DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claims 1, 11 and 14, the applicant argued that Shih teaches only that “the NAS of the UE may provide a request to the AS layer of the UE”. And that the request is merely for “searching available CAGs operating the nearby cell”, not for indicating to read a specific SIB. Applicant further argues that Shih fails to teach determining, in response to the indication, that the specific SIB has been scheduled (remarks page 8-9).
Examiner respectfully disagrees, The rejection does not rely on the manualCAGselectionAllowed-r16 IE broadcast by the cell to satisfy this specific internal signaling limitation. Rather, Shih discloses the NAS-to-AS signaling claimed by the Applicant to trigger the reading of a specific SIB as detailed below.
Shih ‘850 explicitly teaches that the NAS layer directs the AS layer to acquire a specific SIB, identified as SIB10. [0139] of Shih ‘850 states “For example, when the NAS layer of the UE provides an indicator to the AS layer (e.g., RRC layer) of the UE, the UE may acquire SIB10”, which reads on the limitation of the NAS layer sending an indication to the AS layer to read specific SIB.
Shih ‘850 further teaches that, the AS layer based on the indication from NAS layer determines to obtain SIB10, and checks whether SIB10 is being broadcast by checking the Si-BroadcastStatus information element (IE) and the associated Sib-MappingInfo IE in the SI-SchedulingInfo IE[0096]. Based upon determining the scheduling status(based on the scheduling information), if SIB10 is being broadcasted, the AS layer may further obtain SIB10 from the serving/camped cell.
As clearly shown above, Shih ‘850 teaches the internal NAS-to-AS indication to acquire a specific SIB(SIB10), followed by the determination of scheduling status and the subsequent reception of SIB. Thus, the combination of Ma ‘511 and Shih ‘850 renders the claimed invention obvious. Rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 is therefore maintained.
Regarding dependent claims, the Applicant argues these claims conditionally on that of their parent independent claims.
Applicant's arguments are unpersuasive and, therefore, the rejections of these claims are hereby maintained.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 11, 14, 16-18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al(US 2024/0064511 A1) in view of Shih et al(US 2021/0377850 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 14, Ma ‘511 teaches, an apparatus comprising([0041], [0152] and Figs. 4, 15, terminal device): a memory operable to store computer-readable instructions; and a processor circuitry operable to read the computer-readable instructions([0041], [0057], [0152] and Figs. 4, 15, terminal device comprising, memory, processing unit, and transceiver unit), the processor circuitry when executing the computer-readable instructions is configured to:
receive the specific SIB broadcasted by a wireless communication node([0041], [0125], [0152] and Figs. 4, 15, the terminal device receives a second SIB( specific SIB) broadcast from the access network device); wherein the specific SIB includes a list([0037]-[0039], [0152] and Figs. 4, 15, the second SIB includes two lists, first list is identifiers of m credential holder(CH) groups and second list is n bitmap entries);
wherein each element of the list is associated with a network identifier (ID) that is broadcasted in a first SIB ([0041], [0152]-[0153] and Figs. 4, 15, the n bitmaps are sequentially in a one-to-one correspondence with identifiers of the n networks included in the first SIB and each bitmap indicates a credential holder group supported by a corresponding network); and wherein each element of the list includes one or more group identifiers ([0037]- [0039], [0041], second SIB includes identifiers of m credential holder groups and n bitmaps) and is associated with at least one of: one or more groups of credential holders (CHs), or one or more groups of subscription owners (SOs) or on-boarding networks for on-boarding([0037]-[0039], [0041] and Figs. 5-9. each bitmap indicates a credential holder (CH) group supported by a corresponding network, Notice, the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations).
Ma ‘511 does not explicitly teach, send, from a non-access stratus (NAS) layer of a wireless communication device to an access stratum (AS) layer of the wireless communication device, an indication to read a specific System Information Block, SIB, or to report information in the specific SIB for network selection or cell selection;
in response to the indication, determine, at the AS layer of the wireless communication device, that the specific SIB has been scheduled; in response to determining that the specific SIB has been scheduled.
Shih ‘850 teaches, send, from a non-access stratum(NAS) layer of a wireless communication device to an access stratum (AS) layer of the wireless communication device, an indication to read a specific System Information Block, SIB, or to report information in the specific SIB for network selection or cell selection([0098], [0139], [0207]-[0211] and Fig. 5, when the NAS layer of the UE provides an indicator to the AS layer(e.g. RRC layer) of the UE, the UE may acquire SIB10. Furthermore [0098] teaches the NAS layer providing a request to the AS layer to search and evaluate available CAGs for manual CAG selection);
in response to the indication, determine, at the AS layer of the wireless communication device, that the specific SIB has been scheduled([0096], [0136], [0139] and Fig. 5,
the UE upon receiving the indication and receiving the SIB1, the UE checks whether SIB10 is being broadcast by checking the Si-broadcaststatus information element(IE) and the associated Sib-mappingInfo IE in the Si-Scheduling Info IE); in response to determining that the specific SIB has been scheduled( [0096], [0142], when the AS layer determines that the SIB10 is scheduled based on si-BroadcastStatus IE and the associated sib-MappingInfo IE, receiving the SIB10 )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Ma ‘511 by incorporating the teaching of Shih ‘850, since such modification would provide a method of performing a closed access group (CAG) selection in a non-public network (NPN) and a related device, as suggested by Shih ‘850([0006]).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, the combination of Ma ‘511 and Shih ‘850 teaches, all of the claim limitations Ma ‘511 further teaches, wherein the first SIB is configured to broadcast one or more network IDs and indicate whether accessing the CHs or on-boarding function is supported by each of the one or more network IDs( [0101], [0102] and Fig. 4, the first SIB includes information about each of the n networks which includes an identifier of the network and first indication information corresponding to the network. The first indication information indicates that the network supports a terminal device in performing access by using a credential of a credential holder (CH), notice the claim limitation is written in alternate form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations); and
each element of the list is associated to a corresponding one of the one or more network IDs that indicates support for at least one of the accessing the CH or the on- boarding function( [0101], [0102] and Fig. 4-9, an identifier of the network and first indication information corresponding to the network. The first indication information indicates that the network supports a terminal device in performing access by using a credential of a credential holder (CH), notice the claim limitation is written in alternate form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations).
