CTNF 18/388,089 CTNF 97479 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Lee (US 20190056601 A1) . Re Claim 1, Lee discloses, on Fig. 2 and 4-5, a wearable electronic device comprising: a lens frame configured to accommodate a display member (case 2 to accommodate display module 1); a first wearing member (leftmost support leg 3) and a second wearing member (rightmost support leg 3) [Par 65-75], the first wearing member and the second wearing member being respectively connected to opposite ends of the lens frame (Fig. 2: support legs 3 are on opposite ends of case 2), and each of the first wearing member and the second wearing member comprising a first surface (inner side surface 32) and a second surface facing in a direction opposite to the first surface (outer side surface 33); seating areas (Fig. 4: region between insertion part 38a-38b and inner body 35) [Par 80-86] comprising an opening (Fig. 5: gap between deformation part 52 and connection part 51) [Par 80-86] in the first surface of the first wearing member and the second wearing member (Fig. 2: load adjustor 5 is in surface 32 of both legs) [Par 80] and a seating wall (Fig. 4: interior of outer body 34) surrounding an inner space of an opening of the first wearing member and the second wearing member (interior of outer body 34 surrounds an inner space of the deformation part 52) [Par 80-86]; and supporting structures (motor shaft 61) provided in the seating areas, wherein each supporting structure comprises: a pad (cushion 50) comprising a supporting surface (inside face of pad 50) facing an opening of a seating area, a fixed end (Connection part 51) [Par 80-86] rotatably connected to a surrounding area of the opening of the seating area (Connection part 51 is connected to insertion parts 38a-38B) [Par 80-86], and a movable end positioned opposite to the fixed end (deformation part 52); a driving assembly (Advance/retreat mechanism 60) [Par 82] provided at least partially between the seating area and the pad (mechanism 60 is partially between insertion part 38a-38b) and cushion 50) and configured to move the movable end (Deformation part 52) in a first axis direction relative to the seating area (Fig. 5: “Here, at least one of the position or the shape of the deformation part 52 may be deformed by the cushion advance/retreat mechanism 60.”) [Par 83], and wherein when the driving assembly operates, at least a portion of the pad is configured to rotate relative to the seating area (deformation part 52 rotates relative to insertion part 38A-38B), and a pad angle between the pad and the seating area is configured to be changed (Fig. 4-5: angle between cushion 50 and insertion part 38A-38B changes) [Par 81-91] . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3-5, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Kamakura (US 20200371365 A1) . Re Claim 3, Lee discloses, the wearable electronic device of claim 1. But Lee does not explicitly disclose, wherein the driving assembly comprises: a first gear connected to an area adjacent to the movable end of the pad, the first gear comprising a first tooth area extending in the first axis direction; and a second gear configured to rotate about a second axis direction crossing the first axis direction, the second gear comprising a second tooth area engaged with the first tooth area. However, within the same field of endeavor, Kamakura teaches, on Fig. 3 and 6, that it is desirable in head mounted displays to include wherein, a first gear (Fig. 6: rack 71m) connected to an area adjacent to the movable end of the pad (Fig. 3: gear 71n is in portion 24b, adjacent to movable temple 27a) [Par 29], the first gear comprising a first tooth area (Fig. 6: tooth area 71n) extending in the first axis direction (DS1 direction); and a second gear (gear 71i) configured to rotate about a second axis direction (LX11) crossing the first axis direction, the second gear comprising a second tooth area engaged with the first tooth area (gears 71i and 71n are engaged) [Par 43]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Lee with Kamakura in order to provide gradual movement in stages, as taught by Kamakura [Par 43]. Re Claim 4, Lee in view of Kamakura discloses, the wearable electronic device of claim 3, and Kamakura further discloses on Fig. 6, wherein an end of the first gear (rack 71m) is connected to the pad (71m is connected to housing 71a which is in mechanism 24a which is in movable temple 27a, See Fig., 3). But Lee in view of Kamakura does not explicitly disclose, wherein the first gear is configured to move in the first axis direction when the second gear rotates. However, Kamakura does teach, on Fig. 6, a gear (Gear 71g) configured to move in the first axis direction while connected to a second gear (71n, “The first rotary member 71g is movable in a front-rear direction DS1 while being guided by a guide, such as a groove formed in the housing 71a, and moves in the front-rear direction DS1…”) [Par 43]. Thus, Kamakura teaches that it was known in the art at the time of the invention explicitly control the direction of movement of interlocking gears [Par 43]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of simply changing the gear movement such that, gear 71n moves as well. Further one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to provide, gradual movement in stages, as taught by Kamakura [Par 43]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Lee in view of Kamakura, such that the first gear is configured to move in the first axis direction when the second gear rotates, in order to provide gradual movement in stages, as taught by Kamakura [Par 43]. Re Claim 5, Lee in view of Kamakura discloses, the wearable