DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McCabe (US 3,204,548).
With respect to claim 1 McCabe discloses an airfoil blade assembly, comprising: an upper airfoil shell [reference character 46]; a lower airfoil shell [reference character 47]; a seam [see annotated Fig. below] formed in only one of said upper airfoil shell and said lower airfoil shell: an elastic bead [reference character 48] positioned within said lateral seam; and wherein said elastic bead extends beyond a periphery of said lateral seam when said upper airfoil shell is fixed to said lower airfoil shell.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Edwards (US 5,732,507).
With respect to claim 1 Edwards discloses an airfoil blade assembly, comprising: an upper airfoil shell [reference character 11]; a lower airfoil shell [reference character 12]; a seam [see annotated Fig. below] formed in only one of said upper airfoil shell and said lower airfoil shell: an elastic bead [reference character 19] positioned within said lateral seam; and wherein said elastic bead extends beyond a periphery of said lateral seam when said upper airfoil shell is fixed to said lower airfoil shell.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McCabe (US 3,204,548).
With respect to claim 2 McCabe discloses a first blade assembly and a second blade assembly arranged for selective movement relative to one another [see Figs. 3-5, each showing three blade assemblies labeled 26], said first blade assembly including a first upper airfoil shell [reference character 46] and a first lower airfoil shell [reference character 47], wherein only one of said first upper airfoil shell and said first lower airfoil shell defines a first lateral seam [see annotated Fig. above in connection with claim 1], and said second blade assembly including a second upper airfoil shell [also reference character 46] and a second lower airfoil shell [also reference character 47], wherein only one of said second upper airfoil shell and said second lower airfoil shell defines a second lateral seam [see annotated Fig. above in connection with claim 1]; a first elastic bead [reference character 48] captured within said first lateral seam and a second elastic bead [also reference character 48] captured within said second lateral seam, wherein said first elastic bead extends beyond a periphery of said first lateral seam and said second elastic bead extends beyond a periphery of said second lateral seam [see Figs. 3-5]; and wherein said one of said first elastic bead and said second elastic bead becomes trapped between a first planar face of one of said first upper airfoil shell and said first lower airfoil shell, and a second planar face of one of said second upper airfoil shell and said second lower airfoil shell, when said first blade assembly and said second blade assembly are moved to contact one another.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Edwards (US 5,732,507).
With respect to claim 2 Edwards discloses a first blade assembly and a second blade assembly arranged for selective movement relative to one another [see Figs. 1 and 2], said first blade assembly including a first upper airfoil shell [reference character 11] and a first lower airfoil shell [reference character 12], wherein only one of said first upper airfoil shell and said first lower airfoil shell defines a first lateral seam [see annotated Fig. above in connection with claim 1], and said second blade assembly including a second upper airfoil shell [also reference character 11] and a second lower airfoil shell [also reference character 12], wherein only one of said second upper airfoil shell and said second lower airfoil shell defines a second lateral seam [see annotated Fig. above in connection with claim 1]; a first elastic bead [reference character 19] captured within said first lateral seam and a second elastic bead [also reference character 19] captured within said second lateral seam, wherein said first elastic bead extends beyond a periphery of said first lateral seam and said second elastic bead extends beyond a periphery of said second lateral seam [see Figs. 1 and 2]; and wherein said one of said first elastic bead and said second elastic bead becomes trapped between a first planar face of one of said first upper airfoil shell and said first lower airfoil shell [the planar face that includes the elastic bead 19], and a second planar face [reference character 22] of one of said second upper airfoil shell and said second lower airfoil shell, when said first blade assembly and said second blade assembly are moved to contact one another.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McCabe (US 3,204,548).
With respect to claim 3 McCabe discloses a method of sealing an airfoil blade damper apparatus, said method comprising the steps of: arranging a first blade assembly and a second blade assembly for selective movement relative to one another [see Figs. 3-5, each showing three blade assemblies labeled 26]; forming said first blade assembly to include a first upper airfoil shell [reference character 46] and a first lower airfoil shell [reference character 47], wherein only one of said first upper airfoil shell and said first lower airfoil shell defines a first lateral seam [see annotated Fig. above in connection with claim 1]; forming said second blade assembly to include a second upper airfoil shell [also reference character 46] and a second lower airfoil shell [also reference character 47], wherein only one of said second upper airfoil shell and said second lower airfoil shell defines a second lateral seam; positioning a first elastic bead [reference character 48] within said first lateral seam and a second elastic bead [also reference character 48] within said second lateral seam [see annotated Fig. above in connection with claim 1], wherein said first elastic bead protrudes out of said first lateral seam and said second elastic bead protrudes out of said second lateral seam; and wherein said first elastic bead becomes trapped against a planar face of one of said second upper airfoil shell and said second lower airfoil shell [see annotated Fig. above in connection with claim 2], when said first blade assembly and said second blade assembly are moved to contact one another.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Edwards (US 5,732,507).
With respect to claim 3 Edwards discloses a method of sealing an airfoil blade damper apparatus, said method comprising the steps of: arranging a first blade assembly and a second blade assembly for selective movement relative to one another [see Figs. 1 and 2]; forming said first blade assembly to include a first upper airfoil shell [reference character 11] and a first lower airfoil shell [reference character 12], wherein only one of said first upper airfoil shell and said first lower airfoil shell defines a first lateral seam [see annotated Fig. above in connection with claim 1]; forming said second blade assembly to include a second upper airfoil shell [also reference character 11] and a second lower airfoil shell [also reference character 12], wherein only one of said second upper airfoil shell and said second lower airfoil shell defines a second lateral seam; positioning a first elastic bead [reference character 19] within said first lateral seam and a second elastic bead [reference character 19] within said second lateral seam [see annotated Fig. above in connection with claim 1], wherein said first elastic bead protrudes out of said first lateral seam and said second elastic bead protrudes out of said second lateral seam; and wherein said first elastic bead becomes trapped against a planar face of one of said second upper airfoil shell and said second lower airfoil shell [the planar face that includes the elastic bead 19 or reference character 22], when said first blade assembly and said second blade assembly are moved to contact one another.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacelaere (US 4,610,197) in view of McCabe (US 3,908,529).
With respect to claim 4 Bacelaere discloses an airfoil blade assembly, comprising: a first airfoil shell [reference character 14]; a second airfoil shell [reference character 12], wherein an end portion of said second airfoil shell is bent to capture therein a distal portion of said first airfoil shell [see Fig. 3].
Bacelaere does not disclose that said end portion being bent back towards said second airfoil shell and forming thereby a lateral seam; an elastic bead positioned within said lateral seam; and wherein said elastic bead extends beyond a periphery of said lateral seam when said first airfoil shell is fixed to said second airfoil shell.
McCabe discloses a backdraft damper that includes a portion that is bent back away from the end portion of the damper [see annotated Fig. below] and bent back toward the end portion of the damper [see annotated Fig. below] forming a lateral seam [see annotated Fig. below], and elastic bead [reference character 22] positioned within the lateral seam where the elastic bead extends beyond a periphery of said lateral seam.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the blade assembly taught by Bacelaere by bending the end portion of the second airfoil shell back toward the second airfoil shell and position an elastic bead within the lateral seam, as taught by McCabe, in order to facilitate a seal between the damper vanes in the closed position.
Conclusion
/VIVEK K SHIRSAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762