DETAILED ACTION
Brief Summary
This is a non-final Office action regarding reissue U.S. Application 18/388,422 (hereafter the “reissue ‘422 Application”), which is a reissue application of U.S. Patent 10,051,680 (hereafter “the ‘680 Patent”).
Upon review of the reissue ‘422 Application, the application was filed on November 9, 2023, along with a Reissue Declaration, also filed November 9, 2023.
The ‘680 Patent originally issued on August 14, 2018, with original claims 1-20, being filed as U.S. Application 15/424,476 (hereafter “the original ’476 Application). Here, the original ‘476 Application was filed as a continuation of U.S. Application 13/973,404, filed on August 22, 2013, now U.S. Patent 9,591,675, and claims foreign priority to Korean Patent Application 10-2013-0018882, filed on February 21, 2013.
As noted above, the ‘680 Patent issued with claims 1-20. A preliminary amendment was filed with the reissue ‘422 Application on November 9, 2023, which amends claim 8, and adds new claims 21-39, keeping claims 1-7 and 9-20 in their original patented form. Thus, with the preliminary amendment dated November 9, 2023, claims 1-39 are pending, with claims 1, 12, 17, 21, 30, and 31 being independent.
Reissue
Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.178(b), to timely apprise the Office of any prior or concurrent proceeding in which Patent No. 10,051,680 is or was involved. These proceedings would include interferences, reissues, reexaminations, and litigation.
Applicant is further reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.56, to timely apprise the Office of any information which is material to patentability of the claims under consideration in this reissue application.
These obligations rest with each individual associated with the filing and prosecution of this application for reissue. See also MPEP §§ 1404, 1442.01 and 1442.04.
Defective Reissue Declaration and Rejection under 35 USC § 251
Claims 1-39 are rejected as being based upon a defective reissue declaration under 35 U.S.C. 251 as set forth above. See 37 CFR 1.175. The nature of the defect(s) in the declaration is set forth in the discussion below in this Office action.
In this regard, 37 CFR 1.175(b) states, in part:
(b) If the reissue application seeks to enlarge the scope of the claims of the patent (a basis for the reissue is the patentee claiming less than the patentee had the right to claim in the patent), the inventor’s oath or declaration for a reissue application must identify a claim that the application seeks to broaden. A claim is a broadened claim if the claim is broadened in any respect.
With this, the reissue declaration filed on November 9, 2023 is defective (see 37 CFR 1.175 and MPEP § 1414) because of the following: the Applicant has not sufficiently identified the error which is relied on to support the reissue application, and has not identified a specific claim that that the application seeks to be broadened.
In this regard, the reissue declaration filed on November 9, 2023 states “Applicant believes the original patent to be partly inoperative or invalid by reason of the patentee claiming less than the patentee had a right to claim in the patent. At least one error is the failure to claim subject matter corresponding to an overlooked embodiment or aspect in the application.”
But upon review of the amendment to the claims filed November 9, 2023, new claims 21-39 are seen to be broader in scope than the original claims 1-20. With this, the Applicant’s error statement is not clear what the specific error that the reissue is being relied on, as well as does not identify a claim that the Applicant seeks to broaden.
Rejection under 35 USC § 251
Claims 21-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 251 as being broadened in a reissue application filed outside the two year statutory period.
Here, MPEP 1412.03(I) states, in part:
A claim of a reissue application enlarges the scope of the claims of the patent if it is broader in at least one respect, even though it may be narrower in other respects. See, e.g., 37 CFR 1.175(b). A claim in the reissue application which includes subject matter not covered by the patent claims enlarges the scope of the patent claims. For example, if any amended or newly added claim in the reissue contains within its scope any conceivable product or process which would not have infringed the patent, then that reissue claim would be broader than the patent claims. Tillotson, Ltd. v. Walbro Corp., 831 F.2d 1033, 1037 n.2, 4 USPQ2d 1450, 1453 n.2 (Fed. Cir. 1987); In re Ruth, 278 F.2d 729, 730, 126 USPQ 155, 156 (CCPA 1960); In re Rogoff, 261 F.2d 601, 603, 120 USPQ 185, 186 (CCPA 1958). A claim which covers something that the original claims do not is a broadened claim. A claim would be considered a broadening claim if the patent owner would be able to sue any party for infringement who previously could not have been sued for infringement. Thus, where the original patent claims only the process, and the reissue application newly adds product claims, the scope of the claims has been broadened because a party could not necessarily be sued for infringement of the product based on the claims of the original patent (if it were made by a different process).
In this regard, in review of the original patented claims 1-20 and the new proposed claims 21-39, the Examiner finds that there are numerous claimed elements that are broader in scope in the newly presented claims than the original patented claims 1-20. For instance, one broader element is that the new present a new category of invention. Specifically, each of the original claims 1-20 are drawn to an “apparatus”, while new claims 21-29 are drawn to a “terminal”, new claim 30 is drawn to a “non-transitory machine readable storage device executed by a processor of a terminal”, and new claims 31-39 are drawn to a “method”. Along this vein, the addition of claims as a new category of invention is generally considered as being a broadening of the invention. See MPEP 1412.03 (III).
Additionally, another broader element is that original independent claim 1 (and similarly independent claims 12 and 17) recites “discover, via the communication circuitry, one or more electronic devices…” However, new independent claim 21, and similarly independent claims 30 and 31 (as well as each of the corresponding dependent claims) recites “discover, using the Wi-Fi communication unit, one or more APs …” In this regard, “one or more APs” is seen to be a different scope than the “one or more electronic devices” found in the original independent claims, which can be considered as being broader in scope. Here, it is noted that original dependent claim 11 does recite “wherein the one or more electronic devices comprise an access point (AP)”, but new claims 21-39 still fall short of expressly requiring “one or more electronic devices” as the original claim required.
Further, original claim 1 recites “obtain, via the communication circuitry, information related to the one or more electronic devices using an access network query protocol (ANQP)”. However, new claims 21-39 do not specifically require this functionality. In addition, original claim 1 requires “select a second electronic device…” But here, new claims 21-39 do not specifically specify of selecting a “second electronic device”. Finally, original claim 12 required the limitation “determine that status information related to the first communication connection with the first electronic device satisfies a specified condition”. This feature is not seen to be similarly recited in the same context in any of the new claims 21-39.
Here, because the instant reissue application has been filed well after the two year statutory period, broadening of the claims is impermissible. Along this vein, 35 U.S.C. 251(d) requires:
(d) REISSUE PATENT ENLARGING SCOPE OF CLAIMS.—No reissued patent shall be granted enlarging the scope of the claims of the original patent unless applied for within two years from the grant of the original patent.
Therefore, because new claims 21-39 are seen to recite broader aspects than the original claims 1-20, claims 21-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 251 as being broadened in a reissue application filed outside the two year statutory period. A claim is broader in scope than the original claims if it contains within its scope any conceivable product or process which would not have infringed the original patent. A claim is broadened if it is broader in any one respect even though it may be narrower in other respects.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6, 11, 12, 17, 21, 30, and 31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 22, 24, 26-27, 29-30, 32, and 40-42 of Jung et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,591,675, hereafter “Jung‘675”) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Patent 9,092,812, hereafter “Kim”, being cited in the Information Disclosure Statement dated November 9, 2023).
