DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 8/10/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the inventions are not separate and distinct because they container overlapping subject matter so there would be no significant search burden. This is not found persuasive because some overlapping subject matter is not indicative of significant search burden. Establishing that the inventions are classified in different classes and/or subclasses establishes that a serious burden exists on the examiner if restriction is not required. Further, it is noted that the search required for Group II (method) is not required for Groups I (apparatus) as neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 15-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/10/2026.
Drawings
Figures 2 and 3 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “brake” as set forth in claims 7 and 13 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show #526 as described in the specification in paragraph [0076]. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). It is believed that figure 7 mislabeled the brake as “516” when it should be #526.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2, “An assembly” should read --an assembly--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6 recites the limitation, “a drive motor” in line 1. It is unclear whether a drive motor of claim 6 is the same or different as “a drive motor” as recited in claim 1, lines 2-3, upon which claim 6 depends. AS such the claim is indefinite for failing to distinctly claim the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR200488254Y1 (with paragraph numbers referring to machine translation) in view of Makino et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0001499).
Regarding claim 1, KR200488254Y1 discloses an apparatus for aligning a bioprocessing drive head (figures 1-3) comprising:
an assembly to operatively connect a drive motor to a rotatable shaft (#110, 110a and 111);
a drive head operatively connected to the rotatable shaft (#130, connected to #110a), the drive head configured to rotate an impeller within a bioprocessing vessel (#130 drives impeller 150 through magnets); and
a linear movement mechanism operatively connected to the assembly of rotating and sliding bearings and/or the rotatable shaft (height adjusting member 200 and lifting rod R, connected to output shaft 110a; [0067]);
wherein the linear movement mechanism is configured to move the drive head linearly via the rotatable shaft into operative contact with the impeller, without linearly moving the drive motor (compare figures 3 and 6; [0066]-[0070]).
However, KR200488254Y1 does not explicitly disclose the assembly to be rotating and sliding bearings.
It is well known in the art to have an assembly of rotating and sliding bearings to support a rotating and linearly moving shaft, as evidenced by Makino et al. (figure 1, 1106a and 1106b [0054]). Providing both rotating and linear bearings to connect the drive motor to the rotatable shaft permits smooth support of the rotatable drive and linear movement and rotation with high precision ([0032]-[0033]; [0103]).
Regarding claim 2, KR200488254Y1 in view of Makino et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above; and the combination further discloses wherein the assembly of rotating and sliding bearings is a rotary ball spline mechanism (Makino et al. [0103], [0203]).
Regarding claim 3, KR200488254Y1 in view of Makino et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. KR200488254Y1 in view of Makino et al. further discloses wherein the linear movement mechanism is a linear actuator (height adjusting member 200 and lifting rod R, connected to output shaft 110a; [0066]-[0070]).
Regarding claim 4, KR200488254Y1 in view of Makino et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. KR200488254Y1 in view of Makino et al. further discloses wherein the rotary ball spline mechanism is located within a housing (KR200488254Y1 housing 120; Makino et al 1101), the housing having a slot (bottom opening in housing 120, see figure 6 where “R” with dotted line passes through bottom hole of 120) where and an aperture in an upper housing surface from which the rotatable shaft extends (upper opening of 120 wherein 110a/130 passes out of 120); wherein the linear actuator is secured to the rotary ball spline mechanism through the slot (200 and “R” connect to 110a through bottom of housing 120, which as modified by Makino et al. includes the bearings connected to the housing and rotatable shaft).
Regarding claim 5, KR200488254Y1 in view of Makino et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. KR200488254Y1 in view of Makino et al. further discloses wherein the impeller includes one or more magnets configured for magnetic coupling to one or more magnets of the drive head when the drive head and the impeller are in operative contact (magnets M1 and M2).
Regarding claim 6, KR200488254Y1 in view of Makino et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. KR200488254Y1 in view of Makino et al. further discloses further comprising a drive motor operatively connected to the rotary ball spline mechanism (KR200488254Y1 drive motor 110; Makino et al. 1100a, [0029]).
Regarding claim 9, KR200488254Y1 discloses a system for aligning and rotating a bioprocessing drive head (figures 1-3) comprising:
a rigid support structure configured for receiving a flexible bioprocessing vessel having an interior cavity that includes an impeller (figure 1, vessel 5 and apparatus 100; figures 2-4 and 6, #140; [0001]-[0002]; [0035]-[0038]);
a drive motor attached to an external surface of the rigid support structure (driving motor 110, attached to 140 by 120; [0032]);
a mechanism operatively connecting the drive motor to a rotatable shaft (#110, 110a and 111);
a drive head operatively connected to an end of the rotatable shaft opposite from the drive motor (#130, connected to #110a), the drive head configured to rotate an impeller within a bioprocessing vessel (#130 drives impeller 150 through magnets);
a linear movement mechanism operatively connected to the rotary ball spline mechanism and/or the rotatable shaft (height adjusting member 200 and lifting rod R, connected to output shaft 110a; [0067]); and
wherein the linear movement mechanism is configured to move the drive head linearly via the rotatable shaft into operative contact with the impeller, without linearly moving the drive motor (compare figures 3 and 6; [0066]-[0070]));
wherein the drive motor is configured to rotate the rotatable shaft and drive head, via the mechanism, to rotate the impeller (drive motor 110, speed reducer 11, output shaft 110a; [0031]-[0034]).
However, KR200488254Y1 does not explicitly disclose the mechanism to be a rotary ball spline mechanism.
It is well known in the art to have a rotary ball spline mechanism to support a rotating and linearly moving shaft, as evidenced by Makino et al. (figure 1, 1106a and 1106b [0054]; [0103]; [0203]). Providing a rotary ball spline mechanism to connect the drive motor to the rotatable shaft permits smooth support of the rotatable drive and linear movement and rotation with high precision ([0032]-[0033]; [0103]).
Regarding claim 10, KR200488254Y1 in view of Makino et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. KR200488254Y1 in view of Makino et al. further discloses wherein the linear movement mechanism is a linear actuator (height adjusting member 200 and lifting rod R, connected to output shaft 110a; [0066]-[0070]).
Regarding claim 11, KR200488254Y1 in view of Makino et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. KR200488254Y1 in view of Makino et al. further discloses wherein the rotary ball spline mechanism is located within a housing (KR200488254Y1 housing 120; Makino et al 1101), the housing having a slot (bottom opening in housing 120, see figure 6 where “R” with dotted line passes through bottom hole of 120) where and an aperture in an upper housing surface from which the rotatable shaft extends (upper opening of 120 wherein 110a/130 passes out of 120); wherein the linear actuator is secured to the rotary ball spline mechanism through the slot (200 and “R” connect to 110a through bottom of housing 120, which as modified by Makino et al. includes the bearings connected to the housing and rotatable shaft).
Regarding claim 12, KR200488254Y1 in view of Makino et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. KR200488254Y1 in view of Makino et al. further discloses wherein the impeller includes one or more magnets configured for magnetic coupling to one or more magnets of the drive head when the drive head and the impeller are in operative contact (magnets M1 and M2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, 13 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH INSLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774