DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on June 22, 2026 has been entered.
Claim 1, 8, and 15 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-12, and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faragher et al (US 2019/0011569 A1) in view of Leclercq et al (US 2012/0218146 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Faragher teaches a method for determining a frequency related parameter of a local frequency source within a receiver, comprising [0026]:
receiving, at an antenna of the receiver, a plurality of signals from a plurality of remote sources [0025 for receivers with antennas to receiver with antennas];
generating motion compensated correlation results using a determined motion of the antenna of the receiver, the received plurality of signals [0024, 0031, 0033],
and a local signal derived from the local frequency source [0026 for a local oscillator];
using predictive control to predict an effect on the frequency related parameter of the local frequency source [0026 for predicting phase];
phase compensating the motion compensated correlation results to produce phase compensated correlation results using a plurality of phasor sequences that are based on the predicted effect on the frequency related parameter of the local frequency source [0032, 0034];
and jointly analysing the phase compensated correlation results associated with the plurality of remote sources to determine a frequency model for the local frequency source [0025-0026 and 0080].
Faragher fails to explicitly teach caused by at least one sensed environmental condition unrelated to the determined motion of the antenna affecting the stability of the local frequency source.
Leclercq has a GNSS receiver includes a sensing element for detecting an environmental condition (abstract) and teaches caused by at least one sensed environmental condition unrelated to the determined motion of the antenna affecting the stability of the local frequency source [0015 for equipped with a temperature sensor to receive periodically temperature information and compute the temperature difference to adjust its power-off duration before the reference frequency of the local reference oscillator drifts].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the frequency oscillating techniques, as disclosed by Faragher, further including the drift calculations as taught by Leclercq for the purpose of o dynamically calculate time intervals during which the receiver performs tracking operations [Leclercq, 0015].
Regarding Claim 8, Faragher teaches an apparatus for determining a frequency related parameter of a frequency source within a receiver, comprising [0025-0026]:
at least one processor and at least one memory for storing programs and instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, configures the apparatus to [0028 for server and software]:
receive, at an antenna of the receiver, a plurality of signals from a plurality of remote sources [0025 for receivers with antennas to receiver with antennas];
generate motion compensated correlation results using a determined motion of the antenna of the receiver [0024, 0031, 0033],
the received plurality of signals, and a local signal derived from the local frequency source [0026 for a local oscillator];
use predictive control to predict effect on the the frequency related parameter of the local frequency source [0026 for predicting phase];
phase compensate the motion compensated correlation results to produce phase compensated correlation results using a plurality of phasor sequences that are based on the predicted effect on the frequency related parameter of the local frequency source [0032, 0034];
and jointly analyze the phase compensated correlation results associated with the plurality of remote sources to determine a frequency model for the local frequency source [0025-0026 and 0080].
Faragher fails to explicitly teach caused by at least one sensed environmental condition unrelated to the determined motion of the antenna affecting the stability of the local frequency source.
Leclercq has a GNSS receiver includes a sensing element for detecting an environmental condition (abstract) and teaches caused by at least one sensed environmental condition unrelated to the determined motion of the antenna affecting the stability of the local frequency source [0015 for equipped with a temperature sensor to receive periodically temperature information and compute the temperature difference to adjust its power-off duration before the reference frequency of the local reference oscillator drifts].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the frequency oscillating techniques, as disclosed by Faragher, further including the drift calculations as taught by Leclercq for the purpose of o dynamically calculate time intervals during which the receiver performs tracking operations [Leclercq, 0015].
Regarding Claim 15, Faragher teaches a system for determining a frequency related parameter of a frequency source within a receiver, comprising [0025-0026]:
a receiver including an antenna and a local frequency source [0025 for receivers with antennas to receiver with antennas];
at plurality of remote sources of a plurality of signals, the plurality of signals including at least one reference frequency signal [0030, 0037];
an apparatus including at least one processor and at least one memory for storing programs and instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, configures the apparatus to [0025]:
receive, at the antenna of the receiver, a plurality of signals from the plurality of remote sources 0025, and 0234];
generate motion compensated correlation results using a determined motion of the antenna of the receiver, the received plurality of signals [0024, 0031, 0033],
and a local signal derived from the local frequency source [0026 for a local oscillator];
use predictive control to predict an effect on the frequency related parameter of the local frequency source [0026 for predicting phase];
phase compensate the motion compensated correlation results to produce phase compensated correlation results using a plurality of phasor sequences that are based on the predicted an effect on frequency related parameter of the local frequency source [0032, 0034];
and jointly analyze the phase compensated correlation results associated with the plurality of remote sources to determine a frequency offset of the local frequency source [0025-0026 and 0080].
Faragher fails to explicitly teach caused by at least one sensed environmental condition unrelated to the determined motion of the antenna affecting the stability of the local frequency source.
Leclercq has a GNSS receiver includes a sensing element for detecting an environmental condition (abstract) and teaches caused by at least one sensed environmental condition unrelated to the determined motion of the antenna affecting the stability of the local frequency source [0015 for equipped with a temperature sensor to receive periodically temperature information and compute the temperature difference to adjust its power-off duration before the reference frequency of the local reference oscillator drifts].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the frequency oscillating techniques, as disclosed by Faragher, further including the drift calculations as taught by Leclercq for the purpose of o dynamically calculate time intervals during which the receiver performs tracking operations [Leclercq, 0015].
