DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the remarks and amendments filed on 1/28/26. Claims 1, 6, and 10 have been amended. Claims 3, 8, and 9 have been canceled. Claims 1, 2, 4-7, and 10 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki USPA_20230073584_A1 in view of Liao USPA_20230106419_A1 and Holt USPA_20090054574_A1.
1. Regarding Claims 1, 2, 6, and 10, Yamasaki discloses a vinyl chloride resin plasticizing agent that can be used to form various leathers (paragraph 0113) comprising an alkylene glycol such as 2-methyl-1,3-propane diol, neopentyl glycol and diethylene glycol (corresponds to claimed diol raw material) (Claim 12), an alkylenedicarboxylic acid such as sebacic acid and dodecanedicarboxylic acid (corresponds to claimed dibasic acid raw material) (Claim 19), and a hydrogenated vegetable oil fatty acid that serves as an end-capped fatty acid such as coconut oil fatty acid, palm kernel oil, and palm oil (corresponds to claimed end-capped fatty acids of instant Claims 1 and 2) (Claim 10 and paragraphs 0063, 0066). Yamasaki further discloses that its raw materials are biomass-derived (paragraph 0071) and reacted through an esterification process (corresponds to claimed polycondensation) (paragraphs 0072-0075) that results in one end of the chain having a carboxyl group (paragraph 0066), as is being claimed in instant Claims 1 and 6. Given that Yamasaki does not disclose any intentional residual amount, it would be expected for the residual amount of its diol raw material to be in trace amounts, less than that of the claimed 300 ppm. Also, Yamasaki discloses that the acid value of its plasticizer is 0.8 and lower in all of its examples and this is what is more preferred (paragraph 0048).
2. However, Yamasaki does not disclose the top and basic fabric layers for its leather. It also does not disclose the claimed molar ratios.
3. Liao discloses polyvinyl chloride artificial (corresponds to claimed synthetic) leather without a foaming structure (Title) that can comprise a base fabric layer and a top fabric layer over thereof wherein said top fabric layer has a fabric composition comprising 40 to 70 parts by weight of a PCV resin and 30 to 60 parts by weight of a polymer plasticizer (Abstract) that results in a reduced odor of said artificial leather (paragraph 0012).
4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the leather, of Yamasaki, by forming the artificial leather comprised of a base and top fabric layers in the aforementioned pbw compositions, of Liao. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in doing so in order to obtain an odor-reduced synthetic leather for the purpose of furthering the utility of its invention.
5. Holt discloses a low VOC reducer compound comprising a diol, carboxylic acid, and a fatty acid (Abstract) that can be used in fabrics (paragraph 0002) It is well known that low VOC is a detector for smells and odors.
6. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the concentrations of diol, dibasic, and fatty acid, of Yamasaki, by trying different concentrations out of a desire of optimizing low volatile organic content, as disclosed by Holt. Applicants have not indicated what unexpected and surprising properties result from the instantly claimed concentrations.
7. Regarding Claim 4, Yamasaki in view of Liao and Holt suggests using a stabilizer in an amount ranging from 0.1 to 20 parts (Yamasaki: paragraph 0089), such as lithium stearate (paragraph 0088).
8. Regarding Claim 5, Yamasaki in view of Liao and Holt suggests using no foaming layer.
9. Regarding Claim 7, Yamasaki in view of Liao and Holt suggests its esterification process entails ends of a chemical structure of the high-molecular weight polyester polyol has excessive hydroxyl-groups and an end-capping process that includes the biomass derived fatty acid so as to terminate the polycondensation reaction (Yamasaki: paragraphs 0061-0066).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 February 8, 2026