DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a kettle-styled charcoal grill" in line 4. Claim 1 in the preamble also states “a kettle-styled charcoal grill" and it is unclear if the they are the same or different grills. Further, the preamble states that the claim is directed to a air control system for use with the “kettle-styled charcoal grill", while the body of the claim recites that the claimed structure is mounted to a “kettle-styled charcoal grill". It is unclear if the claims require “a kettle-styled charcoal grill" as part of the structure or if it is merely intended for use in a “kettle-styled charcoal grill". If the latter is desired it is recommended to amend claim 1 to remove the term “mounted” and replace with functional language such as “mountable”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kennington (US Pat# 8800542 B1) in view of Cosgrove (PGPub# US2009/0056695 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kennington teaches an air control system for use with a kettle-styled charcoal grill (figure 1 and abstract), the system comprising: a plenum 9 and an air control unit (18 and 19), wherein: the plenum, and air control unit are communicatively coupled together and mounted to a kettle-styled charcoal grill (figure 1 and 2); the plenum surrounds an aperture in the base of a lower kettle of the kettle-styled charcoal grill (col. 7, lines 40-45: Mounted to existing aperture/air intake hole of cooker.); the air control unit comprises a fan/blower 19 and an electronic controller 18, and is operable to supply a forced air flow through the aperture and into the lower kettle of the kettle-styled charcoal grill (abstract).
Kennington does not explicitly teach an ash receptacle and that ash generated by combusting fuel in the lower kettle of the kettle-styled charcoal grill falls gravitationally through the aperture and plenum such that it is collected by the ash receptacle.
However, Cosgrove teaches a similar charcoal grill apparatus. (figure 1 and abstract) Cosgrove teaches a fan/blower system 34 used to provide air to a plenum 4 and into bottom aperture of grill 2. Cosgrove further teaches an ash container 6 supplied below the plenum to catch ash the gravitationally falls through aperture and plenum. Cosgrove teaches that the ash container is used below the plenum in order to allow for storage of ash for removal such that ash does not build up in system and impact the efficiency of the grill. (par. 84-92 and figures 1 and 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the ash container/receptacle of Cosgrove, to below the plenum of Kennington, in order to allow for storage of ash for removal such that ash does not build up in system and impact the efficiency of the grill as taught by Cosgrove.
Regarding claim 2, Kennington teaches a temperature sensor 5 in electrical communication with the electronic controller, wherein the electronic controller is configured to vary speed of the fan based on a signal input from the temperature sensor. (col. 9, lines 52-65 and figure 12 and corresponding paragraphs)
Regarding claim 3, Kennington teaches wherein the electronic controller varies speed of the fan according to a proportional-integral-derivative control algorithm. (figure 12 and corresponding paragraphs.)
Regarding claim 4, Kennington teaches wherein the electronic controller is configured to wirelessly communicate with a remote user device. (col. 8, lines 28-35)
Regarding claim 5, Kennington teaches wherein the electronic controller comprises a graphical user interface. (col. 7, lines 9-15)
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11852346. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both provide claims to an air control system with similar claims directed to a plenum, ash receptacle, and air control unit claimed to operate and couple to a grill in the similar manner as claimed in current application.
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11644197. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both provide claims to an air control system with similar claims directed to a plenum, ash receptacle, and air control unit claimed to operate and couple to a grill in the similar manner as claimed in current application.
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11125438. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both provide claims to an air control system with similar claims directed to a plenum, ash receptacle, and air control unit claimed to operate and couple to a grill in the similar manner as claimed in current application.
Conclusion
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761