DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03 March 2026 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final Office Action on 04 November 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 18 February 2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments/arguments, see 18 February 2026, filed 18 February 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1, 5, and 14 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 4,995,273 (Kisima et al.) in view of CN 110501279 (Zhou) and CN 107300938 (Peng et al.).
Applicant’s amendments/arguments, see 18 February 2026, filed 18 February 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 2-12 and 15 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 4,995,273 (Kisima et al.) in view of CN 110501279 (Zhou) and CN 107300938 (Peng et al.).
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Re claim 3, claim line 2: The phrase “the optical system” lacks antecedent basis.
. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-9, 12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4,995,273 (Kisima et al.) in view of CN 110501279 (Zhou) and CN 107300938 (Peng et al.).
With respect to the limitations of claim 1, Kisima et al. disclose a weather resistance testing apparatus (title), comprising:
a container (5) having a light-transmitting member (4) capable of transmitting light (sample chamber (5) is a container (col. 4, line 53-54) comprising a quartz shield plate (4) forming a portion of an upper side of the chamber – Figure 1 and col. 4, lines 51-54) ;
a sample holder (7) that is disposed in the container (5) and is capable of holding a sample (6) (col. 4, lines 55-57 and Figure 1); and
a light irradiation device comprising a light source (1), wherein the light irradiation device is disposed outside the container (5) and is configured to irradiate the sample (6) with light from the light source (1) via the light- transmitting member (4) (light source (1) located outside of the container passes through the shield plate (4) to irradiate the sample (6) – col. 4, lines 47-57; col. 5, lines 48-50 and Figure 1);
the light source (1) is disposed outside the container (5) at a distance from the light-transmitting member (4) (some distance/separation between the light source (1) and the shield plate (4), which are both located outside the chamber (5) – Figure 1);
the light from the light source (1) passing the light-transmitting member (4) is parallel light (light source (1) is accommodated within a reflecting plate comprising a dome-shaped main reflecting plate (2) for producing parallel beams and a sub-reflecting plate (3) for parallel beams, which pass through the shield plate (4) – col. 4, lines 47-51 and Figure 1);
the light source (1) disposed outside the container (5) at a distance from the light-transmitting member (4) is the only light source in the apparatus (light source (1) appears to be the only light source – Figure 1); and
the light source (1) is a xenon lamp having a light intensity (a xenon light having a light intensity of 2.3 mW/cm2 is used to create certain test conditions – col. 6, lines 52 and 55-56 and Figure 1). Kisima et al. fail to disclose using a light intensity of 15 mW/cm2 or more and 60 mW/cm2 or less; and that the container is pressurizable.
Zhou disclose an environment simulation accelerated test device comprising an internal pressure container/test box (paragraph [0008]) using multiple xenon arc lamps (9) for exposing samples to low pressure and ultraviolet radiation (paragraphs [0009-0010]. Modifying Kisima et al. to utilize a pressurizable container would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention as a means of increasing the flexibility of the device to test for sample that undergo exposure to different pressures, such as device taken in higher elevations. Zhou further disclose that each lamp in the light source (9) can be turned on individually or simultaneously, and the power of each lamp can be adjusted within a certain range (paragraph [0027], lines 3-4). Modifying Kisima et al. to adjust the intensity of the ultraviolet light would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention as a means of changing the aging process being applied to the sample, as the intensity of the light represents different light, such as sunlight or indoor lighting; and one of ordinary skill in the art would know the advantages and disadvantages of a specific light intensity being applied to a sample and what the various intensity levels represent.
Additionally, Peng et al. discloses an integrated aging test chamber (2) utilizing a high-pressure air pump (16) and a vacuum pump (13) to control both high and low pressure within the chamber and an ultraviolet lamp (4) to irradiate a sample supported by a lifting sample stage (6) (Figure 1). Peng et al. also disclose (paragraph[0060]) that the ultraviolet intensity of light used is between 55 mW/cm2 and 90 mW/cm2. Additionally, Peng et al. disclose that the light intensity can be adjusted based on the level of the lifting stage. Modifying the combination by creating a specific light intensity is well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing as a means of changing the aging process being applied to the sample; and one of ordinary skill in the art would know the advantages and disadvantages of a specific light intensity being applied to a sample, as well as that various intensity levels represent various types of light, such as sunlight or indoor lighting, which have intensities of 100 mW/cm2 and 5 mW/cm2, respectively.
