DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 03/20/2026 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1-2, 4-19, and 21-25 remain pending in the application. The amendments change the scopes of the previously presented claims. New grounds of rejections are applied to the amended claims and the current Office Action is made FINAL as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4-19, and 21-25 in a reply filed 03/20/2026 (hereinafter, Remarks) regarding newly added limitations have been considered but are not persuasive.
The applicant respectfully argues that ABRAHAM (Fig. 4 and para. [0036]) does not disclose (Remarks - Pages 7-8 - "first wireless device ... transmit the ER-RTS packet ... and ... the first non-ER packet ... the second wireless device ... transmit ... ER-CTS ... packet ...
and ... a second non-ER packet; wherein upon receipt of the ER-CTS packet ... transmit data through the transmission channel"... Abraham's RTS message 412 is either an NR RTS or an XR RTS message but not both) recited in the amended claim 1.
However, examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 is claiming a wireless device configured to transmit an ER-RTS packet and a non-ER packet. ABRAHAM teaches a wireless device configured to transmit an ER-RTS packet and an NR RTS packet, depending on the transmission mode ([0036] FIG. 4, a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium. RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode). The wireless device of ABRAHAM initially transmits ER-RTS packet and could later on, transmit a non-ER RTS packet at a later point in time. The language of claim 1 does not limit the wireless device to be configured to transmit the ER-RTS packet and a non-ER packet simultaneously and/or within a certain time period. Furthermore, non-ER packet is not limited to be non-ER CTS and/or non-ER RTS packets. For example, a data packet transmitted to STA using non-ER mode (e.g., NR mode) is also considered a non-ER packet.
Therefore, the applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Regarding independent claim 14, the applicant submits the same arguments as presented in claim 1. Thus, examiner applies the same reasoning as presented in claim 1. Similarly, examiner applies the same reasoning for their dependent claims.
Regarding the newly added claim 21, the applicant alleges that claim 21 recites the elements of the original claim 8 and intervening claim 1. However, the original claim 8 is also dependent on claim 2, but the recited elements of claim 21 do not recite the elements of the original claim 2. Therefore, claim 21 is a newly added claim with different limitations and scopes that require further searches and consideration, and thus, is not allowable.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 “the non-ER clear-to-send (CTS) packet” should read “a non-ER CTS packet”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-19, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a wireless transceiver configured to transmit the ER-RTS packet to a second wireless device and to transmit the first non-ER packet to reserve a transmission channel... the second wireless device is configured to transmit an extended range clear-to-send (ER-CTS) packet to the first wireless device and to transmit a second non-ER packet” is indefinite because it is unclear whether “the first wireless device” or “the second wireless device” is the one being referred to “transmit the first non-ER packet... transmit a second non-ER packet”. For the purpose of examination, “transmit the first non-ER packet... transmit a second non-ER packet” will be interpreted as “the first wireless device transmit the first non-ER packet... the second wireless device transmit a second non-ER packet” as according to claim 6 “wherein one of the non-ER packets is an RTS packet that is transmitted by the wireless first device to the second wireless device and another one of the non-ER packets is a CTS packet is transmitted by the second wireless device to the first wireless”.
Claim 23 recites “wherein the non-ER packets are both non-ER RTS packets” is indefinite and is NOT supported by the instant specification (Fig. 1, 4, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15, 17, 19, 21, 23 and 25-27) wherein the first and the second non-ER packets are interpreted as transmitted by the first and second wireless devices, respectively, since claim 23 is dependent on claim 1. According to the instant specification (Fig. 17 – ER Source, RTS 1732-1, RTS 1732-n), wherein “the non-ER packets are both non-ER RTS packets” is supported ONLY when the both non-ER RTS packets are transmitted by the first wireless device (e.g., ER Source). For the purpose of examination, “wherein the non-ER packets are both non-ER RTS packets” will be interpreted as “wherein non-ER packets are both non-ER RTS packets transmitted by the first wireless device”.
Claim 14 have the similar indefiniteness as claim 1. Therefore, the examiner applied the same reasoning for the rejection as claim 1. Similarly, examiner applies the same reasoning for their dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 9-15, 17-19 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abraham et al. (US-20160197700-A1, hereinafter, ABRAHAM).