Claim 1 of the instant application (having similar features as those found in independent claims 12 and 17)
Claim 25 (which includes limitations in claim 22) of the Jung‘675 patent
1.An apparatus comprising:
a communication circuitry; and
a processor adapted to:
discover, via the communication circuitry, one or more electronic devices using a scan while maintaining a first communication connection with a first electronic device external to the apparatus;
obtain, via the communication circuitry, information related to the one or more electronic devices using an access network query protocol (ANQP);
select a second electronic device from the one or more electronic devices based at least in part on the information related to the one or more electronic device; and
establish, via the communication circuitry, a second communication connection with the second electronic device in replacement of the first communication connection.
22.An electronic device comprising:
a short-range wireless communication unit; and
at least one processor configured to:
connect to a specific external device among a plurality of external devices discovered by the scan operation; and
detect at least one other connectable external device including connection information matching connection information stored in the electronic device, among a plurality of other external devices while maintaining that the electronic device is connected with the specific external device,
wherein the detecting of the at least one other connectable external device comprises:
discovering, if an option to view the other connectable external devices is selected after connecting with the specific external device, the plurality of other external devices by the scan operation,
receiving network information for each of the plurality of other external devices through an Access Network Query Protocol (ANQP) procedure with an information server connected to each of the plurality of discovered external devices,
detecting network information including the connection information matching the connection information stored in the terminal, and
detecting another external device corresponding to the detected network information as the detected at least one other connectable external device.
25. The electronic device of claim 22, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
display a network list that shows information about the detected at least one other connectable external device and connection status information for the detected at least one other connectable external device,
connect another external device corresponding to selected information on the network list, and disconnect the specific external device.
Claim 21 of the instant application (having similar features as those found in claims 30 and 31)
Claims 27 (which includes limitations in claims 22 and 25) of the Jung‘675 patent
21.A terminal comprising:
a Wi-Fi communication unit;
a display; and
a processor configured to:
establish, using the Wi-Fi communication unit, a first communication connection with a first access point (AP),
discover, using the Wi-Fi communication unit, one or more APs external to the terminal based on a beacon or a probe response received from the one or more APs by a scan operation while maintaining the first communication connection with the first AP,
determine, based on information included in the beacon or the probe response, whether at least one AP of the one or more APs supports Hotspot 2.0,
based on a determination that the at least one AP supports the Hotspot 2.0, receive, using the Wi-Fi communication unit, network information for the at least one AP supporting the Hotspot 2.0 through an access network query protocol (ANQP) procedure with an information server connected to the at least one AP,
control the display to display information corresponding to one or more APs of the at least one AP supporting the Hotspot 2.0 based on a determination that connection information included in the network information corresponding to the one or more APs matches connection information stored in a memory of the terminal, and
perform, using the Wi-Fi communication unit, connection with an AP selected among the one or more APs based at least in part on the network information in replacement of the first communication connection.
22.An electronic device comprising:
a short-range wireless communication unit; and
at least one processor configured to:
connect to a specific external device among a plurality of external devices discovered by the scan operation; and
detect at least one other connectable external device including connection information matching connection information stored in the electronic device, among a plurality of other external devices while maintaining that the electronic device is connected with the specific external device,
wherein the detecting of the at least one other connectable external device comprises:
discovering, if an option to view the other connectable external devices is selected after connecting with the specific external device, the plurality of other external devices by the scan operation,
receiving network information for each of the plurality of other external devices through an Access Network Query Protocol (ANQP) procedure with an information server connected to each of the plurality of discovered external devices,
detecting network information including the connection information matching the connection information stored in the terminal, and
detecting another external device corresponding to the detected network information as the detected at least one other connectable external device.
25. The electronic device of claim 22, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: display a network list that shows information about the detected at least one other connectable external device and connection status information for the detected at least one other connectable external device, connect another external device corresponding to selected information on the network list, and disconnect the specific external device.
27. The electronic device of claim 25, wherein the at least one other connectable external device includes a Hotspot 2.0-supported Access Point (AP) that is connected to an information server.
With this, regarding independent claims 1, 12, and 17, as shown above, claim 25 of Jung’675 discloses limitations very similar to those found in the instant claims 1, 12, and 17. However, claim 25 (and claim 22) of Jung’675 lacks the specific recitation of the claimed “select a second electronic device from the one or more electronic devices based at least in part on the information related to the one or more electronic device; and establish, via the communication circuitry, a second communication connection with the second electronic device in replacement of the first communication connection.”
But the reference of Kim teaches of an apparatus that function to select a second electronic device from the one or more electronic devices based at least in part on the information related to the one or more electronic device; and establish, via the communication circuitry, a second communication connection with the second electronic device in replacement of the first communication connection [see Figs. 1-2; also see col. 5, lines 25-48, whereby the mobile is connected with AP 120 while searching surrounding other APs with highest RSSI, then selects the AP with highest RSSI for connecting]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the claim of Jung’675. Here, claim 25 of Jung’675 would easily be modified with the functionality, as described by Kim, whereby this modification would yield predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have the further teachings of Kim included in the invention defined in claim 25 of Jung’675 to obtain the invention of claims 1, 12, and 17 of the ‘680 Patent.
Regarding dependent claim 6, Jung’675 further teaches this limitation of the dependent claim in claim 26 of the Jung’675 patent.
Regarding dependent claim 11, Jung ‘675 further teaches this limitation of the dependent claim in claim 27 of the Jung’675 patent.
Regarding independent claim 21, 30, and 31, as shown above, claim 27 of Jung’675 discloses limitations very similar to those found in the instant claim 21, 30, and 31. However, claim 27 of Jung’675 lacks the specific recitation if the claimed “short-range wireless communication unit” is a “Wi-Fi communication unit” recited in claims 21, 30, and 31.
But Kim discloses a terminal apparatus [mobile terminal 110] that includes a Wi-Fi communication unit that communicates wirelessly through Wi-Fi [see Fig. 1; also see col. 2, lines 4-18]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the claim of Jung’675. Here, claim 27 of Jung’675 would easily be modified with the well-known element of a Wi-Fi communication unit, as described by Kim, whereby this modification would yield predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have the further teachings of Kim included in the invention defined in claim 27 of Jung’675 to obtain the invention of claims 21, 30, and 31 of the ‘680 Patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(e) the invention was described in a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention thereof by the applicant for patent, or on an international application by another who has fulfilled the requirements of paragraphs (1), (2), and (4) of section 371(c) of this title before the invention thereof by the applicant for patent.
The changes made to 35 U.S.C. 102(e) by the American Inventors Protection Act of 1999 (AIPA) and the Intellectual Property and High Technology Technical Amendments Act of 2002 do not apply when the reference is a U.S. patent resulting directly or indirectly from an international application filed before November 29, 2000. Therefore, the prior art date of the reference is determined under 35 U.S.C. 102(e) prior to the amendment by the AIPA (pre-AIPA 35 U.S.C. 102(e)).
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, and 12-20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0076118, with the inventor of Montemurro et al. (hereafter “Montemurro”), being a reference cited in the Information Disclosure Statement dated November 9, 2023.
