DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
As per claim 1, the claim recites a device, therefore is a machine.
“… analyzing the collected resource information of each cluster”. These limitations, as drafted, are processes that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. Thus, the claim recites a mental process.
The limitation of “collect resource information of each cluster in a heterogeneous cluster environment” amounts to data gathering which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g); this limitation is also a mere generic transmission and presentation of collected and analyzed data which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)). The elements of “a communication unit . . . a processor” are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to the abstract idea.
As discussed above, “collect resource information of each cluster in a heterogeneous cluster environment” amounts to data gathering which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g). “a communication unit . . . a processor” is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. “perform integrated interworking between orchestrations in each cluster ” is simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(d) and Berkheimer Memo. See Brown. The claim is ineligible.
As per claim 2, see rejection on claim 1. “ . . . select a scheduling candidate group based on the score table”. These limitations, as drafted, are processes that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. Thus, the claim recites a mental process.
“generate a watching level for auto scaling and a score table for scheduling, based on the collected resource information of each cluster . . . perform auto-scaling according to a watching level of each cluster . . . perform load balancing between operating environments with respect to a service that requires resource scaling . . . perform resource scheduling” is simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(d) and Berkheimer Memo. See Brown/Jiang. The claim is ineligible.
As per claim 3, see rejection on claim 2. “wherein the analytic engine is configured to generate the score table for scheduling by performing a filtering operation and a scoring operation based on the resource information of each cluster“ is simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(d) and Berkheimer Memo. See Brown/Jiang. The claim is ineligible.
As per claim 5, see rejection on claim 2. “ wherein the hybrid autoscaling controller is configured to perform vertical scaling (VPA) or horizontal scaling (HPA) with respect to a cluster in which a service requiring resource scaling is driven according to a watching level of each cluster” is simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(d) and Berkheimer Memo. See Wu. The claim is ineligible.
As per claim 7, see rejection on claim 2. “wherein the processor further comprises a policy manager configured to set a resource policy for each cluster” is simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(d) and Berkheimer Memo. See Verma. The claim is ineligible.
As per claim 9, see rejection on claim 7. “wherein the processor further comprises a policy manager configured to set a resource policy for each cluster” is simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(d) and Berkheimer Memo. See Brown/Jiang. The claim is ineligible.
As per claim 10, see rejection on claim 1.
As per claim 11, see rejection on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brown et al (US 2011/0225298) (hereinafter Brown).
As per claim 1, Brown teaches:
A hybrid cloud management device comprising:
a communication unit configured to collect resource information of each cluster in a heterogeneous cluster environment (Brown, Abstract—under BRI, collecting resource information can be getting a processing load metric for each server); and
a processor configured to perform integrated interworking between orchestrations in each cluster by analyzing the collected resource information of each cluster (Brown, Abstract—under BRI, analyzing the collected resource information can be analyzing to generate respective load balancing score for each server).
As per claim 10, see rejection on claim 1.
As per claim 11, see rejection on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown in view of Jiang (US 2019/0319933) (hereinafter Jiang) .
As per claim 2, Brown teaches:
The hybrid cloud management device of claim 1 (see rejection on claim 1),wherein the processor comprises:
an analytic engine configured to generate a score table for scheduling based on the collected resource information of each cluster (Brown, Abstract—under BRI, a score table for scheduling can be the load balancing scores);
a load balancer configured to perform load balancing between operating environments with respect to a service that requires resource scaling (Brown, Fig 2 54—under BRI, a service that requires resource scaling can be a job that needs a resource for processing); and
a scheduler configured to select a scheduling candidate group based on the score table, and to perform resource scheduling (Brown, Fig 2 54, 55).
Brown does not expressly teach:
wherein the an analytic engine configured to generate a watching level for auto scaling;
a hybrid autoscaling controller configured to perform auto-scaling according to a watching level of each cluster;
However, Jiang discloses:
wherein the an analytic engine configured to generate a watching level for auto scaling (Jiang, [0055]--under BRI, generating a watching level for auto scaling can be generating a threshold for making a determination that one of these nodes is overloaded);
a hybrid autoscaling controller configured to perform auto-scaling according to a watching level of each cluster (Jiang, [0055]);
Both Jiang and Brown pertain to the art of scheduling.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Jiang’s method to scale resources because it is well-known in the art that scaling resources, particularly with the advent of AI and high-density, modular architectures, provides significant benefits in efficiency, cost reduction, and performance.
As per claim 3, Brown/Jiang teaches:
The hybrid cloud management device of claim 2 (see rejection on claim 2), wherein the analytic engine is configured to generate the score table for scheduling by performing a filtering operation and a scoring operation based on the resource information of each cluster (Brown, Abstract).
As per claim 9, Brown/Jiang teaches:
The hybrid cloud management device of claim 7 (see rejection on claim 7), wherein the processor is configured to determine, when an overload occurs in a specific node, a cluster having a highest priority, based on a pre-set resource policy for each cluster, and to perform node resource scaling (Jiang, [0061]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown/Jiang as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Wu et al (US 2025/0181412) (hereinafter Wu).
As per claim 5, Brown/Jiang teaches:
The hybrid cloud management device of claim 2 (see rejection on claim 2), wherein the hybrid autoscaling controller is configured to perform scaling with respect to a cluster in which a service requiring resource scaling is driven according to a watching level of each cluster (Jiang, [0055]).
Brown/Jiang does not expressly teach:
wherein the scaling is vertical scaling (VPA) or horizontal scaling (HPA);
However, Wu discloses:
wherein the scaling is vertical scaling (VPA) or horizontal scaling (HPA) (Wu, [0056]);
Both Wu and Brown/Jiang pertain to the art of scheduling.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Wu’s method to vertical scale because it is well-known in the art that Vertical Pod Autoscaler (VPA) in Kubernetes maximizes cluster efficiency and reduces costs by automatically resizing pod CPU and memory requests based on real-time usage, eliminating manual, inaccurate guessing.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown/Jiang as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Verma et al (US 2020/0241910) (hereinafter Verma).
As per claim 7, Brown/Jiang teaches:
The hybrid cloud management device of claim 2 (see rejection on claim 2).
Brown/Jiang does not expressly teach:
wherein the processor further comprises a policy manager configured to set a resource policy for each cluster.
However, Verma discloses:
wherein the processor further comprises a policy manager configured to set a resource policy for each cluster (Verma, [0032])
Both Verma and Brown/Jiang pertain to the art of scheduling.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Verma’s method to set resource policy because it is well-known in the art clusters having different policies can provide services at different level. Multi-service level data centers provide significant benefits, including lower total cost of ownership (TCO), improved reliability via redundant, multi-location setups, and scalable, flexible infrastructure
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2012/0324469 teaches a method of allocating resources ensuring service level is met.
/CHARLIE SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2198