Claims 1-11 have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/16/24 is being considered by the examiner.
Examiner’s Comment
Claim 10 recites “computer-readable recording medium,” which implies non-transitory nature of the structure to store data. However, Applicant is encouraged to positively recite “non-transitory computer-readable recording medium” to affirm 35 U.S.C. 101 requirement with respect to non-transitory media.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “communication unit” and “processor” in claim 11. Support for the communication unit can be found in paragraphs [0035]-[0036] and [0050]-[0055] of the Specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 9, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sivanthanu U.S. 2022/0318052 in view of Ni U.S. 2023/0109368 (hereinafter Ni).
As per claim 1, 10 and 11, Sivanthanu discloses a cloud management method/computer readable recording medium/system comprising:
a communication unit configured to collect data for allocating GPU resources in a large-scale container operating environment (Sivanthanu: [0028]: monitor workloads that are currently running and hardware capacity that is currently available anywhere around the world in the cloud for scheduling GPU services); and
a processor configured to: generate a multi-metric based on the collected data, to set a scheduling priority for the generated pod (Sivathanu: [0028]: scale up a job, i.e. create new pod by monitoring GPU utilization/collected data); and
to perform a scheduling operation for allocating GPU resources according to the set scheduling priority (Sivanthanu: [0028]-[0029]: scheduler allocates resources based on utilization…scheduling priority; [0066]: new workload may be associated with a higher priority or tier than the current workload).
Sivanthanu discloses scale up or down a job based by monitoring/tracking workload, including pods (Sivanthanu: [0028]: monitor workloads to scale up or down a job; [0058]: preparing schedules corresponding to workloads include jobs, model, and/or pods). Sivanthanu does not explicitly disclose generating new pod based on the multi-metric. However, Ni discloses autoscale number of pods based on GPU metric (Ni: [0034]-[0035]: autoscale number of pods based on GPU metrics). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to generate new pods based on GPU metrics in the process of scaling up AI workload because generating new pods is well known in the art for Kubernetes systems.
As per claim 2, Sivanthanu as modified discloses the cloud management method of claim 1. Sivanthanu further discloses wherein the step of setting the scheduling priority comprises, when a new pod is generated, setting a scheduling priority for the generated pod by reflecting a priority set by a user and a number of times of trying rescheduling (Sivathanu: [0028]: scale up a job, i.e. generate new pod; [0033]: establish priority; [0110]-[0112]: priority-based scheduling depends on pass value, i.e. how many rounds or number of times of rescheduling).
As per claim 9, Sivanthanu as modified discloses the cloud management method of claim 1. Sivanthanu as modified further discloses wherein the step of collecting data comprises collecting GPU resources comprising GPU utilization, GPU memory, GPU clock, GPU architecture, GPU core, GPU power, GPUtemperature, GPU process resource, GPU NVlink pair, GPU return, and GPU assignment (Sivathanu: [0028]: scheduler monitors utilization of GPU utilization to collect data; [0066]: scale up or down based on resource utilization; Ni: [0034]-[0035]).
Claims 3-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sivanthanu in view of Ni and further in view of Zhang et al. U.S. 2022/0291956 (hereinafter Zhang).
As per claim 3, Sivanthanu as modified discloses the cloud management method of claim 1. Sivanthanu does not explicitly disclose wherein the step of performing the scheduling operation comprises, when performing the scheduling operation, performing a node filtering operation, a GPU filtering operation, a node scoring operation, and a GPU scoring operation. However, Zhang discloses filtering and scoring nodes and GPUs according to requests (Zhang: [0022]-[0029]; [0048]: multiple tasks may share the GPUs based on utilization of GPU resources in the distributed container cluster). It would have been obvious one having ordinary skill in the art to filter node and score GPUs to ensure the load balance of nodes in the cluster, enhance the utilization of GPU resources in the distributed container cluster, better meet the scheduling requirements, and allow containers to complete tasks faster.
As per claim 4, Sivanthanu as modified discloses the cloud management method of claim 3. Sivanthanu as modified further discloses wherein the step of performing the scheduling operation comprises, when performing the GPU filtering operation and the GPU scoring operation, reflecting a number of GPU requests set by a user and a requested GPU memory capacity (Zhang: [0022]-[0029]; [0048]). Same rationale applies here as above in rejecting claim 3.