Regarding claim 1, Montemurro discloses an apparatus [see Figs. 1-2 and 5] comprising:
a communication circuitry [“wireless communication subsystem 518”, seen in Fig. 5]; and
a processor [“processor 502”, seen in Fig. 5] adapted to:
discover, via the communication circuitry, one or more electronic devices using a scan while maintaining a first communication connection with a first electronic device external to the apparatus [see paragraphs 0015-0018, wherein “An example ANQP exchange involves a requesting station (STA) (e.g., a wireless terminal) querying another STA (e.g., a WLAN access point (AP)) for information such as network capabilities information. The queried or receiving STA can respond to the received query with the requested information. The queried or receiving STA can generate the response information with or without proxying the query to a server in an external network (e.g., an SSP network). For example, an external network connected to a queried WLAN may have particular network capabilities accessible via the WLAN and of which a querying wireless terminal should be made aware.”; also see paragraphs 0023-0025, wherein “The example methods and apparatus described herein may also enable the wireless terminal 114 to join different APs (e.g., the APs 104a-c) based on different network capabilities profiles stored in the wireless terminal 114. That is, when the wireless terminal 114 is moved to a different one of the WLAN access locations 102a-c, the wireless terminal 114 can dynamically discover network capabilities available at the WLAN access locations 102a-c and join any suitable one of the APs 104a-c even when the wireless terminal 114 has not previously encountered the APs 104a-c or the network capabilities available via the APs 104a-c have changed since a previous connection between the wireless terminal 114 and the APs 104a-c.”; also see Fig. 2; also see step 702 in Fig. 7A; also see paragraph 0062, wherein “Turning now to FIG. 7A, the illustrated example process may be performed by the wireless terminal 114 during a network discovery process. Initially, the wireless terminal 114 performs a wireless network scan (block 702). For example, the wireless terminal 114 may perform a passive network scan in which it waits for one or more access points (e.g., one or more of the APs 104a-c of FIG. 1) to broadcast its SSID (e.g., the SSID 212 of FIG. 2) and encryption mode status (e.g., the encryption mode status 214 of FIG. 2), if applicable.”];
obtain, via the communication circuitry, information related to the one or more electronic devices using an access network query protocol (ANQP) [see Fig. 2; also see paragraphs 0036-0040, wherein “In the illustrated example of FIG. 2, the wireless terminal 114 uses the network capabilities profiles 210 during a network discovery process to determine whether any APs within a wireless communication vicinity of the wireless terminal 114 are suitable candidates for association. As shown in FIG. 2, during a network discovery process, the wireless terminal 114 may receive an SSID 212 and an encryption mode status 214 from the AP 104a. In the illustrated example, the encryption mode status 214 indicates whether an encryption mode (e.g., wireless encryption protocol (WEP), Wi-Fi protected access (WPA), etc.) is enabled on the AP 104a. … The access network A 106a forms the NETCAP RESPONSE 118 to include the network capabilities of the external network A 108a and any network capabilities provided by the access network A 106a. The AP 104a then sends the NETCAP RESPONSE 118 to the wireless terminal 114 to inform the wireless terminal 114 of the network capabilities that are available via the access network A 106a. The wireless terminal 114 may then compare the received network capabilities with network capabilities indicated in each of its network capabilities profiles 210 to determine whether minimum network capability requirements are met for any of the network capabilities profiles 210 to indicate that the access network A 106a is a suitable candidate for association.”; also see step 710 in Fig. 7A; also see paragraphs 0064-0070, wherein “The wireless terminal 114 uses an ANQP exchange to retrieve network capabilities for each WLAN selected at block 706 (block 710).”];
select a second electronic device from the one or more electronic devices based at least in part on the information related to the one or more electronic device [see step 714 in Fig. 7A and steps 718 and 722 in Fig. 7B; also see paragraphs 0066-0067, wherein “ If the wireless terminal 114 finds partial matches (block 716), the wireless terminal 114 selects the WLAN(s) that advertised network capabilities that matched at least all of the minimum capabilities (e.g., the minimum capabilities 312 of FIG. 3 or 404 of FIG. 4) of one or more network capabilities profile(s) (block 718). If the wireless terminal 114 selected any WLAN at block 720, the wireless terminal 114 then selects the WLAN that advertised network capabilities matching the minimum capabilities 312 (or the minimum capabilities 404) of a network capabilities profile with the highest ranking (block 722).”]; and
establish, via the communication circuitry, a second communication connection with the second electronic device in replacement of the first communication connection [see step 728 in Fig. 7B and step 742 in Fig. 7C; also see paragraphs 0068-0071, wherein “If the wireless terminal 114 receives a user selection of a WLAN (block 726) or if the wireless terminal 114 selects a WLAN at block 722 or if the wireless terminal 114 selects a WLAN at block 714 (FIG. 7A), the wireless terminal 114 joins with the selected WLAN (block 728). In some example implementations, after joining the selected WLAN (block 728), the wireless terminal 114 may also be registered with an external network (e.g., the external network A 108a of FIGS. 1 and 2). As shown in FIG. 7B, after joining the WLAN (block 728) or if the wireless terminal 114 did not receive a user selection of a WLAN (e.g., within a timeout period) at block 726, the example process of FIGS. 7A-7C ends. … If the wireless terminal 114 receives a user selection of a WLAN (block 740), the wireless terminal 114 joins the selected WLAN (block 742).”].
Regarding claim 2, Montemurro discloses the apparatus described above in claim 1, and further comprising memory, wherein the processor is further adapted to:
select, based at least in part on matching a portion of the information with data stored in the memory, an electronic device corresponding to the portion among the one or more electronic devices, as the second electronic device [see steps 712 and 714 in Fig. 7A; also see paragraphs 0066-0067, wherein “If the wireless terminal 114 finds full matches (block 712), the wireless terminal 114 selects the WLAN that advertised network capabilities matching the network capabilities profile with the highest ranking relative to other matching profiles (block 714). In some example implementations, the wireless terminal 114 may be configured to select a WLAN based on the network capabilities profile that has the relatively highest ranking and the closest proximity.”].
Regarding claim 3, Montemurro discloses the apparatus described above in claim 1, and further teaches wherein the processor is further adapted to:
select a previously connected device among the one or more electronic devices, as the second electronic device [see paragraphs 0028-0030, wherein “In addition, network capabilities of different networks (e.g., the access networks 106a-c, 108a, and 108b) may be changed at any time because wireless terminals can discover the changed network capabilities anew each time the wireless terminals discover (or re-discover) the networks.”].
Regarding claim 4, Montemurro discloses the apparatus described above in claim 1, and further teaches wherein the processor is further adapted to:
request the information related to the one or more electronic devices using the ANQP prior to the obtaining [see paragraph 0016, wherein “In this manner, a wireless terminal may obtain information on network capabilities made available by WLANs to determine, based on the network capabilities information, whether to continue with a connection process to join the wireless terminal with a WLAN. In accordance with the example techniques described herein, wireless terminals may request network capabilities information from WLANs using an Access Network Query Protocol (ANQP). The ANQP supports information retrieval from an Advertisement Server that supports a Generic Advertisement Service (GAS).”; also see paragraphs 0036-0040].