With respect to the limitation of claim 3, the combination (Kisima et al.) further discloses that the optical system contains at least one collimating lens (the main reflecting plate (2) and the sub-reflecting plate (3) are collimating devices as they produce parallel beams).
With respect to the limitation of claim 5, the combination (Kisima et al.) further discloses that the light from the light source (1) contains at least ultraviolet radiation (light from lamp (1) is in the ultraviolet wavelength - col. 4, lines 45 and 52; col. 6, line 52-53).
With respect to the limitation of claim 6, the combination (Kisima et al.) further disclose an optical filter that removes, from the light from the light source, at least one of ultraviolet radiation having a wavelength of 290 nm or less and infrared radiation (a filter is provided for restricting the wavelength region of the light to 300 to 450 nm – col. 4, lines 45-47).
With respect to the limitations of claim 7, the combination disclose all of the limitations of the base claim and the following structure. Kisima et al. disclose a gas-introduction unit (8) configured to introduce a gas containing oxygen gas into the container (5) (air blowing nozzle (8) blows air, which contains oxygen, at a predetermined temperature at the sample (6) located within the sample chamber (5) – col. 4, lines 59-63 and Figure 1); humidification unit (9) configured to humidify the gas within the sample chamber (5) (a humidifying tank (9) humidifies the sample chamber (5) – col. 4, lines 63-66 and Figure 1); a spray unit (11a, 11b) configured to spray liquid onto the sample (6) in the container (5) (spray nozzles (1a, 11b) are provided to spray liquid/cleaner onto the sample (6) in the sample chamber (5) – col. 4, lines 66-68 and Figure 1); a temperature-adjustment unit configured to adjust a temperature of the sample (6) (a temperature adjusting means is provided to the sample holder (7) and sample (6) – col. 4, lines 57-59 and Figure 1) refrigeration compressor unit (3) are installed to allow the temperature within the box to be controlled between -65C and 150C – paragraph [0011], lines 3 and 7 and paragraphs [0023] and [0028]);
a detection unit (17, 18) configured to detect at least one of an introduced amount of the gas containing the oxygen gas, the gas pressure, a humidity of the gas containing the oxygen gas, and a temperature of the sample (a temperature detector (17) is provided to sense the temperature of the sample (Figure 1); and a humidity detector (18) is provided to sense the humidity within the chamber (5), which is a function of the humidity tank and the air from the nozzle (8) – col. 5, lines 9-10); and a control unit (15) configured to control at least one of the gas-introduction unit (8), the pressure-adjustment unit, the humidification unit (9,10), the spray unit (11a, 11b), and the temperature-adjustment unit based on a value detected by the detection unit (a control device (15) is provided to control the air blowing nozzle (8) introducing air into the chamber (5), heater (10) in the humidifying tank (9), the electromagnetic valve (13) controlling the cleaning liquid from the nozzles (11a, 11b) onto the sample (6), the temperature adjusting means provided for the sample holder (7) – col. 5, lines 10-20 and Figure 1). Kisima et al. fails to disclose a pressure-adjustment unit configured to adjust a gas pressure in the container.
Zhou disclose that the environment simulated accelerated test device further comprising a pressure-adjustment unit configured to adjust a gas pressure in the pressurizable container (vacuum pump (23) and solenoid valve are provided to control the air pressure within the test box to a value below 15kPa – paragraphs [0009] and paragraphs [0023] and [0026]);
a humidification unit configured to humidify the gas within the test box (a humidifier and solenoid valve are provided to control the relative humidity within the test box within a range of 20% to 98% - paragraph [0011], lines 4-5 and 8-9 and paragraph [0023]);
a temperature-adjustment unit configured to adjust a temperature of the sample (a heater (7) and refrigeration compressor unit (3) are installed to allow the temperature within the box to be controlled between -65C and 150C – paragraph [0011], lines 3 and 7 and paragraphs [0023] and [0028]);
a detection unit configured to detect at least one of an introduced amount of the gas containing the oxygen gas, the gas pressure, a humidity of the gas containing the oxygen gas, and a temperature of the sample (sensors used in the test box include an irradiance sensor (1), and air pressure sensor, a temperature sensor (18), a humidity sensor (19), and a water level sensor - paragraph [0013], lines 3-5 and paragraph [0030]); and
a control unit configured to control at least one of the gas-introduction unit, the pressure-adjustment unit, the humidification unit, the spray unit, and the temperature-adjustment unit based on a value detected by the detection unit (a control system is provided to control some environmental factors including light ageing tests, low pressure tests, high and low temperature tests, and humidity and heat tests – paragraph [0014], lines and paragraphs [0026], [0028], [0032]).
