Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/9/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement filed 8/21/2024 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because the NPL #1 has not been translated. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Drawings
The drawings submitted 11/9/2023 are accepted.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 21-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-19 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11942110. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
For example:
Instant Application 18/388325
US Patent No. 11842110
1. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a prescribed program, the prescribed program causing a computer to execute a method comprising:
1. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a prescribed program, the prescribed program causing a computer to execute a method comprising:
displaying a content to be printed based on print data; and
displaying a content to be printed based on print data; and
executing, in a case where the print data does not include an object corresponding to first RGB values, a prescribed notification of not including the object corresponding to the first RGB values in the print data even though a first setting is being activated,
executing, in a case where the print data does not include an object corresponding to first RGB values, a prescribed notification based on the print data not including the object corresponding to first RGB values even though a first setting is being activated,
the first setting being to print a first print region corresponding to the first RGB values in a print target image by using a first color represented by use of at least a specific color ink being an ink of a color other than a process color, and
the first setting being to print a first print region corresponding to the first RGB values in a print target image by using a first color represented by use of at least a specific color ink being an ink of a color other than a process color, and
not executing, in a case where the first setting is being activated and the print data includes the object corresponding to the first RGB values, the prescribed notification
not executing, in a case where the first setting is being activated and the print data includes the object corresponding to the first RGB values, the prescribed notification
22. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 21, wherein the prescribed notification is a notification to display a screen to notify a user that the print data does not include the object corresponding to the first RGB values.
2. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the prescribed notification is a notification to display a screen to notify a user that the print data does not include the object corresponding to the first RGB values.
23. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 21, wherein the prescribed notification is a notification to display a screen to notify a user that printing by using the color represented by use of at least the specific color ink is infeasible.
3. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the prescribed notification is a notification to display a screen to notify a user that printing by using the color represented by use of at least the specific color ink is infeasible.
24. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 21, wherein, even though the first setting is being activated, a different notification from the prescribed notification is executed on the grounds that a width of a prescribed object being included in the print data and corresponding to the first RGB values is smaller than a prescribed value.
4. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein, even though the first setting is being activated, a different notification from the prescribed notification is executed on the grounds that a width of a prescribed object being included in the print data and corresponding to the first RGB values is smaller than a prescribed value.
25. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 24, wherein the different notification is a notification to display a screen to notify a user that the prescribed object being small in width is included in the print data.
5. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 4, wherein the different notification is a notification to display a screen to notify a user that the prescribed object being small in width is included in the print data.
26. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 21, wherein, even though the first setting is being activated, a different notification from the prescribed notification is executed on grounds that a percentage of a prescribed object being included in the print data and corresponding to the first RGB values relative to the entire print data is smaller than a prescribed value.
6. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein, even though the first setting is being activated, a different notification from the prescribed notification is executed on grounds that a percentage of a prescribed object being included in the print data and corresponding to the first RGB values relative to the entire print data is smaller than a prescribed value.
27. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 26, wherein the different notification is a notification to display a screen to notify a user that the prescribed object being small in size is included in the print data.
7. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 6, wherein the different notification is a notification to display a screen to notify a user that the prescribed object being small in size is included in the print data.
28. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 21, wherein the content to be printed based on the print data is controlled to be displayed at a display magnification based on a prescribed object on grounds that a width of the prescribed object being included in the print data and corresponding to the first RGB values is smaller than a prescribed value.
8. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the content to be printed based on the print data is controlled to be displayed at a display magnification based on a prescribed object on grounds that a width of the prescribed object being included in the print data and corresponding to the first RGB values is smaller than a prescribed value.
29. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 28, wherein a setting screen is displayed to enable a user to set the prescribed value.
9. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 8, wherein a setting screen is displayed to enable a user to set the prescribed value.
30. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 21, wherein the content to be printed based on the print data is controlled to be displayed at a display magnification based on a prescribed object on grounds that a percentage of the prescribed object being included in the print data and corresponding to the first RGB values relative to the entire print data is smaller than a prescribed value.
10. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the content to be printed based on the print data is controlled to be displayed at a display magnification based on a prescribed object on grounds that a percentage of the prescribed object being included in the print data and corresponding to the first RGB values relative to the entire print data is smaller than a prescribed value.
31. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 30, wherein a setting screen is displayed to enable a user to set the prescribed value.
11. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 10, wherein a setting screen is displayed to enable a user to set the prescribed value.
32. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 21, wherein the specific color ink is at least one of a fluorescent pink ink, an orange ink, a violet ink, and a green ink.
12. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the specific color ink is at least one of a fluorescent pink ink, an orange ink, a violet ink, and a green ink.
33. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 21, wherein the first color is any of a color represented by using the specific color ink only or a color represented by using both the specific color ink and a process color ink.
13. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the first color is any of a color represented by using the specific color ink only or a color represented by using both the specific color ink and a process color ink.
34. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 21, wherein activation of the first setting is executed by a printer driver different from the prescribed program.
14. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein activation of the first setting is executed by a printer driver different from the prescribed program.
35. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 21, wherein the content to be printed based on the print data is displayed without executing the prescribed notification in at least any of a case where the first setting is not activated and a case where the print data does not fulfill the prescribed condition even though the first setting is activated.
15. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the content to be printed based on the print data is displayed without executing the prescribed notification in at least any of a case where the first setting is not activated and a case where the print data does not fulfill the prescribed condition even though the first setting is activated.
36. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 35, wherein the case where the first setting is not activated is a case of activating a setting to print the first print region by using a different color from the first color, the different color being represented by using a process color ink and without using the specific color ink.
16. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 15, wherein the case where the first setting is not activated is a case of activating a setting to print the first print region by using a different color from the first color, the different color being represented by using a process color ink and without using the specific color ink.
37. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 21, wherein the content to be printed based on the print data in a state where the first setting is activated and the content to be printed based on the print data in a state where the first setting is not activated are switchably displayed
17. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the content to be printed based on the print data in a state where the first setting is activated and the content to be printed based on the print data in a state where the first setting is not activated are switchably displayed
Independent claims 38 vs 18 and 39 vs 19 are similarly cited as claim 21 vs 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 35 recites “… wherein the content to be printed based on the print data is displayed without executing the prescribed notification in at least any of a case where the first setting is not activated and a case where the print data does not fulfill the prescribed condition even though the first setting is activated.” The limitations of claim 35 do not appear to be supported as claimed. Claim 35 appears directed to the second embodiment. The second embodiment processes a spot color printing failure prevention, i.e., first setting being activated or not activated in view of a first color being not present or present, differently than in the first embodiment to which claim 21 is directed. While the second embodiment is similar in a number of ways, it diverges from the first embodiment in the above claimed limitations. There appears to be no disclosed embodiment where the two separate means of addressing the condition is combined.
Claims 21-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites “… a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a prescribed program, the prescribed program causing a computer to execute.” It is unclear and indefinite as to the functionality of the underlined clause. A program is merely software per se that can cause no action on its own. How is the claimed ‘prescribed program” causing a computer to execute anything? On the other hand, a computer when executing a prescribed program, may execute the functions intended. Dependent claims 22-37 are rejected for failing to remedy the deficiency of claim 21 from which they depend.
Claim 35 recites “… wherein the content to be printed based on the print data is displayed without executing the prescribed notification in at least any of a case where the first setting is not activated and a case where the print data does not fulfill the prescribed condition even though the first setting is activated.” It is indefinite as to the execution of the presented limitations. Claim 35 appears directed to the second embodiment. The second embodiment processes a spot color printing failure prevention, i.e., first setting being activated or not activated in view of a first color being not present or present, differently than in the first embodiment to which claim 21 is directed. How are the above limitations intended to function in view of the limitations of claim 21 from which claim 35 depends? There appears to be no disclosed embodiment where the two separate means of addressing the condition is combined. For purposes of examination, the Examiner interprets the claim to mean the content to be printed based on the print data is displayed without executing the prescribed notification in at least any of a case where the first setting is not activated as disclosed in the first embodiment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-23, 33-36, 38 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerrits (US Pub No. 20170068876) in view of Kunimi et al., (US Pub No. 20200081669) and in further view of Tastl et al., (US Pub No. 20180018545).