Regarding claim 5, Montemurro discloses the apparatus described above in claim 1, and further teaches wherein the processor is further adapted to:
perform the selecting based at least in part on a determination that status information with respect to the first communication connection satisfies a specified condition [see paragraphs 0039-0049, wherein “In some example implementations, WLANs may be selected for association based on rankings of network capabilities profiles. In the illustrated example, the network capabilities profiles are assigned ranking values 310 to indicate their order of preference for use when selecting a WLAN from more than one suitable association candidate. The ranking values 310 may be specified by the wireless terminal 114 or by a SSP based on rules or criteria related to preferable wireless connections. … For example, if network capabilities available via the access network A 106a align with the minimum capabilities 312 of the profile ID 0003 and the network capabilities of the access network B 106b align with the minimum capabilities 312 of the profile ID 0005, both of the access networks A 106a and B 106b are suitable association candidates, but the wireless terminal 114 selects the access network A 106a because the network capabilities profile (profile ID 0003) satisfied by the network capabilities of the access network A 106a has the higher capability ranking”; also see Figs. 3 and 4, which illustrates the “minimum capabilities” 312 and 404; also see step 718 in Fig. 7B; also see paragraphs 0062-0074].
Regarding claim 6, Montemurro discloses the apparatus described above in claim 5, and further teaches wherein the status information comprises a received signal strength indication (RSSI), a data rate, a billing status, a network provider type, or a combination thereof [see paragraphs 0014-0015, wherein “For example, known techniques for associating a wireless terminal with a WLAN involve the wireless terminal passively or actively scanning to discover one or more WLANs. The wireless terminal then selects a WLAN to join (e.g., based on advertised WLAN network properties such as a service set identifier (SSID), an encryption mode (e.g., wireless encryption protocol (WEP), Wi-Fi protected access (WPA), etc.), received signal strength indication (RSSI) and joins the selected WLAN.”].
Regarding claim 7, Montemurro discloses the apparatus described above in claim 1, and further comprising a display [display 524, seen in Fig. 5], wherein the processor is further adapted to:
present, via the display, an indication of status information corresponding to the second communication connection [see paragraph 0056; also see paragraphs 0069-0071, wherein “The wireless terminal 114 presents the available WLAN(s) discovered at block 702 via a display of the wireless terminal 114 (block 730). If the wireless terminal 114 receives a user selection of one or more WLANs (block 732) that the user would like to attempt to join, the wireless terminal 114 selects the WLAN(s) that support(s) GAS (block 734). … The wireless terminal 114 presents the network capabilities retrieved at block 736 for each WLAN via a display of the wireless terminal 114 (block 738). If the wireless terminal 114 receives a user selection of a WLAN (block 740), the wireless terminal 114 joins the selected WLAN (block 742).”].
Regarding claim 8, Montemurro discloses the apparatus described above in claim 1, and further teaches wherein the information is provided from a server to the one or more electronic devices using the ANQP, prior to the obtaining [see paragraphs 0016-0019, wherein “In this manner, a wireless terminal may obtain information on network capabilities made available by WLANs to determine, based on the network capabilities information, whether to continue with a connection process to join the wireless terminal with a WLAN. In accordance with the example techniques described herein, wireless terminals may request network capabilities information from WLANs using an Access Network Query Protocol (ANQP). The ANQP supports information retrieval from an Advertisement Server that supports a Generic Advertisement Service (GAS). … In some example implementations, the network capability discovery techniques described herein may be used for network discovery instead of SSID-based network discovery. For example, rather than using SSIDs as the primary mode for network discovery, a wireless terminal may use network capabilities information received from APs and its stored WLAN profiles to determine when it is in the vicinity of WLANs suitable for association.”; also see paragraphs 0036-0040].
Regarding claim 10, Montemurro discloses the apparatus described above in claim 1, and further teaches wherein the communication circuitry comprises a Wi-Fi communication circuitry [see paragraph 0015, wherein “For example, known techniques for associating a wireless terminal with a WLAN involve the wireless terminal passively or actively scanning to discover one or more WLANs. The wireless terminal then selects a WLAN to join (e.g., based on advertised WLAN network properties such as a service set identifier (SSID), an encryption mode (e.g., wireless encryption protocol (WEP), Wi-Fi protected access (WPA), etc.), received signal strength indication (RSSI) and joins the selected WLAN.”; also see paragraph 0036, wherein “As shown in FIG. 2, during a network discovery process, the wireless terminal 114 may receive an SSID 212 and an encryption mode status 214 from the AP 104a. In the illustrated example, the encryption mode status 214 indicates whether an encryption mode (e.g., wireless encryption protocol (WEP), Wi-Fi protected access (WPA), etc.) is enabled on the AP 104a.”; also see Figs. 1 and 2].
Regarding claim 12, Montemurro discloses an apparatus [see Figs. 1-2 and 5] comprising:
a short-range wireless communication circuitry [“wireless communication subsystem 518”, seen in Fig. 5]; and
a processor [“processor 502”, seen in Fig. 5] adapted to:
establish, via the short-range wireless communication circuitry, a first communication connection with a first electronic device external to the apparatus [see paragraph 0036, wherein “In the illustrated example of FIG. 2, the wireless terminal 114 uses the network capabilities profiles 210 during a network discovery process to determine whether any APs within a wireless communication vicinity of the wireless terminal 114 are suitable candidates for association. As shown in FIG. 2, during a network discovery process, the wireless terminal 114 may receive an SSID 212 and an encryption mode status 214 from the AP 104a. In the illustrated example, the encryption mode status 214 indicates whether an encryption mode (e.g., wireless encryption protocol (WEP), Wi-Fi protected access (WPA), etc.) is enabled on the AP 104a. Although not shown, the wireless terminal 114 may also simultaneously receive other SSIDs and encryption mode statuses from other nearby APs.”; also see Fig. 2];
determine that status information related to the first communication connection with the first electronic device satisfies a specified condition [see paragraphs 0036-0038, wherein “In some example implementations, the AP 104a may also communicate a GAS support indicator 216 (typically implemented as an Interworking element in the beacon or probe response of an IEEE.RTM. 802.11 WLAN) to the wireless terminal 114, as shown in FIG. 2. The GAS support indicator 216 indicates that the access network A 106a supports GAS. The wireless terminal 114 may use this information to communicate with the AP 104a using protocols transported over GAS (e.g., ANQP messages). If a WLAN does not support GAS, it will not transmit the GAS support indicator 216. … In some example implementations, after receiving the SSID 212 and the encryption mode status 214 (and the GAS support indicator 216, if applicable), the wireless terminal 114 sends the NETCAP REQUEST 116 to the AP 104a to request network capabilities that are available via the access network A 106a. In the illustrated example, the network capabilities may be provided by the access network A 106a and/or the external network A 108a.”];