Regarding claim 4 and 17, the combination of Ma ‘511 and Shih ‘850 teaches, all of the claim limitations Ma ‘511 further teaches, wherein a first element of the list is associated with a first network ID in the first SIB that indicates support for at least one of accessing the CHs or an on-boarding function( [0101], [0102] and Fig. 4-9, the first indication information received via first SIB indicates that the network supports a terminal device in performing access by using a credential of a credential holder (CH), notice the claim limitation is written in alternate form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations), the second element of the list of group identifiers is associated to the second network ID in the first SIB that indicate supporting of the accessing the CH or supporting of on-boarding( [0101], [0102] and Fig. 4-9, n bitmaps that are sequentially in a one-to-one correspondence with identifiers of the n networks).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, the combination of Ma ‘511 and Shih ‘850 teaches, all of the claim limitations Ma ‘511 further teaches, wherein the element of the list can be set to absent if the associated network ID support accessing the CHs or an on-boarding function but is not associated with any group identifier ([0101], [0102], [0114] and Fig. 4-9, the first indication information received via first SIB may indicate access using a credential holder (CH) but its bitmap may be empty (no group identifiers)).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Ma ‘511 and Shih ‘850 teaches, all of the claim limitations Ma ‘511 further teaches: reporting, by the AS layer of the wireless communication device to the NAS layer of the wireless communication device, content of the specific SIB([0121], [0138], the UE receives SIBx, and the UE AS sends information such as the bitmap and the information about the SNPN received via the SIBx to the UE NAS).
Claims 6, 7, 13, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma ‘511 and Shih ‘850 as applied to claims above, and further in view of Nokia Shanghai Bell, Draft Stage 2 CR: Non-Public Network enhancements, May 19-27, 2021, pp. 1-11, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #114 Electronic, R2-2106553. Submitted by Applicant via IDS hereinafter referred as Nokia.
Regarding claims 6 and 19 the combination of Ma ‘511 and Shih ‘850 teaches, all of the claim limitations, Ma ‘511 further teaches, the specific SIB includes 2 lists of group identifiers, and wherein each element of the list is associated with an network ID that broadcast in first SIB([0037]-[0039], [0152] and Figs. 4, 15, the second SIB includes two lists, first list is identifiers of m credential holder(CH) groups and second list is n bitmap entries), and wherein each element of the first list includes one or more group identifiers of credential holder (CH)s([0037]- [0039], [0041], second SIB includes identifiers of m credential holder groups and n bitmaps).
The combination of Ma ‘511 and Shih ‘850 does not explicitly teach, while each element of the second list include one or more group identifiers of Subscription owners for the on-boarding.
Nokia teaches, while each element of the second list include one or more group identifiers of Subscription owners for the on-boarding (section 16.6.Y, group IDs for onboarding related information being provided via SIB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined communication system of Ma ‘511 and Shih ‘850 by incorporating the teaching of Nokia, since such modification would enable UE NAS layer to make informed decision on which SNPN to select, as suggested by Nokia (section 16.6.X).
Regarding claims 7 and 13, the combination of Ma ‘511 and Shih ‘850 teaches all the claim limitations, Ma ‘511 further teaches, reporting, by an AS layer of the wireless communication device to a NAS layer of the wireless communication device ([0120- [0121] and Fig. 10, reporting from UE AS layer to UE NAS layer information about an SNPN).
The combination of Ma ‘511 and Shih ‘850 does not explicitly teach, one or more elements associated with each network ID that supports at least one of accessing the CHs or an on-boarding function.
Nokia teaches, one or more elements associated with each network ID that supports at least one of accessing the CHs or an on-boarding function (section A.2, UE AS forwards the onboarding indication (Group IDs) per SNPN to UE NAS for onboarding network selection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined communication system of Ma ‘511 and Shih ‘850 by incorporating the teaching of Nokia, since such modification would enable UE NAS layer to make informed decision on which SNPN to select, as suggested by Nokia (section 16.6.X).
Regarding claim 20. the combination of Ma ‘511 and Shih ‘850 teaches, all of the claim limitations except, wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to: report one or more elements associated with each network ID that supports at least one of accessing the CHs or an on-boarding function.
Nokia teaches, wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to: report one or more elements associated with each network ID that supports at least one of accessing the CHs or an on-boarding function (section A.2, UE AS forwards the onboarding indication (Group IDs) per SNPN to UE NAS for onboarding network selection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined communication system of Ma ‘511 and Shih ‘850 by incorporating the teaching of Nokia, since such modification would enable UE NAS layer to make informed decision on which SNPN to select, as suggested by Nokia (section 16.6.X).
/AWET HAILE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474