This is the Final Office action from the examiner in charge of this application in response to the Amendment filed on 12/31/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 10-15, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 20070043073 to Noh et al (hereinafter Noh).
Noh discloses [Claim 1] A refrigerator 1 comprising: a main body 2; a storage compartment arranged inside the main body 2; a housing body 20 located at a rear of the main body 2 and having a side that is open to accommodate an electrical component 4, the housing body 20 including an inner surface facing an inside of the housing body and an outer surface opposite to the inner surface; and a housing cover 6 coupled to the housing body 20 to cover the open side of the housing body 20, wherein the housing body 20 includes an accommodating space in which the electrical component 4 is disposed and a rib 23 arranged along a periphery of the accommodating space (Noh discloses “a plurality of reinforcing protrusions 23 may be formed corresponding to the number of the penetrating portions 10. The reinforcement protrusion 23 may be formed to pass through the through portion 10 of the printed circuit board 4, and may be formed in the vicinity (emphasis added) of the printed circuit board 4. Since Noh discloses a plurality of reinforcing protrusions and the reinforcement protrusion may be formed in the vicinity of the electrical component/printed circuit board, Noh meets the limitations in the claim of a rib arranged along a periphery of the accommodating space”) and protruding toward the housing cover 6, and the housing cover 6 includes a contact protrusion 8 formed on an inner surface of the housing cover 6 to correspond with the rib 23, the contact protrusion 8 formed to protrude toward the rib 23 and configured to, in response to a shock being applied to the housing cover 6, contact the rib 23; [Claim 2] The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the rib 23 and the contact protrusion 8 are located adjacent to the electrical component 4; [Claim 3] The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the rib and the contact protrusion are spaced apart from each other (since Noh discloses “[A]t this time, when the deformation of the electric component casing 20 is started by the foam pressure generated while the foam material 3 is formed, the reinforcement protrusion 23 is supported by the cover member 6”, it can be construed that prior to deformation of casing 20 by the foam pressure, the reinforcement protrusion 23 is not supported by the cover member 6. Therefore, the rib and the contact protrusion are spaced apart from each other); [Claim 4] The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the housing cover 6 further includes a recess formed on an outer surface thereof to correspond with the contact protrusion 8; [Claim 5] The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the contact protrusion 8 includes a rounded shape at an end that faces toward the housing body 20; [Claim 7] The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the rib 23 is formed at a height such that the rib 23 is prevented from protruding beyond a rear surface of the refrigerator when the housing body 20 is coupled to the rear surface of the refrigerator 1 (Fig. 3); [Claim 10] The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the housing cover 6 includes at least one embossing portion (see attached marked-up copy) formed by an outer surface of the housing cover 6 protruding to form a recess on the inner surface of the housing cover 6; [Claim 11] The refrigerator of claim 10, wherein the at least one embossing portion includes a first embossing portion formed at a position corresponding to the electrical component and a second embossing portion protruding from an outer surface of the first embossing portion; [Claim 12] The refrigerator of claim 11, wherein the first and second embossing portions form multiple steps (see attached marked-up copy); [Claim 13] The refrigerator of claim 11, wherein the first and second embossing portions form a single step (see attached marked-up copy); [Claim 14] The refrigerator of claim 10, wherein the contact protrusion 8 is formed on an edge of the at least one embossing portion; [Claim 15] The refrigerator of claim 10, wherein the contact protrusion 8 protrudes in a direction opposite to a protruding direction of the at least one embossing portion; [Claim 18] A refrigerator 1 comprising: a main body 2; a housing body 20 located at a rear of the main body 2 and comprising an accommodating space and a side open to accommodate an electrical component 4, inner and outer surfaces and a rib 23 arranged along a periphery of the accommodating space (Noh discloses “a plurality of reinforcing protrusions 23 may be formed corresponding to the number of the penetrating portions 10. The reinforcement protrusion 23 may be formed to pass through the through portion 10 of the printed circuit board 4, and may be formed in the vicinity (emphasis added) of the printed circuit board 4. Since Noh discloses a plurality of