceleration for stationary obstacles;
vcam: speed limit of limit camera;
vcur: current vehicle speed;
dcam: distance from current position of vehicle to speed camera; and
dmin: minimum distance for preventing division by zero.
Regarding claim 8, Choi in view of Oldridge and Petridis teach the regenerative braking control method of claim 3, wherein
in response that the designated preliminary obstacle is a preceding vehicle, one of the candidate decelerations is determined as a deceleration for moving obstacles (see Choi at least [0036] "As shown in the drawing, the apparatus for indicating an expected speed of a vehicle in some forms of the present disclosure may include an information provider 10 for providing information for determining the expected speed of the vehicle at a deceleration event positioned ahead of the vehicle, a controller 20 for calculating and determining the expected speed of the vehicle at the deceleration event based on the information provided from the information provider 10, and a display unit 30 for receiving a signal indicating the determined expected speed of the vehicle from the controller 20 and displaying the expected speed of the vehicle at the deceleration event in a predetermined form of an AR image on the windshield glass." and [0046] "In some forms of the present disclosure, the driving information detector 11 of the information provider 10 may include ... a preceding vehicle detector 17 for detecting information on a preceding vehicle." and [0049] "Thus, in some forms of the present disclosure, the vehicle driving information detected by the driving information detector 11 may further include an accelerator pedal input value, a brake pedal input value, and preceding vehicle information as well as the vehicle speed and the acceleration and deceleration information."); and
the deceleration for the moving obstacles is set to a deceleration required for the vehicle to maintain a proper inter-vehicle distance with the preceding vehicle (see Choi at least [0048] "…The preceding vehicle information acquired by the preceding vehicle detector 17 may include information on a relative distance between an ego-vehicle for which an expected speed is indicated and the preceding vehicle or information on a relative speed therebetween.").
Regarding claim 9, Choi in view of Oldridge and Petridis teach the regenerative braking control method of claim 8, wherein the deceleration for moving obstacles is one selected (see Petridis at least [0122]-[0123] "Example 18 comprises Examples 11-17, the controller further configured to: determine the first vehicle's speed; determine that the first vehicle's speed is below a first threshold speed; and select a second regenerative braking profile, wherein the second regenerative braking profile has higher regenerative braking than the first regenerating braking profile. Example 19 comprises Examples 11-18, the controller further configured to: determine that the first vehicle's speed is above the first threshold speed but below a second threshold speed; and select a third regenerative braking profile, wherein the third regenerative braking profile has lower regenerative braking than the first regenerative braking profile.") from a deceleration for moving obstacles based on a first mode configured to be advantageous in maintaining the proper inter-vehicle distance with the preceding vehicle during braking of the preceding vehicle, and a deceleration for moving obstacles based on a second mode configured to be advantageous in maintaining the proper inter-vehicle distance with the preceding vehicle during cruising of the preceding vehicle (see Choi at least [0048] "…The preceding vehicle information acquired by the preceding vehicle detector 17 may include information on a relative distance between an ego-vehicle for which an expected speed is indicated and the preceding vehicle or information on a relative speed therebetween.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the regenerative braking control method as disclosed by Choi with the selection of a minimum deceleration such as taught by Petridis with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 3
Regarding claim 12, Choi in view of Oldridge and Petridis teach the regenerative braking control method of claim 3, wherein, upon concluding that the designated downhill cruise condition is satisfied (Oldridge), in response that the designated preliminary obstacle is present ahead (Choi), the target deceleration is set to the minimum value among the candidate decelerations (Petridis).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the regenerative braking control method as disclosed by Choi with the downhill cruise condition detection as further taught by Oldridge with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the regenerative braking control method as disclosed by Choi with the selection of a minimum deceleration such as taught by Petridis with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 3
Regarding claim 19, Choi in view of Oldridge teach the regenerative braking control system of claim 17, further including [controls] in response that a preceding vehicle is present ahead (see Choi at least [0036] "As shown in the drawing, the apparatus for indicating an expected speed of a vehicle in some forms of the present disclosure may include an information provider 10 for providing information for determining the expected speed of the vehicle at a deceleration event positioned ahead of the vehicle, a controller 20 for calculating and determining the expected speed of the vehicle at the deceleration event based on the information provided from the information provider 10, and a display unit 30 for receiving a signal indicating the determined expected speed of the vehicle from the controller 20 and displaying the expected speed of the vehicle at the deceleration event in a predetermined form of an AR image on the windshield glass." and [0046] "In some forms of the present disclosure, the driving information detector 11 of the information provider 10 may include ... a preceding vehicle detector 17 for detecting information on a preceding vehicle." and [0049] "Thus, in some forms of the present disclosure, the vehicle driving information detected by the driving information detector 11 may further include an accelerator pedal input value, a brake pedal input value, and preceding vehicle information as well as the vehicle speed and the acceleration and deceleration information.").
