DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed September 24, 2025 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claim 1 has been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
In view of the amendment filed September 24, 2025, the previous objection to claim 1 has not been withdrawn, as the amendment does not clarify the claim 1 limitation as required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 24, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 1, Applicant argues that Lee does not teach “receiving, by a user equipment (UE), configuration parameters of a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration at par 0208(Fig. 9)” (see page 8). Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant.
Lee et al. teaches that a network side provides one or more group common SPS configuration including a TCI state to UE1 and UE2 (para. [0208]). Please note that claim limitation does not specify how such parameters are received or define those parameters. Therefore, despite teaching that such is received via RRC message, Lee et al. teaches the limitation.
Applicant argues that Lee does not teach “receiving an activation downlink control information (DCI) indicating activation of the SPS configuration ([0258]; S930; Fig. 9), and transmitting a first HARQ feedback associated with the activation DCI [s940; s950; 0259; Fig. 9]” (see page 9). Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant.
Lee et al. teaches, for activation, retransmission, or deactivation of one of the SPS configuration, the network side transmits DCI to the UE (para. [0258]). Further, Lee et al. teaches that UE activate the SPS configuration, then transmit a HARQ-ACK for confirmation of the SPS configuration (para. [0259]). Applicant argues that UE transmits a HARQ-NACK on the PUCCH, and then the UE transmits a HARQ-ACK to the network side on the PUCCH but this is not equivalent to transmitting a first HARQ feedback associated with an activation DCI. Please note that claim does not define what “a first HARQ feedback” is. That is, it does not need to be HARQ-ACK as Applicant argues. It can be HARQ-NACK as disclosed in Lee et al. Further, claim does not explicitly teach “associated with the activation DCI”. For instance, “associated with the activation DCI” does not only mean successful activation. It could also mean non-confirmation of the SPS configuration as taught by Lee et al. Additionally, claim does not explicitly exclude a scenario that where another steps, “sending HARQ-NACK” and “transmitting a DCI back to the UE” are placed between “receiving activation” step and “transmitting a first HARQ”. That is, despite inclusion of additional steps, Lee et al. teaches, “receiving an activation downlink control information (DCI) indicating activation of the SPS configuration, and transmitting a first HARQ feedback associated with the activation DCI” recited in claim.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “first HARQ feedback” needs to be HARQ-ACK) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant further argues that Lee does not teach “second transmitting a second HARQ feedback associated with deactivation” (page 10). Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant.
Lee et al. teaches that in step S980, the network side transmits deactivation/release DCI for the activated SPS configuration, and that UE transmits a HARQ-ACK (or HARQ-NACK) for non-confirmation (or confirmation) of the SPE configuration (see para. [0588]). As clearly noted, UE transmits a HARQ feedback “associated with deactivation” to either confirm or not confirm.
Applicant further argues that Lee does not teach “the wherein clause, attribute to Lee at para. [0127,0487], is not equivalent to a method of HARQ feedback in a non-terrestrial network wherein at least one feedback codebook is used for transmission of the first HARQ feedback and the second HARQ feedback is determined based on the activation DCI and the deactivation DCI is associated with the same SPS configuration” (page 10). Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant.
In particular, Applicant argues that multiplexing HARQ-ACKs for SPS transmission based on 1st and 2nd info into one codebook based on ascending order of each index for the 1st and 2nd info, and the UE transmits the codebook using a 1st PUCCH, the HARQ-ACK codebook is configured based in the SPS config (info) is not equivalent to the above-noted limitation. Lee et al. teaches that a HARQ-ACK codebook is configured based on the SPS configuration (para. [0290]). Additionally, Lee et al. teaches that HARQ-ACK feedback is enabled or disabled by DCI for activating or releasing SPS configuration (para. [0283]). Therefore, when HARQ-ACKs are multiplexed into one codebook, the codebook is based on DCIs, and that the DCIs is associated with SPS configuration.
