CTNF 18/388,173 CTNF 100214 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-27 2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. IN202221063532 , filed on 11/08/2022 . Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/08/2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-15 AIA 4. Claim s 1-3, 6,10, 12-14, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1)/(a)(2 ) as being anticipated by Abraham et al. (US-20160197700-A1, hereinafter, ABRAHAM) . Regarding claim 1, ABRAHAM discloses: A wireless device (Fig. 4 – source station; Fig. 15 – station) comprising: a controller (Fig. 15 – controller 1522; [0087] processor 1520 may p erform processing for data and/or messages being sent by station 1500… A controller 1522 may control the operation of various modules within station 1500) configured to generate ([0087];) an extended range request-to-send (ER- RTS) packet ([0035] extended range Request-to-Send messages ( XR RTS messages )) ; and a wireless transceiver (Fig. 15 – transmitter 1512, receiver 1514; [0086] a transmitter 1512 may receive messages and/or data to be transmitted and may generate an output radio frequency (RF) signal comprising the messages and/or data. A receiver 1514 may receive and process a received RF signal and provide samples) configured to transmit the ER-RTS packet (Fig. 4 – RTS 412; [0036] a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium… RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode; [0037] XR station 122 may receive RTS message 412 and may transmit an XR CTS message in response ) to a second wireless device (Fig. 4 – destination station) to reserve a transmission channel (Fig. 4 – XR CTS NAV; [0039] As shown in FIG. 4, XR CTS message 416 may also include a duration field , which may indicate a transmission time of T2 for subsequent data. The duration indicated by XR CTS message 416 may also be referred to as XR CTS NAV . Other XR stations (if any) may receive XR CTS message 416, set their NAVs to T2, and refrain from accessing the wireless medium until their NAVs count down to zero (hence, the transmission channel is reserved) . The subsequent transmission of ACK 420 from XR station 122 may then be protected from collisions with transmissions from other XR stations. Transmission times T1 and T2 may be set such that the NAVs of both NR stations and XR stations count down to zero at or after the end of the ACK transmission) . Regarding claim 2, ABRAHAM further discloses the wireless device of claim 1. wherein the transmission channel (wireless medium) comprises a wireless transmission channel between the wireless device and the second wireless device (Fig.4; [0036] a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium … A destination station (e.g., XR station 122) may receive the RTS message and may respond by transmitting an NR CTS message 414 followed by an XR CTS message 416) . Regarding claim 3, ABRAHAM further discloses the wireless device of claim 2. wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured ([0086];) to transmit data through the transmission channel (Fig. 4 – Data 418) after receiving an extended range clear-to-send (ER-CTS) packet from the second wireless device ([0036] A destination station (e.g., XR station 122)… may respond by transmitting an NR CTS message 414 followed by an XR CTS message 416 … The source station may receive the CTS messages and may transmit data 418 in response to XR CTS message 416 ) . Regarding claim 6, ABRAHAM further discloses the wireless device of claim 3. wherein an RTS packet (Fig. 4 – RTS message 412; [0036] RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode ) is transmitted by the wireless device to the second wireless device and a CTS packet (Fig. 4 – NR CTS 414) is transmitted by the second wireless device to the wireless device before the ER-CTS packet (Fig. 4 – XR CTS 416) is received by the wireless transceiver from the second wireless device (Fig.4; [0036] a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium… A destination station (e.g., XR station 122) may receive the RTS message and may respond by transmitting an NR CTS message 414 followed by an XR CTS message 416 ) . Regarding claim 10, ABRAHAM further discloses the wireless device of claim 2. wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured ([0086]; ) to transmit data through the transmission channel (Fig. 4 – Data 418) after receiving a clear-to-send (CTS) packet from the second wireless device ([0036] A destination station (e.g., XR station 122)… may respond by transmitting an NR CTS message 414 followed by an XR CTS message 416 … The source station may receive the CTS messages and may transmit data 418 in response to XR CTS message 