However, while Choi describes vehicle controls to maintain a specific inter-vehicle distance, neither Choi nor Oldridge explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…a mode selection switch configured to select determination of the target deceleration as a different value…
Petridis, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…a mode selection switch configured to select determination of the target deceleration as a different value (see Petridis at least [0083] "In some examples, the exhaust system comprises an exhaust gas recovery system, which is enabled by an EGR switch (not shown). The EGR switch enables some or all exhaust gas, or the thermal energy of the exhaust gas, to be recirculated through the exhaust system to further compound the heating effect of the eEGH 924. The eEGH 924 typically comprises a heating element disposed within, or near, a catalyst. eEGHs are required in various use cases and will demand a power supply between 0-4 KW (0 to 4000 Watts) for example, depending on the use case. For example, the heating elements within the eEGHs will have a thermal output of 0-4 kW (0 to 4000 Watts). An eEGH typically has low inductance and therefore the power output (or thermal power output) can be changed rapidly..." and [0122]-[0123] "Example 18 comprises Examples 11-17, the controller further configured to: determine the first vehicle's speed; determine that the first vehicle's speed is below a first threshold speed; and select a second regenerative braking profile, wherein the second regenerative braking profile has higher regenerative braking than the first regenerating braking profile. Example 19 comprises Examples 11-18, the controller further configured to: determine that the first vehicle's speed is above the first threshold speed but below a second threshold speed; and select a third regenerative braking profile, wherein the third regenerative braking profile has lower regenerative braking than the first regenerative braking profile.")…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the regenerative braking control method as disclosed by Choi with the selection of a specific deceleration such as taught by Petridis with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 3
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Oldridge as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tokimasa et al. (US-2009/0048755; hereinafter Tokimasa; already of record).
Regarding claim 13, Choi in view of Oldridge teach the regenerative braking control method of claim 1. However, neither Choi nor Oldridge explicitly disclose or teach the following:
the required torque is determined by adding a slope compensation torque, an air resistance compensation torque, and a rolling resistance compensation torque to a reference torque, which is obtained by multiplying the target deceleration by a vehicle weight and a dynamic loaded radius of tires.
Tokimasa, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
the required torque is determined by adding a slope compensation torque, an air resistance compensation torque, and a rolling resistance compensation torque to a reference torque (see Tokimasa at least [0042] “Specifically, as shown in FIG. 3, the FF torque calculation unit 61 may be processing of calculating an air resistance compensation torque, a rolling resistance compensation torque, an acceleration resistance compensation torque, and a slope resistance compensation torque, and add those torques together to calculate the FF axle torque.”), which is obtained by multiplying the target deceleration by a vehicle weight and a dynamic loaded radius of tires.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the regenerative braking control method as disclosed by Choi with a sum of torques indicative of a total torque such as taught by Tokimasa with a reasonable expectation of success so as to properly represent a torque imparted to a vehicle (see Tokimasa at least [0033]).
Regarding claim 14, Choi in view of Oldridge teach the regenerative braking control method of claim 1. However, neither Choi nor Oldridge explicitly disclose or teach the following:
the required torque is determined by adding a slope compensation torque and a feedback compensation torque to a reference torque, which is obtained by multiplying the target deceleration by a vehicle weight and a dynamic loaded radius of tires.