Peng et al. disclose that the ageing chamber is provided with gas-introduction unit (16) (high pressure gas is introduced into the chamber (2) through a high-pressure air pump (16) – paragraph [0020]); a pressure-adjustment unit configured to adjust a gas pressure in the container (high-pressure gas through a high-pressure air pump (16) increases pressure in the chamber; and a vacuum pump (13) is utilized to reduce the pressure in the chamber -paragraph [0020]); a humidification unit configured to humidify the gas containing the oxygen gas (humidification system comprises a water tank (10) and a humidity sensor (11) – paragraph [0014]); a temperature adjustment unit configured to adjust a temperature of the sample (heater (8) is located beneath a lifting sample stage (6) holding the sample – paragraph [0013]); a detection unit (temperature (9), pressure (15), and humidity (11) sensors are provide to measure the conditions of the sample and chamber); and a control unit to control the functionality of the chamber and devices within (paragraph [0032] and paragraph [0058]). Modifying Kisima et al. with a pressure adjustment unit would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention as a means of increasing the flexibility of the chamber by allowing aging tests that are enhanced through changing pressures.
With respect to the limitation of claim 8, the combination (Kisima et al.) discloses that the control device (15) is configured to control the gas-introduction unit (8) such that a concentration of the oxygen gas introduced through the gas-introduction unit (8) relative to an entirety of the gas containing the oxygen gas is 20% or more (the oxygen content of atmospheric air is approximately 21% such that the oxygen introduced into the chamber through the air blowing nozzle (8) will meet the claim language).
With respect to the limitation of claim 9, the combination discloses controlling the flow of gas entering the chamber (5), but fails to expressly disclose that the oxygen partial pressure of the oxygen gas introduced is 0.2 MPa or more and 0.9 MPa or less. Modifying the combination to utilize a specific partial pressure of the oxygen introduced would be well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing by simply controlling the flow through valving and flow means well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art as a means for controlling the environmental conditions of the chamber.
With respect to the limitations of claim 12, the combination disclose all of the limitations of the base claim and the following structure. Kisima et al. disclose a gas-introduction unit (8) configured to introduce a gas containing oxygen gas into the container (5) (air blowing nozzle (8) blows air, which contains oxygen, at a predetermined temperature at the sample (6) located within the sample chamber (5) – col. 4, lines 59-63 and Figure 1); and a liquid supply unit (11a, 11b) to supply liquid to the container (5) (spray nozzles (1a, 11b) are provided to spray liquid/cleaner onto the sample (6) in the sample chamber (5) – col. 4, lines 66-68 and Figure 1).
Zhou further discloses a pressure-adjustment unit configured to adjust a gas pressure in the pressurizable container (vacuum pump (23) and solenoid valve are provided to control the air pressure within the test box to a value below 15kPa – paragraphs [0009] and paragraphs [0023] and [0026]).
Peng et al. further disclose a gas-introduction unit (16) configured to introduce a gas into the pressurizable container (2) (a pressurization system comprising a high-pressure air pump (16) is provided to introduce high-pressure gas into the aging chamber (2) to reach the required air pressure - paragraphs [0016], [0020], lines 3-4 and [0057]);
a pressure-adjustment unit configured to adjust a gas pressure in the pressurizable container (an exhaust pressure reduction system utilizes a vacuum pump (13) located in the chamber (2) - paragraphs [0015] and [0056]; and the high-pressure air pump (16) adjusts the pressure within the chamber in a positive manner); and
a pressure release valve (14) configured to release a pressure in the pressurizable container (manual pressure release valve (14) – Figure 1), wherein the pressure release valve is configured to release the pressure in the pressurizable container when the gas pressure in the pressurizable container exceeds a gas pressure adjustable by the pressure-adjustment unit (13), and a maximum flow rate of the gas released from the pressure release valve is greater than a maximum flow rate of the gas flowing from the pressure-adjustment unit (flow rate exiting the chamber would naturally increase through the use of the pressure release valve than using the vacuum pump alone).
With respect to the limitation of claim 14, the combination (Kisima et al.) discloses a weather resistance testing method of evaluating weather resistance of the sample (6) using the weather resistance testing apparatus (title), the method comprising:
a step of having the sample held on the sample holder (sample (6) is located/held on a sample holder (7) – Figure 1); and
a step of irradiating the sample (6) with the light from the light irradiation device (1, 2, 3,) (sample is irradiated with light from a light source (1) – col. 4, lines 47-57, col. 5, lines 48-49, and Figure 1).