As per claim 5, Sivanthanu as modified discloses the cloud management method of claim 4. Sivanthanu as modified further discloses wherein the step of performing the scheduling operation comprises: determining whether the number of GPU requests set by the user is physically satisfiable; when it is determined that the number of GPU requests is physically satisfiable, performing a GPU filtering operation and a GPU scoring operation with respect to an available GPU; and allocating GPU resources based on a result of the GPU filtering operation and the GPU scoring operation (Zhang: [0022]-[0029]: select optimal nodes based on GPU scores; [0048]: scheduling containers to the most adaptive node based on the metric state, free memory and allocation of graphics cards at the node). Same rationale applies here as above in rejecting claim 3.
As per claim 8, Sivanthanu as modified discloses the cloud management method of claim 5. Sivanthanu further discloses wherein the step of performing the scheduling operation comprises, when it is determined that the number of GPU requests is physically unsatisfiable, identifying a pre-set user policy, and, when multi-node allocation is allowed, allocating a GPU over multiple nodes to satisfy the number of GPU requests (Sivathanu: [0099]-[0101]; [0114]: GPUs are allocated across multiple servers for a large job).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sivanthanu in view of Ni and further in view of Zhang and further in view of Garg et al. U.S. 2021/0011773 (hereinafter Garg).
As per claim 6, Sivanthanu as modified discloses the cloud management method of claim 5. Sivanthanu does not explicitly disclose wherein the step of performing the scheduling operation comprises, when it is determined that a total number of GPU requests set for a plurality of pods, respectively, is physically unsatisfiable, identifying a partitionable GPU memory, partitioning one GPU memory into a plurality of GPU memories, and allocating the plurality of partitioned GPU memories to a plurality of pods to allow the plurality of pods to share one physical GPU device. However, Garg teaches or at least suggests the limitations (Garg: [0015]: partitioning GPU memory to support vGPU profiles associated with different workloads/vms). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art partition GPU memories for multiple instances to fully utilize capacity of GPUs as well known in the scheduling process.
As per claim 7, Sivanthanu as modified discloses the cloud management method of claim 5. Sivanthanu as modified further discloses wherein the step of performing the scheduling operation comprises, when it is determined that the number of GPU requests is physically unsatisfiable, identifying a partitionable GPU memory, partitioning one GPU memory into a plurality of GPU memories, and allocating a part or all of the plurality of partitioned GPU memories to the pod (Garg: [0015]: partition GPU memory to support vGPU profiles associated with different workloads/vms). Same rationale applies here as above in rejecting claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al. U.S. 2023/0266999 discloses a Kubernetes scheduling system that schedules pods by filtering, sorting and scoring nodes based on optimization algorithms.
Morano U.S. 2025/0267192 discloses mounting persistent data volumes in multiple bundle applications.
Srikanta et al. U.S. 11,989,586 discloses scaling up computing resource allocations for execution of containerized applications.
Zhang U.S. 2024/0095082 discloses method for multiple services to share same GPU.
Duluk et al. U.S. 2023/0288471 discloses virtualizing hardware processing resources in a processor.
Cho et. al. U.S. 2023/0089925 discloses assigning jobs to heterogeneous GPUs.
Baillargeon U.S. 2023/0072358 discloses tenant resource optimization in clouds.
Hu et al. U.S. 2023/0037293 discloses method of hybrid centralized distributive scheduling on shared physical hosts.
Xu et al. U.S. 2022/0276899 discloses resource scheduling based on GPU topology relationship of a cluster.
Frey et al. U.S. 11,310,342 discloses method for optimizing a software allocation to shared resources based on a dynamic mapping of resource relationships.
Sivaraman et al. U.S. 2021/0216375 discloses workload placement for virtual GPU enabled systems.
Bahramshahry et al. U.S. 2020/0026579 discloses method for implementing a scheduler and workload manager that identifies and consumes global virtual resources.
O’Neal et al. U.S. 2019/0317821 discloses demand-based utilization of cloud computing resources.
/SHIN-HON (ERIC) CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431