DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 13 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/26/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12, in the reply is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “inner eccentric relief is formed with an inner eccentric relief angle, beta, … and wherein the outer eccentric relief is formed with an outer eccentric relief angle, beta” (claims 2 and 8) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the inner eccentric relief is formed with an inner eccentric relief angle, beta, of less than about 5 degrees, and wherein the outer eccentric relief is formed with an outer eccentric relief angle, beta, of between about 5 degrees and about 15 degrees”. However, these angles are not shown in the drawings and it is unclear what the angle is in relation to (such as a plane, axis, etc.). The scope is thus unclear.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the inner eccentric relief is formed with an inner eccentric relief angle, beta, of less than about 5 degrees, and wherein the outer eccentric relief is formed with an outer eccentric relief angle, beta, of between about 5 degrees and about 15 degrees”. However, these angles are not shown in the drawings and it is unclear what the angle is in relation to (such as a plane, axis, etc.). The scope is thus unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Maushart (EP 2093003 A1, machine translation relied on).
Re Claim 1, as best understood, Maushart discloses rotary cutting tool 10, comprising:a shank portion 14; and a cutting portion 13 extending from the shank portion to a cutting tip, the cutting portion having a plurality of blades 17.1-17.4 separated by flutes 18, each of the blades including a relief surface 132/122 and a radial cutting edge 121.1-121.4 formed at an intersection between a respective flute and the relief surface, wherein the relief surface comprises an inner eccentric relief 132 immediately adjacent the radial cutting edge and an outer eccentric relief 122 immediately adjacent the inner eccentric relief (Fig. 2; para. 60-72).
Re Claim 2, Maushart discloses the inner eccentric relief is formed with an inner eccentric relief angle, beta, of less than about 5 degrees (alpha1 less than 10 degrees; para. 72), and wherein the outer eccentric relief is formed with an outer eccentric relief angle, beta, of between about 5 degrees and about 15 degrees (alpha2 less than 40 degrees; para. 72).
Re Claim 6, Maushart discloses the rotary cutting tool comprises a solid end mill (Fig. 1; para. 60-63).
Re Claim 7, Maushart discloses each blade forms a helix angle, HA, between about 25 degrees and about 50 degrees with respect to a central, longitudinal axis, A (Fig. 1; para. 60-63).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maushart in view of Koch (EP 2983852 B1, machine translation relied on).
Re Claims 3-4, Maushart discloses the inner eccentric relief is formed with a width, WI, and the outer eccentric relief is formed with a width, WO, (Fig. 2; para. 70-72) but does not disclose wherein the width, WO, of the outer eccentric relief is at least twice the width, WI, of the inner eccentric relief, the width, WO, of the outer eccentric relief is about four times the width, WI, of the inner eccentric relief. However, Koch teaches inner eccentric relief 31 is formed with a width, WI, and the outer eccentric relief 33 is formed with a width, WO, and wherein the width, WO, of the outer eccentric relief is at least twice the width, WI, of the inner eccentric relief, the width, WO, of the outer eccentric relief is about four times the width, WI, of the inner eccentric relief (page 10-11; Fig. 4). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the widths with these configurations, as taught by Koch, for the purpose of obtaining desired geometric setup of the drill for optimizing cutting profiles and also since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 5, 8, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maushart in view of Flynn (US 7,588,396).
Re Claim 5, Maushart does not disclose the inner eccentric relief is formed with a surface finish of less than 0.15 microns Ra. Maushart does disclose performing fine grinding surface treatment (para. 64) but does not specify specific values. However, Flynn teaches rotary cutting tool with a surface formed with a surface finish of less than 0.15 microns Ra (“a surface finish of about six microns or less”; col. 4, lines 12-14). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a surface finish in the range, as taught by Flynn, for the purpose of obtaining a smooth surface for the tool which can optimize drilling steps and obtain desired characteristics of a resulting machined surface and also since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Re Claim 8, as best understood, Maushart discloses a rotary cutting tool 10, comprising:a shank portion 14; and a cutting portion 13 extending from the shank portion to a cutting tip, the cutting portion having a plurality of blades 17.1-17.4 separated by flutes 18, each of the blades including a relief surface 132/122 and a radial cutting edge 121.1-121.4 formed at an intersection between a respective flute and the relief surface, wherein the relief surface comprises an inner eccentric relief 132 immediately adjacent the radial cutting edge and an outer eccentric relief 122 immediately adjacent the inner eccentric relief, wherein the inner eccentric relief is formed with an inner eccentric relief angle, beta, of less than about 5 degrees (alpha1 less than 10 degrees; para. 72), and wherein the outer eccentric relief is formed with an outer eccentric relief angle, beta, of between about 5 degrees and about 15 degrees (alpha2 less than 40 degrees; para. 72; Fig. 1-2), Maushart does not disclose the inner eccentric relief is formed with a surface finish of less than 0.15 microns Ra. Maushart does disclose performing fine grinding surface treatment (para. 64) but does not specify specific values. However, Flynn teaches rotary cutting tool with a surface formed with a surface finish of less than 0.15 microns Ra (“a surface finish of about six microns or less”; col. 4, lines 12-14). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a surface finish in the range, as taught by Flynn, for the purpose of obtaining a smooth surface for the tool which can optimize drilling steps and obtain desired characteristics of a resulting machined surface and also since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. wherein the inner eccentric relief is formed with a surface finish of less than 0.15 microns Ra (alpha2 less than 40 degrees; para. 72).
Re Claim 11, Maushart discloses the rotary cutting tool comprises a solid end mill (Fig. 1; para. 60-63).
Re Claim 12, Maushart discloses each blade forms a helix angle, HA, between about 25 degrees and about 50 degrees with respect to a central, longitudinal axis, A (Fig. 1; para. 60-63).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maushart in view of Flynn, in further view of Koch.
Re Claims 9-10, Maushart discloses the inner eccentric relief is formed with a width, WI, and the outer eccentric relief is formed with a width, WO, (Fig. 2; para. 70-72) but does not disclose wherein the width, WO, of the outer eccentric relief is at least twice the width, WI, of the inner eccentric relief, the width, WO, of the outer eccentric relief is about four times the width, WI, of the inner eccentric relief. However, Koch teaches inner eccentric relief 31 is formed with a width, WI, and the outer eccentric relief 33 is formed with a width, WO, and wherein the width, WO, of the outer eccentric relief is at least twice the width, WI, of the inner eccentric relief, the width, WO, of the outer eccentric relief is about four times the width, WI, of the inner eccentric relief (page 10-11; Fig. 4). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the widths with these configurations, as taught by Koch, for the purpose of obtaining desired geometric setup of the drill for optimizing cutting profiles and also since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
/Ryan J. Walters/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799