Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 8/25/2025 has been entered. All previous 112 rejections have been withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 4-5 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 4, line 4, the phrase “first driving piston” should be changed to “first fluid driving piston”; in claim 5, line 4, the phrase “first section” should be changed to “said first section”; in claim 10, line 3, the phrase “second driving chamber” should be changed to “said second driving chamber”; in claim 26, line 2, the phrase “an inner surface” has been changed to “the inner surface”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
All claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 2, line 15, the phrase “a multi-phase fluid” should be changed to “the multi-phase fluid”.
In claim 2, line 27, Examiner has concern about the phrase “fluid supplied to said first section”. Is this the “multi-phase fluid” or some other fluid? Examiner requests correction/clarification, as a few lines later, in line 30, “a multi-phrase fluid is located within said fluid pump chamber”, which further complicates matters as there is not clarity on whether this is a new, multi-phase fluid or how it relates to the “fluid” mentioned in line 27. Examiner seeks clarification and/or correction.
Another further, and related, complication, in claim 2, line 40, recitation is made of “accompanying gas” and then in line 42, “fluid is located within said fluid pump chamber”. This contrasts with the passage around line 26 which makes not mention of gas but uses “a multi-phase fluid” located in the fluid pump chamber.
The usage of manifold fluid terms: fluid, multi-phase fluid, gas, etc.. makes for a somewhat confusing read. Examiner requests a revision, with emphasis towards consistent fluid terminology, with regard to claim 2.
In claim 9, line 2, the phrase “said buffer chamber and said first buffer chamber” is unclear. Examiner requests clarification.
In claim 23, lines 1-2, the phrase “said one of more sealing devices” has no antecedent basis.
In claim 27, line 3, the phrase “said buffer chamber” is unclear because there are multiple buffer chambers.
In claim 30, line 3, the phrase “said first and second pump chambers” is unclear and has no antecedent basis. Examiner requests consistent terminology.
In dependent claims 3-12, 21-31, 33-37, 46, 49-58, the preamble phrase “A system” or “A method” or “A pump system” should be changed to “The system” or “The method” or “The multi-phase fluid pump system” so as to not cause the confusion of introducing a second system or method or fluid pump system.
Claims 38, 40, 44 and 47 share many of the same issues as claim 2 and Examiner requests for Applicant to review these claims in light of the items mentioned with regard to claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-12, 21-26, 28-31 and 33-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCarthy (US20180030978) in view of Christiansen (WO9008897A1) and Arlands (US20180334894A1) and as further evidenced by Millikan (“Gas oil ratio as related to the decline of oil production, with notes on the effect of controlled pressure”, CV Millikan, 1926).
Claims 2-3: McCarthy discloses a fluid pump system operable to pump a multi-phase fluid delivered from an oil well (see paragraph 3 and claim 31, note wellhead has impurities of crude oil, water and natural gas liquids), said pump system comprising a driving fluid system comprising a first driving fluid cylinder (152a) and a second driving fluid cylinder (152b); said first driving fluid cylinder having a first driving fluid chamber (186a) adapted for containing a driving fluid therein, and a first driving fluid piston (154a) movable within said first driving fluid chamber; a fluid pump cylinder (190) having a fluid pump chamber having a first section (181a) adapted for pressurizing a multi-phase fluid therein and said fluid pump chamber having a second section (181b) adjacent said first section also adapted for pressurizing a multi-phase fluid therein, and said fluid pump cylinder having a fluid pump piston (182) movable within said fluid pump chamber and operable to pressurize said multi-phase fluid located within said first section of said fluid pump chamber (Figs. 2-3), and said fluid pump piston operable to pressurize said multi-phase fluid located within said second section of said fluid pump chamber (Figs. 2-3), said second section of said fluid pump chamber being on an opposite side of said fluid pump piston to said first section of said fluid pump chamber in said fluid pump cylinder (Figs. 2-3); a first buffer chamber (195a) located between said driving fluid chamber and said fluid pump chamber, said first buffer chamber providing a chamber that is sealed by one or more buffer chamber seals (196a/198a/308a); said first buffer chamber providing a chamber that is operable to inhibit movement of at least one non-driving fluid component accompanying fluid supplied to said first section of said fluid pump chamber from being communicated from said first fluid chamber into said first driving fluid chamber (Fig. 4, see paragraphs 92 and 124), when in operation, a multi-phase fluid is located within said fluid pump chamber and is pressurized by said fluid pump piston with said first driving fluid piston being driven by said driving fluid system (Figs. 2-3); a second driving fluid cylinder (152b) having a second driving fluid chamber (186b) operable in use for containing a driving fluid and a second driving fluid piston (154b) movable within said second driving fluid chamber, and wherein said second driving fluid cylinder is located on an opposite side of said fluid pump cylinder as said first driving fluid cylinder (Figs. 2-3); a second buffer chamber (195b) located between said second driving fluid chamber and said fluid pump chamber, said second buffer chamber providing a chamber that is sealed by one or more buffer chamber seals (196b/198b/seal on opposite from 308a); said second buffer chamber providing a chamber that is operable to inhibit movement of at least one non-driving fluid component accompanying gas supplied to said second section of said fluid pump chamber, from being communicated from said fluid pump into said second driving fluid chamber (Fig. 4, see paragraphs 92 and 124), when in operation, fluid is located within said fluid pump chamber and is pressurized by said fluid pump piston (Figs. 2-3), with said fluid pump piston being driven by said driving fluid system (Figs. 2-3); said multi-phase fluid pump system being operable for communication of a supply of multi-phase fluid from said oil well (via 124) to said first and second sections of said fluid pump chamber.
