DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 11-12, 14-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Taguchi 12281596.
Regarding claim 1, Taguchi teaches an apparatus (turbine impeller, Fig 1) for a gas turbine engine (can be used, e.g. in combination with a combustor, for a gas turbine engine), comprising:
a bladed rotor (10) rotatable about an axis (Xt),
the bladed rotor including a rotor disk (12) and a plurality of rotor blades (16, 18) projecting radially out from the rotor disk (Fig 1), the bladed rotor divided into a plurality of circumferential sectors about the axis (8 sectors in Fig 2; 4 sectors in Fig 5),
each of the plurality of circumferential sectors having a common circumferential length about the axis (Figs 2, 5; e.g. 8 equal length sectors in Fig 2 and four equal length sectors in Fig 5),
each of the plurality of circumferential sectors comprising a subset of two or more of the plurality of rotor blades (Figs 2, 5; e.g. each sector with two blades in Fig 2 and each sector with 4 blades in Fig 5), and
the plurality of circumferential sectors including a first sector and a second sector (Figs 2, 5 above);
the first sector having a first rotor configuration (of mass M1 and spring constant K1); and
the second sector having a second rotor configuration that is different than the first rotor configuration (with M2 and K2 not equal to M1 and K1),
wherein the plurality of rotor blades are arranged circumferentially around the axis in an annular array (Figs 2, 5); and
wherein the plurality of rotor blades are equispaced from each other (Figs 2, 5).
Regarding claim 2, Taguchi teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Taguchi further teaches the first sector is one of a plurality of first sectors (four first sectors in Fig 2, and two first sectors in Fig 5);
the second sector is one of a plurality of second sectors (four second sectors in Fig 2 and two second sectors in Fig 5); and
the plurality of second sectors are interspersed with the plurality of first sectors about the axis in a repeating pattern (Figs 2, 5).
Regarding claim 3, Taguchi teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Taguchi further teaches the first sector has a first mass (M1, or sum of M1s); and
the second sector has a second mass (M2, or sum of M2s) that is different than the first mass (col.4 ll.35-40).
Regarding claim 11, Taguchi teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Taguchi further teaches each rotor blade in the subset of the two or more of the plurality of rotor blades in the first sector has a first blade configuration (M1,K1); and
each rotor blade in the subset of the two or more of the plurality of rotor blades in the second sector has a second blade configuration that is different than the first blade configuration (M2,K2 ≠ M1,K1; col.4 ll.35-40).
Regarding claim 12, Taguchi teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Taguchi further teaches each rotor blade in the subset of the two or more of the plurality of rotor blades in the first sector has a first mass (M1); and
each rotor blade in the subset of the two or more of the plurality of rotor blades in the second sector has a second mass that is different than the first mass (M2 ≠ M1; col.4 ll.35-40).
Regarding claim 14, Taguchi teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Taguchi further teaches the subset of the two or more of the plurality of rotor blades in the first sector consists of N1 number of the plurality of rotor blades (N1 = 2 in Fig 2 and 4 in Fig 5);
the subset of the two or more of the plurality of rotor blades in the second sector consists of N2 number of the plurality of rotor blades (N2 = 2 in Fig 2 and 4 in Fig 5); and
the N2 number is equal to the N1 number (Figs 2, 5).
Regarding claim 15, Taguchi teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Taguchi further teaches the bladed rotor is divided into a number of the plurality of circumferential sectors about the axis (Figs 2, 5); and
the number is an even integer between two and sixteen (8 in Fig 2 and 4 in Fig 5).
Regarding claim 16, Taguchi teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Taguchi further teaches the first sector is disposed circumferentially adjacent the second sector (Figs 2, 5).
Regarding claim 18, Taguchi teaches an apparatus (turbine impeller, Fig 1) for a gas turbine engine (can be used, e.g. in combination with a combustor, for a gas turbine engine), comprising:
a bladed rotor (10) rotatable about an axis (Xt),
the bladed rotor including a rotor disk (12) and a plurality of rotor blades (16, 18) arranged circumferentially around and connected to the rotor disk (Figs 1-2, 5),
the bladed rotor configured into a plurality of circumferential sectors about the axis (8 sectors in Fig 2; 4 sectors in Fig 5),
each of the plurality of circumferential sectors comprising a common number of the plurality of rotor blades that is greater than one (Fig 2, each sector with two blades; Fig 5, each sector with four blades), and
the plurality of circumferential sectors including a first sector and a second sector (Figs 2, 5 above);
the first sector having a first rotor mass (M1 or sum of M1s) and a first rotor geometry (Figs 1-2, 5); and
the second sector having a second rotor mass (M2 or sum of M2s) and a second rotor geometry (Figs 1-2, 5), the second rotor mass different than the first rotor mass (col.4 ll.35-40);
wherein the plurality of rotor blades are arranged circumferentially around the axis in an annular array (Figs 1-2, 5); and
wherein the plurality of rotor blades are equispaced from each other (Figs 1-2, 5).