Claim 21: Gerrits discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a prescribed program, the prescribed program causing a computer to execute a method [p0031] comprising:
displaying a content to be printed based on print data [Each print job 231-237 in the print queue 23A may be displayed with a number of properties of the print job, such as an identifying name of the print job (“Print job 1”), a size of the image receiving material to be used for the print job (“A3”), the medium type of the image receiving material (“Red Label”), etc., p0054]; and
executing, in a case where the print data does not include an object corresponding to first RGB values, a prescribed notification of not including the object corresponding to the first RGB values in the print data even though a first setting is being activated [example of irrelevancy of a RIP setting is that the print job does not contain RGB objects in the print data of the print job but only CMYK and/or spot color objects, while the print job setting 390 for a RGB rendering intent … the properties of the analyzed print data are compared with the RIP settings in order to identify one or more irrelevant RIP settings … a user of the printing system is notified of the identified irrelevancy of the identified RIP setting when the print job properties window is opened by the user on the user interface, p0058, p0061 & p0072], the first setting being to print a first print region corresponding to the first RGB values in a print target image by using a first color represented by use of at least a specific color ink being an ink of a color other than a process color [a rendering intent 390 for RGB objects like a saturation option, a relative colorimetric option, an absolute colorimetric option and a perceptional option, etc. The spot color matching indication 340, the indicator 385 and the rendering intent 390 are examples of a print job RIP setting, p0057], and not executing, in a case where the first setting is being activated and the print data includes the object corresponding to the first RGB values, the prescribed notification [“No” decision when irrelevancy is found ending the method, p0071-0072].
Gerrits appears to fail to explicitly disclose displaying a content and using a first color represented by use of at least a specific color ink being an ink of a color other than a process color.
Kunimi discloses in a related system from the same field of endeavor [Abstract] where spot color ink can be designated in image data utilizing an RGB value [e.g., printing may be performed using a special toner, ink or the like … printing may be performed using a special color such as fluorescent color, gold color, silver color, etc., that cannot be obtained with ordinary color toner … when the print data received from the information processing apparatus 110 includes the special color settings information that indicates RGB value to be printed in the special color, the image forming apparatus 120 prints the special color designated by the RGB value in the special color, p0028-0030 & p0034].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included support in Gerrits the option to use a first color represented by use of at least a specific color ink being an ink of a color other than a process color as disclosed by Kunimi because it allows the user an easy means to utilize a specific colorant for their printed result.
Kunimi does not appear to explicitly disclose displaying a content.
Tastl discloses in a related system from the same field of endeavor [Abstract] displaying a content to be printed based on print data [the proof engine 108 may comprise a processor resource to convert the print-ready data to a soft-proof file using the ripped data, the job definition, and the ticket template, p0022].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included in Gerrits in view of Kunimi the support to display a content to be printed based on print data as disclosed by Tastl because using the print-ready data (e.g., the actual ripped data to be used for production), the soft-proof file may, for example, avoid errors in soft-proofing (such as color conversion errors) by avoiding RIP simulation to create the soft-proof file as discussed by Tastl in at least paragraph 0022.
Claim 22: Gerrits in view of Kunimi and Tastl discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 21, wherein the prescribed notification is a notification to display a screen to notify a user that the print data does not include the object corresponding to the first RGB values [example of irrelevancy of a RIP setting is that the print job does not contain RGB objects in the print data of the print job but only CMYK and/or spot color objects, while the print job setting 390 for a RGB rendering intent … the properties of the analyzed print data are compared with the RIP settings in order to identify one or more irrelevant RIP settings … a user of the printing system is notified of the identified irrelevancy of the identified RIP setting when the print job properties window is opened by the user on the user interface, p0061 & p0072].
