DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendments filed 09/21/2026 responsive to the Office Action filed 04/21/2026 has been entered. New claims 23 and 24 have been added. Claims 7-20 remain withdrawn. Claims 1-24 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Amendment, filed 09/21/2026 in pages 9-17, with respect to claim 1 under 102 rejection have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Applicant, therefore, respectfully submits that the Korthoff reference does not teach or suggest TWO crucial claim elements: (1) placing the no more than partially cured rubbery device in a well of a form, and (2) placing the device in the well of a form such that the gap is closed.”, “Based on the fact that the Korthoff molded clips must be heated before they can be moved, applicant respectfully submits that at the first step of the Examiner's timeline, the amorphous molded clip is not rubbery.”, “But before the Korthoff first heating of the substantially amorphous molded clips, the clips are placed into the unique fixture. At the point the Korthoff clips are placed in the unique fixture, the clips are not rubbery.”, “Korthoff teaches putting the clips into the unique fixture when the clip is open.” (pages 11-12)
These arguments are found to be unpersuasive because:
Korthoff teaches in the written description that:
“A preferred post-molding clip treatment process involves heating latchless clip 10 to a temperature which permits legs 12, 13 to be moved or deflected into a second position which is different from the as-molded position. Inasmuch as molded clip 10 is substantially amorphous, clip 10 is typically heated to a temperature at or above the glass transition temperature of the polymeric material from which it is fabricated. Once at or above its glass transition temperature, the substantially amorphous polymer is soft or rubbery, thereby facilitating movement of legs 12, 13 to a second position.” (co 3 li 5-15);
“Once deflected to this second position, clip 10 is further heated to a temperature at which crystallization of the polymer commences.” (co 3 li 26-28)
“During the crystallization of polymeric clip 10, it is important to maintain clip 10 in a substantially fixed position so as to impart the desired spring back property. A preferred method for moving clip 10 from the as-molded position to the aforesaid second position and for maintaining clip 10 in the second position during the crystallization step involves the utilization of a unique fixture. Referring to FIGS. 8 and 9, fixture 300 is adapted to apply a deflecting force to one or both of legs 12, 13 to move legs 12, 13 from the as-molded to the second position, and then to fix clip 10 in the second position during the crystallization step.” (co 3 li 43-53);
“To load fixture 300 with clips 10, tightening arm 304 is rotated counterclockwise from the position shown in FIG. 8 to a substantially horizontal orientation. Cooperation between pin 316 and slot 318 causes pivotal arm 312 to rotate clockwise to the substantially vertical position shown in phantom. Molded, substantially amorphous dips 10 are placed in channels 322 in stationary housing 314, with hinge region 14 positioned toward hinge pin 320. Tightening arm 304 may be maintained in its substantially vertical orientation or rotated clockwise such that the channels in pivotal arm 312 align with clips 10 to fully define cavities 302 before placing fixture 300 in an oven to heat clips 10.” (co 4 li 8-19); and
“After clips 10 are heated sufficiently to allow movement of legs 12, 13 to their second, or closed, configuration, fixture 300 is typically removed from the oven and tightening arm 304 is rotated clockwise to a substantially vertical position, as shown in FIG. 8. The angle x between pivotal arm 312 and stationary housing 314 when tightening arm 304 is vertical defines the spacing between legs 12, 13 in the closed position of clip 10. Cavities 302 are fixedly secured with legs 12, 13 in the second position through cooperation between tightening arm 304 and pivotal arm 312 when tightening arm 304 is in its vertical position.” (co 4 li 20-30)
Korthoff teaches two heating steps, first heating for making the clip soft or rubbery, thereby facilitating movement of legs 12, 13 to a second position (co 3 li 5-15) and second heating for the crystallization of polymeric clip 10 (co 4 li 20-30). Korthoff further teaches applying a deflecting force to one or both of legs 12, 13 to move legs 12, 13 from the as-molded to the second position before placing fixture 300 in an oven to heat clips 10. That is, Korthoff teaches putting the molded clips into the fixture, applying a deflecting force to the clips from the as-molded to the second position, and then placing fixture 300 in an oven for the crystallization. Since Korthoff previously teaches first heating for making the clip soft or rubbery, thereby facilitating movement of legs 12, 13 to a second position (co 3 li 5-15), Korthoff implies that the clips which are being facilitated movement of legs 12, 13 to a second position by the fixture are rubbery clips by first heating. Furthermore, Korthoff teaches changing the state of the fixture by moving the structures to facilitate movement of legs 12, 13 of the clips to a second position therein before placing it in an oven, and thus the fixture in the state right before it is placed in an oven corresponds to the claimed well of the form in which the gap of the rubber clip is closed. Therefore, Korthoff teaches “placing said no more than partially cured rubbery device in a form such that said gap is closed”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 21 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Korthoff et al. (US 5,474,732- of record).
