DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shavrnoch et al. (US 2014/0090921).
With respect to claim 1, Shavrnoch et al. discloses a power assisted steering device (paragraph 23), comprising: a rack bar (32) having an outer circumferential screw groove (44) formed on an outer circumferential surface of the rack bar (32); a ball nut (66) having an inner circumferential screw groove formed on an inner circumferential surface of the ball nut (66) to be rotatably coupled to the rack bar (32) via balls (paragraphs 324-25), and at least one nut fastening portion (78) recessed (figs. 5, 7) from an outer circumferential surface of the ball nut (66); and a nut pulley (62) coupled to the outer circumferential surface of the ball nut (66), the nut pulley (62) having at least one pulley fastening portion (90) protruding (fig. 6) from an inner circumferential surface (88) of the nut pulley (62) to be coupled to the nut fastening portion (78) of the ball nut (66). (Figs. 1-9, paragraphs 20-32.)
With respect to claim 2, Shavrnoch et al. discloses the ball nut (66) has a large diameter portion (shown in fig. 5) having an increased diameter outwardly from the outer circumferential surface of the ball nut (66) in a radial direction, and the nut fastening portion (78) of the ball nut (66) coupled to the pulley fastening portion (90) of the nut pulley (62) is provided on the large diameter portion of the ball nut (66). (Figs. 1-9, paragraphs 20-32.)
With respect to claim 3, Shavrnoch et al. discloses an outer circumferential surface of the large diameter portion of the ball nut (66) is in contact (figs. 7-8) with the inner circumferential surface (88) of the nut pulley (62). (Figs. 1-9, paragraphs 20-32.)
With respect to claim 4, Shavrnoch et al. discloses the large diameter portion of the ball nut (66) is formed to annularly protrude (fig. 8) from the outer circumferential surface of the ball nut (66). (Figs. 1-9, paragraphs 20-32.)
With respect to claim 5, Shavrnoch et al. discloses the nut fastening portion (78) of the ball nut (66) has a cut shape (figs. 5, 7) on an outer circumferential surface of the large diameter portion of the ball nut (66). (Figs. 1-9, paragraphs 20-32.)
With respect to claim 6, Shavrnoch et al. discloses the pulley fastening portion (90) of the nut pulley (62) is coupled in contact (fig. 7) with a cut-shaped inner circumferential surface of the nut fastening portion (78) of the ball nut (66). (Figs. 1-9, paragraphs 20-32.)
With respect to claim 18, Shavrnoch et al. discloses a power assisted steering device (paragraph 23), comprising: a ball nut (66) rotatably coupled to a rack bar (32) via balls (paragraph 25), the ball nut (66) having a large diameter portion (shown in fig. 5) having an increased diameter outwardly in a radial direction from an outer circumferential surface of the ball nut (66), and a nut fastening portion (78) having a recess (figs. 5, 7) formed on the large diameter portion (fig. 5); and a nut pulley (62) coupled to the ball nut (66), having a pulley fastening portion (90) having a protrusion (fig. 6) coupled to the nut fastening portion (78) and formed on an inner circumferential surface of the nut pulley (62), and formed of one or more materials selected from a group consisting of poly acetal (POM), poly amide (PA), poly carbonate (PC), poly imide (PI), polybutylene terephthalate (PBT), polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), and phenol formaldehyde (PF) (paragraph 29 describing polyamide as a material). (Figs. 1-9, paragraphs 20-32.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shavrnoch et al. in view of Rupp et al. (US 8,997,597).
With respect to claims 7-8, Shavrnoch et al. is silent regarding a circumferential recess. Rupp et al. teaches of the nut pulley (8) has a circumferential recess (27) formed on an inner circumferential surface of the nut pulley, and the pulley fastening portion (26’) of the nut pulley protrudes inward in the circumferential recess (27) formed on the inner circumferential surface (figs. 2-3) of the nut pulley; the
circumferential recess (27) formed on the inner circumferential surface of the nut pulley is extended in opposite circumferential directions (figs. 2-3) from the pulley fastening portion of the nut pulley (8). (Figs. 1-3, col. 3, lines 51-67, col. 4, lines 1-62.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the circumferential groove as described in Rupp et al. into the invention of Shavrnoch et al. with a reasonable expectation of success in order to create a positively detachable, non-rotatable connection between the belt pulley and nut. (Col. 4, lines 55-59.) By forming the circumferential recess of Rupp et al. into Shavrnoch et al.; Shavrnoch et al. discloses the circumferential recess (27 in Rupp et al.) formed on an inner circumferential surface of the nut pulley at a position facing the nut fastening portion (78) of the ball nut (66). (Figs. 1-9, paragraphs 20-32.)
With respect to claim 11, Shavrnoch et al. discloses the at least one pulley fastening portion (90) of the nut pulley comprises a pair (fig. 6) of pulley fastening portions (90) spaced apart from each other and arranged in parallel (fig. 6) to each other in an axis direction. (Figs. 1-9, paragraphs 20-32.)
Claims 9-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shavrnoch et al. and Rupp et al., as applied to claims 1-2 and 4-8 above, and further in view of Span et al. (WO 2015/071057 A1; Machine Translation of Description ‘MTD’).