Claim 23: Gerrits in view of Kunimi and Tastl discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 21, wherein the prescribed notification is a notification to display a screen to notify a user that printing by using the color represented by use of at least the specific color ink is infeasible [example of irrelevancy of a RIP setting is that the print job does not contain RGB objects in the print data of the print job but only CMYK and/or spot color objects, while the print job setting 390 for a RGB rendering intent … the properties of the analyzed print data are compared with the RIP settings in order to identify one or more irrelevant RIP settings … a user of the printing system is notified of the identified irrelevancy [e.g., infeasibility because no RGB objects present] of the identified RIP setting when the print job properties window is opened by the user on the user interface, p0061 & p0072].
Claim 33: Gerrits in view of Kunimi and Tastl discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 21.
Gerrits does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the first color is any of a color represented by using the specific color ink only or a color represented by using both the specific color ink and a process color ink.
Kunimi discloses wherein the first color is any of a color represented by using the specific color ink only or a color represented by using both the specific color ink and a process color ink [IR toner printing is an example of invisible printing in which an invisible pattern that is difficult to recognize visually is printed. However, invisible printing is not limited to the use of IR toner, and, for example, printing may be performed using a special toner, ink or the like that becomes visible upon by irradiation with ultraviolet light or black light, p0029].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included support in Gerrits in view of Kunimi and Tastl wherein the first color is any of a color represented by using the specific color ink only as disclosed by Kunimi because it allows the user an easy means to utilize a specific colorant for their printed result.
Claim 34: Gerrits in view of Kunimi and Tastl discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 21, wherein activation of the first setting is executed by a printer driver different from the prescribed program [RIP settings can be set in a printer driver window, p0021].
Claim 35: Gerrits in view of Kunimi and Tastl discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 21, wherein the content to be printed based on the print data is displayed without executing the prescribed notification in at least any of a case where the first setting is not activated [According to an alternative embodiment, the identified irrelevant RIP setting is left out of the print job properties window, p0072] and a case where the print data does not fulfill the prescribed condition even though the first setting is activated.
Kunimi does not appear to explicitly disclose displaying a content.
Tastl discloses displaying a content to be printed based on print data [the proof engine 108 may comprise a processor resource to convert the print-ready data to a soft-proof file using the ripped data, the job definition, and the ticket template, p0022].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included in Gerrits in view of Kunimi the support to display a content to be printed based on print data as disclosed by Tastl because using the print-ready data (e.g., the actual ripped data to be used for production), the soft-proof file may, for example, avoid errors in soft-proofing (such as color conversion errors) by avoiding RIP simulation to create the soft-proof file as discussed by Tastl in at least paragraph 0022.
Claim 36: Gerrits in view of Kunimi and Tastl discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 35, wherein the case where the first setting is not activated is a case of activating a setting to print the first print region by using a different color from the first color, the different color being represented by using a process color ink and without using the specific color ink [If a print job does not contain RGB objects but only CMYK objects and/or spot color objects, a RIP setting for rendering RGB objects or for overruling embedded RGB output profiles is considered to be irrelevant. If a print job has only high resolution images embedded and no low resolution images, a RIP setting for image smoothing for low resolution images is irrelevant. A RIP setting for color mapping, e.g. replacing a CMYK color by a spot color, or a spot color by another spot color, may also become irrelevant when spot color matching is switched off [interpreted as utilizing the process colors], p0022].
Claims 38 & 39: the method and apparatus herein have been executed or performed by the program of claim 21 and are therefore likewise rejected.
Claim(s) 24 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerrits (US Pub No. 20170068876) in view of Kunimi et al., (US Pub No. 20200081669) and in further view of Tastl et al., (US Pub No. 20180018545) and Tonouchi (US Pub No. 20180200958).