Regarding Claim 20, Applicant argues that Rastegardoost et al. does not teach “a time difference between a first timing of the activation DCI and a second timing of the deactivation DCI is based on the activation DCI and the deactivation DCI being associated with the same SPS configuration” (page 13). Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant.
Claim recites, inter alia, “wherein a time difference between a first timing of the activation DCI and a second timing of the deactivation DCI is based on the activation DCI and the deactivation DCI being associated with the same SPS configuration”. As seen above FIG. 18, DCI for SPS activation occurs at point “n”, then multiple SPS PDSCH transmission occur during SPS active time duration, then DIC for SPS deactivation occurs at “p”. Rastegardoost et al. teaches that UE receives a second DCI in slot p, indicating a deactivation/release of the SPS PDSCH configuration, and, the UE stops receiving DL data via PDSCH based on the SPS PDSCH configuration and the scheduling of the activation DCI (para. [0411]). Further, Rastegardoost et al. teaches that the SPS DPSCH configuration active time duration is from slot n to slot p (para. [0411]), indicating that the activation DCI at “n” to deactivation DCI at “p” is regarding the same SPS configuration.
Applicant argues that “Tsai teaches UE for HARQ feedback, but fails to overcome the shortcoming Rastegardoost” (pages13-14).
Examiner notes that Tsai et al. is used to teach “a method of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback in a non-terrestrial network” and not, “wherein a time difference between a first timing of the activation DCI and a second timing of the deactivation DCI is based on the activation DCI and the deactivation DCI being associated with the same SPS configuration” (see page 18 of the Non-final rejection mailed on June 24, 2025), as Applicant is arguing.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 should amended to read, inter alia, “wherein at least one HARQ feedback codebook used for transmission of the first HARQ feedback and the second HARQ feedback is determined based on the activation DCI and the deactivation DCI associated with a same SPS configuration” to correct grammar.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20230096989 A1) and further in view of Tsai et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20220322398 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee et al. discloses A method of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback in a non-terrestrial network, comprising the steps of (Lee et al. teaches one SPS configuration may configured one or more HARQ process (para. [0238])): receiving, by a user equipment (UE), configuration parameters of a semi- persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration (Lee et al. teaches upon receiving the RRC message, the UE may configure one or more group common SPS configurations according to the RRC message (para. [0208]; FIG. 9)); receiving an activation downlink control information (DCI) indicating activation of the SPS configuration (Lee et al. teaches the UE may activate the SPS configuration (e.g., SPS configuration #1) (S940); UE receives DCI activation for SPS Config#1 (para. [0258]; Step S930; FIG. 9)); transmitting a first HARQ feedback associated with the activation DCI (Lee et al. teaches that the UE may activate the SPS configuration (e.g., SPS configuration #1) (S940). Then, the UE may transmit a HARQ-ACK for confirmation of the SPS configuration (e.g., SPS configuration #1) to the network side on the PUCCH (S950) (para. [0259]; FIG. 9)); receiving a deactivation DCI indicating deactivation of the SPS configuration (Lee et al. teaches in step S980, the network side may transmit deactivation/release DCI for the activated SPS configuration (e.g., SPS configuration #1) to the UE (para. [0588]; FIG. 9)); and transmitting a second HARQ feedback associated with the deactivation DCI (Lee et al. teaches that in step S980, The network side may transmit deactivation/release DCI for the activated SPS configuration (e.g., SPS configuration #1) to the UE, and the UE may transmit a HARQ-ACK (or HARQ-NACK) for non-confirmation (or confirmation) of the SPS configuration (e.g., SPS configuration #1) on the PUCCH to the network side (para. [0588]; FIG. 9)) wherein at least one HARQ feedback codebook is used for transmission of the first HARQ feedback and the second HARQ feedback is determined based on the activation DCI and the deactivation DCI being associated with a same SPS configuration (Lee et al. teaches that the HARQ-ACK codebook may be configured based on the index of the SPS configuration (information) (para. [0127]). As option 2, for HARQ-ACK for dynamic HARQ-ACK(s) and SPS HARQ-ACK(s), a single HARQ-ACK codebook may be configured (para. [0487]) [Examiner Note: The DCI activation and DCI activation are for SPS config#1]), however, Lee et al. does not explicitly disclose A method of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback in a non-terrestrial network. Tsai et al. teaches such a limitation.