discover, via the short-range wireless communication circuitry, one or more electronic devices by using a scan while maintaining the first communication connection, based at least in part on the determining that the status information satisfies the specified condition [see paragraphs 0015-0018, wherein “An example ANQP exchange involves a requesting station (STA) (e.g., a wireless terminal) querying another STA (e.g., a WLAN access point (AP)) for information such as network capabilities information. The queried or receiving STA can respond to the received query with the requested information. The queried or receiving STA can generate the response information with or without proxying the query to a server in an external network (e.g., an SSP network). For example, an external network connected to a queried WLAN may have particular network capabilities accessible via the WLAN and of which a querying wireless terminal should be made aware.”; also see paragraphs 0023-0025, wherein “The example methods and apparatus described herein may also enable the wireless terminal 114 to join different APs (e.g., the APs 104a-c) based on different network capabilities profiles stored in the wireless terminal 114. That is, when the wireless terminal 114 is moved to a different one of the WLAN access locations 102a-c, the wireless terminal 114 can dynamically discover network capabilities available at the WLAN access locations 102a-c and join any suitable one of the APs 104a-c even when the wireless terminal 114 has not previously encountered the APs 104a-c or the network capabilities available via the APs 104a-c have changed since a previous connection between the wireless terminal 114 and the APs 104a-c.”; also see Fig. 2; also see step 702 in Fig. 7A; also see paragraph 0062, wherein “Turning now to FIG. 7A, the illustrated example process may be performed by the wireless terminal 114 during a network discovery process. Initially, the wireless terminal 114 performs a wireless network scan (block 702). For example, the wireless terminal 114 may perform a passive network scan in which it waits for one or more access points (e.g., one or more of the APs 104a-c of FIG. 1) to broadcast its SSID (e.g., the SSID 212 of FIG. 2) and encryption mode status (e.g., the encryption mode status 214 of FIG. 2), if applicable.”];
transmit a request signal, with respect to network information related to the one or more electronic devices, to the one or more electronic devices, the network information being stored in a server operatively connected to the one or more electronic devices, wherein the one or more electronic devices can request the network information from the server using the request signal [see paragraphs 0036-0040, wherein “In the illustrated example of FIG. 2, the wireless terminal 114 uses the network capabilities profiles 210 during a network discovery process to determine whether any APs within a wireless communication vicinity of the wireless terminal 114 are suitable candidates for association. As shown in FIG. 2, during a network discovery process, the wireless terminal 114 may receive an SSID 212 and an encryption mode status 214 from the AP 104a. In the illustrated example, the encryption mode status 214 indicates whether an encryption mode (e.g., wireless encryption protocol (WEP), Wi-Fi protected access (WPA), etc.) is enabled on the AP 104a. … The access network A 106a forms the NETCAP RESPONSE 118 to include the network capabilities of the external network A 108a and any network capabilities provided by the access network A 106a. The AP 104a then sends the NETCAP RESPONSE 118 to the wireless terminal 114 to inform the wireless terminal 114 of the network capabilities that are available via the access network A 106a. The wireless terminal 114 may then compare the received network capabilities with network capabilities indicated in each of its network capabilities profiles 210 to determine whether minimum network capability requirements are met for any of the network capabilities profiles 210 to indicate that the access network A 106a is a suitable candidate for association.”; also see steps 704 and 706 in Fig. 7A; also see paragraphs 0064-0070, wherein “The wireless terminal 114 uses an ANQP exchange to retrieve network capabilities for each WLAN selected at block 706 (block 710).”];
receive the network information from the one or more electronic devices, in response to the request signal, the network information being provided from the server to the one or more electronic devices [see paragraphs 0036-0040, wherein “In the illustrated example of FIG. 2, the wireless terminal 114 uses the network capabilities profiles 210 during a network discovery process to determine whether any APs within a wireless communication vicinity of the wireless terminal 114 are suitable candidates for association. As shown in FIG. 2, during a network discovery process, the wireless terminal 114 may receive an SSID 212 and an encryption mode status 214 from the AP 104a. In the illustrated example, the encryption mode status 214 indicates whether an encryption mode (e.g., wireless encryption protocol (WEP), Wi-Fi protected access (WPA), etc.) is enabled on the AP 104a. … The access network A 106a forms the NETCAP RESPONSE 118 to include the network capabilities of the external network A 108a and any network capabilities provided by the access network A 106a. The AP 104a then sends the NETCAP RESPONSE 118 to the wireless terminal 114 to inform the wireless terminal 114 of the network capabilities that are available via the access network A 106a. The wireless terminal 114 may then compare the received network capabilities with network capabilities indicated in each of its network capabilities profiles 210 to determine whether minimum network capability requirements are met for any of the network capabilities profiles 210 to indicate that the access network A 106a is a suitable candidate for association.”; also see step 710 in Fig. 7A; also see paragraphs 0064-0070, wherein “The wireless terminal 114 uses an ANQP exchange to retrieve network capabilities for each WLAN selected at block 706 (block 710).”];
select a second electronic device from the one or more electronic devices based at least in part on the network information [see step 714 in Fig. 7A and steps 718 and 722 in Fig. 7B; also see paragraphs 0066-0067, wherein “ If the wireless terminal 114 finds partial matches (block 716), the wireless terminal 114 selects the WLAN(s) that advertised network capabilities that matched at least all of the minimum capabilities (e.g., the minimum capabilities 312 of FIG. 3 or 404 of FIG. 4) of one or more network capabilities profile(s) (block 718). If the wireless terminal 114 selected any WLAN at block 720, the wireless terminal 114 then selects the WLAN that advertised network capabilities matching the minimum capabilities 312 (or the minimum capabilities 404) of a network capabilities profile with the highest ranking (block 722).”]; and
establish, via the short-range wireless communication circuitry, a second communication connection with the second electronic device in replacement of the first communication connection [see step 728 in Fig. 7B and step 742 in Fig. 7C; also see paragraphs 0068-0071, wherein “If the wireless terminal 114 receives a user selection of a WLAN (block 726) or if the wireless terminal 114 selects a WLAN at block 722 or if the wireless terminal 114 selects a WLAN at block 714 (FIG. 7A), the wireless terminal 114 joins with the selected WLAN (block 728). In some example implementations, after joining the selected WLAN (block 728), the wireless terminal 114 may also be registered with an external network (e.g., the external network A 108a of FIGS. 1 and 2). As shown in FIG. 7B, after joining the WLAN (block 728) or if the wireless terminal 114 did not receive a user selection of a WLAN (e.g., within a timeout period) at block 726, the example process of FIGS. 7A-7C ends. … If the wireless terminal 114 receives a user selection of a WLAN (block 740), the wireless terminal 114 joins the selected WLAN (block 742).”].
Regarding claim 13, Montemurro discloses the apparatus described above in claim 12, and further teaches wherein the processor is further adapted to:
perform the transmitting or the receiving, based at least in part on an 802.11u standard [see paragraphs 0016-0019, wherein “In accordance with the example techniques described herein, wireless terminals may request network capabilities information from WLANs using an Access Network Query Protocol (ANQP). The ANQP supports information retrieval from an Advertisement Server that supports a Generic Advertisement Service (GAS). ANQP and GAS are defined in IEEE 802.11u.”; also see paragraph 0055].
Regarding claim 14, Montemurro discloses the apparatus described above in claim 12, and further comprising memory, wherein the processor is further adapted to:
select, based at least in part on matching a portion of the network information with data stored in the memory, an electronic device corresponding to the portion among the one or more electronic devices, as the second electronic device [see steps 712 and 714 in Fig. 7A; also see paragraphs 0066-0067, wherein “If the wireless terminal 114 finds full matches (block 712), the wireless terminal 114 selects the WLAN that advertised network capabilities matching the network capabilities profile with the highest ranking relative to other matching profiles (block 714). In some example implementations, the wireless terminal 114 may be configured to select a WLAN based on the network capabilities profile that has the relatively highest ranking and the closest proximity.”].