Claim 24: Gerrits in view of Kunimi discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 21.
Gerrits discloses identifying RGB object data [p0057 & p0071-0072].
Neither Gerrits, Kunimi nor Tastl appear to explicitly disclose wherein, even though the first setting is being activated, a different notification from the prescribed notification is executed on the grounds that a width of a prescribed object being included in the print data and corresponding to the first RGB values is smaller than a prescribed value.
Tonouchi discloses in a related system [Abstract] a different notification from the prescribed notification is executed on the grounds that a width of a prescribed object being included in the print data is smaller than a prescribed value [if a thin-line region is detected at step S208, the CPU 30A executes the process shown in step S216 to display a warning picture to a user and thereby warn the user that the thin-line region (expected trouble) has been detected … e.g., A user sets a threshold thin-line width for detection of a thin-line region. The thin-line width set value is converted into a threshold pixel number. For example, a thin-line width set value “0.2 mm” is converted into a threshold pixel number “1”, p0147 & p0151 – The Examiner notes that Tonouchi does not exclude any region or color and would therefore necessarily include regions of the first RGB values].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included support in Gerrits in view of Kunimi and Tastl the support for displaying a different notification from the prescribed notification is executed on the grounds that a width of a prescribed object being included in the print data is smaller than a prescribed value (necessarily also include regions of the first RGB values) as disclosed by Tonouchi because it alerts the user of the problem before continuing with processing.
Claim 25: Gerrits in view of Kunimi, Tastl and Tonouchi discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 24.
Neither Gerrits, Kunimi nor Tastl appear to explicitly disclose wherein the different notification is a notification to display a screen to notify a user that the prescribed object being small in width is included in the print data.
Tonouchi discloses wherein the different notification is a notification to display a screen to notify a user that the prescribed object being small in width is included in the print data [if a thin-line region is detected at step S208, the CPU 30A executes the process shown in step S216 to display a warning picture to a user and thereby warn the user that the thin-line region (expected trouble) has been detected, p0147 & p0151].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included support in Gerrits in view of Kunimi and Tastl the support for displaying the different notification is a notification to display a screen to notify a user that the prescribed object being small in width is included in the print data as disclosed by Tonouchi because it alerts the user of the problem before proceeding with processing.
Claim(s) 28 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerrits (US Pub No. 20170068876) in view of Kunimi et al., (US Pub No. 20200081669) and in further view of Tastl et al., (US Pub No. 20180018545), Tonouchi (US Pub No. 20180200958) and Matsuzaki et al., (US Pub No. 20060044591).
Claim 28: Gerrits in view of Kunimi and Tastl discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 21.
Neither Gerrits, Kunimi nor Tastl appear to explicitly disclose wherein the content to be printed based on the print data is controlled to be displayed at a display magnification based on a prescribed object on grounds that a width of the prescribed object being included in the print data and corresponding to the first RGB values is smaller than a prescribed value.
Tonouchi discloses in a related system [Abstract] wherein the content to be printed based on the print data is controlled to be displayed at a display magnification based on a prescribed object on grounds that a width of the prescribed object being included in the print data and corresponding to the first RGB values is smaller than a prescribed value [if a thin-line region is detected at step S208, the CPU 30A executes the process shown in step S216 to display a warning picture to a user and thereby warn the user that the thin-line region (expected trouble) has been detected … e.g., A user sets a threshold thin-line width for detection of a thin-line region. The thin-line width set value is converted into a threshold pixel number. For example, a thin-line width set value “0.2 mm” is converted into a threshold pixel number “1”, p0147 & p0151 – The Examiner notes that Tonouchi does not exclude any region or color and would therefore necessarily include regions of the first RGB values].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included support in Gerrits in view of Kunimi and Tastl the support for wherein the content to be printed based on the print data is controlled to be displayed based on a prescribed object on grounds that a width of the prescribed object being included in the print data and corresponding to the first RGB values is smaller than a prescribed value (necessarily also include regions of the first RGB values) as disclosed by Tonouchi because it alerts the user of the problem before continuing with processing.