reinforcing protrusions and the reinforcement protrusion may be formed in the vicinity of the electrical component/printed circuit board, Noh meets the limitations in the claim of a rib arranged along a periphery of the accommodating space”); and a housing cover 6 disposed to cover the side of the housing body 20 and toward which the rib 23 protrudes and comprising an inner surface and a contact protrusion 8 formed on the inner surface to correspond with and protrude toward the rib 23, the rib 23 and the contact protrusion 8 being adjacent to the electrical component 4 and initially spaced apart and the contact protrusion 8 being configured to contact the rib 23 in response to a shock being applied to the housing cover 6 (since Noh discloses “[A]t this time, when the deformation of the electric component casing 20 is started by the foam pressure generated while the foam material 3 is formed, the reinforcement protrusion 23 is supported by the cover member 6”, it can be construed that prior to deformation of casing 20 by the foam pressure, the reinforcement protrusion 23 is not supported by the cover member 6. Therefore, the rib and the contact protrusion are spaced apart from each other); [Claim 20] A refrigerator 1 comprising: a main body 2; a housing body 20 located at a rear of the main body 2 and comprising an accommodating space and a side open to accommodate electrical components (printed circuit board 4 and electric component (not shown)), inner and outer surfaces and a rib 23 disposed among the electrical components and arranged along a periphery of the accommodating space (Noh discloses “a plurality of reinforcing protrusions 23 may be formed corresponding to the number of the penetrating portions 10. The reinforcement protrusion 23 may be formed to pass through the through portion 10 of the printed circuit board 4, and may be formed in the vicinity (emphasis added) of the printed circuit board 4. Since Noh discloses a plurality of reinforcing protrusions and the reinforcement protrusion may be formed in the vicinity of the electrical component/printed circuit board, Noh meets the limitations in the claim of a rib arranged along a periphery of the accommodating space”); and a housing cover 6 disposed to cover the side of the housing body 20 and toward which the rib 23 protrudes and comprising an inner surface and a contact protrusion 8 formed on the inner surface to respectively correspond with and protrude toward the rib 23, the rib 23 and the contact protrusion 8 being initially spaced apart and the contact protrusion 8 being configured to contact the rib 23 in response to a shock being applied to the housing cover 6 (since Noh discloses “[A]t this time, when the deformation of the electric component casing 20 is started by the foam pressure generated while the foam material 3 is formed, the reinforcement protrusion 23 is supported by the cover member 6”, it can be construed that prior to deformation of casing 20 by the foam pressure, the reinforcement protrusion 23 is not supported by the cover member 6. Therefore, the rib and the contact protrusion are spaced apart from each other).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 8, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh in view of WO 2020/083817 to Busch et al (hereinafter Busch).
Noh discloses all the elements as discussed above except for the limitations recited in the above listed claims.
However, Busch discloses a housing body having a side that is open to accommodate an electrical component, the housing including an inner surface facing an inside of the housing body and an outer surface opposite to the inner surface; and a housing cover coupled to the housing body to cover the open side of the housing body, wherein the housing body includes a rib 14 protruding toward the housing cover, and the housing cover includes a contact protrusion to correspond with the rib; wherein a compliant pad element 15 placed between the contact protrusion and the rib 14.
Therefore, it would have been obvious and well within the level of one skilled in the art, in view of Busch, to modify Noh by providing a compliant pad element between the contact protrusion and the rib with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator. Further, it would have been obvious and well within the level of one skilled in the art to modify Noh, as modified, to include the limitations in (i) Claim 6 of wherein the contact protrusion comprises a compliant pad element facing the rib; (ii) Claim 8 of wherein the rib comprises a compliant pad element and the rib and the compliant pad element are formed at a total height such that the rib and the compliant pad element are prevented from protruding beyond a rear surface of the refrigerator when the housing body is coupled to the rear surface; (iii) Claim 19 of wherein at least one of the rib and the contact protrusion comprises a compliant pad element with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator.
Claim(s) 9, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh in view of JP 2012-78008 to Kojima.