Tsai et al. is directed to method and user equipment for hybrid automatic repeat request feedback operation. More specifically, Tsai et al. teaches A method of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback in a non-terrestrial network (Tsai et al. teaches that that the enabling/disabling of the HARQ feedback for downlink transmissions may be configurable on a per UE, and/or per HARQ process, basis via the RRC signaling. For NTN, the network may disable the HARQ uplink retransmissions at the UE transmitter. Even if the HARQ uplink retransmissions are disabled, the HARQ processes may still be configured (para. [0066])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee et al. so that a HARQ feedback could be employed in a non-terrestrial network, as taught by Tsai et al. The modification would have allowed improvements to latency and throughput service of the network by reducing the amount of information being transmitted in the network for the case of redundant messaging for long transmissions (see Tsai et al., para. [0173]).
Regarding Claim 5, the combined teaching Lee et al. and Tsai et al. discloses The method of claim 1, and further the references teach wherein based on the activation downlink control information (DCI) and the deactivation DCI being associated with the same semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration, the first HARQ feedback and the second HARQ feedback are transmitted via a same HARQ feedback codebook of the at least one HARQ feedback codebook (Lee et al. teaches that the HARQ-ACK codebook may be configured based on the index of the SPS configuration (information) (para. [0127]). As option 2, for HARQ-ACK for dynamic HARQ-ACK(s) and SPS HARQ-ACK(s), a single HARQ-ACK codebook may be configured (para. [0487]) [Examiner Note: The DCI activation and DCI deactivation are for SPS config#1]).
Regarding Claim 11, the combined teaching Lee et al. and Tsai et al. discloses The method of claim 1, and further the references teach wherein: the activation downlink control information (DCI) is associated with a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process number (Tsai et al. teaches that In some implementation, the UE may transmit HARQ feedback for the MAC PDU, including the UE CRID MAC CE, based on some information (e.g., HARQ process number, ChannelAccess-CPext, TPC, TPC command for scheduled PUCCH, HARQ feedback timing indicator, PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indicator, PUCCH resource indicator, etc.) indicated by the PDCCH/DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_0) for the Msg4 which transmits the MAC PDU including the UE CRID MAC CE (para. [0102])); and the first HARQ feedback is transmitted regardless of whether HARQ feedback is enabled or disabled for the first HARQ process number (Tsai et al. teaches The UE may transmit a HARQ feedback (e.g., HARQ-ACK information/positive acknowledgement) in response to the PDSCH reception with the UE contention resolution identity regardless of whether the HARQ feedback is disabled or not (para. [0104])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee et al. and Tsai et al. so that HARQ feedback can be associated with the process number indicated by the DCI, as taught by Tsai et al. The modification would have allowed improvements to latency and throughput service of the network by reducing the amount of information being transmitted in the network for the case of redundant messaging for long transmissions (see Tsai et al., para. [0173]).
Regarding Claim 12, the combined teaching Lee et al. and Tsai et al. discloses The method of claim 11, and further the references teach further comprising receiving a first configuration parameter indicating whether HARQ feedback for the first HARQ process number is enabled or disabled (Tsai et al. teaches that in action 302, the UE may receive, from a Base Station (BS), a first configuration indicating whether HARQ feedback for a HARQ process is enabled or disabled (para. [0134])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee et al. and Tsai et al. so that the UE may receive indication whether HARQ feedback is enabled or disabled, as taught by Tsai et al. The modification would have allowed improvements to latency and throughput service of the network by reducing the amount of information being transmitted in the network for the case of redundant messaging for long transmissions (see Tsai et al., para. [0173]).
