DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11, 13, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leigh (US 2019/0150319 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Leigh teaches A communication assembly configured to be disposed on a substrate, and the communication assembly comprising: an optical fiber communication module (reference numeral 402 in Figure 4) configured to disposed on the substrate (reference numeral 406 in Figure 4) ; and a heat dissipation shielding module (reference numeral 403, 410, 420, 430 in Figure 4) configured for cooling the optical fiber communication module and shielding the optical fiber communication module from external electromagnetic interference, and the heat dissipation shielding module comprising: a shielding cover (reference numeral 110, 120 122 in Figure 1) configured to be disposed on the substrate, the shielding cover and the substrate together surrounding and forming an accommodation space (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 1 and Figure 4) , the optical fiber communication module located in the accommodation space (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 1 and Figure 4), and the shielding cover in thermal contact with the optical fiber communication module (e.g. via reference numeral 112 as illustrated in Figure 1) ; and a heat sink (reference numeral 330 and/or 303 in Figure 3 and reference numeral 410, 420, 430, 403 in Figure 4 ) disposed on the shielding cover, wherein the heat sink and the shielding cover are made of a single piece (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 3).
Regarding claim 2, Leigh teaches The communication assembly according to claim 1, wherein the heat sink has a plurality of heat dissipation fins (reference numeral 303, 330 in Figure 3), and the plurality of heat dissipation fins are disposed on the shielding cover and extend from the shielding cover in a direction away from the optical fiber communication module (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 3 and Figure 4) .
Regarding claim 3, Leigh teaches The communication assembly according to claim 2, wherein the shielding cover comprises a top plate (reference numeral 330 in Figure 3) and a plurality of side plates that are made of a single piece (e.g. the rightmost and leftmost side plates as illustrated in Figure 3 and Figure 4), the plurality of side plates surround the top plate and respectively connect to edges of the top plate (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 3 and Figure 4), the plurality of side plates are configured to be disposed on the substrate and located between the top plate and the substrate (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 3 and Figure 4), the plurality of side plates, the top plate and the substrate together surround and form the accommodation space (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 3 and Figure 4), and the plurality of heat dissipation fins are disposed on an outer surface of the top plate and/or an outer surface of at least one of the plurality of side plates (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 3 and Figure 4).
Regarding claim 4, Leigh teaches The communication assembly according to claim 3, wherein the plurality of heat dissipation fins are disposed on the outer surface of the top plate (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 3 and Figure 4).
Regarding claim 5, Leigh teaches The communication assembly according to claim 3, wherein the plurality of heat dissipation fins are disposed on the outer surface of the top plate and the outer surface of at least one of the plurality of side plates (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 3 and Figure 4).
Regarding claim 6, Leigh teaches The communication assembly according to claim 1, wherein the heat dissipation shielding module further comprises a thermal conductive layer (e.g. “Thermal Interface Material (TIM)” as in paragraph [0024]) , the thermal conductive layer is in thermal contact with the optical fiber communication module and the shielding cover (e.g. “between the heatsink 330 and the second component 304” as in paragraph [0024]) , and the thermal conductive layer is clamped by and located between the optical fiber communication module and the shielding cover (e.g. “between the heatsink 330 and the second component 304” as in paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 7, Leigh teaches The communication assembly according to claim 6, wherein the thermal conductive layer is a thermal conductive pad, a thermal paste, a heat dissipating coating (e.g. “Thermal Interface Material (TIM)” as in paragraph [0024]; “reflective coating/paint” as in paragraph [0029] ) or a graphite layer (e.g. “Graphene” as in paragraph [0029]) .
Regarding claim 8, Leigh teaches The communication assembly according to claim 1, wherein the heat dissipation shielding module further comprises a fixed frame located in the shielding cover (reference numeral 410, 420, 405 in Figure 4) , the fixed frame surrounds the accommodation space and is configured to be fixed to the substrate (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 3), the shielding cover is fixed to the fixed frame (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 3), the fixed frame has an opening (reference numeral 112 in Figure 1 and/or reference numeral 419 in Figure 4) that exposes the optical fiber communication module, and the shielding cover covers the opening is in thermal contact with the optical fiber communication module through the opening (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 1, Figure 3, and Figure 4) .
Regarding claim 9, Leigh teaches The communication assembly according to claim 8, wherein the fixed frame has at least one engagement protrusion (e.g. the upper flat portion of reference numeral 410, 420 as illustrated in Figure 4) , the shielding cover has at least one engagement recess (e.g. the recess in the middle of reference numeral 430 as illustrated in Figure 4) , and the at least one engagement protrusion engages with the at least one engagement recess, such that the shielding cover is fixed to the fixed frame (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 3).
Regarding claim 11, Leigh teaches The communication assembly according to claim 1, wherein the heat dissipation shielding module further comprises a metal heat transfer plate (reference numeral 410, 420 in Figure 4) , and the metal heat transfer plate is disposed on the shielding cover and in thermal contact with the shielding cover (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 3).
Regarding claim 13, Leigh teaches The communication assembly according to claim 1, wherein the optical fiber communication module is a bi-directional optical subassembly, a transmitter optical subassembly or a receiver optical subassembly (e.g. “optical transceiver” as in paragraph [0012]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leigh.
Regarding claim 10, Leigh teaches The communication assembly according to claim 1, but fails to specifically teach that a thermal conductivity of the shielding cover is equal to a thermal conductivity of the heat sink. However, matching thermal conductivity of a shielding cover so that it is equal to a thermal conductivity of the heat sink is well known in the art and Officially Noted as such. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to utilize match thermal conductivity of a shielding cover so that it is equal to a thermal conductivity of the heat sink in order to meet design, budget, or performance requirements. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to match thermal conductivity of a shielding cover so that it is equal to a thermal conductivity of the heat sink in Leigh.
Regarding claim 12, Leigh teaches The communication assembly according to claim 11, wherein the metal heat transfer plate comprises a first portion (e.g. the horizontal plane of reference numeral 410 as illustrated in Figure 4) and a second portion (e.g. the vertical side planes of reference numeral 410 as illustrated in Figure 4) that are connected to each other, the first portion is non-parallel to the second portion (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 4), the first portion and the optical fiber communication module are located at two opposite sides of the substrate (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 4), the second portion extends in a direction from an end of the first portion towards the shielding cover (reference numeral 403 in Figure 4), and the second portion is fixed to the shielding cover (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 3) and in thermal contact with the shielding cover (e.g. via reference numeral 112 as illustrated in Figure 1) . Leigh differs from the claim invention in that it fails to specifically teach that the second portion passes through the substrate. However, allowing the second portion to pass through the substrate is well known in the art and Officially Noted as such. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to allow the second portion to pass through the substrate in order to meet design, budget, or performance requirements. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to utilize allow the second portion to pass through the substrate in Leigh.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Leigh fails to teach that the “heat sink and the shielding cover are made of a single piece” as recited in claim 1. Examiner disagrees and notes Leigh explicitly discloses that the element 320 and 330 are integrated (e.g. “integrated with the heatsink” as in paragraph [0024]), thus forming a single piece, and therefore being made of a single piece.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the implication that the shielding member and heat sink are made of the same material) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AGUSTIN BELLO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635