DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The prior 112(a) rejection of claim 14 has been rendered moot as claim 14 has been canceled. The rejection is therefore not presented below. The 112(b) rejections have been overcome by amendment and are therefore not presented below.
All of applicant's other arguments filed 6/29/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments as to the drawings, the drawings are required for understanding the invention. The claimed features at issue as noted in the drawing objection below do not appear to be in the drawings. The specification does not include sufficient detail so as to make clear applicant’s claimed invention and drawings are required for this mechanical invention. The objections are maintained. Mere basic descriptions absent sufficient detail as is the case in the original disclosure here are insufficient and are not persuasive. The drawings that are presented simply do not appear to include the features at issue, which contributes to the lack of sufficient detail and clarity regarding if, how, and in what manner the features are implemented and constructed.
Regarding applicant’s art related arguments, they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that because Spahn does not recognize or teach larger loop members, the reference cannot be modified to have larger loop members. Respectfully, that is incorrect. The applicant’s argument is essentially that because the reference does not disclose all limitations (i.e. is not a 102 reference), it cannot be modified via a teaching reference. That is not the standard. It would have been obvious matter of design choice to change the size of the loop members as claimed, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237, (CCPA 1955). Changes in size are plainly recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Applicant has in no way rebutted that recognition by the court. The enlarged loop members are merely larger versions of the intermediate loop members. Applicant argues their functionality, but that is merely the result of the changed size, which of course necessitates a modification of Spahn as is set forth in the rejection. The fact that Spahn has components of a certain size does not mean that it is impossible to change the size. Again, that is plainly within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Applicant argues that the rationales used by the examiner are not within Spahn and therefore are not appropriate. Again, this argument amounts to an assertion that because Spahn is not a 102 reference, it cannot be used as a 103 reference. That is not the standard and it is not correct. The rationales do not need to be found within the primary reference itself. The rationales here are not impermissible hindsight. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). They are not gleaned from applicant’s disclosure. They are basic, fundamental common sense. Regarding applicant’s arguments in the top half of page 7, the rejection does in fact explain why there would be a modification. Applicant even addresses the rationales immediately above this section. Refer to the rejection below for details. Regarding the final sentence in the first full paragraph on the page, see above as that assertion is already addressed above. Examiner has provided an evidentiary reference to support the modification. See below for details.
Regarding the official notice set forth in the prior action and below, it is noted that applicant has not traversed the official notice. The official notice is now, therefore, admitted prior art. See MPEP 2144 for details.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the straps overlaying each other, the plurality of stitch elements joining the straps, the junctions which define passages therebetween, the plurality of loop members being aligned in a single row along the longitudinal strap member, and the loop members between the strap first end and the strap second end are disposed between the enlarged loop members must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. The claimed overlaying feature is only described verbatim and without additional details in paragraph 0005 and does not appear to be in the drawings. The same is true for stitching, see paragraph 0032. The same is true for junctions; see paragraph 0005.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spahn et al. (PG Pub No. 20180193213 and hereinafter “Spahn”) and as evidenced by CMC (https://web.archive.org/web/20220818210113/https://cascade-rescue.com/cmc-multi-loop-straps/ dated 2022-08-18. Last accessed 2026-10-01. See, for example, CMC Multi-Loop Straps CMC-RGH-201012 (Year: 2022)).
Re Claim 2
Spahn discloses:
A patient transport device (40) comprising:
a pair of straps overlaying each other (straps 42; see figs. 10-11); and
a plurality of stich elements joining the straps to each other at junctions (see figs. 10-11 and see paragraphs 0062 – 0063) defining passages therebetween (see figs. 10-11, e.g. at 58, 60, and 62), wherein the pair of straps overlaying each other comprises a longitudinal strap member having a length (see figs. 10-11), a strap first end (at 44 or at 52 in figs. 10-11), and a strap second end (at 46), a plurality of loop members disposed along the longitudinal strap member between the strap first end and the strap second end (see figs. 10-11), the plurality of loop members being aligned in a single row along the longitudinal strap member (see figs. 10-11), wherein each of the plurality of loop members comprises an opening (see figs. 10-11), wherein each opening of the plurality of loop members is oriented in a direction that is perpendicular to the length of the strap (see figs. 10-11), … and wherein the loop members of the strap first end and the strap second end are configured to receive a shoulder (figs. 10-11 and note that the description in the corresponding section of the specification refers to the handles in these figures; note further that the open loops are plainly configured to receive hands, but also shoulders as the only difference is how far up the appendage the apparatus is placed and human bodies come in a variety of sizes such that a shoulder would be readily received), and the loop members therebetween are configured to receive a hand (figs. 10-11 and above).
Spahn does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the openings in the loop members at the strap first end and the strap second and are larger than the openings of the loop members therebetween, wherein the loop members between the strap first end and the strap second end are disposed between the enlarged loop members.