Regarding claim 1, ABRAHAM discloses:
A first wireless device (Fig. 4 – source station; Fig. 15 – station) comprising:
a controller (Fig. 15 – controller 1522; [0087] processor 1520 may perform processing for data and/or messages being sent by station 1500… A controller 1522 may control the operation of various modules within station 1500) configured to generate ([0087];) an extended range request-to-send (ER- RTS) packet ([0035] extended range Request-to-Send messages (XR RTS messages)) and a first non-ER packet ([0036] As shown in FIG. 4, a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium. RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode); and
a wireless transceiver (Fig. 15 – transmitter 1512, receiver 1514; [0086] a transmitter 1512 may receive messages and/or data to be transmitted and may generate an output radio frequency (RF) signal comprising the messages and/or data. A receiver 1514 may receive and process a received RF signal and provide samples) configured to transmit the ER-RTS packet (Fig. 4 – RTS 412; [0036] a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium… RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode; [0037] XR station 122 may receive RTS message 412 and may transmit an XR CTS message in response) to a second wireless device (Fig. 4 – destination station) and to transmit the first non-ER packet ([0036] RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode) to reserve a transmission channel to reserve a transmission channel (Fig. 4 – NR CTS NAV, XR CTS NAV; [0038] To mitigate the hidden node problem, XR station 122 may transmit dual CTS messages 414 and 416 for any RTS message received (either ER or non-ER RTS) by the XR station... NR CTS message 414 may include a duration field, which may indicate a transmission time of T1 for subsequent data. The duration indicated by NR CTS message 414 may also be referred to as NR CTS NAV. NR station 120 may receive NR CTS message 414 and may determine that the wireless medium will be busy for a period of T1 (hence, the transmission channel is reserved) indicated by the duration field of CTS message 414; [0039] As shown in FIG. 4, XR CTS message 416 may also include a duration field, which may indicate a transmission time of T2 for subsequent data. The duration indicated by XR CTS message 416 may also be referred to as XR CTS NAV. Other XR stations (if any) may receive XR CTS message 416, set their NAVs to T2, and refrain from accessing the wireless medium until their NAVs count down to zero (hence, the transmission channel is reserved). The subsequent transmission of ACK 420 from XR station 122 may then be protected from collisions with transmissions from other XR stations. Transmission times T1 and T2 may be set such that the NAVs of both NR stations and XR stations count down to zero at or after the end of the ACK transmission);
wherein upon receipt of the ER-RTS packet the second wireless device is configured to transmit an extended range clear-to-send (ER-CTS) packet to the first wireless device and to transmit a second non-ER packet (no patentable weight); and
wherein upon receipt of the ER-CTS packet the first wireless device is configured to ([0036] A destination station (e.g., XR station 122)… may respond by transmitting an NR CTS message 414 followed by an XR CTS message 416… The source station may receive the CTS messages and may transmit data 418 in response to XR CTS message 416) transmit data through the transmission channel (Fig. 4 – Data 418; Fig. 4 – XR CTS NAV; [0039] As shown in FIG. 4, XR CTS message 416... set their NAVs to T2, and refrain from accessing the wireless medium until their NAVs count down to zero (hence, the transmission channel is reserved)... Transmission times T1 and T2 may be set such that the NAVs of both NR stations and XR stations count down to zero at or after the end of the ACK transmission).
Regarding claim 2, ABRAHAM further discloses:
wherein the transmission channel (wireless medium) comprises a wireless transmission channel between the first wireless device and the second wireless device (Fig.4; [0036] a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium… A destination station (e.g., XR station 122) may receive the RTS message and may respond by transmitting an NR CTS message 414 followed by an XR CTS message 416).
Regarding claim 4, ABRAHAM further discloses:
Wherein the non-ER packets are transmitted by the first wireless device (Fig. 4 – RTS 412; [0036] a source station (e.g., access point 110) initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium. RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode) and the second wireless device (Fig. 4 – NR CTS; [0038] XR station 122 may transmit dual CTS messages 414 and 416 (both ER and non-ER CTS packets) for any RTS message received by the XR station) before the ER-CTS packet is received by the second wireless device (Fig. 4 (ER-CTS was never received by XR station 122)).
