DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-23 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-18 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rojas et al. (US PG Pub No. 2023/0322208), hereinafter “Rojas”, in view of Um et al. (US PG Pub No. 2019/0315367 A1), hereinafter “Um”.
Regarding claim 1, Rojas discloses a vehicle (Fig. 2A (200)) control device (100) comprising: a sensor device (Fig. 8 (801)) configured to detect a branch road guide line marked on a road surface of a driving lane (paragraphs 206, 207, 284); a route guidance device (Fig. 4 (408)) configured to generate a target route to a destination and provide information on the target route (paragraphs 166, 167, 169, 171, 175, 198); a lane keeping control module (Fig. 8 (803)) configured to perform a lane keeping control (paragraphs 206, 207, 209-211, 222, 223, 228, 232, 237-242, 284, 285, 293, 301, 329, 350, 889); and a controller (Fig. 8 (805); paragraphs 206, 210, 284, 285) configured to, control the lane keeping control module (Fig. 8 (803)) based on (i) a position of at least one of the plurality of branch road guide lines (paragraphs 206, 210, 284, 285) and (ii) a position of a left lane or a right lane of the driving lane depending on a presence or absence of the target route set by the route guidance device (paragraphs 206, 210, 284, 285).
Rojas fails to disclose that in response to a plurality of branch road guide lines being detected in one driving lane, the plurality of branch road guide lines being displayed in a road surface within the one driving lane and each of the plurality of branch road guide lines being for guiding the vehicle to corresponding one of a plurality of branch roads that branch off sequentially from the one driving lane.
However, Um discloses that in response to a plurality of branch road guide lines (Um (Fig. 6 (620 & 630))) being detected in one driving lane (Um (paragraphs 67, 68)), the plurality of branch road guide lines (Um (Fig. 6 (620 & 630))) being displayed in a road surface within the one driving lane (Um (Fig. 6; paragraphs 67, 68)) and each of the plurality of branch road guide lines (Um (Fig. 6 (620 & 630))) being for guiding the vehicle (Um (Fig. 6 (610))) to corresponding one of a plurality of branch roads that branch off sequentially from the one driving lane (Um (Abstract; paragraphs 8-20)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Rojas by incorporating the teachings of Um in order to efficiently perform an automatic lane change or automatically follow a desired lane during an autonomous driving.
Regarding claim 2, Rojas discloses the vehicle control device of claim 1, wherein, in response to the target route being set, the controller is configured to control the lane keeping control module to cause a vehicle to drive along a branch road guide line corresponding to the target route among the plurality of branch road guide lines (paragraphs 206, 207, 209-211, 222, 223, 228, 232, 237-242, 284, 285, 293, 301, 329, 350, 889).
Regarding claim 4, Rojas discloses the vehicle control device of claim 1, wherein, when the target route is not set, the controller is configured to control the lane keeping control module to cause a vehicle to drive along a branch road guide line corresponding to a road branching later among the plurality of branch road guide lines (paragraphs 206, 207, 209-211, 222, 223, 228, 232, 237-242, 284, 285, 293, 301, 329, 350, 889).
Regarding claim 5, Rojas discloses the vehicle control device of claim 1, wherein, when the target route is not set, the controller is configured to control the lane keeping control module to cause a vehicle to drive along at least one of a branch road guide line having a large radius of curvature among the plurality of branch road guide lines, a branch road guide line on a side indicated by a turn signal lamp, or a branch road guide line on a side of a line of sight of a driver of the vehicle (paragraphs 206, 207, 209-211, 222, 223, 228, 232, 237-242, 284, 285, 293, 301, 329, 350, 889).
Regarding claim 6, Rojas discloses the vehicle control device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of branch road guide lines are each distinguished by a different color or pattern (paragraphs 206, 207, 209-211, 222, 223, 228, 232, 237-242, 284, 285, 293, 301, 329, 350, 889).
Regarding claim 7, Rojas discloses the vehicle control device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of branch road guide lines comprises a first branch road guide line corresponding to a first branch road branching first and a second branch road guide line corresponding to a second branch road branching later (paragraphs 206, 207, 209-211, 222, 223, 228, 232, 237-242, 284, 285, 293, 301, 329, 350, 889).
