Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/13/2026.
The examiner further withdraw claims 5-8 from further consideration since the subject matter of “the wick comprises a cylinder having an outer diameter substantially equal to an outer diameter of the tubular body” does not direct to the elected species A shown in figures 2A-2D. The claimed subject matter of claims 5-8 direct to non-elected species C, shown in figure 3B.
The examiner further withdraw claim 2 from further consideration since the subject matter of “the wick comprising a glass cylinder comprises features etched into an interior surface of the glass cylinder” does not direct to the elected species A shown in figure 2A-2D. The claimed subject matter of claim 2 directs to species B shown in figure 3A, wherein the inner surface of the hydrophilic glass tubular body 302 maybe etched to a surface roughness of 20 to 80 microns. (paragraph 71)
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: the reference number “310” is described in paragraph 72 but not shown in the figure. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation of “a ratio of space between a top surface of the wick and an inner top surface of the tubular body is in a range 2:1 to 3:1” renders the scope of the claim indefinite. It appears that the numerator of the ratio is a space between a top surface of the wick and an inner top surface body, but it is not clear what the denominator of the ratio is. Therefore, it is not clear what claimed ratio 2:1 to 3:1 is a relationship between a space between a top surface of the wick and an inner top surface of the tubular body to what distance or what space. Applicant indicates in figure 2C, the reference number 214 is a space between a top surface of the wick and an inner top of the surface body, but it is not clear what the applicant is comparing this space to what reference distance by claiming the ratio 2:1 to 3:1.
Claim 4 is further rejected as can be best understood in which there is a space between a top surface of the wick and an inner top surface of the tubular body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fehiner et al. (US 4,067,315). Regarding claim 1, Fehiner discloses (figures 5-7 and column 4, line 67) a heat pipe comprising a tubular body (ENV) comprising one of glass; a wick (W) bonded to an inner surface of the tubular body; and a working fluid within the tubular body (column 5, lines 17-18). Regarding claim 4, Fehiner further discloses a space (V) between a top surface of the wick (W) and an inner top surface of the tubular body. (ENV).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng Jen-Chin (US 20200326133A1) in view of Thayer et al. (US 20200208920A1) . Cheng discloses (figures 7, 11-13 and 15) a heat pipe comprising a tubular body (100 or 1100 or 1500), a wick (155, 1155 or 1451) bonded to an inner surface of the tubular body; and a working fluid within the tubular body (paragraph 65). Regarding claim 1, Cheng does not disclose that the tubular body comprises one of glass or polymer. However, Cheng discloses (paragraph 48) that those of ordinary skill in the art can readily appreciated in some other embodiment, conductive material other than copper can be used depending on application and design requirement. Thayer discloses (figure 2 and paragraph 35) a heat pipe (10) that has a tubular body (26) formed from metal or non-metals such as polymers for a purpose of obtaining a heat pipe with a desired application or design. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Thayers’ teaching in Cheng Jen-Chin’s heat pipe for a purpose of obtaining a heat pipe with a desired application or design. Regarding claim 3, Cheng-Jen Chin further discloses (figure 10a-10e and paragraph 50) that the wick (1001) comprises a polymer cylinder comprises pores defined within polymer cylinder. Regarding claim 4, Chen-Jen Chin further discloses (figures 11 and 15) a space (101 or 1430) between a top surface of the wick and an inner top surface of the tubular body.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record either taken singularly or in combination fails to discloses that the wick comprises a glass cylinder comprising features etched into an interior surface of the glass cylinder.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Salim Shirazy et al. (US 20180320985A1) discloses a polymer based heat transfer device.
Hurbi et al. (US 20170343293A1) discloses a heat pipe.
Shen (US 20160069616A1) discloses a heat pipe with complex capillary structure.
Rosenfeld et al. (US 5,076,352) discloses a high permeability heat pipe wick structure.
McConnell et al. (US 4,474,170) discloses a glass heat pipe.
Kawai Chihiro (JP 2008122024A) discloses a glass heat pipe with wick.
.
/THO V DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763