DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 8-10, filed 10/06/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 1-3 over Edwards have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 1-3 over Edwards have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 5-7, filed 10/06/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 3 over McCabe ‘548 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 3 over McCabe ‘548 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 10/06/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On pp. 5-7 of the remarks the applicant argues that McCabe, with regards to claims 1-2, does not disclose that the elastic beads are retained by a locking tab formed in one of said upper airfoil shell and said lower airfoil shell and impinging on said elastic bead, stating that, “…McCabe’s (‘548) elastic bead is seated within McCabe’s (‘548) seam without any additional locking tab impinging on McCabe’s (‘548) bead…” [pp. 7 of the remarks] because McCabe retains the “…elastic bead positioned within a seam by relying upon only the integral nature of the bead material and the frictional confines of the seam itself, as in McCabe ('548)…” [pp. 8 of the remarks]. The examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated in the Non-Final rejection dated 02/20/2025 the seam is interpreted as “the groove in which bead 48 sits” [see annotated Fig. in the Non-Final rejection dated 02/20/2025] in other words the negative space forming the groove. In the rejection below, the tab [see annotated Fig. below] is interpreted as the triangular structure impinging on the seam and preventing the seam from being outwardly removed from the groove by locking the bead against outward movement by structural confinement and not by friction alone.
On pp. 11-12 the applicant argues that McCabe (‘592) does not disclose that the elastic bead is “..retained therein by a locking tab formed in said end portion and impinging on said elastic bead” [see claim 4 in the claim set dated 10/06/2025] because “…McCabe ('592) merely teaches folding the edge portion of McCabe's ('592) blade 24 to ‘pinch the seal member 22 between layers’ of its seam, and that there is no teaching or suggestion of forming an additional lacking[sp] tab, or detent, to thereby impinge on the seal element…” [pp. 11-12]. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s Fig. 2 (left) and Fig. 3 of McCabe (‘592) (right) are provided below with annotations to demonstrate that the “folded edge” of McCabe (‘592) and the tab required by the claim are the same. The examiner notes that although the detent differentiates the disclosed invention from McCabe (‘592) the detent is not claimed.
Since there is no differentiation between the claimed tab, interpreted in light of applicant’s Fig. 2, and the folded edge portion of McCabe (‘592) the folded edge portion [reference character 24c of McCabe ‘592] is fairly interpreted as the claimed tab. For these reasons the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McCabe (US 3,204,548).
With respect to claim 1 McCabe discloses an airfoil blade assembly, comprising: an upper airfoil shell [reference character 46]; a lower airfoil shell [reference character 47]; a seam [see annotated Fig. below] formed in only one of said upper airfoil shell and said lower airfoil shell: an elastic bead [reference character 48] positioned within said lateral seam and retained therein by a locking tab formed in one of said upper airfoil shell and said lower airfoil shell and impinging on said elastic bead [see response to arguments above]; and wherein said elastic bead extends beyond a periphery of said lateral seam when said upper airfoil shell is fixed to said lower airfoil shell.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McCabe (US 3,204,548).
With respect to claim 2 McCabe discloses a first blade assembly and a second blade assembly arranged for selective movement relative to one another [see Figs. 3-5, each showing three blade assemblies labeled 26], said first blade assembly including a first upper airfoil shell [reference character 46] and a first lower airfoil shell [reference character 47], wherein only one of said first upper airfoil shell and said first lower airfoil shell defines a first lateral seam [see annotated Fig. above in connection with claim 1], and said second blade assembly including a second upper airfoil shell [also reference character 46] and a second lower airfoil shell [also reference character 47], wherein only one of said second upper airfoil shell and said second lower airfoil shell defines a second lateral seam [see annotated Fig. above in connection with claim 1]; a first elastic bead [reference character 48] captured within said first lateral seam and retained therein by a first locking tab [see response to arguments above] formed in said first lateral seam and impinging on said first elastic bead and a second elastic bead [also reference character 48] captured within said second lateral seam bead and a second elastic bead captured within said second lateral seam and retained therein by a second locking tab [see response to arguments above] formed in said second lateral seam and impinging on said second elastic bead, wherein said first elastic bead extends beyond a periphery of said first lateral seam and said second elastic bead extends beyond a periphery of said second lateral seam [see Figs. 3-5]; and wherein said one of said first elastic bead and said second elastic bead becomes trapped between a first planar face of one of said first upper airfoil shell and said first lower airfoil shell, and a second planar face of one of said second upper airfoil shell and said second lower airfoil shell, when said first blade assembly and said second blade assembly are moved to contact one another.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacelaere (US 4,610,197) in view of McCabe (US 3,908,529).
With respect to claim 4 Bacelaere discloses an airfoil blade assembly, comprising: a first airfoil shell [reference character 14]; a second airfoil shell [reference character 12], wherein an end portion of said second airfoil shell is bent to capture therein a distal portion of said first airfoil shell [see Fig. 3].
Bacelaere does not disclose that said end portion being bent back towards said second airfoil shell and forming thereby a lateral seam; an elastic bead positioned within said lateral seam and retained therein by a locking tab formed in said end portion and impinging on said elastic bead; and wherein said elastic bead extends beyond a periphery of said lateral seam when said first airfoil shell is fixed to said second airfoil shell.
McCabe discloses a backdraft damper that includes a portion that is bent back away from the end portion of the damper [see annotated Fig. below] and bent back toward the end portion of the damper [see annotated Fig. below] forming a lateral seam [see annotated Fig. below], and elastic bead [reference character 22] positioned within the lateral seam and retained therein by a locking tab formed in said end portion and impinging on said elastic bead [see response to arguments above] where the elastic bead extends beyond a periphery of said lateral seam.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the blade assembly taught by Bacelaere by bending the end portion of the second airfoil shell back toward the second airfoil shell and position an elastic bead within the lateral seam, as taught by McCabe, in order to facilitate a seal between the damper vanes in the closed position.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VIVEK K SHIRSAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762