McCarthy makes mention that impurities including water and other liquids may be present in wellhead liquids but is not explicit about directly receiving a multi-phase fluid comprising a mixture of oil and gas that has a gas to liquid ratio that varies over time, including during some periods of operation when the mixture comprises a substantially completely liquid multi-phase fluid. A need exists to pump complex fluids consisting of different gas, fluids and even solid particles with considerable financial rewards as it would require less complex equipment and piping (see Christiansen, page 1, lines 9-31).
This need is met by Christiansen (Figs. 1-2) who teaches using a multi-phase piston pump system not unlike McCarthy which utilizes multiple check/drain valves to address different fluid phases that can contain sand at all gas/liquid ratios (Fig. 2, see also page 2, lines 23-35). A skilled artisan would readily appreciate how to incorporate valving as taught by Christiansen into McCarthy’s pump to allow for handling of varying multiphase fluids and sand. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize a check valve system into McCarthy’s pump to extract and convey oilwell fluids more economically as less complex equipment and piping would be needed.
McCarthy, as modified by Christiansen, constitutes a multiphase fluid pump system and Christiansen further details an oil and gas source (note complex well stream discussed in Christiansen, pages 1-2). However, both are not explicit about the details of being sourced directly from a well comprising a production tubing in a well bore, said production tubing having an inside passageway directly communicating fluid from a well stream source. However, Arland teaches a pump system being sourced directly from a well comprising a production tubing (37) that extends along a well shaft/bore to an oil bearing formation (Fig. 1), said production tubing having an inside passageway (note interior of 37) directly communicating fluid from a well stream source (Fig. 1) and which passageway is operable to supply natural gas to a gas supply line (40) that is in communication with a pump fluid chamber (see Figs. 2-3). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize an adjacent well location like that taught by Arland as the pump apparatus could be situated close to the well and minimize the need of a lengthy pipeline to connect the well to the pump apparatus. McCarthy, as modified by Christiansen and Arlands, reasonably constitutes a multi-phase fluid pump system operable for communication of a supply of multi-phase fluid from said oil and gas source through said inside passageway of said production tubing and Arlands further teaches such routing of fluid separately to first and second sections of an associated fluid pump chamber (see Fig. 3 of Arlands). Arland’s teaching details a fluid pump system being proximate a well head (Fig. 1) and further Christiansen teaches a wellstream having a gas to oil ratio that varies over time, including some periods of time when the mixture is substantially only oil (see Christiansen, pages 1-2, Examiner noting the “complex” wellstream and operation of the pump effectively at all gas/liquid ratios which would include times when an incoming mixture is substantially only liquid/oil; Examiner additionally notes that a skilled artisan would also be aware that it is not unusual for initial oil well production to produce only oil and as a well depletes, its gas/oil ratio will necessarily increase due to decreasing reservoir pressure, causing more gas to come out of solution). To be sure, of course, of the presence of varying oil/gas ratios in production wells, Examiner notes the prior art evidencing such well behavior, including 100% oil/liquid at the outset of well production (see Millikan, pages 147-155 and associated Figures).
Claim 4: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arland teach the previous limitations. McCarthy further discloses a piston rod (194) that is fixedly connected to said first driving fluid piston and said fluid pump piston, such that in operation when said driving fluid flows into said first driving fluid chamber, said driving fluid drives said first driving fluid piston such that said first driving piston and said fluid piston move together within said respective first driving fluid chamber and said fluid pump chamber (Figs. 2-3).
Claim 5: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arland teach the previous limitations. McCarthy further discloses a volume of said first driving fluid chamber and a volume of said first buffer chamber overlap within said first driving fluid cylinder, and wherein said piston rod extends from said first driving fluid piston through said first buffer chamber into first section of said fluid pump chamber to said fluid pump piston (see Fig. 4).
Claim 6: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arland teach the previous limitations. McCarthy further discloses that wherein during operation, said first buffer chamber varies in length dependent upon the position of said first driving fluid piston in said first driving fluid cylinder and a minimum length of said first buffer chamber is greater than a stroke length of said fluid pump piston, said piston rod and said first driving fluid piston (see Fig. 4).