Regarding claim 6, ABRAHAM further discloses:
wherein one of the non-ER packets is an RTS packet that is transmitted by the wireless first device to the second wireless device (Fig. 4; [0036] a source station (e.g., access point 110) initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium. RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode. A destination station (e.g., XR station 122) may receive the RTS message and may respond by transmitting an NR CTS message 414 followed by an XR CTS message 416) and
another one of the non-ER packets is a CTS packet is transmitted by the second wireless device to the first wireless device (Fig. 4; [0036] a source station (e.g., access point 110) initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium. RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode. A destination station (e.g., XR station 122) may receive the RTS message and may respond by transmitting an NR CTS message 414 followed by an XR CTS message 416) before the ER-CTS packet is received by the second wireless device (Fig. 4 (ER-CTS was never received by XR station 122)).
Regarding claim 7, ABRAHAM further discloses:
wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured (Fig. 15 – transmitter 1512, receiver 1514; [0086];) to transmit data through the transmission channel (Fig. 4 – Data 418; Fig. 4 – XR CTS NAV, NR CTS NAV; [0039] As shown in FIG. 4, XR CTS message 416... set their NAVs to T2, and refrain from accessing the wireless medium until their NAVs count down to zero (hence, the transmission channel is reserved)... Transmission times T1 and T2 may be set such that the NAVs of both NR stations and XR stations count down to zero at or after the end of the ACK transmission) after the non-ER packets are transmitted by the first wireless device (Fig. 4 – RTS 412; [0036] a source station (e.g., access point 110) initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium. RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode) and the second wireless device (Fig. 4 – NR CTS; [0038] XR station 122 may transmit dual CTS messages 414 and 416 (both ER and non-ER CTS packets) for any RTS message received by the XR station).
Regarding claim 9, ABRAHAM further discloses:
wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to (Fig. 15 – transmitter 1512, receiver 1514; [0086];) receive the extended range clear-to-send (ER-CTS) packet from the second wireless device (Fig. 5; [0041] FIG. 5 shows an exemplary design of data transmission in the XR mode with XR messages... a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an XR RTS message 512 via the wireless medium. A destination station (e.g., XR station 122) may receive the XR RTS message and may respond by transmitting an XR CTS message 514. The source station may receive XR CTS message 514 and may transmit data 516 in response to the XR CTS message) before the non-ER packets are transmitted by the first wireless device and the second wireless device (Fig. 5 (non-ER packets were never transmitted)).
Regarding claim 10, ABRAHAM further discloses:
wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to (Fig. 15 – transmitter 1512, receiver 1514; [0086];) transmit data through the transmission channel (Fig. 4 – Data 418; Fig. 4 –NR CTS NAV; [0039] As shown in FIG. 4, XR CTS message 416... set their NAVs to T2, and refrain from accessing the wireless medium until their NAVs count down to zero (hence, the transmission channel is reserved) after receiving the non-ER clear-to-send (CTS) packet from the second wireless device (Fig. 4 – NR CTS 414; [0038] To mitigate the hidden node problem, XR station 122 may transmit dual CTS messages 414 and 416 for any RTS message received (either ER or non-ER RTS) by the XR station).
Regarding claim 11, ABRAHAM further discloses:
wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured (Fig. 15 – transmitter 1512, receiver 1514; [0086];) to receive the extended range clear-to-send (ER-CTS) packet from the second wireless device (Fig. 5; [0041] FIG. 5 shows an exemplary design of data transmission in the XR mode with XR messages... a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an XR RTS message 512 via the wireless medium. A destination station (e.g., XR station 122) may receive the XR RTS message and may respond by transmitting an XR CTS message 514. The source station may receive XR CTS message 514 and may transmit data 516 in response to the XR CTS message) before the non-ER CTS packet is received by the wireless transceiver from the second wireless device (Fig. 5 (non-ER CTS packets were never received)).
Regarding claim 12, ABRAHAM further discloses:
wherein the first wireless device (Fig 1; Fig. 4 – NR CTS; [0036] A destination station (e.g., XR station 122) may receive the RTS message and may respond by transmitting an NR CTS message 414… NR CTS message 414 may be a normal CTS message in IEEE 802.11) is compatible with an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 protocol ([0022] The range extension techniques disclosed herein may be used for various wireless networks such as… A WLAN may implement one or more standards in the IEEE 802.11 family of standards developed by The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) for WLANs).