Claim(s) 1, 6, 10-11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hartung 9850766.
Regarding claim 1, Hartung teaches an apparatus (blade cascade) for a gas turbine engine (col.1 ll.41-47), comprising:
a bladed rotor (Fig 2) rotatable about an axis (col.1 ll.41-47; center of Fig 2 below),
the bladed rotor including a rotor disk (in which fir tree blade roots of Fig 3 are mounted) and a plurality of rotor blades (11-14, 21-25, 31-37) projecting radially out from the rotor disk (Fig 2),
the bladed rotor divided into a plurality of circumferential sectors about the axis (sectors of four blades each per annotated Fig 2 below),
each of the plurality of circumferential sectors having a common circumferential length about the axis (Fig 2 above),
each of the plurality of circumferential sectors comprising a subset of two or more of the plurality of rotor blades (each with 4 blades), and
the plurality of circumferential sectors including a first sector and a second sector (Fig 2 above);
the first sector having a first rotor configuration (of blades 11-14); and
the second sector having a second rotor configuration that is different than the first rotor configuration (of blades 32, 33, 35, and 37; Figs 3-4),
wherein the plurality of rotor blades are arranged circumferentially around the axis in an annular array (Fig 2); and
wherein the plurality of rotor blades are equispaced from each other (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 6, Hartung teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Hartung further teaches a section of the rotor disk defined by the first sector has a first disk configuration (for mounting blades 11-14); and
a section of the rotor disk defined by the second sector has a second disk configuration that is different than the first disk configuration (for mounting blades 32, 33, 35, 37).
Regarding claim 10, Hartung teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Hartung further teaches a rotor blade (14) in the subset of the two or more of the plurality of rotor blades in the first sector has a first blade configuration (with crystal |α| <8° and first body 100); and
a rotor blade (35) in the subset of the two or more of the plurality of rotor blades in the second sector has a second blade configuration that is different than the first blade configuration (with crystal 12° ≤ |α| ≤ 15° and second body 200).
Regarding claim 11, Hartung teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Hartung further teaches each rotor blade in the subset of the two or more of the plurality of rotor blades in the first sector has a first blade configuration (with crystal |α| <8° and first body 100); and
each rotor blade in the subset of the two or more of the plurality of rotor blades in the second sector has a second blade configuration that is different than the first blade configuration (with crystal 12° ≤ |α| ≤ 15° and second body 200).
Regarding claim 13, Hartung teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Hartung further teaches each rotor blade in the subset of the two or more of the plurality of rotor blades in the first sector has a first geometry (first body 100); and
each rotor blade in the subset of the two or more of the plurality of rotor blades in the second sector has a second geometry (second body 200) that is different than the first geometry (Fig 3).
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gentile 9683447.
Regarding claim 1, Gentile teaches an apparatus for a gas turbine engine (bladed disk; col.5 ll.11-25), comprising:
a bladed rotor (Figs 4-11) rotatable about an axis (at center of Fig 7 below), the bladed rotor including a rotor disk (incl. 120) and a plurality of rotor blades (22) projecting radially out from the rotor disk (Figs 4-11),
the bladed rotor divided into a plurality of circumferential sectors about the axis (any number of sectors can be drawn),
each of the plurality of circumferential sectors having a common circumferential length about the axis (any number of equal arc-length sectors could be drawn),
each of the plurality of circumferential sectors comprising a subset of two or more of the plurality of rotor blades (26 blades means at least 2 sectors and up to 13 sectors can be drawn, each with at least two blades), and
the plurality of circumferential sectors including a first sector and a second sector (any sector designated as a first or second sector);
the first sector having a first rotor configuration (of features 124); and
the second sector having a second rotor configuration (of features 124) that is different than the first rotor configuration (distribution of 124 being asymmetrical; col.7 ll.39-42),
wherein the plurality of rotor blades are arranged circumferentially around the axis in an annular array (Figs 4-11); and
wherein the plurality of rotor blades are equispaced from each other (Figs 4-11).
See exemplary division of sectors in the annotated Figure 7 below.