Regarding claim 15, Montemurro discloses the apparatus described above in claim 12, and further teaches wherein the processor is further adapted to:
perform the selecting further based at least in part on location information of the apparatus [see paragraphs 0040-0041, wherein “In the illustrated example of FIG. 3, each network capabilities profile in the network capabilities profile data structure 302 is assigned a unique profile ID 308 and includes rankings 310, minimum capabilities 312, and additional capabilities 314. Turning to the discovered network capabilities 304, during wireless network scans performed by the wireless terminal 114 to discover available WLANs (e.g., the access networks 106a-c of FIG. 1) in its vicinity, the wireless terminal 114 caches discovered SSIDs 316.”].
Regarding claim 16, Montemurro discloses the apparatus described above in claim 12, and further comprising a display [display 524, seen in Fig. 5], wherein the processor is further adapted to:
present, via the display, a user interface including a first indication of the one or more electronic devices and a second indication of connection status information corresponding to the second electronic device [see paragraph 0056; also see paragraphs 0069-0071, wherein “The wireless terminal 114 presents the available WLAN(s) discovered at block 702 via a display of the wireless terminal 114 (block 730). If the wireless terminal 114 receives a user selection of one or more WLANs (block 732) that the user would like to attempt to join, the wireless terminal 114 selects the WLAN(s) that support(s) GAS (block 734). … The wireless terminal 114 presents the network capabilities retrieved at block 736 for each WLAN via a display of the wireless terminal 114 (block 738). If the wireless terminal 114 receives a user selection of a WLAN (block 740), the wireless terminal 114 joins the selected WLAN (block 742).”].
Regarding claim 17, Montemurro discloses an apparatus [see Figs. 1-2 and 5] comprising:
a short-range wireless communication circuitry [“wireless communication subsystem 518”, seen in Fig. 5]; and
a processor [“processor 502”, seen in Fig. 5] adapted to:
discover, via the short-range wireless communication circuitry, one or more electronic devices including a second electronic device external to the apparatus by using a scan while maintaining a first communication connection with a first electronic device external to the apparatus via the short-range wireless communication circuitry [see step 702 in Fig. 7A; also see paragraph 0062, wherein “Turning now to FIG. 7A, the illustrated example process may be performed by the wireless terminal 114 during a network discovery process. Initially, the wireless terminal 114 performs a wireless network scan (block 702). For example, the wireless terminal 114 may perform a passive network scan in which it waits for one or more access points (e.g., one or more of the APs 104a-c of FIG. 1) to broadcast its SSID (e.g., the SSID 212 of FIG. 2) and encryption mode status (e.g., the encryption mode status 214 of FIG. 2), if applicable.”],
the first electronic device corresponding to a first service set identifier (SSID), the second electronic device corresponding to a second SSID different from the first SSID [see paragraph 0062, wherein “Turning now to FIG. 7A, the illustrated example process may be performed by the wireless terminal 114 during a network discovery process. Initially, the wireless terminal 114 performs a wireless network scan (block 702). For example, the wireless terminal 114 may perform a passive network scan in which it waits for one or more access points (e.g., one or more of the APs 104a-c of FIG. 1) to broadcast its SSID (e.g., the SSID 212 of FIG. 2) and encryption mode status (e.g., the encryption mode status 214 of FIG. 2), if applicable.”];
obtain, via the short-range wireless communication circuitry, information related to the second electronic device from one or more electronic devices, the information provided from a server operatively connected to the second electronic device [see Fig. 2; also see paragraphs 0036-0040, wherein “In the illustrated example of FIG. 2, the wireless terminal 114 uses the network capabilities profiles 210 during a network discovery process to determine whether any APs within a wireless communication vicinity of the wireless terminal 114 are suitable candidates for association. As shown in FIG. 2, during a network discovery process, the wireless terminal 114 may receive an SSID 212 and an encryption mode status 214 from the AP 104a. In the illustrated example, the encryption mode status 214 indicates whether an encryption mode (e.g., wireless encryption protocol (WEP), Wi-Fi protected access (WPA), etc.) is enabled on the AP 104a. … The access network A 106a forms the NETCAP RESPONSE 118 to include the network capabilities of the external network A 108a and any network capabilities provided by the access network A 106a. The AP 104a then sends the NETCAP RESPONSE 118 to the wireless terminal 114 to inform the wireless terminal 114 of the network capabilities that are available via the access network A 106a. The wireless terminal 114 may then compare the received network capabilities with network capabilities indicated in each of its network capabilities profiles 210 to determine whether minimum network capability requirements are met for any of the network capabilities profiles 210 to indicate that the access network A 106a is a suitable candidate for association.”; also see step 710 in Fig. 7A; also see paragraphs 0064-0070, wherein “The wireless terminal 114 uses an ANQP exchange to retrieve network capabilities for each WLAN selected at block 706 (block 710).”];
select the second electronic device from the one or more electronic devices based at least in part on the information related to the second electronic device [see step 714 in Fig. 7A and steps 718 and 722 in Fig. 7B; also see paragraphs 0066-0067, wherein “ If the wireless terminal 114 finds partial matches (block 716), the wireless terminal 114 selects the WLAN(s) that advertised network capabilities that matched at least all of the minimum capabilities (e.g., the minimum capabilities 312 of FIG. 3 or 404 of FIG. 4) of one or more network capabilities profile(s) (block 718). If the wireless terminal 114 selected any WLAN at block 720, the wireless terminal 114 then selects the WLAN that advertised network capabilities matching the minimum capabilities 312 (or the minimum capabilities 404) of a network capabilities profile with the highest ranking (block 722).”]; and
establish, via the short-range wireless communication circuitry, a second communication connection with the second electronic device in replacement of the first communication connection [see step 728 in Fig. 7B and step 742 in Fig. 7C; also see paragraphs 0068-0071, wherein “If the wireless terminal 114 receives a user selection of a WLAN (block 726) or if the wireless terminal 114 selects a WLAN at block 722 or if the wireless terminal 114 selects a WLAN at block 714 (FIG. 7A), the wireless terminal 114 joins with the selected WLAN (block 728). In some example implementations, after joining the selected WLAN (block 728), the wireless terminal 114 may also be registered with an external network (e.g., the external network A 108a of FIGS. 1 and 2). As shown in FIG. 7B, after joining the WLAN (block 728) or if the wireless terminal 114 did not receive a user selection of a WLAN (e.g., within a timeout period) at block 726, the example process of FIGS. 7A-7C ends. … If the wireless terminal 114 receives a user selection of a WLAN (block 740), the wireless terminal 114 joins the selected WLAN (block 742).”].
Regarding claim 18, Montemurro discloses the apparatus described above in claim 17, and further teaches wherein the processor is further adapted to: communicate, as part of the obtaining, with the one or more electronic devices using an access network query protocol (ANQP) [see paragraph 0016; also see paragraphs 0036-0040].
