DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to the reply filed on March 23, 2026.
2. Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Response to Arguments
3. Remarks, pages 8-9:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Becker discloses:
[0113] Once the copy of tenant template database 806 is created, the copy and its contents (e.g., the template's folder structure) may be associated with a unique identifier assigned to the new tenant by provider 110 (e.g., a system ID) (S. 1230). The unique identifier enables the provider to associate content and data with tenant-specific data structures 224. Further, the identifier may be used later by the provider to individually address and manage each tenant space 330. Although provider 110 may later change the names or identifiers of data structures within the copy of tenant template 808 to reflect the identifier assigned to the tenant, provider 110 would not later change the content of these data structures in exemplary embodiments. After renaming the copied tenant template, provider 110 may deploy the renamed tenant template 808 at tenant space 330 (S. 1240). As part of this deployment, the tenant template 808 may be exported to the new tenant, and file names, user names and other profile parameters may be changed in accordance with the new tenant's name or identifier. Once deployed, the data structures 224 may be populated with initial data and other content as defined by the tenant template 808 and/or supplied by the tenant. For instance, in accordance with the aforementioned payroll example, some tenant-specific data structures 224 may be populated with the tenant's payroll data such as current employee information, historical data and other content associated with the tenant's business process.
(“performing one or more actions” = change names/ change parameters/ populate data and content )
[0114] Next, the newly deployed tenant space 330 may begin execution of the hosted business process at tenant server 114, at which time the identity of the new tenant space 330 is registered with provider 110 (S. 1250). In particular, a user 134 may execute a business application hosted by provider 110 through a user-interface provided at tenant terminal 132. In accordance with the disclosed invention, if user 134 submits a query to tenant server 114 for data specific to the tenant, such data may be retrieved from the tenant-specific data structures 224 stored within tenant space 330. However, if the query submitted by user 134 requires data common to more than one tenant, the data may be retrieved by redirecting the query to retrieve data from shared data structures 214 stored at the provider space 310. Access to shared data structures 214 in provider database 212 may be limited by provider server 212 based upon whether a tenant's unique access identifier received from tenant space 320 is registered with provider 110.
(so that at the new tenant, tenant-specific data structures are used to configure and execute a business process and a payroll application (paragraph 0113) or execute a business process and a query application (paragraph 0114)).
4. Remarks, pages 10-11:
Examiner respectively disagrees. Becker discloses:
As above, Provider converts AAA, EEE, DDD, FFFF from 213 into 215 to be tenant (specific) data structures.
Provider also converts BBB, CCC, from 213 into 214 to be shared (global) data structures, which are available for import to tenant environments of a plurality of customer accounts in the networked system (customers 330A and 330B) as claimed.
5. Remarks, pages 12-13: Applicants' arguments regarding claim 4 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection under 35 USC § 102 is withdrawn.
6. Remarks, pages 14-15:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Becker discloses selecting all applications to be included in new tenant space:
[0112] After the selection of template 808, provider 110 may create a copy of the tenant template database 806 containing the selected template 808 for deployment to tenant space 330 (S. 1220). The copy may be generated by one of several methods. In one method, a copy of tenant template database 806 may be created using, for example, database commands (e.g., "copy" or "restore backup"). In a second method, tenant template database 806 may be created by copying one or more data volumes that include tenant template database 806, as well as data structures, applications and other contents that are included in new tenant space 330. In this case, a copy may be generated by making a physical copy of the data volume containing the selected template, such as by performing a snapshot operation on the selected volume. In a third method, a new tenant space 330 may be created by exporting the tenant template 808 in a new tenant database 222 and later installing the data and applications that are included in the tenant space 330.
7. Remarks, pages 16-18:
Claims 11, 12, and 4-16 are rejected for at least the same reasons as the independent claim from which they depend.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. After search and analysis, Examiner concluded that the claimed invention has been recited in such a manner that dependent claim 4 is not taught by any prior reference found through search.
The primary reason for allowance of the claims in this case, is the inclusion of the limitations “The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving an entry of a namespace; verifying that the namespace is globally unique in the package repository data store; and wherein exporting the data as the package further comprises creating the package having the namespace after verifying that the namespace is globally unique.”
Incorporating claim 4 into claimx 1, 18, and 19 would put the case in condition for allowance.
9. After search and analysis, Examiner concluded that the claimed invention has been recited in such a manner that dependent claim 9 is not taught by any prior reference found through search.
The primary reason for allowance of the claims in this case, is the inclusion of the limitations “The computer-implemented method of claim 8, further comprising generating a user interface displaying a hierarchical list of a set of applications, wherein individual applications of the set of applications are user selectable for inclusion in or exclusion from the package,” which are not found in the prior art of record.