Regarding claim 13, ABRAHAM further discloses:
wherein a non-ER RTS packet is transmitted by the first wireless device to the second wireless device (Fig. 4 – RTS 412; [0036] a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium… RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode;) and a non-ER clear-to-send (CTS) packet is transmitted by the second wireless device to the first wireless device (Fig. 4 – NR CTS; [0038] XR station 122 may transmit dual CTS messages 414 and 416 (both ER and non-ER CTS packets) for any RTS message received by the XR station).
Regarding claim 14, ABRAHAM discloses:
An extended range (ER) source compatible with a wireless transmission (Fig. 4 – source station; Fig. 15 – station; [0036] FIG. 4 can support co-existence between XR stations and NR stations with dual CTS messages. As shown in FIG. 4, a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium. RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode) comprising:
a controller configured (Fig. 15 – controller 1522; [0087] processor 1520 may perform processing for data and/or messages being sent by station 1500… A controller 1522 may control the operation of various modules within station 1500) to generate an extended range request-to-send (ER- RTS) packet ([0035] extended range Request-to-Send messages (XR RTS messages)) and a first non-ER packet ([0036] As shown in FIG. 4, a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium. RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode); and
a wireless transceiver (Fig. 15 – transmitter 1512, receiver 1514; [0086] a transmitter 1512 may receive messages and/or data to be transmitted and may generate an output radio frequency (RF) signal comprising the messages and/or data. A receiver 1514 may receive and process a received RF signal and provide samples) configured to transmit the ER-RTS packet (Fig. 4 – RTS 412; [0036] a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium… RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode; [0037] XR station 122 may receive RTS message 412 and may transmit an XR CTS message in response) and the first non-ER packet ([0036] RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode) to an ER destination ([0038] To mitigate the hidden node problem, XR station 122 may transmit dual CTS messages 414 and 416 for any RTS message received (either ER or non-ER RTS) by the XR station) to reserve a wireless transmission channel between the ER source and the ER destination (Fig. 4 –XR CTS NAV; [0039] As shown in FIG. 4, XR CTS message 416 may also include a duration field, which may indicate a transmission time of T2 for subsequent data. The duration indicated by XR CTS message 416 may also be referred to as XR CTS NAV. Other XR stations (if any) may receive XR CTS message 416, set their NAVs to T2, and refrain from accessing the wireless medium until their NAVs count down to zero (hence, the transmission channel is reserved). The subsequent transmission of ACK 420 from XR station 122 may then be protected from collisions with transmissions from other XR stations. Transmission times T1 and T2 may be set such that the NAVs of both NR stations and XR stations count down to zero at or after the end of the ACK transmission);
wherein upon receipt of the ER-RTS packet the ER destination is configured to transmit an extended range clear-to-send (ER-CTS) packet to the ER source and to transmit a second non-ER packet (no patentable weight);
wherein the wireless transceiver of the ER source is configured (Fig. 15 – transmitter 1512, receiver 1514; [0086]) to transmit data through the wireless transmission channel (Fig. 4 – Data 418; Fig. 4 – XR CTS NAV; [0039] As shown in FIG. 4, XR CTS message 416... set their NAVs to T2, and refrain from accessing the wireless medium until their NAVs count down to zero (hence, the transmission channel is reserved)... Transmission times T1 and T2 may be set such that the NAVs of both NR stations and XR stations count down to zero at or after the end of the ACK transmission) after receiving the ER-CTS packet from the ER destination ([0036] A destination station (e.g., XR station 122)… may respond by transmitting an NR CTS message 414 followed by an XR CTS message 416… The source station may receive the CTS messages and may transmit data 418 in response to XR CTS message 416).
Regarding claim 15, ABRAHAM further discloses:
wherein the non-ER packets are transmitted by the ER source (Fig. 4 – RTS 412; [0036] a source station (e.g., access point 110) initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium. RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode) and the ER destination (Fig. 4 – NR CTS 414; [0038] XR station 122 may transmit dual CTS messages 414 and 416 (both ER and non-ER CTS packets) for any RTS message received by the XR station) before the ER-CTS packet is received by the wireless transceiver from the ER destination (Fig. 4 – XR CTS 416; [0036] NR CTS message 414... may be detectable by NR stations (e.g., NR station 120)... XR CTS message 416 may be intended for the source station, which may support the XR mode. The source station may receive the CTS messages and may transmit data 418 in response to XR CTS message 416. The destination station may then return ACK 420).
