DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Claims 4, 6, and 9-16 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11 August 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 8, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US-20160293907-A1).
As to claim 1, Chen discloses a multi-layer ceramic battery (figure 2 and 7b, battery cell 200, [0010]) comprising:
a main region in which charging and discharging is performed (figure 2 and 7b, battery cell 200);
a peripheral region positioned around the main region (figure 2 and 7b, battery cell 200); and
a plurality of outer current collector layers disposed on a side surface of the peripheral region (figure 2 and 7b, cathode terminating current collector 204 and anode terminating current collector 205), wherein each other current collector layer of the plurality of outer current collector layers is spaced apart from one another region (figure 2 and 7b, cathode terminating current collector 204 and anode terminating current collector 205), wherein
the peripheral region comprises a stack (figure 2 and 7b, battery cell 200, [0010]), which comprises at least three side surfaces (figure 2 and 7b, battery cell 200), is in contact with the outer current collector layers (figure 2 and 7b, cathode terminating current collector 204 and anode terminating current collector 205), and is connected to the main region (figure 2 and 7b, battery cell 200), and
the plurality of outer current collector layers is disposed on the at least three side surfaces (figure 2 and 7b, cathode terminating current collector 204 and anode terminating current collector 205).
As to claim 2, Chen discloses the multi-layer battery of claim 1, and Chen further discloses wherein the plurality of outer current collector layers comprises a first outer current collector layer layers (figure 2 and 7b, cathode terminating current collector 204), and a second outer current collector layer spaced apart from the first outer current collector layer (figure 2 and 7b, anode terminating current collector 205), wherein the first outer current collector layer is disposed on at least one of the at least three side surfaces (figure 2 and 7b, cathode terminating current collector 204), and the second outer current collector layer is disposed on remaining side surfaces of the at least three side surfaces (figure 2 and 7b, anode terminating current collector 205).
As to claim 3, Chen discloses the multi-layer battery of claim 1, and Chen further discloses wherein the plurality of outer current collector layers is symmetrically arranged around the main region (figure 2 and 7b, cathode terminating current collector 204 and anode terminating current collector 205).
As to claim 5, Chen discloses the multi-layer battery of claim 1, and Chen further discloses wherein the peripheral region is symmetrical around the main region (figure 2 and 7b, battery cell 200).
As to claim 7, Chen discloses the multi-layer battery of claim 1, and Chen further discloses wherein the main region comprises a first electrode layer (figure 2 and 7b, battery cell 200, [0010]); a second electrode layer facing the first electrode layer (figure 2 and 7b, battery cell 200, [0010]); and an all-solid electrolyte layer disposed between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer (figure 2 and 7b, battery cell 200, [0010]).
As to claim 8, Chen discloses the multi-layer battery of claim 7, and Chen further discloses wherein the peripheral region comprises a first peripheral region comprising the first electrode layer and the all-solid electrolyte layer, and not comprising the second electrode layer (figure 2 and 7b, battery cell 200, [0010]), and a second peripheral region comprising the second electrode layer and the all-solid electrolyte layer, and not comprising the first electrode layer (figure 2 and 7b, battery cell 200, [0010]), wherein the first and the second peripheral regions are spaced apart from each other (figure 2 and 7b, battery cell 200).
As to claim 17, Chen discloses an electronic device [0007] comprising
a battery [0007]; and
a control unit configured to control an operation of the electronic device [0007],
wherein the battery comprises the multi-layer ceramic battery of claim 1 (figure 2 and 7b, battery cell 200, [0007]).
As to claim 18, Chen discloses the electronic device of claim 17, and Chen further discloses wherein the electronic device comprises a wearable device [0007].
Conclusion
/J.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1727 /BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727