Claim 7: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arland teach the previous limitations. McCarthy further discloses that said first buffer chamber is configured such that in operation, no portion of said piston rod that is received within said fluid pump chamber will be received in a portion of said first driving fluid cylinder that receives said driving fluid (see Fig. 4).
Claim 8: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arland teach the previous limitations. McCarthy further discloses that said at least one non-driving fluid component comprises a contaminant (see paragraph 92).
Claim 9: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arland teach the previous limitations. McCarthy further discloses that said first buffer chamber is located adjacent to said fluid pump chamber on one side of said first buffer chamber and said second buffer chamber is located adjacent to said second driving fluid chamber on an opposite side of said second buffer chamber (see Figs. 2-4).
Claim 10: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arland teach the previous limitations. McCarthy further discloses that said first driving fluid chamber and said first buffer chamber are both located within said first driving fluid cylinder (Figs. 2-3), and second driving fluid chamber and said second buffer chamber are both located within said second driving fluid cylinder (Figs. 2-3).
Claim 11: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arland teach the previous limitations. McCarthy further discloses a casing assembly (200a) located between said first buffer chamber and said first section of said fluid pump chamber and wherein said one or more buffer chamber seals comprises one or more seals (308a/198a) located at least partially within said casing assembly, said one or more seals at least partially within said casing assembly being operable to inhibit fluid from migrating from said first section of said pump chamber into said first buffer chamber (Fig. 8; see paragraph 90).
Claim 12: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arland teach the previous limitations. McCarthy further discloses that said one or more seals (198a) at least partially within said casing assembly are also located at least partially within said first driving fluid cylinder (see Fig. 8B).
Claim 21: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arland teach the previous limitations. McCarthy further discloses that said one or more buffer chamber seals (196a/198a/308a) comprises one or more seals (196a) operable to provide a barrier to liquid, gas and solid materials moving from said pump fluid chamber into the first buffer chamber (see Fig. 2).
Claim 22: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arland teach the previous limitations. McCarthy further discloses that said one or more buffer chamber seals (196a/198a/308a) comprises one or more seals (308a) located between said first driving fluid cylinder piston and an inner surface of said first driving fluid cylinder (see Fig. 8b).
Claim 23: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arland teach the previous limitations. McCarthy further discloses a pump system as claimed in claim 21 wherein said one or more seals (196a/198a/308a) is located between said first driving fluid cylinder 7Application No.: 16/930,932Patentpiston and an inner surface of said first driving fluid cylinder (Fig. 8b) and comprises one or more seals (308a or 198a) operable to provide a barrier to liquid, gas and solid materials moving from the first buffer chamber into the first driving fluid chamber (Fig. 8b), and provide a barrier to driving fluid moving from said first driving fluid chamber into said first buffer chamber (Fig. 8b).
Claim 24: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arland teach the previous limitations. McCarthy further discloses one or more seals (196a) located between said first driving fluid cylinder piston and an inner surface of said first driving fluid cylinder comprise at least one wear ring (Examiner notes circular seal surface of 196a which wears against associated cylinder).
Claim 25: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arland teach the previous limitations. McCarthy further discloses that one or more seals located between said first driving fluid cylinder piston and an inner surface of said first driving fluid cylinder comprises first (308a) and second (Examiner notes there will be a ring on opposite end from 308a) longitudinally spaced wear rings (Examiner notes circular seal surface of 308a which wears against associated cylinder).
Claim 26: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arland teach the previous limitations. McCarthy further discloses that one or more seals located between said first driving fluid cylinder piston and an inner surface of said first driving fluid cylinder comprises first (308a) and second Examiner notes there will be a ring on opposite end from 308a) longitudinally spaced wear rings and at least one ring seal (216a) disposed longitudinally therebetween.
Claim 28: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arland teach the previous limitations. McCarthy further discloses that said system further comprises a driving fluid supply system (Fig. 7/Fig. 10A, 1160/1160’) operable to supply driving fluid to said first driving fluid chamber to drive said first driving fluid piston and operable to supply driving fluid to said second driving fluid chamber to drive said second driving fluid piston, said driving fluid supply system comprising a pump (1174) and a 8Application No.: 16/930,932Patent plurality of driving fluid supply lines (1166a/b) fluidly connecting said pump with said first and second driving fluid chambers.
Claim 29: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arland teach the previous limitations. McCarthy further discloses a controller (200/200’) comprising a circuit, said controller operable for controlling said driving fluid supply system for controlling the flow of driving fluid to said first and second driving fluid chambers (Figs. 7/Fig. 10A).