Regarding claim 19, Montemurro discloses the apparatus described above in claim 17, and further teaches wherein the first electronic device is operated by a home provider and the second electronic device is operated by a roaming partner [see Figs. 1 and 2; also see paragraphs 0031-0032; also see paragraph 0049, wherein “Although not shown, the minimum capabilities 404 of FIG. 4 (and/or the minimum capabilities 312 of FIG. 3) may specify credentials for particular network services. For example, a roaming credential may be specified in a network capabilities profile indicating that, for that particular profile, a roaming network service of a wireless network must support roaming access to roam onto a network of an SSP indicated by the roaming credential. In such example implementations, if a network capabilities profile specifies a roaming credential as a minimum capability, the wireless terminal 114 must confirm that a WLAN supports roaming access to a SSP specified by the roaming credential of that profile. Otherwise, if roaming access corresponding to that roaming credential is not supported by a particular WLAN, the wireless terminal 114 will not consider that WLAN as a suitable candidate for joining”].
Regarding claim 20, Montemurro discloses the apparatus described above in claim 17, and further teaches wherein the processor is further adapted to:
perform the selecting based at least in part on a determination that status information with respect to the first communication connection satisfies a specified condition [see paragraphs 0039-0049, wherein “In some example implementations, WLANs may be selected for association based on rankings of network capabilities profiles. In the illustrated example, the network capabilities profiles are assigned ranking values 310 to indicate their order of preference for use when selecting a WLAN from more than one suitable association candidate. The ranking values 310 may be specified by the wireless terminal 114 or by a SSP based on rules or criteria related to preferable wireless connections. … For example, if network capabilities available via the access network A 106a align with the minimum capabilities 312 of the profile ID 0003 and the network capabilities of the access network B 106b align with the minimum capabilities 312 of the profile ID 0005, both of the access networks A 106a and B 106b are suitable association candidates, but the wireless terminal 114 selects the access network A 106a because the network capabilities profile (profile ID 0003) satisfied by the network capabilities of the access network A 106a has the higher capability ranking”; also see Figs. 3 and 4, which illustrates the “minimum capabilities” 312 and 404; also see step 718 in Fig. 7B; also see paragraphs 0062-0074].
Claim(s) 17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 8,805,279, with the inventor of Choi et al. (hereafter “Choi”).
The applied reference has a common Assignee with the instant application. Based upon the pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) date of the reference, it constitutes prior art. This rejection under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) might be overcome either by a showing under 37 CFR 1.132 that any invention disclosed but not claimed in the reference was derived from the inventor or joint inventors (i.e., the inventive entity) of this application and is thus not the invention “by another,” or if the same invention is not being claimed, by an appropriate showing under 37 CFR 1.131(a).
Regarding claim 17, Choi discloses an apparatus [mobile device 100, seen in Figs. 1 and 2] comprising:
a short-range wireless communication circuitry [short-range communication module unit 130, seen in Fig. 2]; and
a processor [control unit 170, seen in Fig. 2] adapted to:
discover, via the short-range wireless communication circuitry, one or more electronic devices including a second electronic device external to the apparatus by using a scan while maintaining a first communication connection with a first electronic device external to the apparatus via the short-range wireless communication circuitry [see col. 5, line 1-col. 6, line 13, wherein “The Wi-Fi module 132 is connected to any Access Point (AP) or to any external device having a Wi-Fi module and establishes a communication channel. The Wi-Fi module 132 performs a scan throughout all channels, sends a probe request to the APs or external devices, and receives a probe response from the APs or external devices. By doing so, the mobile device 100 can search the APs or external devices. When receiving a connecting command from the control unit 170, the Wi-Fi module 132 is connected to a selected AP or external device and thereby establishes a communication channel.”; also see col. 6, line 33-67; also see step 301 in Figs. 3 and 5, and the corresponding col. 7, line 66-col. 8, line 17; also see Figs. 9 and 10 and col. 13, line 47-col. 15, line 16],
the first electronic device corresponding to a first service set identifier (SSID), the second electronic device corresponding to a second SSID different from the first SSID [
see col. 5, line 59-col. 6, line 13, wherein “If a connected device is a Wi-Fi device, connection information may be a Service Set IDentifier (SSID), a security type, and a password.”; also see col. 7, lines 13-28; see col. 8, lines 28-56; also see col. 15, lines 54-62, wherein “Referring to FIG. 16, frame [a] shows a list of APs currently connected to the mobile device 100. In frame [a], `iptime-rula` corresponds to the SSID of the currently connected AP 301.”];
obtain, via the short-range wireless communication circuitry, information related to the second electronic device from one or more electronic devices, the information provided from a server operatively connected to the second electronic device [see col. 8, lines 18-56; also see Fig. 6; also see col. 11, line 50-col. 12, line 27; also see Fig. 11; also see col. 14, line 56-col. 15, line 16];
select the second electronic device from the one or more electronic devices based at least in part on the information related to the second electronic device [see col. 15, lines 25-42, wherein “In step 1202, the information inputting unit 171 recognizes that a tag menu is selected among main menus through the input unit 150. In step 1203, the information inputting unit 171 recognizes that a menu item for the registration of an electronic device is selected in the tag menu through the input unit 150. More specifically, after the tag menu is selected, the information inputting unit 171 may control the display unit 160 to display menu items in the tag menu. As discussed above, the menu items in the tag menu may include a menu item for Bluetooth or Wi-Fi device registration, a menu item for data synchronization, and a menu item for electronic device registration.”]; and
establish, via the short-range wireless communication circuitry, a second communication connection with the second electronic device in replacement of the first communication connection [see col. 15, line 25-col. 16, line 12, wherein “In step 1205, the information inputting unit 171 recognizes an electronic device selected through the input unit 150. In step 1206, the information inputting unit 171 controls the NFC module 131 to determine whether proximity to or contact with the NFC tag 200 is detected. When recognizing proximity to or contact with the NFC tag 200, in step 1207, the information inputting unit 171 inputs connection information about the AP 301 and identification information about the selected electronic device into the NFC tag 200. …The SSID, security type, and password are input as the connection information about the AP 301. If the selected electronic device is a normal device such as a printer, a name of the electronic device is input. If the selected electronic device is a DLNA device, a DLNA device name and a device type such as DMP, DMR, Digital Media Server (DMS) and Digital Media Controller (DMC) are input. A user may attach the NFC tag 200 to the electronic device to output contents.”].
Regarding claim 19, Choi discloses the apparatus described above in claim 17, and further teaches wherein the first electronic device is operated by a home provider and the second electronic device is operated by a roaming partner [see col. 14, line 59-col. 15, line 3, wherein “In some exemplary embodiments of this invention, the electronic device 700 may be a Digital Living Network Alliance (DLNA) certified device such as a printer, a TV, a projector, or the like. The electronic device 700 is connected to the mobile device 100 through the AP 301 and may output contents received from the mobile device 100.”].
Regarding claim 20, Choi discloses the apparatus described above in claim 17, and further teaches wherein the processor is further adapted to:
perform the selecting based at least in part on a determination that status information with respect to the first communication connection satisfies a specified condition [see col. 15, lines 4-16, wherein “Thereafter, when recognizing proximity to or contact with the NFC tag 200, the mobile device 100 performs a connection with the AP 301 according to AP connection information stored in the NFC tag 200, and searches for the electronic device 700 according to electronic device identification information stored in the NFC tag 200. The mobile device 100 sends contents, being currently executed, to the electronic device 700. And the electronic device 700 executes contents received from the mobile device 100.”].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 9 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0076118, with the inventor of Montemurro et al. (hereafter “Montemurro”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0223340, with the inventor of Jeong (hereafter “Jeong”), with both references noted above being cited in the Information Disclosure Statement dated November 9, 2023.