Regarding Claim 13, the combined teaching Lee et al. and Tsai et al. discloses The method of claim 1, and further the references teach wherein: the deactivation downlink control information (DCI) is associated with a second hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process number (Tsai et al teaches about HARQ information: The HARQ information for DL-SCH, for UL-SCH, or for SL-SCH transmissions may include NDI, TBS, RV, and HARQ process ID (para. [0054]). For a HARQ-ACK feedback mechanism, a UE may generate a positive acknowledgement (ACK) if the UE detects a DCI format that provides an SPS PDSCH release/SPS deactivation (and/or SPS activation). Based on the 3GPP TS 38.321, a DL assignment may be received on a PDCCH. The DL assignment may indicate a DL-SCH transmission and provide the HARQ information (para. [0072])); and the second HARQ feedback is transmitted regardless of whether HARQ feedback is enabled or disabled for the second HARQ process number (Tsai et al. teaches that in some implementations, the UE may transmit, regardless of the HARQ feedback is enabled or disabled (indicated by the first configuration), the HARQ feedback to the BS in response to the PDSCH reception in a case that the DCI indicates the deactivation of the SPS (para. [0103]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee et al. and Tsai et al. so that the UE may receive indication whether the deactivation HARQ feedback is enabled or disabled based on process number, as taught by Tsai et al. The modification would have allowed improvements to latency and throughput service of the network by reducing the amount of information being transmitted in the network for the case of redundant messaging for long transmissions (see Tsai et al., para. [0173]).
Regarding Claim 14, the combined teaching Lee et al. and Tsai et al. discloses The method of claim 13, and further the references teach further comprising receiving a second configuration parameter indicating whether HARQ feedback for the second HARQ process number is enabled or disabled (Lee et al. teaches HARQ feedback activation/deactivation for group common SPS configuration may be indicated by (re)activation, retransmission or release DCI of SPS configuration, group common MAC CE, or UE-specific MAC CE (para. [0261]). MAC CE may be composed of 3) HARQ feedback enabling/disabling indicator for one or more G-CS-RNTI/CS-RNTI. According to the indicator, the UE may enable/disable HARQ feedback for the group common PDSCH scheduled by DCI in which CRC is scrambled by G-CS-RNTI(s)/CS-RNTI(s) (para. [0261-0262], [0269])).
Regarding Claim 15, the combined teaching Lee et al. and Tsai et al. discloses The method of claim 1, and further the references teach wherein: the configuration parameters of the semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration comprise an identifier of the SPS configuration (Lee et al. teaches that ‘GC-CS-RNTI’ may indicate a GC-CS-RNTI value associated with ‘sps-ConfigIndex’. If the corresponding field does not exist and another GC-CS-RNTI value is configured for the CFR or serving cell related to ‘sps-ConfigIndex’, the UE may use a different GC-CS-RNTI value for ‘sps-ConfigIndex’. If the corresponding field does not exist and no other GC-CS-RNTI value is configured for the serving cell or CFR related to ‘sps-ConfigIndex’, the UE may use the CS-RNTI value for ‘sps-ConfigIndex’ (para. [0231])); and the activation downlink control information (DCI) and the deactivation DCI indicate the identifier (Lee et al. teaches that in option 4-2, for activation of the SPS configuration, a DCI format configuration index field is added, and the configuration index field has the same value as provided by ‘sps-ConfigIndex’ of the SPS configuration and may indicate activation of the SPS PDSCH configuration (para. [0341])).
Regarding Claim 16, the combined teaching Lee et al. and Tsai et al. discloses The method of claim 1, and further the references teach The method of claim 1, wherein: the configuration parameters of the semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration comprise a first parameter indicating a periodicity (Lee et al. teaches that Each group common SPS configuration (i.e., SPS-config) may be set as the following information element ‘periodicity ENUMEERATED’ (para. [0214]; TABLE 8). ‘periodicity’ may indicate the period of the DL SPS (para. [0221])); and the activation downlink control information (DCI) indicates activation of SPS resources based on the periodicity (Lee et al. teaches that in case of SPS configuration, the activation DCI received in the last Nth period of the group common SPS may reactivate the group common SPS immediately after the end of the Nth periodicity, that is, at the start of the (N+1)th periodicity (para. [0569-0570])).