416 ) . Regarding claim 12, ABRAHAM further discloses the wireless device of claim 1. wherein the wireless device (Fig 1; Fig. 4 – NR CTS; [0036] A destination station (e.g., XR station 122) may receive the RTS message and may respond by transmitting an NR CTS message 414… NR CTS message 414 may be a normal CTS message in IEEE 802.11) is compatible with an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 protocol ([0022] The range extension techniques disclosed herein may be used for various wireless networks such as… A WLAN may implement one or more standards in the IEEE 802.11 family of standards developed by The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) for WLANs) . Regarding claim 13, ABRAHAM further discloses the wireless device of claim 1. wherein an RTS packet is transmitted by the wireless device to the second wireless device (Fig. 4 – RTS 412; [0036] a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium… RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode) and a clear-to-send (CTS) packet is transmitted by the second wireless device to the wireless device (Fig. 4- NR CTS 414; [0036] A destination station (e.g., XR station 122) may receive the RTS message and may respond by transmitting an NR CTS message 414 followed by an XR CTS message 416. NR CTS message 414 may be a normal CTS message in IEEE 802.11) . Regarding claim 14, ABRAHAM discloses: an extended range (ER) source ([0036] As shown in FIG. 4, a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium. RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode; [0036] A destination station (e.g., XR station 122) may receive the RTS message and may respond by transmitting an NR CTS message 414… NR CTS message 414 may be a normal CTS message in IEEE 802.11… XR CTS message 416 may be intended for the source station , which may support the XR mode ) compatible with an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 protocol (Fig 1; Fig. 4 – source station; [0022] The range extension techniques disclosed herein may be used for various wireless networks such as… A WLAN may implement one or more standards in the IEEE 802.11 family of standards developed by The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) for WLANs) , the ER source (Fig. 4 – source station; Fig. 15 – station; [0036] As shown in FIG. 4, a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium. RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode ) comprising: a controller (Fig. 15 – controller 1522; [0087] processor 1520 may perform processing for data and/or messages being sent by station 1500… A controller 1522 may control the operation of various modules within station 1500) configured to generate ([0087];) an extended range request-to-send (ER- RTS) packet ([0035] extended range Request-to-Send messages ( XR RTS messages )) or an RTS packet ([0036] As shown in FIG. 4, a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium. RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode) ; and a wireless transceiver (Fig. 15 – transmitter 1512, receiver 1514; [0086] a transmitter 1512 may receive messages and/or data to be transmitted and may generate an output radio frequency (RF) signal comprising the messages and/or data. A receiver 1514 may receive and process a received RF signal and provide samples) configured to transmit the ER-RTS packet or the RTS packet (Fig. 4 – RTS 412; [0036] a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium… RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode; [0037] XR station 122 may receive RTS message 412 and may transmit an XR CTS message in response ) to an ER destination (Fig. 4 – destination station; [0036] A destination station (e.g., XR station 122 ) may… respond by transmitting an NR CTS message 414 followed by an XR CTS message 416) to reserve a wireless transmission channel (Fig. 4 – XR CTS NAV; [0039] As shown in FIG. 4, XR CTS message 416 may also include a duration field , which may indicate a transmission time of T2 for subsequent data. The duration indicated by XR CTS message 416 may also be referred to as XR CTS NAV . Other XR stations (if any) may receive XR CTS message 416, set their NAVs to T2, and refrain from accessing the wireless medium until their NAVs count down to zero (hence, the transmission channel is reserved) . The subsequent transmission of ACK 420 from XR station 122 may then be protected from collisions with transmissions from other XR stations. Transmission times T1 and T2 may be set such that the NAVs of both NR stations and XR stations count down to zero at or after the end of the ACK transmission) between the ER source and the ER destination (Fig.4; [0036] a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium … A destination station (e.g., XR station 122 ) may receive the RTS message and may respond by transmitting an NR CTS message 414 followed by an XR CTS message 416) and to transmit data through the wireless transmission channel (Fig. 4 – Data 418) after receiving an extended range clear-to-send (ER-CTS) packet (Fig. 4 – XR CTS 416) from the ER destination (Fig. 4 – destination source) . Regarding claim 17, ABRAHAM further discloses the ER source of claim 14. wherein an RTS packet (Fig. 4 – RTS message 412; [0036] RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode) is transmitted by the ER source ([0036] As shown in FIG. 4, a source station (e.g., access point 110)… an XR RTS message for the XR mode ) to the ER destination ([0036] A destination station (e.g., XR station 122 )) and a CTS packet (Fig. 4 – NR CTS 414) is transmitted by the ER destination to the ER source before the ER-CTS packet (Fig. 4 – XR CTS 416) is received by the wireless transceiver from the ER destination (Fig.4; [0036] a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium… A destination station (e.g., XR station 122 ) may receive the RTS message and may respond by transmitting an NR CTS message 414 followed by an XR CTS message 416 ) . Regarding claim 20, ABRAHAM discloses: A method for wireless communications (Fig. 1; Fig. 4;) , the method comprising ([0007] Techniques for supporting communication over an extended range in a wireless network are disclosed herein) : at a first wireless device (Fig. 4 – source station; Fig. 15 – station) , generating (processor 1520 may perform processing for data and/or messages being sent by station 1500) an extended range request-to-send (ER-RTS) packet (Fig. 4 – RTS 412; [0036] a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium… RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode; Fig. 15 – controller 1522; [0087] processor 1520 may perform processing for data and/or messages being sent by station 1500… A controller 1522 may control the operation of various modules within station 1500; [0035] extended range Request-to-Send messages ( XR RTS messages )) ; and from the first wireless device, transmitting the ER-RTS packet (Fig. 4 – RTS 412; [0036] a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an RTS message 412 via the wireless medium… RTS message 412 may be an NR RTS message for the NR mode or an XR RTS message for the XR mode; [0037] XR station 122 may receive RTS message 412 and may transmit an XR CTS message in response ) to a second wireless device (Fig. 4 – destination station) to reserve a transmission channel (Fig. 4 – XR CTS NAV; [0039] As shown in FIG. 4, XR CTS message 416 may also include a duration field , which may indicate a transmission time of T2 for subsequent data. The duration indicated by XR CTS message 416 may also be referred to as XR CTS NAV . Other XR stations (if any) may receive XR CTS message 416, set their NAVs to T2, and refrain from accessing the wireless medium until their NAVs count down to zero (hence, the transmission channel is reserved) . The subsequent transmission of ACK 420 from XR station 122 may then be protected from collisions with transmissions from other XR stations. Transmission times T1 and T2 may be set such that the NAVs of both NR stations and XR stations count down to zero at or after the end of the ACK transmission) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-21-aia AIA 5. Claim s 4, 7, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABRAHAM in view of Grandhi et al. (US-20150092720-A1, hereinafter GRANDHI) . Regarding claim 4, ABRAHAM further discloses the wireless device of claim 3. wherein a CTS packet (Fig. 4 – NR CTS 414) is transmitted by the second wireless device before the ER-CTS packet (Fig. 4 – XR CTS 416) is received by the wireless transceiver ([0086];) from the second wireless device (Fig.4; [0036] a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an RTS message 412… A destination station (e.g., XR station 122) may receive the RTS message and may respond by transmitting an NR CTS message 414 followed by an XR CTS message 416) . ABRAHAM does not explicitly disclose a CTS packet is transmitted by the wireless device before the ER-CTS packet is received by the wireless transceiver from the second wireless device. However, GRANDHI discloses a CTS packet (Fig. 3, block 302– NR CTS_TO_SELF) is transmitted by a wireless device (Fig. 3, block 302 - AP) before an ER-CTS packet is received (fig. 3, block 302 – ER CTS) from a second wireless device (Fig. 3, block 302 – ER STA; [0008] FIG. 3 shows a diagram from the WWiSE proposal presentation document on the self-managed Extended Range protection. Examples