electronic device of claim 3, and further discloses on Fig. 6, wherein the first gear is a rack gear (gear 71n on rack 71m) [Par 43] and the second gear is a pinion gear (rotary gear 71i) [Par 43]. Re Claim 16, Lee discloses, on Fig. 2 and 4-5, a wearable electronic device comprising: at least one wearing member (support legs 3); and a supporting (inner side surface 32) structure provided on the at least one wearing member, wherein the supporting structure comprises: a pad (cushion 50) comprising a supporting surface configured to contact a user's body (Deformation part 52), a fixed end (connection part 51) rotatably connected to a portion of the at least one wearing member, and a movable end positioned opposite to the fixed end (deformation part 52 also serves this purpose); a driving assembly (advance/retreat mechanism 60) [Par 82] provided at least partially between the at least one wearing member and the pad (mechanism 60 is between cushion 50 and outer body 34 of leg 3), at least a portion of the pad is configured to rotate about an axis parallel to a second axis direction (deformation part 52 rotates relative to insertion part 38A-38B, and an axis extending from outer body 34 towards the head of the user) [Par 81-91]. But Lee does not explicitly disclose, comprising a first gear connected to the pad and configured to be movable in a first axis direction, and a second gear engaged with the first gear and configured to be rotatable about a second axis direction crossing the first axis direction; and wherein, when the second gear rotates, the first gear is configured to move in the first axis direction, and at least a portion of the pad is configured to rotate about a rotational axis parallel to the second axis direction. However, within the same field of endeavor, Kamakura teaches, on Fig. 3 and 6, that it is desirable in head mounted displays to include wherein, comprising a first gear (Fig. 6: rack 71m) connected to the pad (Fig. 3: gear 71n is in portion 24b, connected to movable temple 27a) [Par 29], and a second gear (gear 71i) engaged with the first gear and configured to be rotatable about a second axis direction (LX11) crossing the first axis direction (DS1), and at least a portion of the pad is configured to rotate about a rotational axis parallel to the second axis direction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Lee with Kamakura in order to provide gradual movement in stages, as taught by Kamakura [Par 43]. But Lee in view of Kamakura does not explicitly disclose, wherein the first gear is configured to be movable in a first axis direction, and wherein, when the second gear rotates, the first gear is configured to move in the first axis direction. However, Kamakura does teach, on Fig. 6, a gear (Gear 71g) configured to move in the first axis direction while connected to a second gear (71n, “The first rotary member 71g is movable in a front-rear direction DS1 while being guided by a guide, such as a groove formed in the housing 71a, and moves in the front-rear direction DS1…”) [Par 43]. Thus, Kamakura teaches that it was known in the art at the time of the invention explicitly control the direction of movement of interlocking gears [Par 43]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of simply changing the gear movement such that, gear 71n moves as well. Further one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to provide, gradual movement in stages, as taught by Kamakura [Par 43]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Lee in view of Kamakura, such that the first gear is configured to move in the first axis direction when the second gear rotates, in order to provide gradual movement in stages, as taught by Kamakura [Par 43] . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 6, 8, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Kamakura as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Ahn (WO 2022019452 A1, See attached Espacenet Machine Translation) . Re Claim 6, Lee in view of Kamakura discloses, the wearable electronic device of claim 4. But Lee in view of Kamakura does not explicitly disclose, wherein the second gear further comprises: a gear shaft extending in the second axis direction; and a handle fixedly connected to an end of the gear shaft and protruding outward of the wearable electronic device. However, within the same field of endeavor, Ahn teaches, on Fig. 4 and 6, that it is desirable in head mounted displays to include wherein, the second gear (Gear base 323) further comprises: a gear shaft (Fig. 4: portion of knob 321 in side hole 311) extending in the second axis direction (rotation shaft A1); and a handle (handle or knob 321) [Par 81-83] fixedly connected to an end of the gear shaft and protruding outward of the wearable electronic device (see Fig. 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Lee in view of Kamakura with Ahn in order for the user to adjust the state of the device, as taught by Ahn [Par 81]. Re Claim 8, Lee in view of Kamakura and Ahn, teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 6. But Lee in view of Kamakura and Ahn does not explicitly disclose, wherein the first gear and the second gear are closer to the movable end of the pad than to the fixed end of the pad. However, Kamakura does teach, on Fig. 3 and 6, the first gear and the second gear (Fig. 6: Gears 71m and 71i) are attached to the movable end of the pad (Fig. 3: 71m and 71i are in 24b which is on movable temples 27a-27b) [Par 30]. Thus, Kamakura teaches that it was known in the art at the time of the invention explicitly control the placement of the gears such that they are close to the movable end of the pad [Par 30]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of