With respect to claims 1, 23 and 24, Korthoff teaches a medical device forming method (“a method for manufacturing a latchless surgical clip”, co 2 li 16-17), the method comprising the steps of:
(a) receiving a no more than partially cured rubbery device with a gap defined therein (“Latchless surgical clip 10 is molded, e.g., by injection molding, in the open or pre-application configuration shown in FIG. 1, i.e., with leg 12 spaced away from leg 13. As molded, polymeric latchless clip 10 is substantially amorphous”, co 2 li 64-co 3 li 1; “In as much as molded clip 10 is substantially amorphous, clip 10 is typically heated to a temperature at or above the glass transition temperature of the polymeric material from which it is fabricated. Once at or above its glass transition temperature, the substantially amorphous polymer is soft or rubbery”, co 3 li 8-13);
(b) placing said no more than partially cured rubbery device in a well of a form (“cavity 302”) such that said gap is closed (“Referring to FIGS. 8 and 9, fixture 300 is adapted to apply a deflecting force to one or both of legs 12, 13 to move legs 12, 13 from the as-molded to the second position, and then to fix clip 10 in the second position during the crystallization step.”, co 3 li 49-53; “Molded, substantially amorphous dips 10 are placed in channels 322 in stationary housing 314, with hinge region 14 positioned toward hinge pin 320. Tightening arm 304 may be maintained in its substantially vertical orientation or rotated clockwise such that the channels in pivotal arm 312 align with clips 10 to fully define cavities 302 before placing fixture 300 in an oven to heat clips 10.”, co 4 li 13-19); and
(c) curing said no more than partially cured rubbery device such that it becomes a flexible but rigid device (“Once deflected to this second position, clip 10 is further heated to a temperature at which crystallization of the polymer commences.”, co 3 li 26-28; “then to fix clip 10 in the second position during the crystallization step.”, co 3 li 52-53).
Korthoff teaches two heating steps, first heating for making the clip soft or rubbery, thereby facilitating movement of legs 12, 13 to a second position (co 3 li 5-15) and second heating for the crystallization of polymeric clip 10 (co 4 li 20-30). Korthoff further teaches applying a deflecting force to one or both of legs 12, 13 to move legs 12, 13 from the as-molded to the second position before placing fixture 300 in an oven to heat clips 10. That is, Korthoff teaches putting the molded clips into the fixture, applying a deflecting force to the clips from the as-molded to the second position, and then placing fixture 300 in an oven for the crystallization. Since Korthoff previously teaches first heating for making the clip soft or rubbery, thereby facilitating movement of legs 12, 13 to a second position (co 3 li 5-15), Korthoff implies that the clips which are being facilitated movement of legs 12, 13 to a second position by the fixture are rubbery clips by first heating. Furthermore, Korthoff teaches changing the state of the fixture by moving the structures to facilitate movement of legs 12, 13 of the clips to a second position therein before placing it in an oven, and the fixture in the state right before it is placed in an oven corresponds to the claimed well of the form in which the gap of the rubber clip is closed. Therefore, Korthoff teaches “placing said no more than partially cured rubbery device in a form such that said gap is closed”.
With respect to claim 2, Korthoff as applied to claim 1 above further teaches the step of receiving said no more than partially cured rubbery device further comprising the step of using a partial thermal injection molding process to create a no more than partially cured rubbery device with a gap defined therein (“Latchless surgical clip 10 is molded, e.g., by injection molding, in the open or pre-application configuration shown in FIG. 1, i.e., with leg 12 spaced away from leg 13. As molded, polymeric latchless clip 10 is substantially amorphous”, co 2 li 64-co 3 li 1; “In as much as molded clip 10 is substantially amorphous, clip 10 is typically heated to a temperature at or above the glass transition temperature of the polymeric material from which it is fabricated. Once at or above its glass transition temperature, the substantially amorphous polymer is soft or rubbery”, co 3 li 8-13).
