DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Each independent claim now includes a limitation requiring the strap to pass through a channel extending through the upper portion of the case, however this limitation is not supported by the disclosure as originally filed. The specification only described the attachment of the strap to the carrier in the same terminology as was previously presented in the claims (now deleted via the current amendment) and makes no mention of the channel. Further, the drawings do not show sufficient detail to be the sole support for the newly added claim limitation.
This is a new matter rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panganiban (US 7677056) in view of Hvedson et al. (US 2016/0135572, hereinafter ‘Hvedson’) and Saffran (US 8272545).
Panganiban discloses a beverage container holding apparatus comprising: a case comprising: a lower portion (25) having a bottom wall (20) and a perimeter wall (100), the perimeter wall being coupled to and extending away from the bottom wall (see Fig. 1), the lower portion defining an interior space in the lower portion, the interior space having a size and a shape such that the lower portion is configured to hold a beverage container in the interior space, a top edge of the perimeter wall defining an opening to the interior space (see Figs. 1, 2); an upper portion (50) being coupled to the lower portion, the upper portion being movable between an open position (see Fig. 1) and a closed position with respect to the opening of the lower portion (see Fig. 1); and a closure (80) being coupled to the lower portion and the upper portion and is operable to releasably secure the upper portion in the closed position (col. 5, ll. 20-32); except does not expressly disclose the lanyard/channel as claimed.
However, Hvedson teaches providing a beverage container holding apparatus with a lanyard being coupled to the case, the lanyard comprising: a strap (6) being mounted to the upper portion of the case, the strap having a pair of end portions (4, 5), each end portion of the pair of end portions of the strap being coupled to the case, the strap having a middle portion being coupled to and extending between the pair of end portions (see Fig. 1); and an adjustment ring (7) being slidably coupled to the pair of end portions of the strap, the adjustment ring receiving the pair of end portions through the adjustment ring, the adjustment ring forming a proximal loop and a distal loop with the strap with respect to the case (see Fig. 1), the adjustment ring being slidable alternately toward and away from the case to adjust sizes of the proximal loop and the distal loop (functional/intended use limitation).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the lanyard taught by Hvedson to the container holder taught by Panganiban, in order to allow the apparatus to remain level and balanced while providing hands-free use to the user as taught by Hvedson (para 0015).
Further, Saffran teaches a bottle carrier strap extending through a channel (82) extending through the carrier such that the strap is coupled to the case, the strap having a middle portion extending from opposite ends of the channel extending through the carrier (see Figs. 1, 4) as claimed.
Because Panganiban as modified above and Saffran both teach attachments of a strap to a beverage carrier device, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the channel with strap extending therethrough taught by Saffran for the tied strap ends taught by Panganiban as modified above to achieve the predictable result of securely suspending the carrier from the user.
The initial statement of intended use and all other functional implications have been carefully considered but are deemed not to impose any patentably distinguishing structure over that disclosed by Panganiban as modified above which is capable of being used in the intended manner, i.e., adjusting loop size to fit a user’s neck or wrist. There is no structure in Panganiban as modified above that would prohibit such functional intended use (see MPEP 2111).
Panganiban as modified above further results in a device wherein the perimeter wall has a height from the bottom wall to the top edge of the perimeter wall such that the top edge is configured to be positioned between a top end and a bottom end of the beverage container when the lower portion holds the beverage container in a held position in the lower portion (see Panganiban Fig. 2); the top edge is configured to be positioned closer to the top end than to the bottom end of the beverage container when the lower portion holds the beverage container in the held position (see Panganiban Fig. 2); an interior surface of the perimeter wall has a shape such that the interior surface is configured to be complementary in shape to an exterior surface of the beverage container (see Panganiban Fig. 1); the perimeter wall has a cylindrical shape (see Panganiban Fig. 1); the lower portion and the upper portion each comprise a thermally insulating material (see Panganiban 60); the upper portion has a top wall and a peripheral wall, the peripheral wall being coupled to and extending away from the top wall, the upper portion and the lower portion being configured to completely enclose the beverage container when the upper portion is positioned in the closed position (see Panganiban Fig. 2; col. 5, ll. 20-32); the closure comprises a pair of mating members (zipper; Panganiban 80); a living hinge being coupled to the lower portion and the upper portion, the upper portion being pivotable with respect to the lower portion via the hinge (see Panganiban Figs. 1, 2; col. 3, ll. 14); the hinge is integrally formed with the lower portion and the upper portion (see Panganiban Figs. 1, 2); a lid being mounted in the upper portion, the lid comprising a panel (Panganiban top panel of 50) and a peripheral lip (Panganiban 35), the peripheral lip being coupled to and extending away from the panel wherein the peripheral lip is configured to form a seal around a rim of the beverage container (Panganiban Figs. 1, 2; col. 5, ll. 20-32).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER N HELVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734
July 22, 2025