simply changing the gear such that is closer to temples 27B than member 21j. Further one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to provide gradual movement of said temples in stages, as taught by Kamakura [Par 43]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Lee in view of Kamakura and Ahn, such that the first gear and the second gear are closer to the movable end of the pad than to the fixed end of the pad, in order to provide gradual movement in stages, as taught by Kamakura [Par 43]. Re Claim 17, Lee in view of Kamakura, the wearable electronic device of claim 16, and Kamakura further discloses on Fig. 3 and 6, wherein the first gear is a rack gear (Fig. 6: rack 71m) comprising a first tooth area extending in the first axis direction (Tooth area of 71 M in the DS1 direction), and wherein the second gear is a pinion gear (rotary gear 71i) configured to be engaged with the first tooth area (71i and 71m are engaged). But Lee in view of Kamakura does not explicitly disclose, comprising a handle protruding outward of the wearable electronic device. However, within the same field of endeavor, Ahn teaches, on Fig. 4 and 6, that it is desirable in head mounted displays to include wherein, a handle protruding outward of the wearable electronic device (handle or knob 321) [Par 81-83]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Lee in view of Kamakura with Ahn in order for the user to adjust the state of the device, as taught by Ahn [Par 81] . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 9, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Kamakura and Ahn as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Longbotham (US 20160050345 A1) . Re Claim 9, Lee in view of Kamakura and Ahn, teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 8, and Lee further discloses on Fig. 4, wherein the driving assembly further comprises a motor (a motor 62), and Kamakura teaches Fig. 6, a second gear (71i). But Lee in view of Kamakura and Ahn does not explicitly disclose, wherein the driving assembly further comprises a motor rotatably connected with the second gear. However, within the same field of endeavor, Longbotham teaches, on Fig. 21, that it is desirable in head mounted spectacles, to include wherein the driving assembly further comprises a motor (motor 610) rotatably connected with a gear (601) [Par 112]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Lee in view of Kamakura and Ahn with Longbotham in order to, adjust the positive of the sensor, as taught by Longbotham [Par 112]. Re Claim 13, Lee in view of Kamakura, Ahn, and Longbotham teaches, the wearable electronic device of claim 9, and Lee further discloses an alternative embodiment on Fig. 9, wherein the supporting structure (in this embodiment it would the cam 64’) further comprises a bracket (curvature of cam 64’) provided in the seating area (cam 64’ is in the seating area between insertion parts 38A-38B and inner body 35), and wherein at least a portion of the driving assembly (motor shaft 61’ of motor 62’) is seated in an inner space formed between the bracket and the pad (motor shaft 61’ is partially between the curvature of cam 64’ and deformation part 52) [Par 126-130]. Re Claim 14, Lee in view of Kamakura, Ahn, and Longbotham teaches, the wearable electronic device of claim 13, and Lee further teaches an alternative embodiment on Fig. 11-12, wherein the supporting structure (structure supporting cushion 50) further comprises a side cover (airbag 74) configured to extend between an edge of the seating area (area between insertion parts 38a-38B and inner body 35) and an edge of the pad and configured to be expandable or contractible according to rotation of the pad (Fig. 11-12: airbag 74 expands and contracts to change the angle of deformation part 52) [Par 134-138]. Re Claim 15, Lee in view of Kamakura, Ahn, and Longbotham teaches, the wearable electronic device of claim 14, and Lee further discloses, wherein based on the pad angle between the pad (Cushion 50) and the seating area (area between insertion parts 38a-38b and inner body 35) being 0 degrees (Fig. 11 has deformation part 52 flat in the seating area), the side cover (Air bag 74) is provided in an inner space surrounded by the pad and the seating area with at least a portion of the side cover being folded (Fig. 11: it can be seen that air bag 74 is folded in the space between cushion 50 and insertion part 38 and inner body 35) [Par 135-140] . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ku (US 20160341976 A1) similarly teaches glasses with bendable legs . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RAY ALEXANDER DEAN whose telephone number is (571)272-4027. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 7:30-5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Bumsuk Won can be reached at (571)-272-2713. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /RAY ALEXANDER DEAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 /BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/388,089 Page 2 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/388,089 Page 3 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/388,089 Page 4 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/388,089 Page 5 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/388,089 Page 6 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/388,089 Page 7 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/388,089 Page 8 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/388,089 Page 9 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/388,089 Page 10 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/388,089 Page 11 Art Unit: 2872