With respect to claim 4, Korthoff as applied to claim 1 above further teaches the step of curing said partially cured rubbery device further comprising the step of causing said partially cured rubbery device to crystallize or anneal (“Once deflected to this second position, clip 10 is further heated to a temperature at which crystallization of the polymer commences.”, co 3 li 26-28; “then to fix clip 10 in the second position during the crystallization step.”, co 3 li 52-53).
With respect to claim 5, Korthoff as applied to claim 1 above further teaches the step of curing said partially cured rubbery device further comprising the step of heating said partially cured rubbery device (“Once deflected to this second position, clip 10 is further heated to a temperature at which crystallization of the polymer commences.”, co 3 li 26-28).
With respect to claim 6, Korthoff as applied to claim 1 above further teaches that the gap in said flexible but rigid device may be opened and closed (“Clip 10 remains oriented in its second position absent an external biasing force away from said second position, as discussed below. The above-described post-molding treatment impart an elastic spring back property to hinge region 14 such that when a biasing force is applied to legs 12, 13, e.g., a force biasing legs 12, 13 away from each other, and then withdrawn, legs 12, 13 spring back toward each other, i.e., to or toward their second (pre-spread) positions.”, co 4 li 36-43).
With respect to claim 21, Korthoff as applied to claim 1 above teaches that said step of placing said no more than partially cured rubbery device in a well of a form is performed while said no more than partially cured rubbery device is in a rubbery phase (“In as much as molded clip 10 is substantially amorphous, clip 10 is typically heated to a temperature at or above the glass transition temperature of the polymeric material from which it is fabricated. Once at or above its glass transition temperature, the substantially amorphous polymer is soft or rubbery, thereby facilitating movement of legs 12, 13 to a second position.”, co 3 li 8-15).
With respect to claim 22, Korthoff as applied to claim 1 above further teaches that placing said no more than partially cured rubbery device in a well of a form further comprises placing said no more than partially cured rubbery device in a formation well (“cavity 302”) of a cartridge (“fixture 300”) (“Molded, substantially amorphous dips 10 are placed in channels 322 in stationary housing 314, with hinge region 14 positioned toward hinge pin 320. Tightening arm 304 may be maintained in its substantially vertical orientation or rotated clockwise such that the channels in pivotal arm 312 align with clips 10 to fully define cavities 302 before placing fixture 300 in an oven to heat clips 10.”, co 4 li 13-19 and Fig. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korthoff et al. (US 5,474,732) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kelly et al. (US 9,173,979) (All of record).
With respect to claim 3, Korthoff as applied to claim 1 above further teaches that the step of receiving said no more than partially cured rubbery device further comprising the step of using a partial thermal injection molding process to create a no more than partially cured rubbery device with a gap defined therein, but does not explicitly teach (a) injecting fluid clip material into a mold; (b) subjecting the clip material in the mold to a process; and (c) removing the clip material from the mold before the clip material has crystallized.
In the same field of endeavor, a method of manufacturing a medical device, Kelly teaches that for the purposes of this invention, a conventional 30-ton electrically controlled injection molding machine was used, the polymer and polymer blends were fed by gravity from a hopper, under nitrogen purge, into a heated barrel, the polymer was moved forward in the barrel by the screw-type plunger into a heated chamber, as the screw advanced forward, the molten polymer and polymer blends were forced through a nozzle that rests against a mold, allowing the polymer and polymer blends to enter a specially designed mold cavity, through a gate and runner system, the blend was formed into the part in the mold cavity, and allowed to cool at a given temperature for a period of time, it was then removed from the mold, or ejected, and separated from the gate and runner (co 23 li 17-33), and once the articles were injection molded, they were then subjected to an annealing cycle to mature the polymer morphology (co 24 li 50-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Korthoff with the teachings of Kelly and perform Kelly’s injection molding in order to create a no more than partially cured rubbery device with a gap defined therein by injection molding, it has been held that Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YUNJU KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742