Claim 30: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arland teach the previous limitations. McCarthy further discloses a sensor device system (1257) operable to provide a signal to said controller indicative of the pressure developed within said first and second pump chambers, such that said controller is operable to control the driving fluid supply system to control the pressure developed within said first and second driving fluid chambers (see paragraph 169).
Claim 31: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arland teach the previous limitations. McCarthy further discloses that said controller is operable to control the driving fluid supply system to control the speed of movement of the fluid pump piston (see paragraph 126)
Claim 33: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arland teach the previous limitations. McCarthy further discloses a controller (1160/1160’) comprising a circuit (see Figs. 7/10A), said controller operable for controlling said driving fluid supply system for controlling the flow of driving fluid to said first and second driving fluid chambers (see paragraph 126).
Claim 34: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arland teach the previous limitations. McCarthy further discloses a at least one piston seal operable to provide a seal (196a) between the pump piston and the inner surface of the fluid pump chamber.
Claim 35: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arland teach the previous limitations. McCarthy further discloses a that said at least one piston seal (196a) is operable to maintain pressure differences between the adjacent first and second fluid pump chamber section during operation (Fig. 2).
Claim 36: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arland teach the previous limitations. McCarthy further discloses a that said at least one piston seal (196a) is operable to substantially prevent or inhibit movement of fluid comprising varying mixtures/ratios of liquid and gas between the first and second fluid pump chamber sections (Fig. 2).
Claim 37: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arland teach the previous limitations. McCarthy further discloses that said at least one seal comprises a plurality of grooves (see paragraph 90 which discusses grooves, e.g., 216a) and sealing rings (308a/b) retained therein at outer circumferential surfaces of said pump piston operable to provide a seal with the inner wall surface of pump cylinder barrel.
Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCarthy (US20180030978) in view of Christiansen (WO9008897A1) and Irwin (US 7,604,064) and as further evidenced by Millikan (“Gas oil ratio as related to the decline of oil production, with notes on the effect of controlled pressure”, CV Millikan, 1926).
Claim 38: McCarthy discloses a fluid pump system operable to pump a multi-phase fluid delivered from an oil well (see paragraph 3 and claim 31, note wellhead has impurities of crude oil, water and natural gas liquids), said pump system comprising a driving fluid system comprising a first driving fluid cylinder (152a) and a second driving fluid cylinder (152b); said first driving fluid cylinder having a first driving fluid chamber (186a) adapted for containing a driving fluid therein, and a first driving fluid piston (154a) movable within said first driving fluid chamber; a fluid pump cylinder (190) having a fluid pump chamber having a first section (181a) adapted for pressurizing a multi-phase fluid therein and said fluid pump chamber having a second section (181b) adjacent said first section also adapted for pressurizing a multi-phase fluid therein, and said fluid pump cylinder having a fluid pump piston (182) movable within said fluid pump chamber and operable to pressurize said multi-phase fluid located within said first section of said fluid pump chamber (Figs. 2-3), and said fluid pump piston operable to pressurize said multi-phase fluid located within said second section of said fluid pump chamber (Figs. 2-3), said second section of said fluid pump chamber being on an opposite side of said fluid pump piston to said first section of said fluid pump chamber in said fluid pump cylinder (Figs. 2-3); a first buffer chamber (195a) located between said driving fluid chamber and said fluid pump chamber, said first buffer chamber providing a chamber that is sealed by one or more buffer chamber seals (196a/198a/308a); said first buffer chamber providing a chamber that is operable to inhibit movement of at least one non-driving fluid component accompanying fluid supplied to said first section of said fluid pump chamber from being communicated from said first fluid chamber into said first driving fluid chamber (Fig. 4, see paragraphs 92 and 124), when in operation, a multi-phase fluid is located within said fluid pump chamber and is pressurized by said fluid pump piston with said first driving fluid piston being driven by said driving fluid system (Figs. 2-3); a second driving fluid cylinder (152b) having a second driving fluid chamber (186b) operable in use for containing a driving fluid and a second driving fluid piston (154b) movable within said second driving fluid chamber, and wherein said second driving fluid cylinder is located on an opposite side of said fluid pump cylinder as said first driving fluid cylinder (Figs. 2-3); a second buffer chamber (195b) located between said second driving fluid chamber and said fluid pump chamber, said second buffer chamber providing a chamber that is sealed by one or more buffer chamber seals (196b/198b/seal on opposite from 308a); said second buffer chamber providing a chamber that is operable to inhibit movement of at least one non-driving fluid component accompanying gas supplied to said second section of said fluid pump chamber, from being communicated from said fluid pump into said second driving fluid chamber (Fig. 4, see paragraphs 92 and 124), when in operation, fluid is located within said fluid pump chamber and is pressurized by said fluid pump piston (Figs. 2-3), with said fluid pump piston being driven by said driving fluid system (Figs. 2-3); said multi-phase fluid pump system being operable for communication of a supply of multi-phase fluid from said oil well (via 124) to said first and second sections of said fluid pump chamber.