of signaling for dual mode protection of normal range (NR) and extended range (ER) stations are shown… The AP protects TXOP for the NR STA and ER STA using signal sequences 301-302 respectively… As shown, the AP sends either a CTS in response to an RTS from a particular stations and in the mode as used by the station that sent the RTS, or a CTS-to-self signal in the mode other than that of the RTS-sending station) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the transmission by the wireless device of ABRAHAM to include the CTS packet is transmitted by the wireless device before the ER-CTS packet is received from the second wireless device as taught by GRANDHI in order to protect a transmission opportunity (TXOP) for both normal and extended range stations by setting a NAV based on the TXOP to help mitigate a hidden node problem (GRANDHI – [0005] It can be the first frame in an exchange and used for setting the Network Allocation Vector (NAV) for MAC level protection for the transmission to follow . When the CTS frame is sent as the first frame by the initiating station of an exchange, the CTS may be addressed to itself and is referred to as CTS-to-self ; [0008] The AP protects TXOP for the NR STA and ER STA using signal sequences 301-302 respectively; ABRAHAM – [0038] To mitigate the hidden node problem… The duration indicated by NR CTS message 414 may also be referred to as NR CTS NAV… NR station 120 may set its network allocation vector (NAV) to T1 and may refrain from accessing the wireless medium until its NAV counts down to zero) . Regarding claim 7, ABRAHAM further discloses the wireless device of claim 2. wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured ([0086];) to transmit data through the transmission channel (Fig. 4 – Data 418; [0036] The source station may receive the CTS messages and may transmit data 418 (via the wireless medium) in response to XR CTS message 416) after a CTS packet is transmitted by the second wireless device (Fig. 4 – destination station; [0036] A destination station (e.g., XR station 122) may receive the RTS message and may respond by transmitting an NR CTS message 414 followed by an XR CTS message 416) . ABRAHAM does not explicitly disclose a CTS packet is transmitted by the wireless device before a secondary CTS packet is received by the wireless transceiver from the second wireless device. However, GRANDHI discloses a CTS packet (Fig. 3, block 301, 302 – ER CTS_TO_SELF, NR CTS_TO_SELF) is transmitted by a wireless device (Fig. 3, block 301, 302 - AP) before a secondary CTS packet is received (fig. 3, block 301, 302 – NR CTS, ER CTS) from a second wireless device (Fig. 3, block 301, 302 – NR STA, ER STA; [0008] FIG. 3 shows a diagram from the WWiSE proposal presentation document on the self-managed Extended Range protection. Examples of signaling for dual mode protection of normal range (NR) and extended range (ER) stations are shown… The AP protects TXOP for the NR STA and ER STA using signal sequences 301-302 respectively… As shown, the AP sends either a CTS in response to an RTS from a particular stations and in the mode as used by the station that sent the RTS, or a CTS-to-self signal in the mode other than that of the RTS-sending station) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the transmission by the wireless device of ABRAHAM to include the CTS packet is transmitted by the wireless device before the secondary CTS packet is received from the second wireless device, wherein the CTS packet is transmitted by the second wireless device is associated just the same way as the secondary CTS packet as taught by GRANDHI in order to protect a transmission opportunity (TXOP) for both normal and extended range stations by setting a NAV based on the TXOP to help mitigate a hidden node problem (GRANDHI – [0005] It can be the first frame in an exchange and used for setting the Network Allocation Vector (NAV) for MAC level protection for the transmission to follow . When the CTS frame is sent as the first frame by the initiating station of an exchange, the CTS may be addressed to itself and is referred to as CTS-to-self ; [0008] The AP protects TXOP for the NR STA and ER STA using signal sequences 301-302 respectively; ABRAHAM – [0038] To mitigate the hidden node problem… The duration indicated by NR CTS message 414 may also be referred to as NR CTS NAV… NR station 120 may set its network allocation vector (NAV) to T1 and may refrain from accessing the wireless medium until its NAV counts down to zero) . Regarding claim 15, ABRAHAM further discloses the wireless device of claim 14. Wherein a CTS packet is transmitted by the ER destination before the ER-CTS packet is received by the