Regarding claim 17, ABRAHAM further discloses:
wherein one of the non-ER packets is an RTS packet that is transmitted by the ER source to the ER destination (Fig. 4; [0036] a source station (e.g., access point 110) initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium. RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode. A destination station (e.g., XR station 122) may receive the RTS message and may respond by transmitting an NR CTS message 414 followed by an XR CTS message 416) and
another one of the non-ER packets is a CTS packet that is transmitted by the ER destination to the ER source (Fig. 4; [0036] a source station (e.g., access point 110) initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium. RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode. A destination station (e.g., XR station 122) may receive the RTS message and may respond by transmitting an NR CTS message 414 followed by an XR CTS message 416) before the ER-CTS packet is received by the wireless transceiver from the ER destination (Fig. 4 – XR CTS 416; [0036] NR CTS message 414... may be detectable by NR stations (e.g., NR station 120)... XR CTS message 416 may be intended for the source station, which may support the XR mode. The source station may receive the CTS messages and may transmit data 418 in response to XR CTS message 416. The destination station may then return ACK 420).
Regarding claim 18, ABRAHAM further discloses:
wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured (Fig. 15 – transmitter 1512, receiver 1514; [0086];) to receive the ER-CTS packet from the ER destination (Fig. 5; [0041] FIG. 5 shows an exemplary design of data transmission in the XR mode with XR messages... a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an XR RTS message 512 via the wireless medium. A destination station (e.g., XR station 122) may receive the XR RTS message and may respond by transmitting an XR CTS message 514. The source station may receive XR CTS message 514 and may transmit data 516 in response to the XR CTS message) before the non-ER packets are transmitted by the ER source and the ER destination (Fig. 5 (non-ER packets were never transmitted)).
Regarding claim 19, ABRAHAM further discloses:
wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured (Fig. 15 – transmitter 1512, receiver 1514; [0086];) to receive the ER-CTS packet from the ER destination (Fig. 5; [0041] FIG. 5 shows an exemplary design of data transmission in the XR mode with XR messages... a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an XR RTS message 512 via the wireless medium. A destination station (e.g., XR station 122) may receive the XR RTS message and may respond by transmitting an XR CTS message 514. The source station may receive XR CTS message 514 and may transmit data 516 in response to the XR CTS message) before the non-ER packet is received by the wireless transceiver from the ER destination (Fig. 5 (non-ER packets were never transmitted; hence the non-ER packets were never received)).
Regarding claim 23, ABRAHAM further discloses:
wherein the non-ER packets are both non-ER RTS packets ([0036] As shown in FIG. 4, a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium. RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode; [0034] RTS and CTS messages may be sent prior to data transmission in order to protect against hidden nodes. The RTS and CTS messages may indicate to other stations that the wireless medium will be used for a predetermined period of time by the source station and the destination station and that other stations should not transmit on the wireless medium during this period; (another NR RTS packet is sent for the first wireless device to send another data to the second wireless device in NR mode. Hence, a second non-ER RTS packet)).
Regarding claim 24, ABRAHAM further discloses:
wherein one of the non-ER packets is a non-ER CTS packet Fig. 4 – NR CTS; [0038] XR station 122 may transmit dual CTS messages 414 and 416 (both ER and non-ER CTS packets) for any RTS message received by the XR station) and
another one of the non-ER packets is a non-ER RTS packet ([0036] As shown in FIG. 4, a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium. RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 8, 16, 21-22 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABRAHAM in view of CIOCHINA et al. (US 20230141111 A1, hereinafter CIOCHINA).
Regarding claim 5, ABRAHAM further discloses:
Wherein the non-ER packets are transmitted by the first wireless device (Fig. 4 – RTS 412; [0036] initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium. RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode) and the second wireless device (Fig. 4 – NR CTS; [0038] XR station 122 may transmit dual CTS messages 414 and 416 (both ER and non-ER CTS packets) for any RTS message received by the XR station) before the ER-CTS packet is received by the second wireless device (Fig. 4 (ER-CTS was never received by XR station 122)).