Regarding claim 8, Rojas discloses the vehicle control device of claim 7, wherein each of the first branch road guide line and the second branch road guide line is a line having the same width, and the first branch road guide line and the second branch road guide line are spaced apart by a first distance within the one driving lane and disposed on the left and right (paragraphs 206, 207, 209-211, 222, 223, 228, 232, 237-242, 284, 285, 293, 301, 329, 350, 889).
Regarding claim 9, Rojas discloses the vehicle control device of claim 1, wherein the route guidance device includes a navigation device built into a vehicle or a portable terminal of a vehicle occupant or a driver, and the controller is configured to receive information about the target route from the route guidance device (paragraphs 206, 207, 209-211, 222, 223, 228, 232, 237-242, 284, 285, 293, 301, 329, 350, 889).
Regarding claim 10, Rojas discloses the vehicle control device of claim 1, wherein the sensor device is configured to identify each of the plurality of branch road guide lines based on a width of a branch road guide line marked in the one driving lane, and a color or a pattern of the branch road guide line marked in the one driving lane (paragraphs 206, 207, 209-211, 222, 223, 228, 232, 237-242, 284, 285, 293, 301, 329, 350, 889).
Regarding claim 11, Rojas discloses the vehicle control device of claim 1, wherein the sensor device is configured to further detect a branching guide lane marked in the one driving lane with the plurality of branch road guide lines, wherein the controller is configured to control the lane keeping control module to ignore the branching guide lane detected within the one driving lane (paragraphs 206, 207, 209-211, 222, 223, 228, 232, 237-242, 284, 285, 293, 301, 329, 350, 889).
Regarding claim 12, Rojas discloses a vehicle (Fig. 2A (200)) control device (100) comprising: a steering device (Fig. 2F (240)) configured to control a driving direction of a vehicle (200); and an autonomous driving controller (Fig. 8 (803)) configured to control an autonomous driving of the vehicle by controlling the steering device without an intervention of a driver, wherein the autonomous driving controller (Fig. 8 (803)) is configured to detect a plurality of branch road guide lines marked on a road surface of one driving lane in which a vehicle travels based on information from an image sensor mounted in the vehicle (paragraphs 206, 210, 284, 285), the plurality of branch road guide lines (Um (Fig. 6 (620 & 630))) being displayed in a road surface within the one driving lane (Um (Fig. 6; paragraphs 67, 68)) and each of the plurality of branch road guide lines (Um (Fig. 6 (620 & 630))) being for guiding the vehicle to corresponding one of a plurality of branch roads that branch off sequentially from the one driving lane (Um (Abstract; paragraphs 8-20)), and adjust a lateral position of the vehicle within the one driving lane by automatically controlling the steering device (paragraphs 206, 210, 284, 285) based on one or more of the plurality of branch road guide lines depending on a presence (paragraphs 206, 210, 284, 285) or absence of a target route set for autonomous driving of the vehicle (paragraphs 206, 210, 284, 285).
Regarding claim 13, Rojas discloses the vehicle control device of claim 12, wherein, in response to the target route being set, the autonomous driving controller is configured to control the steering device to cause the vehicle to drive along a branch road guide line corresponding to the target route among the plurality of branch road guide lines (paragraphs 206, 207, 209-211, 222, 223, 228, 232, 237-242, 284, 285, 293, 301, 329, 350, 889).
Regarding claim 14, Rojas discloses the vehicle control device of claim 12, wherein, in response to the target route being set, the autonomous driving controller is configured to control the steering device to cause an outer line of the vehicle to be located at a midpoint position between one side of the branch road guide line corresponding to the target route among the plurality of branch road guide lines and one side of a left lane or right lane of the one driving lane (paragraphs 206, 207, 209-211, 222, 223, 228, 232, 237-242, 284, 285, 293, 301, 329, 350, 889).