Regarding claim 3, Gentile teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Gentile further teaches the first sector has a first mass (the first sector having a first pattern of 124); and the second sector has a second mass that is different than the first mass (the second sector having a second different pattern of 124; due to asymmetry of distribution of 124 per col.7 ll.39-42 and the drawing of sector divisions being, as-desired, e.g. annotated Fig 7 above).
Regarding claim 4, Gentile teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Gentile further teaches the bladed rotor in each of the plurality of circumferential sectors includes a portion of the bladed rotor (Figs 4-11), each portion of the bladed rotor has a dimension at a reference location (along rim 120); and
the dimension of the bladed rotor in the first sector is different than the dimension of the bladed rotor in the second sector (the first and second sectors having a different patterns of 124; due to asymmetry of distribution of 124 per col.7 ll.39-42 and the drawing of sector divisions being, as-desired, e.g. annotated Fig 7 above; dimension could be local rim thickness).
Regarding claim 5, Gentile teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Gentile further teaches the bladed rotor in each of the plurality of circumferential sectors includes a portion of the bladed rotor (Figs 4-11), each portion of the bladed rotor has a geometry (incl. features 124 at rim 120); and the geometry of the bladed rotor in the first sector is different than the geometry of the bladed rotor in the second sector (the second sector having a different pattern of 124; due to asymmetry of distribution of 124 per col.7 ll.39-42 and the drawing of sector divisions being, as-desired, e.g. annotated Fig 7 above).
Regarding claim 6, Gentile teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Gentile further teaches a section of the rotor disk defined by the first sector has a first disk configuration (incl. rim 120); and
a section of the rotor disk defined by the second sector has a second disk configuration that is different than the first disk configuration (the second sector having a different pattern of 124; due to asymmetry of distribution of 124 per col.7 ll.39-42 and the drawing of sector divisions being, as-desired, e.g. annotated Fig 7 above).
Regarding claim 7, Gentile teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Gentile further teaches the section of the rotor disk defined by the first sector has a first mass (due to pattern of 124); and
the section of the rotor disk defined by the second sector has a second mass that is different than the first mass (due to different pattern of 124; col.7 ll.39-42).
Regarding claim 8, Gentile teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Gentile further teaches the section of the rotor disk defined by the first sector has a first geometry (due to 124); and
the section of the rotor disk defined by the second sector has a second geometry that is different than the first geometry (due to different pattern of 124; col.7 ll.39-42).
Regarding claim 9, Gentile teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Gentile further teaches each of the plurality of rotor blades has a common blade configuration (all blades are the same in Figs 4-11).
Regarding claim 17, Gentile teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Gentile further teaches the bladed rotor is configured as a turbine rotor for the gas turbine engine (col.5 ll.11-25).
Regarding claim 19, Gentile teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Gentile further teaches a section of the rotor disk defined by the first sector has a first disk mass and a first disk geometry (due to pattern of 124);
a section of the rotor disk defined by the second sector has a second disk mass and a second disk geometry (due to different pattern of 124; col.5 ll.11-25); and
at least one of the second disk mass is different than the first disk mass, or the second disk geometry is different than the first disk geometry (due to different pattern of 124; col.5 ll.11-25).
Regarding claim 20, Gentile teaches an apparatus for a gas turbine engine (bladed disk; col.5 ll.11-25), comprising:
a bladed rotor (Figs 4-11) rotatable about an axis (at center of Fig 7 below),
the bladed rotor including a rotor disk (incl. 120) and a plurality of rotor blades (22) arranged circumferentially around and connected to the rotor disk (Figs 4-11),
the bladed rotor having a plurality of circumferential sectors about the axis (any number of sectors can be drawn),
each of the plurality of circumferential sectors having a common circumferential length about the axis (any number of equal arc-length sectors could be drawn), and
the plurality of circumferential sectors including a first sector and a second sector (any sector designated as a first or second sector);
a section of the rotor disk defined by the first sector having a first disk mass and a first disk geometry (as defined by distribution of 124 therein);
a section of the rotor disk defined by the second sector having a second disk mass and a second disk geometry (a defined by the distribution of 124 therein); and
at least one of the second disk mass different than the first disk mass, or the second disk geometry different than the first disk geometry (asymmetric distribution of 124 around 120; Figs 4-11),
wherein the plurality of rotor blades are arranged circumferentially around the axis in an annular array (Figs 4-11); and
wherein the plurality of rotor blades are equispaced from each other (Figs 4-11).
See exemplary division of sectors in the annotated Figure 7 below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11 December 2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/STEPHANIE SEBASCO CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741