McCarthy makes mention that impurities including water and other liquids may be present in wellhead liquids but is not explicit about directly receiving a multi-phase fluid comprising a mixture of oil and gas that has a gas to liquid ratio that varies over time, including during some periods of operation when the mixture comprises a substantially completely liquid multi-phase fluid. A need exists to pump complex fluids consisting of different gas, fluids and even solid particles with considerable financial rewards as it would require less complex equipment and piping (see Christiansen, page 1, lines 9-31).
This need is met by Christiansen (Figs. 1-2) who teaches using a multi-phase piston pump system not unlike McCarthy which utilizes multiple check/drain valves to address different fluid phases that can contain sand at all gas/liquid ratios (Fig. 2, see also page 2, lines 23-35). A skilled artisan would readily appreciate how to incorporate valving as taught by Christiansen into McCarthy’s pump to allow for handling of varying multiphase fluids and sand. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize a check valve system into McCarthy’s pump to extract and convey oilwell fluids more economically as less complex equipment and piping would be needed.
McCarthy, as modified by Christiansen, constitutes a multiphase fluid pump system and Christiansen further details an oil and gas source (note complex well stream discussed in Christiansen, pages 1-2). However, both are not explicit about the details of being sourced directly from an oil well producing system comprising a production tubing having a length extending along a well shaft that extends to an oil bearing formation, a passageway extending along at least the well shaft, said passageway operable to supply natural gas to a gas supply line, said gas supply line in communication with a pump fluid chamber of a multi-phase fluid pump system connecting said production tubing operable to deliver oil from said oil bearing formation to a pump fluid chamber of a multi-phase fluid pump system. However, Irwin teaches an oil well producing system (note Figs. 3-6) comprising a production tubing (note vertical tubing associated with 302/401/502/606 that extends into the oil well) having a length extending along a well shaft that extends to an oil bearing formation (Figs. 3-6); a passageway (note passageway within 302/401/502/606) extending along at least the well shaft, said passageway operable to supply natural gas to a gas supply line (see col. 3, lines 13-19, note line connecting 302 with 404 in Fig. 4, note line connecting 402 with 404 in Fig. 4, or note line connecting 502 with 504 Fig. 5, or line 628 in Fig. 6), said gas supply line in communication with a pump fluid chamber of a multi-phase fluid pump system (Figs. 3-6); a pipe (note horizontal tubing associated with 302/401/502/606) connecting said production tubing operable to deliver oil from said oil bearing formation to said pump fluid chamber of a multi-phase fluid pump system (Figs. 3-6). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize an adjacent well location like that taught by Irwin as the pump apparatus could be situated close to the well and minimize the need of a lengthy pipeline to connect the well to the pump apparatus. McCarthy, as modified by Christiansen and Irwin, reasonably constitutes a multi-phase fluid pump system operable for communication of a supply of multi-phase fluid from said oil and gas source through said inside passageway of said production tubing and Christiansen further teaches such routing of fluid separately to first and second sections of an associated fluid pump chamber (see Fig. 1 of Christiansen). Arland’s teaching details a fluid pump system being proximate a well head (Fig. 1) and further Christiansen teaches a wellstream having a gas to oil ratio that varies over time, including some periods of time when the mixture is substantially only oil (see Christiansen, pages 1-2, Examiner noting the “complex” wellstream and operation of the pump effectively at all gas/liquid ratios which would include times when an incoming mixture is substantially only liquid/oil; Examiner additionally notes that a skilled artisan would also be aware that it is not unusual for initial oil well production to produce only oil and as a well depletes, its gas/oil ratio will necessarily increase due to decreasing reservoir pressure, causing more gas to come out of solution). To be sure, of course, of the presence of varying oil/gas ratios in production wells, Examiner notes the prior art evidencing such well behavior, including 100% oil/liquid at the outset of well production (see Millikan, pages 147-155 and associated Figures).
Claim(s) 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCarthy (US20180030978) in view of Christiansen (WO9008897A1) and Arlands (US20180334894A1) and Irwin (US 7,604,064).
Claim 54: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arland teach the previous limitations. McCarthy is not explicit about pumping operations particulars; however, Irwin teaches an exemplary situation showing that said maximum liquid rate of multi- phase fluid expelled by said fluid pump cylinder is between about 2040 m3/d and about 5820 m3/d (based upon the Examples 1-3, and using a 10” piston size with a velocity rate around 1.933 ft/sec, fluid output per day is around 2000 m3, Examiner noting that the a skilled artisan would be aware of Irwin’s pumps ability to handle mixed fluids and be equipped to make adjustments to pump operational conditions, including full liquid situations, as appreciated from Blundell and that the above referenced Examples could be viewed as starting points from which pump adjustments could be made). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to initiate McCarthy’s pump in a manner like that taught by Irwin simply as a known starting point guide for pumping operations.