wireless transceiver ([0086];) from the ER destination (Fig.4; [0036] a source station (e.g., access point 110) may initially transmit an RTS message 412… A destination station (e.g., XR station 122) may receive the RTS message and may respond by transmitting an NR CTS message 414 followed by an X R CTS message 416 ) . ABRAHAM does not explicitly disclose a CTS packet is transmitted by the ER source before the ER-CTS packet is received by the wireless transceiver from the ER destination. However, GRANDHI discloses a CTS packet (Fig. 3, block 302– NR CTS_TO_SELF) is transmitted by an ER device (Fig. 3, block 302 - AP) before an ER-CTS packet is received (fig. 3, block 302 – ER CTS) from an ER destination (Fig. 3, block 302 – ER STA; [0008] FIG. 3 shows a diagram from the WWiSE proposal presentation document on the self-managed Extended Range protection. Examples of signaling for dual mode protection of normal range (NR) and extended range (ER) stations are shown… The AP protects TXOP for the NR STA and ER STA using signal sequences 301-302 respectively… As shown, the AP sends either a CTS in response to an RTS from a particular stations and in the mode as used by the station that sent the RTS, or a CTS-to-self signal in the mode other than that of the RTS-sending station) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the transmission by the ER source of ABRAHAM to include the CTS packet is transmitted by the ER source before the ER-CTS packet is received from the ER destination as taught by GRANDHI in order to protect a transmission opportunity (TXOP) for both normal and extended range stations by setting a NAV based on the TXOP to help mitigate a hidden node problem (GRANDHI – [0005] It can be the first frame in an exchange and used for setting the Network Allocation Vector (NAV) for MAC level protection for the transmission to follow . When the CTS frame is sent as the first frame by the initiating station of an exchange, the CTS may be addressed to itself and is referred to as CTS-to-self ; [0008] The AP protects TXOP for the NR STA and ER STA using signal sequences 301-302 respectively; ABRAHAM – [0038] To mitigate the hidden node problem… The duration indicated by NR CTS message 414 may also be referred to as NR CTS NAV… NR station 120 may set its network allocation vector (NAV) to T1 and may refrain from accessing the wireless medium until its NAV counts down to zero) . 07-21-aia AIA 6. Claim s 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABRAHAM in view of Park et al. (US-20140140333-A1, hereinafter PARK) . Regarding claim 11, ABRAHAM further discloses the wireless device of claim 10. wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured ([0086];) to receive an extended range clear-to-send (ER-CTS) packet (Fig. 4 – XR CTS 416) from the second wireless device (Fig. 4 – destination station) is received by the wireless transceiver ([0086];) from the second wireless device ([0036] A destination station (e.g., XR station 122)… may respond by transmitting an NR CTS message 414 followed by an XR CTS message 416… The source station may receive the CTS messages and may transmit data 418 in response to XR CTS message 416 ) . ABRAHAM does not explicitly disclose receiving the ER-CTS packet from the second wireless device before the CTS packet is received by the wireless transceiver from the second device. However, PARK discloses receiving an ER-CTS packet (Fig. 7 – ER-CTS) before a CTS packet (Fig. 7 – non-ER CTS to self) is received ([0055] In case the AP transmits the ER-RTS frame to communicate with the STA2 belonging to the extended coverage area, the STA2 may makes a response by using the ER-CTS frame after the SIFS period. However, since this signal cannot be recognized by the STA1 which supports the non-ER PHY only, the STA1 cannot configure the NAV through the ER-CTS frame. Therefore, the AP transmits the non-ER CTS-to-self frame again after another SIFS period, and the STA1 which receives the non-ER CTS-to-self frame can configure the NAV) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the ER-CTS packet of ABRAHAM to include receiving the ER-CTS packet before the CTS packet is received as taught by PARK in order to notify other non-ER STAs only to configure their NAVs via the non-ER CTS-to-self (PARK – [0055]; ABRAHAM – [0038] To mitigate the hidden node problem… The duration indicated by NR CTS message 414 may also be referred to as NR CTS NAV… NR station 120 may set its network allocation vector (NAV) to T1 and may refrain from accessing the wireless medium until its NAV counts down to zero) . Regarding claim 19, ABRAHAM further discloses the ER source of claim 14. wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured ([0086];) to receive the ER-CTS packet (Fig. 4 – XR CTS 416) from the ER destination (Fig. 4 – source station; [0036] source station, which may support the XR mode ) is received by the wireless transceiver ([0086];) from the ER destination ([0036] A destination station (e.g., XR station 122 )… may respond by transmitting an NR CTS message 414 followed by an XR CTS message 416… The source station may receive the CTS messages and may transmit data 418 in response to XR CTS message 416 ) . ABRAHAM does not explicitly disclose receive, the ER-CTS packet from the ER destination before the CTS packet is received by the wireless transceiver from the ER destination. However, PARK discloses receive, an ER-CTS packet (Fig. 7 – ER-CTS) before a CTS packet (Fig. 7 – non-ER CTS to self) is received ([0055] In case the AP transmits the ER-RTS frame to communicate with the STA2 belonging to the extended coverage area, the STA2 may makes a response by using the ER-CTS frame after the SIFS period. However, since this signal cannot be recognized by the STA1 which supports the non-ER PHY only, the STA1 cannot configure the NAV through the ER-CTS frame. Therefore, the AP transmits the non-ER CTS-to-self frame again after another SIFS period, and the STA1 which receives the non-ER CTS-to-self frame can configure the NAV) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the ER-CTS packet of ABRAHAM to include receive the ER-CTS packet before the CTS packet is received as taught by PARK in order to notify other non-ER STAs only to configure their NAVs via the non-ER CTS-to-self in order to mitigate a hidden node problem (PARK – [0055]; ABRAHAM – [0038] To mitigate the hidden node problem… The duration indicated by NR CTS message 414 may also be referred to as NR CTS NAV… NR station 120 may set its network allocation vector (NAV) to T1 and may refrain from accessing the wireless medium until its NAV counts down to zero) . 07-21-aia AIA 7. Claim s 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABRAHAM in view of GRANDHI in further view of PARK . Regarding claim 9, ABRAHAM further discloses the wireless device of claim 7. wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured ([0086];) to receive an extended range clear-to-send (ER-CTS) packet (Fig. 4 – XR CTS 416; [0036] XR CTS message 416 may be intended for the source station , which may support the XR mode. The source station may receive the CTS messages and may transmit data 418 in response to XR CTS message 416) from the second wireless device (Fig. 4 – Destination station) . ABRAHAM does not explicitly disclose receive, the ER-CTS packet before two CTS packets are transmitted by the wireless device and the second wireless device. However, GRANDHI disclose the receive, an ER-CTS packet (Fig. 11 – CTS mode 2 1101; (mode 2 is operating in extended range/STBC see [0007];[0040];); [0050] Alternatively, a station will not start transmitting before it receives a CTS response to its RTS ) from a second wireless device (Fig. 11 – AP; [0044] As shown in FIG. 11, the AP transmits a CTS frame 1102 in the mode being used for the TXOP being protected by the STA. Here, the STA is the station STA2 which initiated the TXOP is operating in Mode 2) before two CTS packets are transmitted by the second wireless device (Fig. 11 – 1103-1105; [0043] The response from the AP is to send multiple CTS and CTS-to-self frames 1102-1105 in formats corresponding to the modes, for example, modulation, link configuration, etc., so that stations operating in the other modes will be notified that a TXOP has been reserved/protected for Mode 2 stations, such as STA2) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the ER-CTS packet of ABRAHAM to include receive the ER-CTS packet before two CTS packets are transmitted by the second wireless device as taught by GRANDHI in order to notify other stations that TXOP has been reserved for extended range mode to several other stations via multiple CTS (GRANDHI - [0046] The multiple CTS/CTS-to-Self frames sent by the AP in response to the RTS frame applies to the following cases… Alternatively, each STA can be allowed to respond with multiple CTS frames, which is particularly useful in an independent basic service set (IBSS) (i.e., where there is no AP and all stations are peers) or a mesh scenario. In such a case, a selected STA plays the role of an AP by sending the multiple CTS frames. Otherwise, coordinating the CTS response from several stations could be difficult) . ABRAHAM and GRANDHI does not explicitly disclose receive, the ER-CTS packet from the second wireless device before a CTS packet is transmitted by the wireless device. However, PARK discloses receive, an