Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has amended claims 1, 8 and 13 to include the limitations of the top element comprising U-shaped receptacles. Applicant has stated para 0039 discloses the top support comprising U-shaped receptacles.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Para 0039 of applicant’s specification discloses the fixing pieces 40 includes U-shaped receptacles. However, there is no support for a top support element 20 including U-shaped receptacles configured to receive a child seat.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 8 and 13 recites the limitations of a top element positioned above the bottom element and configured to receive top element support members comprising U-shaped receptacles formed therein configured to receive the child seat. However, there is no support for a top support element 20 including U-shaped receptacles configured to receive a child seat.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-10, 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chiang (8,844,964).
Regarding claim 1, Chiang discloses a connector 2 usable to fix a child seat 4 to a vehicle 1, comprising: a bottom element 24 configured to receive bottom element support members 11, 12 connectable to the vehicle; a top element 25 positioned above the bottom element and configured to receive top element support members 3 configured to receive the child seat; and a locking arrangement positioned between the bottom element and the top element, wherein the locking arrangement is configured to lock the top element to the bottom element and comprises a locking element 26 configured to release and subsequently lock the top element such that the top element can rotate to an alternate orientation.
Regarding claim 2, Chiang further disclose the bottom element support members comprise at least one bottom crossbar 11 connected to a buckle piece (piece that is connected to the wheel) configured to attach to a support member of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 3, Chiang further discloses the top element support members comprise at least one top crossbar 3 connected to a fixing piece 45 configured to receive a portion of the child seat.
Regarding claim 4, Chiang further discloses two bottom crossbars 11, 12 pass through the bottom element and connect to two buckle pieces affixable to the vehicle.
Regarding claim 5, Chiang discloses two top crossbars 3 pass through the top element and connect to two fixing pieces shaped to receive the child seat.
Regarding claims 8, Chiang further discloses a connector 2 usable to fasten a child seat 4 to a vehicle, comprising: a bottom element 24 configured to receive a plurality of bottom supports 11, 12 joined to a plurality of vehicle locking elements (wheels) configured to lock the connector to the vehicle; a top element 25 positioned above the bottom element and configured to receive a plurality of top supports joined to a plurality of child seat securing elements 45; and a locking arrangement positioned between the bottom element and the top element, wherein the locking arrangement is configured to lock the top element to the bottom element and comprises a locking element 26 configured to release and subsequently lock the top element such that the top element is rotatable to a second orientation.
Regarding claim 9, Chiang further discloses the plurality of bottom supports comprises a plurality of bottom crossbars 11, 12 fitting through the bottom element and the vehicle locking elements comprise a plurality of buckle pieces (pieces that connects the bars to wheel) joined to the plurality of bottom crossbars and configured to attach to a support member of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 10, Chiang further discloses the plurality of top supports comprises a plurality of top crossbars 3 (two of them connected as one on either side of 25) fitting through the top element 25 and the plurality of child securing elements comprises a plurality of fixing elements 45 attached to the plurality of top crossbars and formed to receive the child seat.
Regarding claim 15, Chiang discloses connector 2 joining a child seat 4 to a vehicle, comprising: a bottom element 24 configured to receive a plurality of bottom supports 11, 12 and a plurality of vehicle locking elements configured to lock the connector to the vehicle; a top element 25 positioned above the bottom element and configured to receive a plurality of top supports 3 joined and a plurality of child seat securing elements 45; and a locking arrangement configured to lock the top element to the bottom element and comprising a locking element 26 configured to release and subsequently lock the top element such that the top element is rotatable to and lockable in a second orientation.
Regarding claim 16, Chiang discloses the plurality of bottom supports 11, 12 comprises a plurality of bottom crossbars fitting through the bottom element and the vehicle locking elements comprise a plurality of buckle pieces joined to the plurality of bottom crossbars and configured to attach to a support member of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 17, Chiang discloses the plurality of top supports 3 comprises a plurality of top crossbars fitting through the top element 25 and the plurality of child securing elements comprises a plurality of fixing elements 45 attached to the plurality of top crossbars and formed to receive the child seat.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 11, 13, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang in view of Chen et al. (7,185,952).
Regarding claims 6, 11, 18, Chen et al. disclose the locking arrangement comprises: a turntable member 40 configured to fit in an upper groove (figure 5b) formed into the top element 30; and a buckle seat configured to receive the turntable member and fit in a bottom groove (figure 5a) formed into the bottom element 14; wherein the buckle seat is connected to the locking element.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Chen et al. and use the turntable locking element in the invention of Chiang because it provides stronger support for heavier with low cost.
Regarding claim 13, Chen et al. disclose a spring 50 positioned between the top element and the turntable member.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Chen et al. and a spring in the invention of Chiang because it is simple, efficient and inexpensive.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 12, 14, 19, 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 7, 12 and 19, no other prior art references in the record whether taken alone or in combination can disclose the two buckle pieces comprise: a movable part configured to lock a first side of the connector to a support member of the vehicle; and a fixed part configured to receive the two bottom crossbars and maintain the movable part.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYED A ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636