Incorporating intervening claim 8 and claim 9 into claims 1, 18, and 19 would put the case in condition for allowance.
Claim 10 depends on claim 9 and is also allowable.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC §102
11. Claims 1-3, 5-8, 13, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2008/0162491 to Becker et al. (hereafter “Becker”).
Claim 1.
Becker discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising:
receiving data for a plurality of applications in a first tenant environment of a networked system (FIG.6, paragraphs 0071, 0072, 0076, tenant-specific data of applications in a first Tenant Space 330A);
exporting the data as a package (FIG.6, the first Tenant Space 330A has a plurality of packages storing the tenant-specific data as data packages to be exported to Provider Space 310);
storing the package in a package repository data store (FIG.6, paragraphs 0070, 0075, 0076, data packages of tenant-specific data are stored in Provider Space 310); and
importing the package from the package repository data store to a second tenant environment of the networked system (FIG.12A, paragraphs 0110, 0112, 1013, tenant-specific data stored in Provider Space 310 exported and stored in/imported to a new tenant space 330)
thereby performing one or more actions with respective portions of the data to configure operation of the plurality of applications in the second tenant environment
[0113] Once the copy of tenant template database 806 is created, the copy and its contents (e.g., the template's folder structure) may be associated with a unique identifier assigned to the new tenant by provider 110 (e.g., a system ID) (S. 1230). The unique identifier enables the provider to associate content and data with tenant-specific data structures 224. Further, the identifier may be used later by the provider to individually address and manage each tenant space 330. Although provider 110 may later change the names or identifiers of data structures within the copy of tenant template 808 to reflect the identifier assigned to the tenant, provider 110 would not later change the content of these data structures in exemplary embodiments. After renaming the copied tenant template, provider 110 may deploy the renamed tenant template 808 at tenant space 330 (S. 1240). As part of this deployment, the tenant template 808 may be exported to the new tenant, and file names, user names and other profile parameters may be changed in accordance with the new tenant's name or identifier. Once deployed, the data structures 224 may be populated with initial data and other content as defined by the tenant template 808 and/or supplied by the tenant. For instance, in accordance with the aforementioned payroll example, some tenant-specific data structures 224 may be populated with the tenant's payroll data such as current employee information, historical data and other content associated with the tenant's business process.
(“performing one or more actions” = change names/ change parameters/ populate data and content )
[0114] Next, the newly deployed tenant space 330 may begin execution of the hosted business process at tenant server 114, at which time the identity of the new tenant space 330 is registered with provider 110 (S. 1250). In particular, a user 134 may execute a business application hosted by provider 110 through a user-interface provided at tenant terminal 132. In accordance with the disclosed invention, if user 134 submits a query to tenant server 114 for data specific to the tenant, such data may be retrieved from the tenant-specific data structures 224 stored within tenant space 330. However, if the query submitted by user 134 requires data common to more than one tenant, the data may be retrieved by redirecting the query to retrieve data from shared data structures 214 stored at the provider space 310. Access to shared data structures 214 in provider database 212 may be limited by provider server 212 based upon whether a tenant's unique access identifier received from tenant space 320 is registered with provider 110.
(so that at the new tenant, tenant-specific data structures are used to configure and execute a business process and a payroll application (paragraph 0113) or execute a business process and a query application (paragraph 0114)).
Claim 2.
Becker discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising converting the package from a local package that is available for import to tenant environments of a customer account in the networked system to a global package that is available for import to tenant environments of a plurality of customer accounts in the networked system (FIG.6, paragraphs 0052, 0056, 0057, BBB and CCC are stored as shared data structures 214 (global packages) to import to new tenants).
Claim 3.
Becker discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein importing the package from the package repository data store further comprises automatically determining to import the package to the second tenant environment based at least in part on a deployment order for the second tenant environment and one or more package import rules (0047-0058, 0073, 0090, based on business applications, payroll, tax, business configuration data).
Claim 5.
Becker discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising receiving a user selection of one or more data items of the data to be imported to the second tenant environment (0111, 0112, 0148).
Claim 6.
Becker discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising receiving a user selection of the first tenant environment from a plurality of tenant environments (0145, 0146, 0148).
Claim 7.
Becker discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising receiving a user selection of the second tenant environment from a plurality of tenant environments (0110, 0111, 0113).
Claim 8.
Becker discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising receiving a user selection of the plurality of applications for which the data is exported (0148, 0153).
Claim 13.
Becker discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: associating a tag with individual data items in the data; and wherein exporting the data as the package further comprises identifying the data for export based at least in part on the data being associated with the tag (0060, 0066, 0069).
Claim 17.
Becker discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first tenant environment and the second tenant environment are associated with different customer accounts of the networked system, and the package is created as a global package available to a plurality of customer accounts of the networked system (0042, 0124, 0137).