ABRAHAM does not explicitly disclose the non-ER packets are substantially simultaneously transmitted.
However, CIOCHINA discloses non-ER packets are substantially simultaneously transmitted (Fig. 6; [0063] shown in FIG. 6. The MU operation between AP1 and STA1 to STA_N follows the usual procedure, i.e., starts with an RTS trigger frame 60 from AP1, requesting the addressed STAs to respond with a trigger based CTS 61. The oAP, which has gained the channel access within transmit opportunity TxOP2 (shown in FIG. 5) to gather measurement reports and compute beamforming matrices with nulling constraints, is also responding to the RTS frame. From oAP1 this is a CTS to self 62, meant to inform STAs and oSTAs of the medium reservation).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the non-ER packets of ABRAHAM to include the non-ER packets are substantially simultaneously transmitted as taught by CIOCHINA in order to help prevent interference of other STAs by informing the other STAs of the medium reservation (CIOCHINA - [0035] it is assumed that the AP1 is selfish, i.e. there is no interference nulling towards oSTAs but it applies beamforming only with respect to its own STAs STA1 to STA_N... Further, it is assumed that the oAPi knows channels to STA1 and has interference nulling capability and that the oSTAs are reporting to their corresponding oAPs, with which they are associated; [0063];).
Regarding claim 8, ABRAHAM further discloses:
wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured (Fig. 15 – transmitter 1512, receiver 1514; [0086];) to transmit data through the transmission channel (Fig. 4 – Data 418; Fig. 4 – XR CTS NAV, NR CTS NAV; [0039] As shown in FIG. 4, XR CTS message 416... set their NAVs to T2, and refrain from accessing the wireless medium until their NAVs count down to zero (hence, the transmission channel is reserved)... Transmission times T1 and T2 may be set such that the NAVs of both NR stations and XR stations count down to zero at or after the end of the ACK transmission) after the non-ER packets are transmitted by the first wireless device (Fig.4 – RTS 412; [0036] a source station (e.g., access point 110) initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium. RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode) and the second wireless device (Fig. 4 – NR CTS; [0038] XR station 122 may transmit dual CTS messages 414 and 416 (both ER and non-ER CTS packets) for any RTS message received by the XR station).
ABRAHAM does not explicitly disclose the non-ER packets are substantially simultaneously transmitted.
However, CIOCHINA discloses non-ER packets are substantially simultaneously transmitted (Fig. 6; [0063] shown in FIG. 6. The MU operation between AP1 and STA1 to STA_N follows the usual procedure, i.e., starts with an RTS trigger frame 60 from AP1, requesting the addressed STAs to respond with a trigger based CTS 61. The oAP, which has gained the channel access within transmit opportunity TxOP2 (shown in FIG. 5) to gather measurement reports and compute beamforming matrices with nulling constraints, is also responding to the RTS frame. From oAP1 this is a CTS to self 62, meant to inform STAs and oSTAs of the medium reservation).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the non-ER packets of ABRAHAM to include the non-ER packets are substantially simultaneously transmitted as taught by CIOCHINA in order to help prevent interference of other STAs by informing the other STAs of the medium reservation (CIOCHINA - [0035] it is assumed that the AP1 is selfish, i.e. there is no interference nulling towards oSTAs but it applies beamforming only with respect to its own STAs STA1 to STA_N... Further, it is assumed that the oAPi knows channels to STA1 and has interference nulling capability and that the oSTAs are reporting to their corresponding oAPs, with which they are associated; [0063];).
Regarding claim 16, ABRAHAM further discloses:
wherein the non-ER packets are transmitted by the ER source (Fig. 4 – RTS 412; [0036] initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium. RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode) and the ER destination before the ER-CTS packet is received by the wireless transceiver from the ER destination.
ABRAHAM does not explicitly disclose the non-ER packets are substantially simultaneously transmitted.