Tonouchi does not explicitly disclose at a display magnification.
Matsuzaki discloses in a related system from the same field of endeavor [Abstract] wherein the content to be printed based on the print data is controlled to be displayed at a display magnification when a printing data area is problematic [e.g., region to be warned is a region for which the printing result may have a problem (e.g., region including a character having an excessively small size or a font that cannot be outputted), for example … When the prepared preview image is displayed in Step S308 of FIG. 3, some users desire to enlarge a problematic part in the displayed image. In such a case, the data prior to the resolution conversion processing that was stored as described above (Step S605) is used to prepare an enlarged image of the part. When displaying such an image, the entire image may be enlarged or only a part of the image selected by the user also may be enlarged. Alternatively, only the marked region to be warned specified by the user also may be enlarged, p0046 & p0073].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included support in Gerrits in view of Kunimi, Tastl and Tonouchi the support wherein the content to be printed based on the print data is controlled to be displayed at a display magnification based on a prescribed object being too small as taught by Matsuzaki because it allows the user to recognize the problem before expending resources as discussed by Matsuzaki in at least paragraph 0016.
Claim 29: Gerrits in view of Kunimi, Tastl, Tonouchi and Matsuzaki discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 28
Neither Gerrits, Kunimi nor Tastl appear to disclose wherein a setting screen is displayed to enable a user to set the prescribed value.
Tonouchi discloses a setting screen is displayed to enable a user to set the prescribed value [as shown in Figure 14, p0150].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included support in Gerrits in view of Kunimi, Tastl, Tonouchi and Matsuzaki wherein a setting screen is displayed to enable a user to set the prescribed value as disclosed by Tonouchi because it allows the user to customize image data thresholds for processing as well as allowing recognition of the user when an issue may be present that could affect output as discussed by Tonouchi in at least paragraph 0148.
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerrits (US Pub No. 20170068876) in view of Kunimi et al., (US Pub No. 20200081669) and in further view of Tastl et al., (US Pub No. 20180018545) and Lin et al., (US Patent 9706085).
Claim 32: Gerrits in view of Kunimi and Tastl discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 21.
Gerrits appears to explicitly disclose wherein the specific color ink is at least one of a fluorescent pink ink, an orange ink, a violet ink, and a green ink.
Kunimi discloses wherein the specific color ink is at least one of a fluorescent pink ink, an orange ink, a violet ink, and a green ink [printing may be performed using a special color such as fluorescent color, gold color, silver color, etc., that cannot be obtained with ordinary color toner … the special color settings screen may display colors such as black, cyan, magenta, yellow, red, green, blue, white, etc., and acquire an RGB value of a selected color, p0109].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included support in Gerrits in view of Kunimi and Tastl the option to include the specific color ink as taught by Kunimi because it permits the user the ability to utilize an expanded color gamut.
Kunimi nor Tastl appear to explicitly disclose at least one of a fluorescent pink ink, an orange ink, a violet ink, and a green ink.
Lin discloses in a related system from the same field of endeavor [Abstract] utilizing process and non-process colorants to include at least one of a fluorescent pink ink, an orange ink, a violet ink, and a green ink [for extended gamut color modes (e.g., CMYK+Orange, CMYK+Blue, CMYK+Green), selections on the graphical user interface 500 are available for defining the destination profile to be used for CMYK and CMYK+extended color output … a larger number of marking engines 600 can be used for generating extended colorant set images which typically include these four process-color colorant separations (CMYKX) plus one or more additional color separations such as green, orange, violet, red, blue, white, varnish, light cyan, light magenta, gray, dark yellow, metallics, and so forth, col. 13 line 32 – col. 14 line 20 & col. 15 lines 26-32].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included support in Gerrits in view of Kunimi and Tastl the support to further include wherein the specific color ink is least one of a fluorescent pink ink, an orange ink, a violet ink, and a green ink as taught by Lin because enables users to specify the colorants and associated destination profile for each object type within an extended gamut mode as discussed by Lin in at least cols. 1 & 2.
