DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-22 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The following reason(s) apply:
Claim 11 recites the limitation "or any combination thereof" in lines 2-3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nolan et al., Journal of Alzheimer’s Disease. Nolan teaches the composition of the instant invention which comprises lutein, zeaxanthin, meso-zeaxanthin, Vitamin E, docosahexaenoic acid (DHA), eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA), in a ratio lutein:zeaxanthin:meso-zeaxanthin (5:1:5) as set forth in Table 2.
Claim(s) 1-5, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bone et al., Nutrients. Bone discloses the composition of Lumega-Z with concentrations included. Lumega-Z contains the following in addition to the 15 mg lutein, 3 mg zeaxanthin and 10 mg meso-zeaxanthin (ratio 5:1:3.3): the composition contains 500 milligrams of Vitamin C; 50 micrograms of Vitamin D3; 134 milligrams of Vitamin E; 1.5 milligrams of thiamin; 1.7 milligrams of riboflavin; 20 milligrams of niacin; 10 milligrams of Vitamin B6; 800 micrograms of folate; 1000 micrograms of Vitamin B12; 100 micrograms of biotin; 10 milligrams of panthothenic acid; 250 milligrams of calcium; 100 milligrams of magnesium; 25 milligrams of zinc; 3 milligrams of copper; 70 milligrams of selenium; and 2 milligrams of manganese.
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 and 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Power et al., Clinical Nutrition. Power teaches the composition of the instant invention which comprises lutein, zeaxanthin, meso-zeaxanthin, Vitamin E, docosahexaenoic acid (DHA), eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA), in a ratio lutein:zeaxanthin:meso-zeaxanthin (5:1:5) 15 milligrams of Vitamin E; 430 milligrams of docosahexaenoic acid; 90 milligrams of eicosapentaenoic acid as set forth in 2.1.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7, 9, 11-15 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Firger et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 2020/0108039. Firger teaches the composition of the instant invention which comprises lutein (10 mg), zeaxanthin (2 mg), meso-zeaxanthin (2 mg), Vitamin C (500 mg), Vitamin E, niacin (20 mg) (Vitamin B3), zinc (15 mg), copper (2 mg), omega-3 (1000 mg) as set forth in paragraph [0070].
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nolan et al., U.S. Patent No. 9,603,813; 9,463,167; 8,962,043; and 8,623,428. Nolan teaches the composition of the instant invention which comprises lutein (5 mg), zeaxanthin (1 mg), meso-zeaxanthin (5 mg), Vitamin A (0.8 mg), thiamin (1.1 mg), riboflavin (1.4 mg), Vitamin B6 (2.0 mg), Vitamin B12 (.0025 mg), folic acid (0.4 mg), niacin (20 mg), pantothenic acid (6 mg), biotin (.050 mg), Vitamin C (80 mg), Vitamin D (.020 mg), Vitamin E (12 mg), calcium (120 mg), magnesium (60 mg), iron (14 mg), zinc (10 mg), copper (1 mg), iodine (0.15 mg), manganese (3 mg), selenium (0.055 mg) as well as docosahexaenoic acid (DHA), eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA), and microcellulose. Wherein the ratio lutein:zeaxanthin:meso-zeaxanthin (5:1:5) as set forth in Group 2 and examples 6 and 9. The applicant’s attention is also directed to the claimed compositions of which two patents cannot issue to the same subject matter.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 and 9-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 19 and 20 of copending Application No. 18/394,591 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the composition of 18/394,591 embraces the composition of the instant invention where the composition comprises lutein, zeaxanthin, meso-zeaxanthin, docosahexaenoic acid and eicosapentaenoic acid as claimed herein. Additionally, the composition may further comprise Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Vitamin D3, Vitamin E, Vitamin B1, Vitamin B2, niacin, Vitamin B6, folic acid, Vitamin B12, biotin, panthothenic acid, calcium, iron, iodine, magnesium, zinc, copper, choline, selenium, manganese, ginger or any combination thereof.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. None of the art of record nor a search in the pertinent art area teaches the specific formulation as claimed herein.
/BRENDA L COLEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1624