Claim 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCarthy (US20180030978) in view of Christiansen (WO9008897A1) and Arlands (US20180334894A1) and in further view of Goerger (FR3003906A1).
Claim 27: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arlands teach the previous limitations. McCarthy does not disclose a scraper seal located on and extending around said first hydraulic piston and being operable to remove residue from an inner surface of said buffer chamber to maintain said removed residue within said buffer chamber. However, Goerger teaches a compressor with a reciprocating shaft/piston (10) which utilizes a scraper seal (18) located on (Examiner notes seal is always in contact and “on” the piston) and extending around said shaft/piston to maintain removed residue within an associated chamber (31/32, Examiner noting that the inner surface of an inner chamber could broadly be interpreted to include the chamber portion delimited by the outer surface of the piston itself which is periodically cleaned by the scraper seal). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a scraper seal as taught by Goerger into the apparatus of McCarthy to further prevent travel/loss of oil residue from one end of the rod/shaft/piston to the other.
Claims 40 and 57-58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCarthy (US20180030978) in view of Blundell (US20190257306) and in further view of DE202012104058U1 (‘058) and as further evidenced by Millikan (“Gas oil ratio as related to the decline of oil production, with notes on the effect of controlled pressure”, CV Millikan, 1926).
Claim 40: McCarthy discloses a fluid pump system operable to pump a multi-phase fluid for use in an oil and gas well system (see paragraph 3 and claim 31, note wellhead has impurities of crude oil, water and natural gas liquids), said system comprising a driving fluid cylinder (152a) having driving fluid chamber with a varying volume that is adapted for receiving therein, containing and expelling therefrom, a driving fluid, and having a driving fluid piston (154a) movable within said driving fluid cylinder to vary the volume of the driving fluid chamber; a fluid pump cylinder (190) having a fluid pump chamber with a varying volume that is adapted for receiving therein, containing and expelling fluid therefrom, and further comprising a fluid pump piston (182) movable within said fluid pump cylinder to vary the volume of the fluid pump chamber, said fluid pump piston operable to be driven by said driving fluid piston to pressurize a quantity of fluid located within said fluid pump chamber, said fluid pump system being operable for communication of a supply of multi-phase fluid from an oil and gas well to said fluid pump chamber (paragraph 7, see also paragraph 3 and claim 31, note wellhead has impurities of crude oil, water and natural gas liquids); a buffer chamber (195a) located adjacent to said fluid pump chamber, said buffer chamber being sealed by one or more seals (196a/198a/308a) from said fluid pump chamber, and in operation of said pump system, said buffer chamber not receiving fluid from said oil and gas well (Figs. 2-3); said buffer chamber providing a chamber that inhibits movement of at least one non-driving fluid component accompanying the multi-phase fluid supplied to said fluid pump chamber (paragraph 128 and claim 131), from being communicated from said fluid pump chamber into said driving fluid chamber, when in operation fluid is located within said fluid pump chamber and is pressurized by said fluid pump piston (Figs. 2-3).
McCarthy makes mention that impurities including water and other liquids may be present in wellhead liquids but is not explicit about directly receiving a multi-phase fluid comprising a mixture of oil and gas that has a gas to liquid ratio that varies over time, including during some periods of operation when the mixture comprises a substantially completely liquid multi-phase fluid. A big problem in pumping fluids that have gaseous and liquid components is that one phase is compressible and the other is not and if pumped to quickly can lead to component damage. However, this problem is overcome by Blundell (Fig. 1) who teaches using a multi-phase piston pump system which observes the phase characteristics of incoming fluid via a suction pressure transducer and then controls the piston speed accordingly to accommodate any particular phase mixture of fluid, even substantially completely liquid (see paragraphs 8-11 and 40). A skilled artisan would readily appreciate how to incorporate a suction pressure transducer into McCarthy’s controller (note 200’ in Fig. 10A of McCarthy) to operate the associated hydraulic pump unit at varying speeds to control the piston speed/motion. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to operate McCarthy’s system like that taught by Blundell to extract gas from fields more efficiently and have less down time for maintenance (see paragraph 8).
McCarthy does not disclose a scraper device located on and extending around an outward facing surface of said driving fluid piston, said scraper device being positioned adjacent and inner surface of said buffer chamber and said scraper device operable during movement of said driving fluid piston within said buffer chamber to remove residue material from an inner surface of said buffer chamber to maintain said residue material within said buffer chamber. However, ‘058 teaches a pump arrangement (Fig. 1) with a reciprocating shaft/piston (2) which utilizes a scraper device (5/7) located on and extending around an outward facing surface of said driving fluid piston, said scraper device being positioned adjacent and inner surface of an associated chamber (note chamber near 2a opposite the chamber pumping fluid) and said scraper device operable during movement of said driving fluid piston within said chamber to remove residue material from an inner surface of said chamber to maintain said residue material within said buffer chamber (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a scraper seal as taught by ‘058 into the apparatus of McCarthy to prevent travel/loss of oil residue from one end of the rod/shaft/piston to the other. As incorporated into McCarthy, the placement of ‘058’s seal would necessarily be adjacent to McCarthy’s buffer chamber through which its piston/plunger reciprocates in like manner to the reciprocating piston/plunger of ‘058.