Regarding Claim 17, the combined teaching Lee et al. and Tsai et al. discloses The method of claim 1, and further the references teach wherein: the configuration parameters of the semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration comprise a first parameter indicating a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) (Lee et al. teaches that each group common SPS configuration (i.e., SPS-config) may be set as the following information element GC-CS-RNTI RNTI-VALUE (para. [0214]; TABLE 8). GC-CS-RNTI’ may indicate a GC-CS-RNTI value associated with ‘sps-ConfigIndex’ (para. [0231])); and the activation downlink control information (DCI) and the deactivation DCI are associated with the first RNTI (Lee et al. teaches that for option 5-2, the network side may provide the UE with a UE-specific DCI for activating the SPS configuration. DCI in which CRC is scrambled by UE-specific CS-RNTI or C-RNTI may indicate ‘sps-ConfigIndex’ of group common SPS configuration (para. [0351]). As option 15-1, activation or retransmission or release DCI with GC-CS-RNTI or CS-RNTI may indicate high priority or low priority for SPS configuration (para. [0564])).
Regarding Claim 18, the combined teaching Lee et al. and Tsai et al. discloses The method of claim 1, and further the references teach wherein the second hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback is a negative acknowledgement (NACK) (Lee et al. teaches that In step S980, The network side may transmit deactivation/release DCI for the activated SPS configuration (e.g., SPS configuration #1) to the UE, and the UE may transmit a HARQ-ACK (or HARQ-NACK) for non-confirmation (or confirmation) of the SPS configuration (e.g., SPS configuration #1) on the PUCCH to the network side (para. [0588])).
Regarding Claim 19, the combined teaching Lee et al. and Tsai et al. discloses The method of claim 1, and further the references teach the first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback is a positive acknowledgement (ACK) (Lee et al. teaches that Then, the UE may activate the SPS configuration (e.g., SPS configuration #1) (S940). Then, the UE may transmit a HARQ-ACK for confirmation of the SPS configuration (e.g., SPS configuration #1) to the network side on the PUCCH (S950) (para. [0259])).
Claims 2-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20230096989 A1), Tsai et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20220322398 A1) and further in view of Babaei (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20210135946 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, the combined teaching Lee et al. and Tsai et al. discloses The method of claim 1, and further the references teach wherein based on the activation downlink control information (DCI) and the deactivation DCI being associated with the same semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration (Lee et al. teaches that the HARQ-ACK codebook may be configured based on the index of the SPS configuration (information) (para. [0127]) [Examiner Note: The DCI activation and DCI deactivation are for SPS config#1])), however the references do not explicitly disclose the first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback and the second HARQ feedback are transmitted via different HARQ feedback codebooks of the at least one HARQ feedback codebook. Babaei teaches such a limitation.
