DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing filed on November 10, 2023 Claims 1-20 have been examined in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 12/15/2023 have been acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 20 is dependent on claims 14. For the purpose of this office action, claim 20 is assumed to be dependent on Claim 15. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-11, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Faragher et al (US 2019/0011569 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Faragher discloses a method for determining a frequency related parameter of a local frequency source within a receiver, comprising [0026]:
receiving, at an antenna of the receiver, a plurality of signals from a plurality of remote sources [0025 for receivers with antennas to receiver with antennas];
generating motion compensated correlation results using a determined motion of the antenna of the receiver, the received plurality of signals [0024, 0031, 0033],
and a local signal derived from the local frequency source [0026 for a local oscillator];
using predictive control to predict the frequency related parameter of the local frequency source [0026 for predicting phase];
phase compensating the motion compensated correlation results to produce phase compensated correlation results using a plurality of phasor sequences that are based on the predicted frequency related parameter of the local frequency source [0032, 0034];
and jointly analysing the phase compensated correlation results associated with the plurality of remote sources to determine a frequency model for the local frequency source [0025-0026 and 0080].
Regarding Claim 8, Faragher discloses an apparatus for determining a frequency related parameter of a frequency source within a receiver, comprising [0025-0026]:
at least one processor and at least one memory for storing programs and instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, configures the apparatus to [0028 for server and software]:
receive, at an antenna of the receiver, a plurality of signals from a plurality of remote sources [0025 for receivers with antennas to receiver with antennas];
generate motion compensated correlation results using a determined motion of the antenna of the receiver [0024, 0031, 0033],
the received plurality of signals, and a local signal derived from the local frequency source [0026 for a local oscillator];
use predictive control to predict the frequency related parameter of the local frequency source [0026 for predicting phase];
phase compensate the motion compensated correlation results to produce phase compensated correlation results using a plurality of phasor sequences that are based on the predicted frequency related parameter of the local frequency source [0032, 0034];
and jointly analyze the phase compensated correlation results associated with the plurality of remote sources to determine a frequency model for the local frequency source [0025-0026 and 0080].
Regarding Claim 15, Faragher discloses a system for determining a frequency related parameter of a frequency source within a receiver, comprising [0025-0026]:
a receiver including an antenna and a local frequency source [0025 for receivers with antennas to receiver with antennas];
at plurality of remote sources of a plurality of signals, the plurality of signals including at least one reference frequency signal [0030, 0037];
an apparatus including at least one processor and at least one memory for storing programs and instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, configures the apparatus to [0025]:
receive, at the antenna of the receiver, a plurality of signals from the plurality of remote sources 0025, and 0234];
generate motion compensated correlation results using a determined motion of the antenna of the receiver, the received plurality of signals [0024, 0031, 0033],
and a local signal derived from the local frequency source [0026 for a local oscillator];
use predictive control to predict the frequency related parameter of the local frequency source [0026 for predicting phase];
phase compensate the motion compensated correlation results to produce phase compensated correlation results using a plurality of phasor sequences that are based on the predicted frequency related parameter of the local frequency source [0032, 0034];
and jointly analyze the phase compensated correlation results associated with the plurality of remote sources to determine a frequency offset of the local frequency source [0025-0026 and 0080].
Regarding Claim 2, Faragher discloses adjusting a frequency of the local frequency source based on at least one of the predicted frequency related parameter or the determined frequency model [0027 for predicting phase (frequency related parameter) for local oscillator].
Regarding Claim 3, 10, and 17, Faragher discloses at least one of the plurality of remote sources comprises a reference frequency and the frequency of the local frequency source is adjusted to coincide with the reference frequency [0080-0081].
Regarding Claim 4, 11, and 18, Faragher discloses predictive control comprises monitoring at least one of an environmental parameter of an environment in which the receiver is operating or an operating parameter of the receiver [0038 for using sensors (monitoring) receivers environment (barometric and geomagnetic bearings)].
Regarding Claim 7 and 14, Faragher discloses the frequency model comprises a frequency offset between a frequency of the local frequency source and a reference frequency of at least one of the signals from the plurality of the remote sources [0026-0027].
Regarding Claim 9 and 16, Faragher discloses the apparatus is further configured to: adjust a frequency of the local frequency source based on at least one of the predicted frequency related parameter or the determined frequency offset [0112-0113].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6, 12-13, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faragher et al (US 2019/0011569 A1) in view of He (US 2013/0321048 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, 12, and 19, Faragher discloses the environmental parameter comprises [0038 for using sensors (monitoring) receiver’s environment (barometric and geomagnetic bearings)].
Faragher fails to explicitly teach at least one of a temperature of the environment in which the receiver is operating or a rate of change of the temperature of the environment in which the receiver is operating, and the operating parameter comprises a turning on or off of a component associated with the receiver.
He has a communication system comprises a crystal oscillator configured to output a reference clock (abstract) and teaches at least one of a temperature of the environment in which the receiver is operating or a rate of change of the temperature of the environment in which the receiver is operating, and the operating parameter comprises a turning on or off of a component associated with the receiver [0161-0164 for using temperature compensating algorithms].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the frequency oscillating techniques, as disclosed by Faragher, further including the temperature calculations as taught by He for calculating frequency errors due to temperature drift during operation of the GPS module [He, 0162].
Regarding Claim 6, 13, and 20, Faragher teaches using a machine learning model [0177, 0208]. However, Faragher fails to explicitly teach a frequency error related to the predicted frequency related parameter is determined using at least one of a machine learning model trained to determine a frequency error based on a change in at least one monitored parameter affecting the frequency of the local frequency source or a stored look up table that associates a frequency error with a change in at least one monitored parameter affecting the frequency of the local frequency source.
He has a communication system comprises a crystal oscillator configured to output a reference clock (abstract) and teaches a frequency error related to the predicted frequency related parameter is determined using at least one of a machine learning model trained to determine a frequency error based on a change in at least one monitored parameter affecting the frequency of the local frequency source or a stored look up table that associates a frequency error with a change in at least one monitored parameter affecting the frequency of the local frequency source [0140-0142 for using learning algorithm with temperature compensation and frequency].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the frequency oscillating techniques, as disclosed by Faragher, further including the temperature calculations as taught by He for calibrating the crystal resonator's frequency deviation versus temperature characteristic [He, 0142].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sastrawan et al (US 2016/0013795 A1) has a method for controlling an oscillator based on a measurement of a frequency reference.
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648