Examiner additionally notes that a skilled artisan would also be aware that it is not unusual for initial oil well production to produce only oil and as a well depletes, its gas/oil ratio will necessarily increase due to decreasing reservoir pressure, causing more gas to come out of solution). To be sure, of course, of the presence of varying oil/gas ratios in production wells, Examiner notes the prior art evidencing such well behavior, including 100% oil/liquid at the outset of well production (see Millikan, pages 147-155 and associated Figures).
Claim 57: McCarthy, Blundell and ‘058 teach the previous limitations. ‘058 further teaches that said scraper device is a scraper seal device (Fig. 1, note 5/7).
Claim 58: McCarthy, Blundell and ‘058 teach the previous limitations. ‘058 further teaches that said scraper seal device comprises an underlying energizer element (note 6a/6b which are multi-turn coils that possess elastic tension) operable such that said scraper seal device maintains engagement between said outward facing surface of said driving fluid piston and said inner surface of said associated chamber (Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 55-56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCarthy (US20180030978) in view of Christiansen (WO9008897A1) and Arlands (US20180334894A1) and Irwin (US 7,604,064).
Claim 55: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arland teach the previous limitations. McCarthy is not explicit about pumping operations particulars; however, Irwin teaches an exemplary situation showing that during operation, during a stroke of the pump said pressure inside the fluid pump chamber increases by about 150 psi to a discharge pressure as said fluid pump piston moves about 8 inches within said fluid pump cylinder (note Example 1, Stage 2 cylinder performance, from 0/1 inch travel to 7/8 inch travel, pressure increases from 306 psig to 454/493 psig). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to initiate McCarthy’s pump in a manner like that taught by Irwin simply as a known starting point guide for pumping operations.
Claim 56: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arland teach the previous limitations. Irwin further teaches an exemplary showing that during operation, during a stroke of the fluid pump, said pressure inside the fluid pump chamber increases by about 180 psi as said fluid pump piston moves about 30 inches within said fluid pump cylinder (note Example 1, Stage 1 cylinder performance, from 49 inch travel to 79 inch travel, pressure increases from 110 psig to 290 psig).
Claim 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCarthy (US20180030978) in view of Christiansen (WO9008897A1) and Arlands (US20180334894A1) and in further view of Bridges (US 10,876,523).
Claim 53: McCarthy, Christiansen and Arlands teach the previous limitations. McCarthy, as modified by Christiansen, further teaches an intake conduit for communicating said supply of multiphase fluid from said oil well to said first and second sections of said fluid pump chamber and a discharge conduit for communicating pressurized multiphase fluid from said first and second sections of said fluid pump chamber (see Fig. 1 in Christiansen, note intake/discharge conduits entering/exiting pump or intake/discharge conduits entering/exiting pump) but is not explicit about said intake conduit and said discharge conduits have a diameter in the range of about 4 inches to about 6 inches. However, Bridges teaches a pump system associated with a well that has an intake conduit fitting of 4 inches (note intake conduit sizes mentioned in col. 11, lines 58-60 and col. 12, lines 22-23) and as intake/discharge conduits are often mirrored in size, a skilled artisan could utilize that size for a discharge fitting. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a sizing of intake/discharge conduits as taught by Bridges into the apparatus of McCarthy as modified by Christiansen to adequately provide/discharge oil/gas fluids.
Claims 44-47 and 49-52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCarthy (US20180030978) in view of Blundell (US20190257306) and Irwin (US 7,604,064) and in further view of Benson (US20060175062) and as further evidenced by Millikan (“Gas oil ratio as related to the decline of oil production, with notes on the effect of controlled pressure”, CV Millikan, 1926).