Babaei is directed to wireless device feedback for semi-persistent scheduling release. More specifically, Babaei teaches that The DL SPS configuration may comprise a first parameter indicating a periodicity, a second parameter indicating a number of HARQ processes associated with the DL SPS configurations, a third parameter indicating a HARQ feedback codebook and/or a priority and/or a traffic/service type and other parameters. The wireless device may receive an activation DCI indicating activation of a plurality of resources for the DL SPS configuration. In an example, the activation DCI may overwrite the HARQ feedback codebook indicated by the third parameter or may indicate the same HARQ feedback codebook configured by the third parameter (para. [0174]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee et al. and Tsai et al. so that the HARQ sent in response to the deactivation DCI used a different codebook than the HARQ in response to the DCI activation, as taught by Babaei. The modification would have allowed increased scheduling flexibility by providing additional resources for HARQ transmissions (see Babaei, para. [0088], [0146-0147])
Regarding Claim 3, the combined teaching Lee et al., Tsai et al., and Babaei discloses The method of claim 2, and further the references teach wherein: the first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback is transmitted via a first HARQ feedback codebook of the at least one HARQ feedback codebook and in a first timing (Babaei teaches that in DCI format 1_1 activating the SPS PDSCH reception. In an example, if the UE detects a DCI format 1_1 that does not include a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator field and schedules a PDSCH reception or activates a SPS PDSCH reception ending in slot n, the UE may provide corresponding HARQ-ACK information in a PUCCH transmission within slot n+k where k may be provided by dl-DataToUL-ACK (para. [0146-0147])); and the second HARQ feedback codebook is transmitted via a second HARQ feedback codebook of the at least one HARQ feedback codebook and in a second timing (Babaei teaches that with reference to slots for PUCCH transmissions, if the UE detects a DCI format 1_0 or a DCI format 1_1 scheduling a PDSCH reception ending in slot n or if the UE detects a DCI format 1_0 indicating a SPS PDSCH release through a PDCCH reception ending in slot n, the UE may provide corresponding HARQ-ACK information in a PUCCH transmission within slot n+k, where k is a number of slots and is indicated by the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator field in the DCI format, if present, or provided by dl-DataToUL-ACK (para. [0148])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee et al., Tsai et al. and Babaei so the timing of the first HARQ and second HARQ may be different, as taught by Babaei. The modification would have allowed increased scheduling flexibility by providing additional resources for HARQ transmissions (see Babaei, para. [0088], [0146-0147])
Regarding Claim 4, the combined teaching Lee et al., Tsai et al., and Babaei discloses The method of claim 3, and further the references teach wherein the first timing is a first slot or a first sub-slot configured with uplink control channel resources (Babaei teaches that in DCI format 1_1 activating the SPS PDSCH reception. In an example, if the UE detects a DCI format 1_1 that does not include a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator field and schedules a PDSCH reception or activates a SPS PDSCH reception ending in slot n, the UE may provide corresponding HARQ-ACK information in a PUCCH transmission within slot n+k where k may be provided by dl-DataToUL-ACK (para. [0146-0147])) and the second timing is a second slot or a second sub-slot configured with uplink control channel resources (Babaei teaches that with reference to slots for PUCCH transmissions, if the UE detects a DCI format 1_0 or a DCI format 1_1 scheduling a PDSCH reception ending in slot n or if the UE detects a DCI format 1_0 indicating a SPS PDSCH release through a PDCCH reception ending in slot n, the UE may provide corresponding HARQ-ACK information in a PUCCH transmission within slot n+k, where k is a number of slots and is indicated by the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator field in the DCI format, if present, or provided by dl-DataToUL-ACK (para. [0148])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee et al., Tsai et al. and Babaei so the first timing and second timing use different sub slots, as taught by Babaei. The modification would have allowed the network to reduce risk of collisions by designating times for each HARQ transmission (see Babaei, para. [0165]).
Regarding Claim 6, the combined teaching Lee et al. and Tsai et al. discloses The method of claim 5, and although teaching that a single HARQ-ACK codebook may be configured (see Lee et al., para. [0127]), the references do not explicitly teach wherein the first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback and the second HARQ feedback are transmitted via a first HARQ feedback codebook of the at least one HARQ feedback codebook and in a first timing. Babaei teaches such a limitation.
Babaei is directed to wireless device feedback for semi-persistent scheduling release. More specifically, Babaei teaches wherein the first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback and the second HARQ feedback are transmitted via a first HARQ feedback codebook of the at least one HARQ feedback codebook and in a first timing (Babaei teaches that the in an example as shown in FIG. 23 and FIG. 25, both of one or more first acknowledgements (corresponding to the first HARQ feedback codebook) and the one or more second acknowledgements (corresponding to the second HARQ feedback codebook) may be transmitted at the same timing (e.g., same subslot) indicated by the release/deactivation DCI (para. [0204], [0208]; FIG. 23 and 25)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee et al. and Tsai et al. so that a response to two DCI messages is sent in the same time slot, as taught by Babaei. The modification would have allowed reduced overheads for transmitting signals since each transmission can be sent simultaneously (see Babaei, para. [0171], [208]).