ER-CTS packet (Fig. 7 – ER-CTS) from a second wireless device (Fig. 7 - STA) before a CTS packet is transmitted (Fig. 7 – non-ER CTS to self) by a wireless device (Fig. 7 – AP; [0055] FIG. 7 is an embodiment of a case where an AP transmits an ER-RTS frame. In case the AP transmits the ER-RTS frame to communicate with the STA2 belonging to the extended coverage area , the STA2 may makes a response by using the ER-CTS frame after the SIFS period. However, since this signal cannot be recognized by the STA1 which supports the non-ER PHY only, the STA1 cannot configure the NAV through the ER-CTS frame. Therefore, the AP transmits the non-ER CTS-to-self frame again after another SIFS period , and the STA1 which receives the non-ER CTS-to-self frame can configure the NAV. The AP transmits the ER-Data frame after a yet another SIFS period, and the STA2 makes a response again after the SIFS period by using the ER-ACK, whereby the procedure for transmitting the ER-Data frame from the AP is completed) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the ER-CTS packet of ABRAHAM and GRANDHI to include receiving the ER-CTS packet before the CTS packet is transmitted by the wireless device as taught by PARK in order to notify other non-ER STAs only to configure their NAVs via the non-ER CTS-to-self in order to mitigate a hidden node problem (PARK – [0055]; ABRAHAM – [0038] To mitigate the hidden node problem… The duration indicated by NR CTS message 414 may also be referred to as NR CTS NAV… NR station 120 may set its network allocation vector (NAV) to T1 and may refrain from accessing the wireless medium until its NAV counts down to zero) . Regarding claim 18, ABRAHAM further discloses the ER source of claim 14. wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured ([0086];) to receive the ER-CTS packet from the ER destination (Fig. 4 – XR CTS 416; [0036] A destination station (e.g., XR station 122 )… may respond by transmitting an NR CTS message 414 followed by an XR CTS message 416… The source station may receive the CTS messages and may transmit data 418 in response to XR CTS message 416 ) . ABRAHAM does not explicitly disclose receive, the ER-CTS packet from the ER destination before two CTS packets are transmitted by the ER source and the ER destination. However, GRANDHI disclose the receive, an ER-CTS packet (Fig. 11 – CTS mode 2 1101; (mode 2 is operating in extended range/STBC see [0007];[0040];); [0050] Alternatively, a station will not start transmitting before it receives a CTS response to its RTS ) from an ER destination (Fig. 11 – AP; [0044] As shown in FIG. 11, the AP transmits a CTS frame 1102 in the mode being used for the TXOP being protected by the STA. Here, the STA is the station STA2 which initiated the TXOP is operating in Mode 2) before two CTS packets are transmitted by the ER destination (Fig. 11 – 1103-1105; [0043] The response from the AP is to send multiple CTS and CTS-to-self frames 1102-1105 in formats corresponding to the modes, for example, modulation, link configuration, etc., so that stations operating in the other modes will be notified that a TXOP has been reserved/protected for Mode 2 stations, such as STA2) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the ER-CTS packet of ABRAHAM to include receive the ER-CTS packet before two CTS packets are transmitted by the ER destination as taught by GRANDHI in order to notify other stations that TXOP has been reserved for extended range mode to several other stations via multiple CTS (GRANDHI - [0046] The multiple CTS/CTS-to-Self frames sent by the AP in response to the RTS frame applies to the following cases… Alternatively, each STA can be allowed to respond with multiple CTS frames, which is particularly useful in an independent basic service set (IBSS) (i.e., where there is no AP and all stations are peers) or a mesh scenario. In such a case, a selected STA plays the role of an AP by sending the multiple CTS frames. Otherwise, coordinating the CTS response from several stations could be difficult) . ABRAHAM and GRANDHI does not explicitly disclose receive, the ER-CTS packet from the ER destination before a CTS packet is transmitted by the ER source. However, PARK discloses receive, an ER-CTS packet (Fig. 7 – ER-CTS) from an ER destination (Fig. 7 - STA) before a CTS packet is transmitted (Fig. 7 – non-ER CTS to self) by an ER source (Fig. 7 – AP; [0055] FIG. 7 is an embodiment of a case where an AP transmits an ER-RTS frame. In case the AP transmits the ER-RTS frame to communicate with the STA2 belonging to the extended coverage area , the STA2 may makes a response by using the ER-CTS frame after the SIFS period. However, since this signal cannot be recognized