Claim 44: McCarthy discloses a method of pumping a fluid from an oil well whose composition could be multi-phase (see paragraph 3 and claim 31, note wellhead has impurities of crude oil, water and natural gas liquids) comprising delivering a flow of a fluid through a pipe to a first fluid pumping system (paragraph 7, see Figs. 2-3); operating said first fluid pumping system to increase the pressure of the multi-phase fluid that is delivered thereto (Figs. 2-3); delivering the flow of pressurized multi-phase fluid from the second multi-phase fluid pumping system to a discharge pipe (Figs. 2-3, note outlet connection for pump). McCarthy further discloses that its fluid pump system is operable to pump a multi-phase fluid for use in an oil and gas well system (see paragraph 3 and claim 31, note wellhead has impurities of crude oil, water and natural gas liquids), said system comprising a driving fluid cylinder (152a) having driving fluid chamber with a varying volume that is adapted for receiving therein, containing and expelling therefrom, a driving fluid, and having a driving fluid piston (154a) movable within said driving fluid cylinder to vary the volume of the driving fluid chamber; a fluid pump cylinder (190) having a fluid pump chamber with a varying volume that is adapted for receiving therein, containing and expelling fluid therefrom, and further comprising a fluid pump piston (182) movable within said fluid pump cylinder to vary the volume of the fluid pump chamber, said fluid pump piston operable to be driven by said driving fluid piston to pressurize a quantity of fluid located within said fluid pump chamber, said fluid pump system being operable for communication of a supply of multi-phase fluid from an oil and gas well to said fluid pump chamber (paragraph 7, see also paragraph 3 and claim 31, note wellhead has impurities of crude oil, water and natural gas liquids); a buffer chamber (195a) located adjacent to said fluid pump chamber, said buffer chamber being sealed by one or more seals (196a/198a/308a) from said fluid pump chamber, and in operation of said pump system, said buffer chamber not receiving fluid from said oil and gas well (Figs. 2-3); said buffer chamber providing a chamber that inhibits movement of at least one non-driving fluid component accompanying the multi-phase fluid supplied to said fluid pump chamber (paragraph 128 and claim 131), from being communicated from said fluid pump chamber into said driving fluid chamber, when in operation fluid is located within said fluid pump chamber and is pressurized by said fluid pump piston (Figs. 2-3).
McCarthy makes mention that impurities including water and other liquids may be present in wellhead liquids but is not explicit about directly receiving a multi-phase fluid comprising a mixture of oil and gas that has a gas to liquid ratio that varies over time, including during some periods of operation when the mixture comprises a substantially completely liquid multi-phase fluid. A big problem in pumping fluids that have gaseous and liquid components is that one phase is compressible and the other is not and if pumped to quickly can lead to component damage. However, this problem is overcome by Blundell (Fig. 1) who teaches using a multi-phase piston pump system which observes the phase characteristics of incoming fluid via a suction pressure transducer and then controls the piston speed accordingly to accommodate any particular phase mixture of fluid, even substantially completely liquid (see paragraphs 8-11 and 40). A skilled artisan would readily appreciate how to incorporate a suction pressure transducer into McCarthy’s controller (note 200’ in Fig. 10A of McCarthy) to operate the associated hydraulic pump unit at varying speeds to control the piston speed/motion. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to operate McCarthy’s system like that taught by Blundell to extract gas from fields more efficiently and have less down time for maintenance (see paragraph 8).
Additionally, McCarthy does not mention an arrangement in which multi-phase fluid sources from an inside passageway of a production tubing of a well bore of an oil well. However, such arrangements are well known as shown by Irwin, which teaches a similar pump operating to receive fluid from an inside passageway of a production tubing of a well bore or an oil well (see Figs. 4-6, note production tubing, which will possess an interior passageway, associated with 401/502/606 that extends into the oil well). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to operate McCarthy’s pump to receive fluid directly from an inside passageway of a production tubing of a well bore or an oil well as taught by Irwin as a more simplified pumping arrangement that wouldn’t require intermediary separator tanks, etc.. That Applicant details a multi-phase source fluid to have a gas to liquid ratio that varies over time (or being proximate to a well head of an oil well with such characteristics) amounts to intended use as McCarthy’s system could be utilized at various wells, each of which would have idiosyncratic gas and liquid amounts, including some periods of time when the mixture is substantially only liquid.
McCarthy also does not disclose delivering the flow of pressurized fluid from the first fluid pumping system to a second fluid pumping system. However, Benson teaches an oil well configuration which utilizes fluid pumping systems in series (see Fig. 1C, note pumps 26). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to operate McCarthy’s system like that taught by Benson with additional pumps so as to increase the distance the fluids can be pumped (see paragraph 52).
Examiner additionally notes that a skilled artisan would also be aware that it is not unusual for initial oil well production to produce only oil and as a well depletes, its gas/oil ratio will necessarily increase due to decreasing reservoir pressure, causing more gas to come out of solution). To be sure, of course, of the presence of varying oil/gas ratios in production wells, Examiner notes the prior art evidencing such well behavior, including 100% oil/liquid at the outset of well production (see Millikan, pages 147-155 and associated Figures).
Claim 46: McCarthy, Blundell, Irwin and Benson teach the previous limitations. Benson further teaches that said first fluid pumping system and said second fluid pumping system are arranged in series (Fig. 1C).
Claim 47: McCarthy discloses a method of pumping a fluid from an oil well whose composition could be multi-phase (see paragraph 3 and claim 31, note wellhead has impurit