With respect to the limitation of claim 15, the combination (Kisima et al.) discloses that the light irradiated to the sample (6) is parallel light that contains ultraviolet light (light source (1), which irradiates light in the ultraviolet wavelengths, is accommodated within a reflecting plate comprising a dome-shaped main reflecting plate (2) for producing parallel beams and a sub-reflecting plate (3) for parallel beams, which pass through the shield plate (4) – col. 4, lines 47-51 and Figure 1).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4,995,273 (Kisima et al.) in view of CN 110501279 (Zhou) and CN 107300938 (Peng et al.) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP 55-164540.
With respect to the limitations of claim 10, the combination disclose all of the limitations of the base claim and the following structure. Kisima et al. disclose a gas-introduction unit (8) configured to introduce a gas containing oxygen gas into the container (5) (air blowing nozzle (8) blows air, which contains oxygen, at a predetermined temperature at the sample (6) located within the sample chamber (5) – col. 4, lines 59-63 and Figure 1); and a liquid supply unit (11a, 11b) to supply liquid to the container (5) (spray nozzles (1a, 11b) are provided to spray liquid/cleaner onto the sample (6) in the sample chamber (5) – col. 4, lines 66-68 and Figure 1).
Zhou further discloses a pressure-adjustment unit configured to adjust a gas pressure in the pressurizable container (vacuum pump (23) and solenoid valve are provided to control the air pressure within the test box to a value below 15kPa – paragraphs [0009] and paragraphs [0023] and [0026]); a liquid supply unit configured to supply liquid into the pressurizable container (a liquid storage tank (4) is provided for introducing a liquid into the test box – Figure 3); and a drain valve (24) for dispensing liquid from the test box. The combination fails to disclose a discharged liquid-storing unit configured to be connected to the pressurizable container; an openable and closable inlet valve disposed between the pressurizable container and the discharged-liquid storing unit; and an openable and closable discharge valve configured to discharge the liquid in the discharged liquid-storing unit.
JP 55-164540 discloses an environmental testing chamber (1) comprising a drain collection unit (3) disposed at a bottom of the chamber. A discharged liquid-storing unit (drain reservoir tank (4)) is connected to the chamber (1) via a line (5) containing a valve (V1) located between the chamber (1) and the drain tank (4). A discharge valve (V3) located within a drain line (7) is connected to a bottom of the drain tank (4) for draining the tank (4). Modifying the combination to collect the liquid drained from the test chamber would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention as a means for properly disposing of the waste liquid from the testing process.
With respect to the limitation of claim 11, the combination (JP 55-164540) appears to show that the total volume of the discharged liquid storing unit (4) is less than or equal to a volume of the pressurizable container (1) (although drawing figures are not necessarily drawn to scale, the figure clearly shows that the volume of the chamber is much larger than the volume of the drain tank (4)).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4,995,273 (Kisima et al.) in view of CN 110501279 (Zhou) and CN 107300938 (Peng et al.) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of US 2,917,927 (Clark).
With respect to the limitations of claim 13, the combination discloses all of the limitations of the base, and Peng et al. disclose a pressure release valve (14) configured to release a pressure in the pressurizable container (manual pressure release valve (14) – Figure 1); but, the combination fails to disclose a sealing valve that releases the pressure in the pressurizable container, wherein the sealing valve releases the pressure in the pressurizable container when a value of the gas pressure in the pressurizable container is greater than a release pressure value of the pressure release valve.
Clark discloses a pressure relieved explosion chamber utilizing a plurality of valves (81, 83, L) to control the pressure within a case (12). A pressure regulating valve (81) is utilized for a pressure somewhat in excess of the pressure which prevails with the body (A) of the case (12) (col. 5, lines 54-57 and Figure 1). A pressure release valve (83) is adjusted or set for a pressure somewhat in excess of the pressure delivered by the regulating valve (81) to pressure lines (82), such as when an explosion occurs within the body (A), the release valve operates to allow the excess pressure to escape (col. 2, lines 45-49 and col. 5, lines 57-70 and Figure 1). Lastly, a safety valve (L) is further provided for emergency conditions and is set for the maximum pressure to which the structure may be subjected (col. 2, lines 49-51 and col. 5, line 71 through col. 6, line 6 and Figure 1). Modifying the combination to utilize a safety valve would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention as a means to rapidly and safely release the pressure so as to avoid damage to the chamber by releasing the pressure faster than can be achieved using the pressure relief valve.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL S LARKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855