Claim 18.
Becker discloses a system, comprising:
a package repository data store (FIG. 2); a multi-tenant networked system (FIGs. 1A and 1B); at least one computing device; and instructions executable in the at least one computing device (paragraph 0043), wherein when executed the instructions cause the at least one computing device to at least: receive data for a plurality of applications in a first tenant environment of the multi-tenant networked system (FIG.6, paragraphs 0071, 0072, 0076, tenant-specific data of applications in a first Tenant Space 330A);
export the data as a package (FIG.6, the first Tenant Space 330A has a plurality of packages storing the tenant-specific data as data packages to be exported to Provider Space 310);
store the package in the package repository data store (FIG.6, paragraphs 0070, 0075, 0076, data packages of tenant-specific data are stored in Provider Space 310); and
import the package from the package repository data store to a second tenant environment of the multi-tenant networked system (FIG.12A, paragraphs 0110, 0112, 1013, tenant-specific data stored in Provider Space 310 exported and stored in/imported to a new tenant space 330),
thereby performing one or more actions with respective portions of the data to configure operation of the plurality of applications in the second tenant environment
[0113] Once the copy of tenant template database 806 is created, the copy and its contents (e.g., the template's folder structure) may be associated with a unique identifier assigned to the new tenant by provider 110 (e.g., a system ID) (S. 1230). The unique identifier enables the provider to associate content and data with tenant-specific data structures 224. Further, the identifier may be used later by the provider to individually address and manage each tenant space 330. Although provider 110 may later change the names or identifiers of data structures within the copy of tenant template 808 to reflect the identifier assigned to the tenant, provider 110 would not later change the content of these data structures in exemplary embodiments. After renaming the copied tenant template, provider 110 may deploy the renamed tenant template 808 at tenant space 330 (S. 1240). As part of this deployment, the tenant template 808 may be exported to the new tenant, and file names, user names and other profile parameters may be changed in accordance with the new tenant's name or identifier. Once deployed, the data structures 224 may be populated with initial data and other content as defined by the tenant template 808 and/or supplied by the tenant. For instance, in accordance with the aforementioned payroll example, some tenant-specific data structures 224 may be populated with the tenant's payroll data such as current employee information, historical data and other content associated with the tenant's business process.
(“performing one or more actions” = change names/ change parameters/ populate data and content )
[0114] Next, the newly deployed tenant space 330 may begin execution of the hosted business process at tenant server 114, at which time the identity of the new tenant space 330 is registered with provider 110 (S. 1250). In particular, a user 134 may execute a business application hosted by provider 110 through a user-interface provided at tenant terminal 132. In accordance with the disclosed invention, if user 134 submits a query to tenant server 114 for data specific to the tenant, such data may be retrieved from the tenant-specific data structures 224 stored within tenant space 330. However, if the query submitted by user 134 requires data common to more than one tenant, the data may be retrieved by redirecting the query to retrieve data from shared data structures 214 stored at the provider space 310. Access to shared data structures 214 in provider database 212 may be limited by provider server 212 based upon whether a tenant's unique access identifier received from tenant space 320 is registered with provider 110.
(so that at the new tenant, tenant-specific data structures are used to configure and execute a business process and a payroll application (paragraph 0113) or execute a business process and a query application (paragraph 0114)).
Claim 19.
Becker discloses the system of claim 18, wherein the package repository data store stores a plurality of local packages available for import by a respective exporting customer account and a plurality of global packages available for import by a plurality of customer accounts (0112, 0126, 0137, 0153).
Claim 20.
Becker discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium embodying a program executable in at least one computing device, wherein when executed the program causes the at least one computing device to at least:
receive data for a plurality of applications in a first tenant environment of a networked system (FIG.6, paragraphs 0071, 0072, 0076, tenant-specific data of applications in a first Tenant Space 330A);
export the data as a package (FIG.6, the first Tenant Space 330A has a plurality of packages storing the tenant-specific data as data packages to be exported to Provider Space 310);
store the package in a package repository data store (FIG.6, paragraphs 0070, 0075, 0076, data packages of tenant-specific data are stored in Provider Space 310); and
import the package from the package repository data store to a second tenant environment of the networked system (FIG.12A, paragraphs 0110, 0112, 1013, tenant-specific data stored in Provider Space 310 exported and stored in/imported to a new tenant space 330),
thereby performing one or more actions with respective portions of the data to configure operation of the plurality of applications in the second tenant environment
[0113] Once the copy of tenant template database 806 is created, the copy and its contents (e.g., the template's folder structure) may be associated with a unique identifier assigned to the new tenant by provider 110 (e.g., a system ID) (S. 1230). The unique identifier enables the provider to associate content and data with tenant-specific data structures 224. Further, the identifier may be used later by the provider to individually address and manage each tenant space 330. Although provider 110 may later change the names or identifiers of data structures within the copy of tenant template 808 to reflect the identifier assigned to the tenant, provider 110 would not later change the content of these data structures in exemplary embodiments. After renaming the copied tenant template, provider 110 may deploy the renamed tenant template 808 at tenant space 330 (S. 1240). As part of this deployment, the tenant template 808 may be exported to the new tenant, and file names, user names and other profile parameters may be changed in accordance with the new tenant's name or identifier. Once deployed, the data structures 224 may be populated with initial data and other content as defined by the tenant template 808 and/or supplied by the tenant. For instance, in accordance with the aforementioned payroll example, some tenant-specific data structures 224 may be populated with the tenant's payroll data such as current employee information, historical data and other content associated with the tenant's business process.