It would have been obvious matter of design choice to change the size of the loop members as claimed (i.e. wherein the openings in the loop members at the strap first end and the strap second and are larger than the openings of the loop members therebetween, wherein the loop members between the strap first end and the strap second end are disposed between the enlarged loop members), since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237, (CCPA 1955). It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Spahn such that the openings in the loop members at the strap first end and the strap second and are larger than the openings of the loop members therebetween and wherein the loop members between the strap first end and the strap second end are disposed between the enlarged loop members as a matter of design choice. To the extent necessary, it is noted that the modification would have been obvious for the purpose of facilitating storage (folding within a loop for a smaller footprint / overall size), to accommodate larger bodies, and/or for aesthetic purposes. It is noted that the change in size as described above is plainly known in the art. See CMC as noted and identified above. See the larger end loop.
Re Claim 3
Spahn as modified above discloses:
wherein the plurality of loop members are aligned in a single file such that the loop members do not overlap (fig. 10).
Re Claim 4
Spahn as modified above discloses:
wherein each of the plurality of loop members is directly attached to at least one adjacent loop member (fig. 10).
Re Claim 5
Spahn as modified above discloses:
wherein the plurality of loop members are integrated with each other such that the plurality of loop members form a single unit (fig. 10).
Re Claim 6
Spahn as modified above discloses:
wherein each of the plurality of loop members comprises a circular loop having an opening (fig. 10).
Re Claim 7
Spahn as modified above discloses all claim elements, see above, except:
wherein the strap member is made of a seat belt webbing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Spahn to have the strap member made of a seat belt webbing, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Such a modification would have been obvious for the purpose of having a material which has a high strength, high durability, and/or which is comfortable and familiar to a user.
Re Claim 8
Spahn as modified above discloses all claim elements, see above, except:
wherein the strap member is woven from high tensile polyester filament yarn.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Spahn to have woven from high tensile polyester filament yarn, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Such a modification would have been obvious for the purpose of having a material which has a high strength, high durability, and/or which is comfortable and familiar to a user.
Alternatively, having the strap member woven from high tensile polyester filament yarn could be considered a method of forming the strap member. The method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight.
Re Claim 9
Spahn as modified above discloses all claim elements, see above, except:
wherein each of the loop members at the strap first end and the strap second end is between 14 and 16 inches, and the loop members therebetween are between 5 and 9 inches.
It would have been obvious matter of design choice to modify Spahn such that each of the loop members at the strap first end and the strap second end is between 14 and 16 inches, and the loop members therebetween are between 5 and 9 inches, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change is size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237, (CCPA 1955). To the extent necessary, such a modification would have been obvious for the purpose of accommodating the user’s appendage size and/or for comfort in use, recognizing that ends often need additional space due to potential stretch.
Re Claim 10
Spahn as modified above discloses all claim elements, see above, except:
wherein each of the loop members at the strap first end and the strap second end is 15 inches, and the loop members therebetween are 8 inches.
It would have been obvious matter of design choice to modify Spahn such that each of the loop members at the strap first end and the strap second end is 15 inches, and the loop members therebetween are 8 inches, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change is size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237, (CCPA 1955). To the extent necessary, such a modification would have been obvious for the purpose of accommodating the user’s appendage size and/or for comfort in use, recognizing that ends often need additional space due to potential stretch.
Re Claim 11
Spahn as modified above discloses:
further comprising a strap holder (54 in combination with 48).
Re Claim 12
Spahn as modified above discloses:
wherein the strap holder comprises a holder strap (54) that curves such that a first holder strap fastening member contacts a second holder strap fastening member (one of the stitches 56 and another of the stitches 56; see figs. 10-11).
Re Claim 13
Spahn as modified above discloses:
further comprising a strap holder connector (yet another of stitches 56 or 48; see figs. 10-11).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spahn et al. (PG Pub No. 20180193213 and hereinafter “Spahn”) and as evidenced by CMC (https://web.archive.org/web/20220818210113/https://cascade-rescue.com/cmc-multi-loop-straps/ dated 2022-08-18. Last accessed 2026-10-01. See, for example, CMC Multi-Loop Straps CMC-RGH-201012 (Year: 2022)) and in view of Official Notice / Admitted Prior Art.
Re Claims 15-16
Spahn as modified above discloses all claim limitations, see above, except:
further comprising a pouch that is configured to hold the strap member.
wherein the pouch comprises a closing element such that the pouch has an open configuration and closing configuration.
Examiner hereby takes official notice that it is old and well known in the art to have an apparatus further comprise a pouch that is configured to hold an element or the apparatus (e.g. the strap member), with the pouch comprising a closing element such that the pouch has an open and closing configuration as is customary and common with pouches for the purpose of facilitating transport and/or securing of an apparatus or an element of an apparatus. It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Spahn to include the limitations above for the purpose(s) articulated above. The official notice statements are admitted prior art; see above for details.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DAVID E. SOSNOWSKI/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3673
/David E Sosnowski/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673