Regarding claim 15, Rojas discloses the vehicle control device of claim 12, wherein, when the target route is not set, the autonomous driving controller is configured to control the steering device to cause the vehicle to drive along a branch road guide line corresponding to a road branching later among the plurality of branch road guide lines (paragraphs 206, 207, 209-211, 222, 223, 228, 232, 237-242, 284, 285, 293, 301, 329, 350, 889).
Regarding claim 16, Rojas discloses the vehicle control device of claim 12, wherein, when the target route is not set, the autonomous driving controller is configured to control the steering device to cause the vehicle to drive along at least one of a branch road guide line having a large radius of curvature among the plurality of branch road guide lines, a branch road guide line on a side indicated by a turn signal lamp, or a branch road guide line on a side of a line of sight of a driver (paragraphs 206, 207, 209-211, 222, 223, 228, 232, 237-242, 284, 285, 293, 301, 329, 350, 889).
Regarding claim 17, Rojas discloses a vehicle control method comprising: detecting (Fig. 8 (using element 801)) a branch road guide line marked on a road surface within one driving lane; generating a target route (Fig. 4 (using element 408)) to a destination and providing information on the target route; and adjusting (Fig. 8 (using element 805); paragraphs 206, 210, 284, 285), in response to a plurality of branch road guide lines being detected within the one driving lane, the plurality of branch road guide lines (Um (Fig. 6 (620 & 630))) being displayed in a road surface within the one driving lane (Um (Fig. 6; paragraphs 67, 68)) and each of the plurality of branch road guide lines (Um (Fig. 6 (620 & 630))) being for guiding the vehicle to corresponding one of a plurality of branch roads that branch off sequentially from the one driving lane (Um (Abstract; paragraphs 8-20)), a lateral position of a vehicle in the one driving lane based on (i) a position of at least one of the plurality of branch road guide lines (paragraphs 206, 210, 284, 285) and (ii) a position of a left lane or a right lane of the one driving lane depending on a presence or absence of the target route (paragraphs 206, 210, 284, 285).
Regarding claim 18, Rojas discloses the vehicle control method of claim 17, wherein said adjusting the lateral position comprises, in response to the target route being set, adjusting the lateral position of the vehicle to cause the vehicle to drive along a branch road guide line corresponding to the target route among the plurality of branch road guide lines (paragraphs 206, 207, 209-211, 222, 223, 228, 232, 237-242, 284, 285, 293, 301, 329, 350, 889).
Regarding claim 20, Rojas discloses the vehicle control method of claim 17, wherein said adjusting the lateral position comprises, when the target route is not set, adjusting the lateral position of the vehicle to cause the vehicle to drive along a branch road guide line corresponding to a road branching later among the plurality of branch road guide lines (paragraphs 206, 207, 209-211, 222, 223, 228, 232, 237-242, 284, 285, 293, 301, 329, 350, 889).
Regarding claim 21, Rojas discloses the vehicle control method of claim 17, wherein the adjusting the lateral position comprises, when the target route is not set, adjusting the lateral position of the vehicle to cause the vehicle to drive along at least one of a branch road guide line having a large radius of curvature among the plurality of branch road guide lines, a branch road guide line on a side indicated by a turn signal lamp, or a branch road guide line on a side of a line of sight of a driver (paragraphs 206, 207, 209-211, 222, 223, 228, 232, 237-242, 284, 285, 293, 301, 329, 350, 889).
Regarding claim 22, Rojas discloses the vehicle control method of claim 17, wherein the plurality of branch road guide lines comprises a first branch road guide line corresponding to a first branch road branching first and a second branch road guide line corresponding to a second branch road branching later (paragraphs 206, 207, 209-211, 222, 223, 228, 232, 237-242, 284, 285, 293, 301, 329, 350, 889).
Regarding claim 23, Rojas discloses the vehicle control method of claim 17, further comprising detecting a branching guide lane marked in the one driving lane with the plurality of branch road guide lines, wherein said adjusting the lateral position comprises controlling the lateral position of the vehicle by ignoring the branching guide lane detected within the one driving lane (paragraphs 206, 207, 209-211, 222, 223, 228, 232, 237-242, 284, 285, 293, 301, 329, 350, 889).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks filed on February 6, 2026 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/O.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747