Regarding claim 9, Montemurro discloses the apparatus described above in claim 1, abut fails to expressly disclose if the processor is further adapted to:
release the first communication connection, in relation with the establishing of the second communication connection.
But Jeong discloses an apparatus [see Fig. 1] comprising:
a communication circuitry [“wireless LAN communication unit 10”, seen in Fig. 1]; and
a processor [“control unit 50” seen in Fig. 1] adapted to:
discover, via the communication circuitry, one or more electronic devices using a scan while maintaining a first communication connection with a first electronic device external to the apparatus [see step S100 in Fig. 5];
…
establish, via the communication circuitry, a … communication connection with the second electronic device in replacement of the first communication connection [see step S200 in Fig. 5].
Jeong further discloses that wherein the processor is further adapted to:
release the first communication connection, in relation with the establishing of the second communication connection [see paragraph 0105, wherein “In operation S440, the wireless LAN terminal releases or terminates the connection with the AP whose available state is determined and proceeds to operation S500.”; also see paragraph 0142, wherein “If the available state of the AP is determined in operation S435, the wireless LAN terminal releases or terminates the connection to the AP whose available state is determined.”; also see Figs. 5, 7, and 13].
Montemurro and Jeong are combinable because they are both from the same field of endeavor, both being Wi-Fi based wireless communication apparatuses that identify available an access point (“AP”) in scanned list and establish a connection with a selected AP. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the apparatus described in Montemurro have the functionality that includes the processor being further adapted to “release the first communication connection, in relation with the establishing of the second communication connection”, as recognized by Jeong. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would be that the apparatus of Montemurro would have a more efficient operation, allowing the apparatus to release a first connection, in relation to establishing of the second connection, which would be needed in the roaming functionality described in Montemurro in paragraphs 0020-0027. Here, Montemurro states in paragraph 0027 that “[t]he example methods and apparatus described herein can be advantageously used to configure, design, or otherwise engineer mobile wireless terminals to operate more efficiently (i.e., do more with fewer processor cycles) and, thus, reduce battery power use.” Here, Montemurro would conform with the well-known protocols, such as that described in IEEE 802.11, as described in Montemurro, as well as Jeong, whereby Montemurro would easily be modified with these known protocols, yielding predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Jeong with the apparatus defined in Montemurro to obtain the invention specified in claim 9.
Claim 11 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0076118, with the inventor of Montemurro et al. (hereafter “Montemurro”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0185598, with the inventor of Canpolat et al. (hereafter “Canpolat”), with both references noted above being cited in the Information Disclosure Statement dated November 9, 2023.
Regarding claim 11, Montemurro discloses the apparatus described above in claim 1, and further teaches wherein the one or more electronic devices comprise an access point (AP) supporting hotspot protocols [see paragraphs 0015-0016, wherein “The ANQP supports information retrieval from an Advertisement Server that supports a Generic Advertisement Service (GAS). ANQP and GAS are defined in IEEE.RTM. 802.11u. Additionally or alternatively, other query protocols (e.g., Registered Location Query Protocol (RLQP) as defined in IEEE.RTM. 802.11af, Hotspot Query Protocol (HSQP), and Online Signup Advertisement Protocol (OSAP) as defined in the Wi-Fi Alliance) may also be used in a similar manner to ANQP.”]
With this, however, Montemurro fails to expressly disclose that an access point (AP) supporting Hotspot 2.0.
But Canpolat discloses an apparatus [see Fig. 7] comprising:
a communication circuitry [transceiver 708, seen in Fig. 7]; and
a processor [processor 704, seen in Fig. 7] adapted to:
discover, via the communication circuitry, one or more electronic devices using a scan [see Abstract; also see steps 106 and 108 in Fig. 1; also see paragraphs 0011-0013, wherein “In FIG. 1, as part of the active scan process, STA 102 transmits a scan request 106 to a selected access point, such as AP 104. The selected access point, such as AP 104, responds with scan request response 108. The process is repeated for each available responder. FIG. 1 illustrates the time to scan each responder as ts 110. After STA 102 builds the scan list of all available responders, it analyzes the list to discover if it "knows" any of the responders (e.g., associated with the wireless network, or has a stored profile of the wireless network).”; also see step 302 in Fig. 3] …;
obtain, via the communication circuitry, information related to the one or more electronic devices using an access network query protocol (ANQP) [see steps 114 and 116 in Fig. 1; also see paragraphs 0014-0017; also see steps 316 and 318 in Fig. 3; also see paragraphs 0025-0028; also see paragraphs 0032-0033];
select a second electronic device from the one or more electronic devices based at least in part on the information related to the one or more electronic device [see paragraphs 0017-0018; also see step 320 in Fig. 3; also see paragraphs 0026-0027, wherein “After station 300 receives all needed information, station 300 will process the responses and select a responder for association. In FIG. 3, station 300 selects responder 310 and transmits an Association Request (AQ) message 320 to responder 310.”]; and
establish, via the communication circuitry, a second communication connection with the second electronic device in replacement of the first communication connection [see paragraphs 0020-0021, wherein “FIG. 2 illustrates a network environment, according to some embodiments. In FIG. 2, a station 200 wants to establish a link with an appropriate responder.”; also see Fig. 3; also see paragraphs 0027-0028, wherein “In FIG. 3, station 300 selects responder 310 and transmits an Association Request (AQ) message 320 to responder 310. …As illustrated in FIG. 3, the procedure can result in significant time and energy savings for station 300 to establish an initial link with a responder. Rather than initiating individual GAS Request/Response exchanges with all available responders one by one, the broadcast GAS Request message allows all responders to consider the information at once.”].
Canpolat further teaches that wherein the one or more electronic devices comprise an access point (AP) supporting Hotspot 2.0 [see paragraph 0011, wherein “The IEEE 802.11u standard (IEEE Std 802.11u-2011) has defined GAS and Access Network Query Protocol (ANQP), which are used by the Wi-Fi Alliance (WFA) Hotspot 2.0 program and WFA Wi-Fi Direct (Wi-Fi Peer-to-Peer) program, which allow a Station (STA) to discover and establish a link to a responder (such as an Access Point (AP), STA, or other responder).”].
Montemurro and Canpolat are combinable because they are both from the same field of endeavor, both being wireless communication apparatuses that identify available an access point (“AP”) in scanned list and establish a connection with a selected AP. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the apparatus described in Montemurro have the one or more electronic devices comprise “an access point (AP) supporting Hotspot 2.0”, as recognized by Canpolat. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would be that the apparatus of Montemurro would conform with the well-known protocols, such as that described in IEEE 802.11u, as described in Montemurro, as well as in Canpolat, whereby Montemurro would easily be modified with these known protocols, yielding predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Canpolat with the apparatus defined in Montemurro to obtain the invention specified in claim 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
U.S. Patent 10,314,098, with the inventor of Jung et al., is a continuation application and subsequent patent based on the instant ‘680 Patent.
Signed:
/JOSEPH R POKRZYWA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992
Conferees:
/ERON J SORRELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992
/M.F/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3992