Noh discloses all the elements as discussed above including the limitations in claim 16 of wherein the accommodating space is polygonal with multiple sides, and the rib includes a plurality of ribs. The differences being that Noh fails to clearly disclose the limitations in (i) claim 9, and (ii) claim 16 of the plurality of ribs are arranged along each of the multiple sides of the periphery of the accommodating space with multiple ones of the plurality of ribs arranged along at least one of the multiple sides of the periphery of the accommodating space, and the contact protrusion includes a plurality of contact protrusions formed at positions corresponding to the plurality of ribs.
Regarding (i) claim 9, Kojima discloses a refrigerator comprising: a main body; a storage compartment arranged inside the main body; a housing body located at a rear of the main body and having a side that is open to accommodate an electrical component, the housing body including an inner surface facing an inside of the housing body and an outer surface opposite to the inner surface; and a housing cover 19 coupled to the housing body to cover the open side of the housing body; the housing cover 19 includes a metal material (sheet metal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious and well within the level of one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Kojima, to modify Noh to include the limitations in Claim 9 of wherein the housing cover includes a metal material with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator. Further, it would have been obvious and well within the level of one skilled in the art to modify Noh, as modified, such that the contact protrusion is deformable according to contact between the rib and the contact protrusion with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce excessive deformation of the housing body due to the foaming pressure and to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator.
Regarding the limitations in claim 16 of the plurality of ribs are arranged along each of the multiple sides of the periphery of the accommodating space with multiple ones of the plurality of ribs arranged along at least one of the multiple sides of the periphery of the accommodating space, and the contact protrusion includes a plurality of contact protrusions formed at positions corresponding to the plurality of ribs, since Noh discloses a plurality of reinforcing protrusions 23 and the reinforcement protrusion may be formed in the vicinity (emphasis added) of the electrical component/printed circuit board, it would have been obvious and well within the level of one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Noh, as modified, such that the plurality of ribs are arranged along each of the multiple sides of the periphery of the accommodating space with multiple ones of the plurality of ribs arranged along at least one of the multiple sides of the periphery of the accommodating space, and the contact protrusion includes a plurality of contact protrusions formed at positions corresponding to the plurality of ribs with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce excessive deformation of the housing body due to the foaming pressure and to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh in view of US 2019/0247086 to Wang.
Noh discloses all the elements as discussed above including wherein the rib 23 includes a contact end facing the contact protrusion 8, and the contact end of the rib 23 includes a first portion extending in one direction and at least one second portion extending from the first portion in a perpendicular direction (Figs. 1 & 3 show rib 23 in the shape of a post; therefore, a contact end of rib 23 would include a first portion extending in one direction and at least one second portion extending from the first portion in a perpendicular direction). The differences being that Noh fails to clearly disclose the limitations in claim 17 of the rib has a U-shaped cross-section, the contact end of the rib includes two first portions extending in one direction and at least one second portion extending from each of the two first portions in a perpendicular direction.
However, Wang shows that it is well known in the art to provide a reinforcement rib 24 with a U-shaped cross-section, a contact end of the rib includes two first portions extending in one direction and at least one second portion extending from each of the two first portions in a perpendicular direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Wang, to modify Noh to include the limitations in Claim 17 of wherein the rib has a U-shaped cross-section and includes a contact end facing the contact protrusion, and the contact end of the rib includes two first portions extending in one direction and at least one second portion extending from each of the two first portions in a perpendicular direction with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s arguments on pages 7-8 that Noh teaches portion 10 provided in the middle of printed circuit board 4, and the reinforcement protrusion 23 penetrates through portion 10, thus Noh teaches away from protrusion 23 can be provide anywhere along a periphery of the circuit board 4, the examiner respectively take the position that Noh clearly discloses “a plurality of reinforcing protrusions 23 may be formed corresponding to the number of the penetrating portions 10. The reinforcement protrusion 23 may be formed to pass through the through portion 10 of the printed circuit board 4, and may be formed in the vicinity (emphasis added) of the printed circuit board 4”. Since Noh discloses a plurality of reinforcing protrusions and the reinforcement protrusion may be formed in the vicinity of the electrical component/printed circuit board, Noh meets the limitations in the claim of a rib arranged along a periphery of the accommodating space.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HVT
March 10, 2026
/HANH V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637