(“performing one or more actions” = change names/ change parameters/ populate data and content )
[0114] Next, the newly deployed tenant space 330 may begin execution of the hosted business process at tenant server 114, at which time the identity of the new tenant space 330 is registered with provider 110 (S. 1250). In particular, a user 134 may execute a business application hosted by provider 110 through a user-interface provided at tenant terminal 132. In accordance with the disclosed invention, if user 134 submits a query to tenant server 114 for data specific to the tenant, such data may be retrieved from the tenant-specific data structures 224 stored within tenant space 330. However, if the query submitted by user 134 requires data common to more than one tenant, the data may be retrieved by redirecting the query to retrieve data from shared data structures 214 stored at the provider space 310. Access to shared data structures 214 in provider database 212 may be limited by provider server 212 based upon whether a tenant's unique access identifier received from tenant space 320 is registered with provider 110.
(so that at the new tenant, tenant-specific data structures are used to configure and execute a business process and a payroll application (paragraph 0113) or execute a business process and a query application (paragraph 0114)).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC §103
13. Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker in view of US 2023/0289344 to Fuglsang et al. (hereafter "Fuglsang").
Claim 11.
Becker discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the data comprises content data, configuration data (FIG.6, data in 216, 213, 215, and 214).
Becker does not disclose security authorization data, and extension data.
However, Fuglsang further discloses security authorization data, and extension data (0068, 0138).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Fuglsang’s teaching into Becker‘s teaching. One would have been motivated to do so to manage different types of data as suggested by Fuglsang (0068).
14. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker in view of 2021/0021423 to Latorre et al. (hereafter "Latorre").
Claim 12.
Becker does not disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein individual data items in the data of the package are associated with a respective unique uniform resource name (URN).
However, Latorre further discloses individual data items in the data of the package are associated with a respective unique uniform resource name (URN) (0095).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Latorre’s teaching into Becker‘s teaching. One would have been motivated to do so to have a universal, unique and non-transferable identifier for a spatially locatable object as suggested by Latorre (0096).
15. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker in view of 2016/0321248 to Narayan et al. (hereafter “Narayan”).
Claim 14.
Becker does not disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising generating a comparison report indicating corresponding data items of the data in the package that are different from data of the second tenant environment.
However, Narayan further discloses generating a comparison report indicating corresponding data items of the data in the package that are different from data of the second tenant environment (0036).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Narayan’s teaching into Becker‘s teaching. One would have been motivated to do so to generate a list of items to be moved between tenants as suggested by Narayan (0036).
16. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker in view of 2023/0281339 to Chen et al. (hereafter “Chen”).
Claim 15.
Becker does not disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the networked system comprises a cloud-based enterprise resource planning (ERP) system.
However, Chen further discloses the networked system comprises a cloud-based enterprise resource planning (ERP) system (0066).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen’s teaching into Becker‘s teaching. One would have been motivated to do so to transform data in a multi-tenant environment as suggested by Chen (0066).
17. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker in view of 2021/0112138 to Eberlein (hereafter “Eberlein”).
Claim 16.
Becker does not disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first tenant environment and the second tenant environment are associated with a single customer account of the networked system, and the package is created as a local package available to the single customer account.
However, Eberlein further discloses the first tenant environment and the second tenant environment are associated with a single customer account of the networked system, and the package is created as a local package available to the single customer account (0018, 0022).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Eberlein’s teaching into Becker‘s teaching. One would have been motivated to do so to perform a solution task in a cloud platform as suggested by Eberlein (0018).
Conclusion
18. The prior art references made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 11,818,232 to Carr et al. discloses domain fields exist in a global namespace that guarantees uniqueness and immutability and tenants are associated with those domain fields.
19. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, Examiner’s supervisor, Hyung (Sam) Sough, can be reached at (571) 272 6799.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273 8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature of relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the TC 2100 Group receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272 2100.
/Thuy Dao/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2192