DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“contraction means…for contraction of a require of the tension element” in claim 11 [corresponding structure is cable winches, spindles or linear drives; see pg. 7 lines 1-4].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 1, there appears to be insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the first module”. It is noted that the claim previously recites a module but fails to disclose a first module. For examination purpose the limitation is being interpreted as referring to the module.
With regards to claim 11, the claim states “a tension element standing under tension and countering the force required for extrusion” this renders the claim indefinite since the limitation lacks any mechanical relationship between the tension element and the previously recited structure, i.e. the die, recipient, module, or electric motor. Specifically, it is unclear how the tension element interacts or is connected to any of the structure of the extrusion press to allow it counter the force required for extrusion. Clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto (US 2017/0297068).
In reference to claim 1, Yamamoto discloses an extrusion press (10) comprising
a die (20),
a recipient (3) that holds a material to be pressed,
a module (13) displaceable relative to the die (20) [see paragraph 0035 & 0037],
an electric motor drive (36) [see paragraph 0040] acting upon the module during extrusion of the material to be pressed with a force required for extrusion, and
a bearing unit having play perpendicular to the force and connecting the electric motor drive (36) to the module (7) [see paragraph 0037].
In reference to claim 4, wherein the electric motor comprises a linear actuator [see paragraph 0042; pulleys and wire act as a linear actuator by converting rotational motion from motor to linear motion].
In reference to claim 5, Yamamoto further discloses a spindle (46) and a nut (47) displaceable with regards to the spindle (46) [see paragraph 0043; Yamamoto further discloses a ball screw 46 and screw nut 47 for crosshead movement mechanism].
In reference to claim 9, Yamamoto further discloses the module (13) is guided by way of at least one moving crossbeam (7) [see paragraph 0036].
In reference to claim 10, Yamamoto further discloses the module is an extrusion punch (13), as seen in figure 1 [see paragraph 0036].
In reference to claim 11, as best understood, Yamamoto further discloses a tension element (49) standing under tension and countering the force required for extrusion using tension, and contraction means (wire and pulley system) drive by the electric motor drive during extrusion for contraction of a region of the tension element [see paragraph 0043].
In reference to claim 7, the tension element comprises at least one tension rod (49), as seen in figure 4.
In reference to claim 8, Yamamoto further discloses the tension element engages on a counter-crossbeam (7) as the module, as seen in figure 2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 30, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Yamamoto does not disclose a bearing unit as recited in the claims.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated in paragraph 0037 of Yamamoto, a bearing it provided, although not shown in the drawings, that allows play perpendicular to the force and connects the electric motor to the module. Therefore Yamamoto meets the claimed invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/Debra M Sullivan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725