by the STA1 which supports the non-ER PHY only, the STA1 cannot configure the NAV through the ER-CTS frame. Therefore, the AP transmits the non-ER CTS-to-self frame again after another SIFS period , and the STA1 which receives the non-ER CTS-to-self frame can configure the NAV. The AP transmits the ER-Data frame after a yet another SIFS period, and the STA2 makes a response again after the SIFS period by using the ER-ACK, whereby the procedure for transmitting the ER-Data frame from the AP is completed) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the ER-CTS packet of ABRAHAM and GRANDHI to include receiving the ER-CTS packet before the CTS packet is transmitted by the ER source as taught by PARK in order to notify other non-ER STAs only to configure their NAVs via the non-ER CTS-to-self in order to mitigate a hidden node problem (PARK – [0055]; ABRAHAM – [0038] To mitigate the hidden node problem… The duration indicated by NR CTS message 414 may also be referred to as NR CTS NAV… NR station 120 may set its network allocation vector (NAV) to T1 and may refrain from accessing the wireless medium until its NAV counts down to zero) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 8. Claim s 5, 8, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject: ABRAHAM, GRANDHI, and PARK are the most relevant prior arts towards the claimed invention as cited above in claims 1 and 3 which claims 5 and 8 depend on. However, ABRAHAM, GRANDHI, and PARK either alone or in combination, does not teach or suggest “two CTS packets are simultaneously transmitted by the wireless device and the second wireless device” , as cited in claims 5 and 8. ABRAHAM, GRANDHI, and PARK are the most relevant prior arts towards the claimed invention as cited above in claim 14 which claim 16 depends on. However, ABRAHAM, GRANDHI, and PARK either alone or in combination, does not teach or suggest “two CTS packets are simultaneously transmitted by the ER source and the ER destination” as cited in claim 16. No additional evidence was found to reasonably render a case of obviousness against the claimed invention. Conclusion 07-96 AIA 9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. PTO-892 form . Zhuo et al. (US-20150078215-A1) teaches transmit an uplink data during a time period indicated by an RTS by an AP, then a first CTS transmits by a STA, and then a second CTS transmits by the AP which will update the NAV to protect the full duration of the uplink transmission (Fig. 19). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to THERESA NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-2386. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 9AM - 5PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, MOO JEONG can be reached at (571)272-9617. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /THERESA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2418 /Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/388,173 Page 2 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/388,173 Page 3 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/388,173 Page 4 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/388,173 Page 5 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/388,173 Page 6 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/388,173 Page 7 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/388,173 Page 8 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/388,173 Page 9 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/388,173 Page 10 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/388,173 Page 11 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/388,173 Page 12 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/388,173 Page 13 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/388,173 Page 14 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/388,173 Page 15 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/388,173 Page 16 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/388,173 Page 17 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/388,173 Page 18 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/388,173 Page 19 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/388,173 Page 20 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/388,173 Page 21 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/388,173 Page 22 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/388,173 Page 23 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/388,173 Page 24 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/388,173 Page 25 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/388,173 Page 26 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/388,173 Page 27 Art Unit: 2418