Regarding Claim 7, the combined teaching Lee et al., Tsai et al. and Babaei discloses The method of claim 6, and further the references teach wherein the first timing is a first slot or a first sub-slot configured with uplink control channel resources (Babaei teaches that one or more first acknowledgements (corresponding to the first HARQ feedback codebook) and the one or more second acknowledgements (corresponding to the second HARQ feedback codebook) may be transmitted at the same timing (e.g., same subslot) indicated by the release/deactivation DCI (para. [0208]; FIG. 23 and 25)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee et al., Tsai et al. and Babaei so the timing is configured with uplink control resources, as taught by Babaei. The modification would have allowed the network to reduce risk of collisions by designating times for each HARQ transmission (see Babaei, para. [0165]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20230096989 A1), Tsai et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20220322398 A1), Babaei (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20210135946 A1) and further in view of Wang (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20230126768 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, the combined teaching Lee et al., Tsai et al., and Babaei discloses The method of claim 6, however the references do not explicitly disclose wherein a first position of the first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback and a second position of the second HARQ feedback within the first HARQ feedback codebook are based on the first HARQ feedback being associated with an activation downlink control information (DCI) and the second HARQ feedback being associated with a deactivation DCI. Wang teaches such a limitation.
Wang is directed to transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement in next generation networks. More specifically, Wang teaches that the if a type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook is used for reporting a HARQ-ACK for SPS configurations, a HARQ-ACK bit location (e.g., a location within a HARQ-ACK codebook) for an SPS PDSCH may be derived based on a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table row index and an offset (e.g., K1) indicated, for example, in the activation DCI. In some such implementations, the HARQ-ACK bit location for an SPS PDSCH release with a separate release DCI (e.g., DCI that releases one SPS configuration) may be derived based on the TDRA table row index indicated in the activation DCI and the offset K1 indicated in the release DCI (para. [0053]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee et al., Tsai et al. and Babaei so that the bit location indicated by the codebook based on a time domain resource for the activation DCI or release DCI, as taught by Wang. The modification would have allowed for reduced signaling overhead by the allocation of time resources to first and second HARQ feedbacks (see Wang, para. [0165]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20230096989 A1), Tsai et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20220322398 A1), Babaei (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20210135946 A1), Wang (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20230126768 A1) and further in view of Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20210218504 A1, hereinafter Wang’504).
Regarding Claim 9, the combined teaching Lee et al., Tsai et al., Babaei, and Wang discloses The method of claim 8, however the references do not explicitly disclose wherein a first position of the first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback is after a second position of the second HARQ feedback in a sequence of HARQ feedback within the first HARQ feedback codebook based on the first HARQ feedback being associated with an activation downlink control information (DCI) and the second HARQ feedback being associated with a deactivation DCI. Wang’504 teaches such a limitation.
Wang’504 is directed to methods and apparatuses for sps harq-ack transmission. More specifically, Wang’504 teaches that FIG. 2A and FIG. 2B illustrate an example of a HARQ-ACK codebook size ambiguity caused by the uncertainty of whether UE transmits a HARQ-ACK for an SPS configuration in a configured PUCCH in subsequent slots after a HARQ-ACK for an SPS PDSCH release is transmitted, in accordance with example implementations of the present disclosure (para. [0022]; FIG. 2A and 2B).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee et al., Tsai et al., Babaei, and Wang so that the first position is after a second position in a sequence of HARQ feedback, as taught by Wang’504. The modification would have allowed for smaller codebook size ambiguities allowing for reduced overhead and smaller periodicities (see Wang’504, para. [0005-0006]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20230096989 A1), Tsai et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20220322398 A1), Babaei (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20210135946 A1), Wang (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20230126768 A1) and further in view of Park et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20210160829 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, the combined teaching Lee et al., Tsai et al., Babaei, and Wang discloses The method of claim 8, however the references do not explicitly disclose wherein a first position of the first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback is before a second position of the second HARQ feedback in a sequence of HARQ feedback within the first HARQ feedback codebook based on the first HARQ feedback being associated with an activation downlink control information (DCI) and the second HARQ feedback being associated with a deactivation DCI. Park et al. teaches such a limitation.