Regarding Claim 2, Faragher teaches adjusting a frequency of the local frequency source based on at least one of the predicted effect on the frequency related parameter or the determined frequency model [0027 for predicting phase (frequency related parameter) for local oscillator].
Regarding Claim 3, 10, and 17, Faragher teaches at least one of the plurality of remote sources comprises a reference frequency and the frequency of the local frequency source is adjusted to coincide with the reference frequency [0080-0081].
Regarding Claim 4, 11, and 18, Faragher teaches predictive control comprises monitoring at least one of an environmental parameter of an environment in which the receiver is operating or an operating parameter of the receiver [0038 for using sensors (monitoring) receivers environment (barometric and geomagnetic bearings)].
Regarding Claim 5, 12, and 19, Faragher teaches the environmental parameter comprises [0038 for using sensors (monitoring) receiver’s environment (barometric and geomagnetic bearings)].
Faragher fails to explicitly teach at least one of a temperature of the environment in which the receiver is operating or a rate of change of the temperature of the environment in which the receiver is operating, and the operating parameter comprises a turning on or off of a component associated with the receiver.
Leclercq has a GNSS receiver includes a sensing element for detecting an environmental condition (abstract) and teaches at least one of a temperature of the environment in which the receiver is operating or a rate of change of the temperature of the environment in which the receiver is operating, and the operating parameter comprises a turning on or off of a component associated with the receiver [0015 for equipped with a temperature sensor to receive periodically temperature information and compute the temperature difference to adjust its power-off duration before the reference frequency of the local reference oscillator drifts and using Doppler Shifts].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the frequency oscillating techniques, as disclosed by Faragher, further including the drift calculations as taught by Leclercq for the purpose of o dynamically calculate time intervals during which the receiver performs tracking operations [Leclercq, 0015].
Regarding Claim 7 and 14, Faragher teaches the frequency model comprises a frequency offset between a frequency of the local frequency source and a reference frequency of at least one of the signals from the plurality of the remote sources [0009 for estimating offset, 0026-0027].
Regarding Claim 9 and 16, Faragher teaches the apparatus is further configured to: adjust a frequency of the local frequency source based on at least one of the predicted effect on the frequency related parameter or the determined frequency offset [0112-0113].
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faragher et al (US 2019/0011569 A1) and Leclercq et al (US 2012/0218146 A1) as applied to claim 1, 8, and 15, above, in further view of He (US 2013/0321048 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, 13, and 20, Faragher teaches using a machine learning model [0177, 0208]. However, Faragher fails to explicitly teach a frequency error related to the predicted effect on the frequency related parameter is determined using at least one of a machine learning model trained to determine a frequency error based on a change in at least one monitored parameter affecting the frequency of the local frequency source or a stored look up table that associates a frequency error with a change in at least one monitored parameter affecting the frequency of the local frequency source.
He has a communication system comprises a crystal oscillator configured to output a reference clock (abstract) and teaches a frequency error related to the predicted effect on the frequency related parameter is determined using at least one of a machine learning model trained to determine a frequency error based on a change in at least one monitored parameter affecting the frequency of the local frequency source or a stored look up table that associates a frequency error with a change in at least one monitored parameter affecting the frequency of the local frequency source [0140-0142 for using learning algorithm with temperature compensation and frequency].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the frequency oscillating techniques, as disclosed by Faragher, further including the temperature calculations as taught by He for calibrating the crystal resonator's frequency deviation versus temperature characteristic [He, 0142].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In applicant’s arguments page 1, last paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant states that Faragher fails to explicitly teach caused by at least one sensed environmental condition unrelated to the determined motion of the antenna affecting the stability of the local frequency source. The examiner thanks the applicant for the amendments. New reference Leclercq teaches this limitation [Leclercq, 0015 for equipped with a temperature sensor to receive periodically temperature information and compute the temperature difference to adjust its power-off duration before the reference frequency of the local reference oscillator drifts].
In applicant’s arguments page 4, second paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant states that Faragher does not teach using predictive control to predict an effect on the frequency one sensed environmental condition unrelated to the determined motion of the antenna affecting the stability of the local frequency source. The examiner respectfully disagrees, Faragher states predictive control by the offset calculated by the local oscillator offset determination module [Faragher, 0081], determined initially by the rough awareness of location of the receiver and location of the reference source.
In applicant’s arguments page 5, first paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant states that Faragher fails to explicitly teach caused by at least one sensed environmental condition unrelated to the determined motion of the antenna affecting the stability of the local frequency source. See paragraph 19 above of this office action.
In applicant’s arguments page 4, fourth paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant states that He fails to explicitly teach caused by at least one sensed environmental condition unrelated to the determined motion of the antenna affecting the stability of the local frequency source. The examiner respectfully disagrees, Leclercq covers this limitation [Leclercq, 0015].
Conclusion
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648