However, CIOCHINA discloses non-ER packets are substantially simultaneously transmitted (Fig. 6; [0063] shown in FIG. 6. The MU operation between AP1 and STA1 to STA_N follows the usual procedure, i.e., starts with an RTS trigger frame 60 from AP1, requesting the addressed STAs to respond with a trigger based CTS 61. The oAP, which has gained the channel access within transmit opportunity TxOP2 (shown in FIG. 5) to gather measurement reports and compute beamforming matrices with nulling constraints, is also responding to the RTS frame. From oAP1 this is a CTS to self 62, meant to inform STAs and oSTAs of the medium reservation).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the non-ER packets of ABRAHAM to include the non-ER packets are substantially simultaneously transmitted as taught by CIOCHINA in order to help prevent interference of other STAs by informing the other STAs of the medium reservation (CIOCHINA - [0035] it is assumed that the AP1 is selfish, i.e. there is no interference nulling towards oSTAs but it applies beamforming only with respect to its own STAs STA1 to STA_N... Further, it is assumed that the oAPi knows channels to STA1 and has interference nulling capability and that the oSTAs are reporting to their corresponding oAPs, with which they are associated; [0063];).
Regarding claim 21, ABRAHAM discloses:
A first wireless device (Fig. 4 – source station; Fig. 15 – station), comprising:
a controller (Fig. 15 – controller 1522; [0087] processor 1520 may perform processing for data and/or messages being sent by station 1500… A controller 1522 may control the operation of various modules within station 1500) configured to generate ([0087];) an extended range request-to-send (ER-RTS) packet ([0035] extended range Request-to-Send messages (XR RTS messages)); and
a wireless transceiver (Fig. 15 – transmitter 1512, receiver 1514; [0086] a transmitter 1512 may receive messages and/or data to be transmitted and may generate an output radio frequency (RF) signal comprising the messages and/or data. A receiver 1514 may receive and process a received RF signal and provide samples) configured to transmit the ER-RTS packet (Fig. 4 – RTS 412; [0036] a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium… RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode; [0037] XR station 122 may receive RTS message 412 and may transmit an XR CTS message in response) to a second wireless device (Fig. 4 – destination station) to reserve a transmission channel (Fig. 4 – NR CTS NAV, XR CTS NAV; [0038] To mitigate the hidden node problem, XR station 122 may transmit dual CTS messages 414 and 416 for any RTS message received (either ER or non-ER RTS) by the XR station... NR CTS message 414 may include a duration field, which may indicate a transmission time of T1 for subsequent data. The duration indicated by NR CTS message 414 may also be referred to as NR CTS NAV. NR station 120 may receive NR CTS message 414 and may determine that the wireless medium will be busy for a period of T1 (hence, the transmission channel is reserved) indicated by the duration field of CTS message 414; [0039] As shown in FIG. 4, XR CTS message 416 may also include a duration field, which may indicate a transmission time of T2 for subsequent data. The duration indicated by XR CTS message 416 may also be referred to as XR CTS NAV. Other XR stations (if any) may receive XR CTS message 416, set their NAVs to T2, and refrain from accessing the wireless medium until their NAVs count down to zero (hence, the transmission channel is reserved). The subsequent transmission of ACK 420 from XR station 122 may then be protected from collisions with transmissions from other XR stations. Transmission times T1 and T2 may be set such that the NAVs of both NR stations and XR stations count down to zero at or after the end of the ACK transmission);
wherein the first wireless device is configured to transmit data through the transmission channel (Fig. 4 – Data 418; Fig. 4 – XR CTS NAV; [0039] As shown in FIG. 4, XR CTS message 416... set their NAVs to T2, and refrain from accessing the wireless medium until their NAVs count down to zero (hence, the transmission channel is reserved)... Transmission times T1 and T2 may be set such that the NAVs of both NR stations and XR stations count down to zero at or after the end of the ACK transmission) after two CTS packets are simultaneously transmitted (Fig. 4 – NR CTS, XR CTS; [0038] XR station 122 may transmit dual CTS messages 414 and 416 (both ER and non-ER CTS packets) for any RTS message received by the XR station); and
wherein one of the two CTS packets is transmitted by the first wireless device and another one of the two CTS packets is transmitted by the second wireless device (Fig. 4 – NR CTS, XR CTS; [0038] XR station 122 may transmit dual CTS messages 414 and 416 (both ER and non-ER CTS packets) for any RTS message received by the XR station).
ABRAHAM does not explicitly disclose the two CTS packets are simultaneously transmitted and wherein one of the two CTS packets is transmitted by the first wireless device.