With respect to claims 9-10, Shavrnoch et al., as modified, is silent regarding a stopping protrusion and inclined surface. Span et al. teaches of wherein the pulley fastening portion (52, 54) of the nut pulley has a stopping protrusion (52, 54; figs. 3-4, 6) protruding circumferentially at an inner end of the pulley fastening portion (52, 54) of the nut pulley and supported by an inner end of the nut fastening portion of the ball nut; wherein a circumferential outer surface of the stopping protrusion (52, 54; figs. 3-4, 6) of the pulley fastening portion of the nut pulley includes an inclined surface (figs. 3-4, 6). (Figs. 1-6, MTD paragraphs 19-38.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the stopping protrusion and inclined surface as described in Span et al. into the invention of Shavrnoch et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to axially fix elements in a power steering system. (MTD paragraph 31.)
With respect to claim 12, Shavrnoch et al., as modified, is silent regarding a stopping protrusion. Span et al. teaches of each of the pair of pulley fastening portions of the nut pulley has a stopping protrusion (52, 54; figs. 3-4, 6) protruding circumferentially at an inner end of each of the pair of pulley fastening portions and supported by an inner end of the at least one nut fastening portion of the ball nut. (Figs. 1-6, MTD paragraphs 19-38.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the stopping protrusion and inclined surface as described in Span et al. into the invention of Shavrnoch et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to axially fix elements in a power steering system. (MTD paragraph 31.)
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shavrnoch et al. and Rupp et al., as applied to claims 1-2 and 4-8 above, and further in view of Kitamura et al. (US 2017/0174253).
With respect to claims 15-17, Shavrnoch et al., as modified, disclose a ball guide (68) in the middle portion of the ball nut (66) but is silent regarding circulation holes and ball circulation tube. Kitamura et al. teaches of wherein a protruding end portion (area where 24c is located; fig. 8) having an increased diameter outwardly in the radial direction (figs. 8-9) is provided on the outer circumferential surface of the ball nut (20), and an annular seating groove (24c) on which a spherical rotating member (24d) is rotatably disposed is formed on an outer circumferential surface of the protruding end portion (fig. 7) of the ball nut (20); wherein a supporting ring (24a) is coupled to the protruding end portion (fig. 7) of the ball nut (20) to support rotation of the ball nut (20), and the supporting ring (24a) has an annular supporting groove (fig. 7) on which the spherical rotating member (24d) is rotatably disposed (fig. 7) (paragraphs 40-46), the annular supporting groove (fig. 7) formed on an inner circumferential surface (fig. 7) of the supporting ring (24a); wherein the ball nut (20) has a pair of ball circulation holes (20e, 20f) passing through an outer circumferential surface and inner circumferential surface (figs. 10-11) of the ball nut (20) and positioned in the middle portion of the ball nut, and a ball circulation tube (23) disposed between (23f portion of 23 extends beyond the screw groove (21) seen in figs. 11, 15-16, 22A-B to an area between the grooves 21 and 11) the outer circumferential screw groove (11) of the rack bar and the inner circumferential screw groove (21) of the ball nut is coupled to the ball circulation holes (20e, 20f) to circulate the balls. (Figs. 7-22B, paragraphs 39-99.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the ball nut structure as described in Kitamura et al. into the invention of Shavrnoch et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow the balls to smoothly travel in a connection member for circulating the balls. (Paragraph 5.) By placing the pair of ball circulation holes in the middle area of Shavrnoch et al., as modified; Shavrnoch et al., as modified, discloses pair of ball circulation holes (20e, 20f from Kitamura et al.) is positioned between the large diameter portion (shown in fig. 5) and the protruding end portion of the ball nut (66) in the area of the ball guide (68). (Figs. 4-5.)
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shavrnoch et al. in view of Kim (KR 20-2020-0006855 A; Machine Translation of Description ‘MTD’).
With respect to claim 19, Shavrnoch et al. is silent regarding glass fibers. Kim teaches of the nut pulley (131) has glass fibers (MTD page 6 describing the nut pulley having glass fibers). (Figs. 1-18, abstract pages 1-2, MTD pages 3-10.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in Kim into the invention of Shavrnoch et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to absorbs a significant portion of the load applied from the outside to improve the reinforcing efficiency. (MTD page 7.) Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the nut pulley have glass fibers, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shavrnoch et al. in view of Rupp et al. (US 8,997,597).
With respect to claim 20, Shavrnoch et al. is silent regarding carbon fibers. Rupp et al. teaches of the nut pulley (8) has carbon fibers (col. 2, lines 19-46). (Figs. 1-3, col. 2, col. 3, lines 51-67, col. 3, lines 1-62.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in Kim into the invention of Shavrnoch et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to absorbs a significant portion of the load applied from the outside to reduce operating noise. (Col. 1, lines 47-67.) Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the nut pulley have carbon fibers, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 13 includes the limitations of each of the pair of pulley fastening portions includes: a first fastening portion (213a, 213a-1) extending in the axis direction from a first end portion of the nut pulley and having a constant thickness (fig. 5); and a second fastening portion (213b, 213b-1) extended from the first fastening portion and having a smaller thickness than the first fastening portion (fig. 5). The closest prior art, Span et al. (WO 2015/071057 A1), does not disclose the thickness details of the first and second fastening portion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited on the PTO-892 form disclose similar features of the claimed invention.
/JAMES A ENGLISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614