Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed 6/30/2026 in the reply filed is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The following terms recited in claim 1 and the dependent claims are relative terms which render the claims indefinite “rapid” in “rapid renal clearance,” “uniform,” “uniformly,” “weakly” in “weakly polar solvent,” are relative terms that render the claim indefinite. The terms are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Further regarding claim 1, as what constitutes “rapid” verses “not rapid” is not clear in the application, it is also unclear what is encompassed by the claimed “achieving the rapid renal clearance,” and what needs to be “achieved” to produce “rapid renal clearance” within the boundaries of the claims. Further regarding the dependent claims, it’s unclear how “one or a combination of more than two of” limits the claim, and how this is different than simply reciting “one or more than two of.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (Ultrasmall Near-Infrared Fluorescent Quantum Dots for In Vivo Imaging, Journal of Nanomedicine & Nanotechnolgoy, Vol 14, pages 245-252, 2022) in view of Wagner (Quantum Dots in Biomedical Applications, Acta Biomater. 2019 August ; 94: 44–63. doi:10.1016/j.actbio.2019.05.022). Gao teaches the synthesis of ultrasmall near-infrared (NIR) meting quantum dots optimized to have hydrodynamic diameters under 5.5. nm which permits rapid renal filtration and clearance from the body (Results and Discussion ). Gao further teaches a method where a hydrophobic core quantum dot precursor (corresponding to applicant’s probe) uniformly dissolved and heated in a weakly polar solvent, such as a mixture of octadecene and olyamine (Results and discussion; Experimental section). Solvothermal treatment sizes down and uniformizes the quantum dots to an average core size of 3.8 (less than 5 nm) (Results and discussion; Experimental Section)). Gao further teaches a phase transfer process using a ligand exchange reaction wherein in one embodiment the ligand exchange uses a phase-transfer catalyst at 50 degrees C for 120 minutes to exchange native hydrophobic chains with hydrophilic thiol-terminated molecules (Results ad discussion; Experimental Section). This is a preparation method of a near-infrared fluorescent quantum dot for achieving a rapid renal clearance, comprising: carrying out a solvothermal reaction on a first uniformly mixed reaction system comprising a first probe of the near-infrared fluorescent quantum dot and a weakly polar solvent to prepare a second probe of the near-infrared fluorescent quantum dot with a particle size of less than 5 nm and uniform size; and carrying out a ligand exchange reaction on a second uniformly mixed reaction system comprising the second probe of the near-infrared fluorescent quantum dot and a hydrophilic ligand to obtain the near-infrared fluorescent quantum dot for achieving the rapid renal clearance. Gao teaches performing the solvothermal reaction inside an autoclave at 180 degrees C for 4 hours, which anticipates the presently claimed 0-300 degrees C and 0.5-24 h (Results and Discussion). The reaction solution of Gao provides for a radio of 2.5:100, which anticipates the present range of 1-10: and 10:-1000 (Results and Discusion).
Gao fails to teach a temperature and time range of 0-100°C for 1-6000 minutes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as filed to optimize the reaction time and temperature of Gao with the motivation to improve renal clearance, and in this way, and the artisan would find the present values through routine laboratory experimentation. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’ In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)” MPEP § 2144.05, II.
Conclusion
/PAUL W DICKINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618
September 15, 2026