Park et al. is directed to method and apparatus for grant-free data transmission in wireless communication system. More specifically, Park et al. teaches that the terminal receives DCI activating an SPS PDSCH from a base station at operation 700. After the DCI indicating activation is received, the terminal periodically receives the SPS PDSCH and transmits HARQ-ACK information corresponding thereto at operation 702. Thereafter, when the base station does not have downlink data to periodically transmit or receive any longer, the base station transmits DCI indicating deactivation of the SPS PDSCH to the terminal, and the terminal receives the DCI at operation 704. The terminal transmits HARQ-ACK information for the DCI indicating deactivation of the SPS PDSCH according to an SPS PDSCH transmission period at operation 706 (para. [0217]; FIG. 6).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee et al., Tsai et al., Babaei, and Wang so that the first position is before a second position in a sequence of HARQ feedback, as taught by Park et al. The modification would have allowed improved data reception performance by the verification responses of successfully decoded messages following the successful decoding of received data (see Park et al., para. [0042]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegardoost et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20220007399 A1) and further in view of Tsai et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20220322398 A1).
Regarding Claim 20, Rastegardoost et al. discloses A method of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback in a non-terrestrial network, comprising the steps of (Rastegardoost et al. teaches that the wireless device may transmit the HARQ-ACK information (para. [0410])): receiving, by a user equipment (UE), configuration parameters of a semi- persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration (Rastegardoost et al. teaches The UE may receive RRC signaling comprising configuration parameters of an SPS PDSCH configuration (para. [0411]; FIG. 18)); receiving an activation downlink control information (DCI) indicating activation of the SPS configuration (Rastegardoost et al. teaches the UE may receive a DCI indicating activation the SPS PDSCH configuration in slot n (para. [0411]; FIG. 18)); receiving a deactivation DCI indicating deactivation of the SPS configuration (Rastegardoost et al. teaches the UE may receive a second DCI in slot p, indicating a deactivation/release of the SPS PDSCH configuration (para. [0411]; FIG. 18)); wherein a time difference between a first timing of the activation DCI and a second timing of the deactivation DCI is based on the activation DCI and the deactivation DCI being associated with the same SPS configuration (Rastegardoost et al. teaches that the UE may determine a first SPS PDSCH occasion in slot n+m and may or may not receive the first PDSCH. The UE may determine a first PUCCH/PUSCH resource in slot n+m+k1 to transmit a first HARQ feedback corresponding to the first SPS PDSCH occasion. The UE may determine a second SPS PDSCH occasion based on the periodicity in slot n+m+l and may or may not receive the second PDSCH. The UE receives a DCI indicating activation the SPS PDSCH configuration in slot n, and UE receives a second DCI in slot p, indicating a deactivation. From where the first DCI is received to where the second DCI is received indicates the time difference as The SPS PDSCH configuration active time duration may be from slot n to slot p. (para. [0411]; FIG. 18)), however, Rastegardoost et al. does not explicitly disclose A method of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback in a non-terrestrial network. Tsai et al. teaches such a limitation.
Tsai et al. is directed to method and user equipment for hybrid automatic repeat request feedback operation. More specifically, Tsai et al. teaches A method of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback in a non-terrestrial network (Tsai et al. teaches that that the enabling/disabling of the HARQ feedback for downlink transmissions may be configurable on a per UE, and/or per HARQ process, basis via the RRC signaling. For NTN, the network may disable the HARQ uplink retransmissions at the UE transmitter. Even if the HARQ uplink retransmissions are disabled, the HARQ processes may still be configured (para. [0066])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee et al. so that a HARQ feedback could be employed in a non-terrestrial network, as taught by Tsai et al. The modification would have allowed improvements to latency and throughput service of the network by reducing the amount of information being transmitted in the network for the case of redundant messaging for long transmissions (see Tsai et al., para. [0173]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417