Claim(s) 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerrits (US Pub No. 20170068876) in view of Kunimi et al., (US Pub No. 20200081669) and in further view of Tastl et al., (US Pub No. 20180018545) and Guay (US Pub No. 20100123911).
Claim 37: Gerrits in view of Kunimi and Tastl discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 21.
Neither Gerrits nor Kunimi appear to disclose wherein the content to be printed based on the print data in a state where the first setting is activated and the content to be printed based on the print data in a state where the first setting is not activated are switchably displayed.
Tastl discloses wherein the content to be printed based on the print data in a state where the first setting is activated and the content to be printed based on the print data in a state where the first setting is not activated are switchably displayed [As an example, the print-ready data may contain only CMYK content, which may be directly encoded for TIFF, PDF, or JPEG file formats, and for PNG file formats the color information can be converted into RGB using an ICC CMYK profile from the ticket template. For another example, the print-ready data may contain CMYK content plus spot color information and production may use customized inks so that the spot colors may be replaced by production values that correspond to color measurements of printed spot colors and the production values can be converted into CMYK or RGB values for the soft-proof file. In some examples, functionalities described herein in relation to any of FIGS. 1-3 may be provided in combination with functionalities described herein in relation to any of FIGS. 4-7, p0023].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included in Gerrits in view of Kunimi the support wherein the content to be printed based on the print data in a state where the first setting is activated and the content to be printed based on the print data in a state where the first setting is not activated as disclosed by Tastl because it allows the user to evaluate the differences prior to expending resources.
Tastl does not appear to explicitly disclose where the content is are switchably displayed.
Guay discloses in a related system from the same field of endeavor [Abstract] wherein the content to be printed based on the print data in a state where the first setting is activated and the content to be printed based on the print data in a state where the first setting is not activated are switchably displayed [The user may change the preview image 61 by selecting a different color scheme icon 74, 76, 78 and 80. Thus, for example, a user previewing an image as it will appear when printed using Default color scheme 74, as shown in FIG. 8, may preview the image as it will appear when printed using the Photo color scheme 76 simply by clicking on the camera icon 76 in color scheme menu 72. In direct response to selecting a different color scheme, Photo scheme 76 in this example, color management programming 42 automatically re-runs print and preview color transforms 52 and 58 using print source profile 44.sub.photo to generate the preview image 61 shown in FIG. 9. Similarly, a user wishing to preview an image as it will appear when printed with a different printer may select another printer from printer menu 70 and, in direct response to selecting the printer, color management programming 42 automatically re-runs print and preview color transforms 52 and 58 using print destination and preview source profiles 46 and 48 associated with the newly selected printer, p0027].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included in Gerrits in view of Kunimi and Tastl the support wherein the content to be printed based on the print data in a state where the first setting is activated and the content to be printed based on the print data in a state where the first setting is not activated are switchably displayed as disclosed by Guay because it allows the user to decide the most favorable appearance of a page before expending resources having it printed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26, 27, 30 and 31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Specifically, the Examiner found neither prior art cited in its entirety, nor based on the prior art of record, found any motivation to combine any of the said prior art that teaches “… a different notification from the prescribed notification is executed on grounds that a percentage of a prescribed object being included in the print data and corresponding to the first RGB values relative to the entire print data is smaller than a prescribed value” or “… wherein the content to be printed based on the print data is controlled to be displayed at a display magnification based on a prescribed object on grounds that a percentage of the prescribed object being included in the print data and corresponding to the first RGB values relative to the entire print data is smaller than a prescribed value.”
Claims 27 and 31 are objected to based on their dependency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gerrits, US Pub No. 20170068875, discloses where RGB object data is detected and is in conflict with RIP settings to thereafter notify the user before proceeding with processing.
/BARBARA D REINIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682