Tokimasa, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
the required torque is determined by adding a slope compensation torque and a feedback compensation torque to a reference torque (see Tokimasa at least [0033] "The desired axle torque generation unit 52 calculates a desired (target) axle torque for realizing a desired acceleration based on the desired acceleration that has been calculated by the vehicle speed maintaining calculation unit 51. More specifically, the desired axle torque generation unit 52 includes an FF torque calculation unit 61 that conducts a feedforward calculation based on the set speed and the travel resistance against the vehicle travel, and an FB torque calculation unit 62 that conducts a feedback calculation based on a difference between the desired acceleration and an actual acceleration. The desired axle torque generation unit 52 adds an FF axle torque that has been calculated by the FF torque calculation unit 61 and an FB axle torque (correction axle torque) that has been calculated by the FB torque calculation unit 62 together to calculate the desired axle torque." and [0042] “Specifically, as shown in FIG. 3, the FF torque calculation unit 61 may be processing of calculating an air resistance compensation torque, a rolling resistance compensation torque, an acceleration resistance compensation torque, and a slope resistance compensation torque, and add those torques together to calculate the FF axle torque.”), which is obtained by multiplying the target deceleration by a vehicle weight and a dynamic loaded radius of tires.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the regenerative braking control method as disclosed by Choi with a sum of torques indicative of a total torque such as taught by Tokimasa with a reasonable expectation of success so as to properly represent a torque imparted to a vehicle (see Tokimasa at least [0033]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Oldridge and Tokimasa as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Han et al. (US-2020/0047736; hereinafter Han; already of record).
Regarding claim 15, Choi in view of Oldridge and Tokimasa teach the regenerative braking control method of claim 14. However, while Tokimasa details feedback compensation torque, neither Choi nor Oldridge nor Tokimasa explicitly disclose or teach the following:
the feedback compensation torque is determined by a following equation:
Tfb = Tmot + Trtd – r *
m
^
* aveh ,
wherein
Tfb: feedback compensation torque;
Tmot: motor torque;
Trtd: retarder torque;
r: dynamic loaded radius of tires;
m
^
: estimated vehicle weight; and
aveh: current acceleration of vehicle.
Han, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
the feedback compensation torque is determined by a following equation (see Han at least [0032], [0036], [0044] and [0046]):
Tfb = Tmot + Trtd – r *
m
^
* aveh ,
wherein
Tfb: feedback compensation torque;
Tmot: motor torque;
Trtd: retarder torque;
r: dynamic loaded radius of tires;
m
^
: estimated vehicle weight; and
aveh: current acceleration of vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the regenerative braking control method as disclosed by Choi with an equation indicative of a total feedback compensation torque such as taught by Han with a reasonable expectation of success for the sake of understanding an effectiveness of various torques imparted to a vehicle (see Han at least [0008], [0016], and [0036]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Oldridge as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamazaki et al. (US-2023/0373295; hereinafter Yamazaki; already of record).
Regarding claim 16, Choi in view of Oldridge teach the regenerative braking control method of claim 1. However, while Choi discloses the reduction of a vehicle’s speed via regenerative braking under certain conditions, neither Choi nor Oldridge explicitly disclose or teach the following:
in generating the required torque in the vehicle, in response that the vehicle speed is reduced to a designated conversion speed or less than the designated conversion speed, regenerative braking torque is substituted with retarder torque.
Yamazaki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
in generating the required torque in the vehicle, in response that the vehicle speed is reduced to a designated conversion speed or less than the designated conversion speed, regenerative braking torque is substituted with retarder torque (see Yamazaki at least [0063] "After the four-wheel drive vehicle starts to decelerate, from the time when the vehicle speed falls below the threshold V_thr, the requested brake torque changes from the state in which the regenerative brake torque dominates the requested brake torque to the state in which the friction brake torque dominates the requested brake torque...").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the regenerative braking control method as disclosed by Choi with an override to prevent regenerative braking from occur under a certain speed such as taught by Yamazaki so as to provide stable braking to a vehicle (see Yamazaki at least [0015]-[0016]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, in addition to the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 10, neither Choi nor Oldridge nor Petridis explicitly disclose or teach the details of claim 10. Relevant prior art, Nimura et al. (US-2024/0174227; already of record), provides equations similar those in claim 10, utilizing the interpretation of “sliding gradient” provided above 112(b) rejection, however do not recite the combination of variables as claimed. Therefore claim 10 (and dependent claim 11) would be allowable upon overcoming the 112 rejections provided above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ueda et al. (US-2023/0092314) teaches a vehicle which decelerates on a flat road or a road with a gradient, the deceleration occurring at a constant rate.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663