However, CIOCHINA discloses two CTS packets are simultaneously transmitted (Fig. 6; [0063] shown in FIG. 6. The MU operation between AP1 and STA1 to STA_N follows the usual procedure, i.e., starts with an RTS trigger frame 60 from AP1, requesting the addressed STAs to respond with a trigger based CTS 61. The oAP, which has gained the channel access within transmit opportunity TxOP2 (shown in FIG. 5) to gather measurement reports and compute beamforming matrices with nulling constraints, is also responding to the RTS frame. From oAP1 this is a CTS to self 62, meant to inform STAs and oSTAs of the medium reservation) and wherein one of the two CTS packets is transmitted by a first wireless device (Fig. 6 – oAP1, CTS 62).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the two CTS packets and the first wireless device of ABRAHAM to include the two CTS packets are simultaneously transmitted and wherein one of the two CTS packets is transmitted by the first wireless device as taught by CIOCHINA in order to help prevent interference of other STAs by informing the other STAs of the medium reservation (CIOCHINA - [0035] it is assumed that the AP1 is selfish, i.e. there is no interference nulling towards oSTAs but it applies beamforming only with respect to its own STAs STA1 to STA_N... Further, it is assumed that the oAPi knows channels to STA1 and has interference nulling capability and that the oSTAs are reporting to their corresponding oAPs, with which they are associated; [0063];).
Regarding claim 22, ABRAHAM further discloses:
wherein one of the non-ER packets is a non-ER CTS packet (Fig. 4 – NR CTS; [0038] XR station 122 may transmit dual CTS messages 414 and 416 (both ER and non-ER CTS packets) for any RTS message received by the XR station).
ABRAHAM does not explicitly disclose wherein the non-ER packets are both non-ER CTS packets.
However, CIOCHINA discloses wherein non-ER packets are both non-ER CTS packets (Fig. 6 CTS 61, 62; [0063] The MU operation between AP1 and STA1 to STA_N follows the usual procedure, i.e., starts with an RTS trigger frame 60 from AP1, requesting the addressed STAs to respond with a trigger based CTS 61. The oAP, which has gained the channel access within transmit opportunity TxOP2 (shown in FIG. 5) to gather measurement reports and compute beamforming matrices with nulling constraints, is also responding to the RTS frame. From oAP1 this is a CTS to self 62, meant to inform STAs and oSTAs of the medium reservation).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the non-ER packets of ABRAHAM to include the non-ER packets are both non-ER CTS packets as taught by CIOCHINA in order to help prevent interference of other STAs by informing the other STAs of the medium reservation (CIOCHINA - [0035] it is assumed that the AP1 is selfish, i.e. there is no interference nulling towards oSTAs but it applies beamforming only with respect to its own STAs STA1 to STA_N... Further, it is assumed that the oAPi knows channels to STA1 and has interference nulling capability and that the oSTAs are reporting to their corresponding oAPs, with which they are associated; [0063];).
Regarding claim 25, ABRAHAM does not explicitly disclose wherein the first non-ER packet transmission overlaps in time with the second non-ER packet transmission.
However, CIOCHINA discloses wherein the first non-ER packet transmission (Fig. 6 - CTS 62) overlaps in time with the second non-ER packet transmission (Fig. 6 – CTS 61; [0063] The MU operation between AP1 and STA1 to STA_N follows the usual procedure, i.e., starts with an RTS trigger frame 60 from AP1, requesting the addressed STAs to respond with a trigger based CTS 61. The oAP, which has gained the channel access within transmit opportunity TxOP2 (shown in FIG. 5) to gather measurement reports and compute beamforming matrices with nulling constraints, is also responding to the RTS frame. From oAP1 this is a CTS to self 62, meant to inform STAs and oSTAs of the medium reservation).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the non-ER packets of ABRAHAM to include the first non-ER packet transmission overlaps in time with the second non-ER packet transmission as taught by CIOCHINA in order to help prevent interference of other STAs by informing the other STAs of the medium reservation (CIOCHINA - [0035] it is assumed that the AP1 is selfish, i.e. there is no interference nulling towards oSTAs but it applies beamforming only with respect to its own STAs STA1 to STA_N... Further, it is assumed that the oAPi knows channels to STA1 and has interference nulling capability and that the oSTAs are reporting to their corresponding oAPs, with which they are associated; [0063];).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THERESA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418