DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YouTube video, “(555) How Fighting Games Handle Inputs (Feat. GBVS, Sam Sho and SFV) - YouTube” - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4qix6eqIQlA to I am Iokua (herein referred to as Iokua) in view of US Pub. 20170144074 Brunstetter et al (Brunstetter) and US Pub. 20110151975 to Mori.
Claims 1 and 6. Iokua discloses a non-transitory computer readable recording medium storing instructions for an information processing device that comprises a processor, a display device, and an audio output device (a gaming device uses a combination of components including computer processor, memory, game software, display screen, and sound generating device in order to generate game play and virtual images presented throughout Iokua), the instructions causing the processor to execute:
acquiring, from a distribution server, a game video (the YouTube video uses a server to distribute the video of game play to people at their respective computing devices);
acquiring, from a management system, operation information on an operation in a distributor terminal by regarding a player playing a game in which a character controlled by the player appears in the game video (at 1:24-1:44, 6:40-6:49 inputs on left of screen with corresponding player character movement), and event information on an event having occurred in the game based on the operation information (at 1:24-1:44, 6:40-6:49 game action data at top left and right of screen, other game action data, e.g., “counter”, “damage”, “combo”, X “hit”);
combining the game video, the operation information, and the event information to generate a final video; and
presenting the final video via the display device and the audio output device (at 1:24-1:44, 6:40-6:49), wherein
the event information includes action information on an action of the character (at 1:24-1:44, 6:40-6:49 game action data at top left and right of screen, other game action data, e.g., “counter”, “damage”, “combo”, X “hit”), and status information on a status of the character (at 1:24-1:44, 6:40-6:49 at top and bottom of screen are multiple status bars), and
in the final video, the operation information and the action information are displayed (at 1:24-1:44, 6:40-6:49), and the status information is displayed as a bar along a time axis (at 1:24-1:44, 6:40-6:49 at top of screen are multiple status bars next to where a timer is usually placed at 6:29-6:35), together with the game video.
Iokua fails to explicitly disclose the operation information and the action information are displayed in chronological order (emphasis added).
Brunstetter teaches information displayed in chronological order (Fig. 6D, 660, 670, ¶¶103-105 where the manipulation and position data are displayed according to time received t0, t1, t2, and so on which is interpreted as a chronological order; note Mori explicitly discloses chronological order in ¶¶22, 42). The game presentation of Iokua would have motivation to use the teachings of Brunsttetter in view of Mori in order to provide related gaming information in a neat, organized manner which would make it easier for viewers to follow along and understand occurrences within a video game.
It would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the game presentation of Iokua with the teachings of Brunsttetter in view of Mori in order to provide related gaming information in a neat, organized manner which would make it easier for viewers to follow along and understand occurrences within a video game.
Claim 3. Iokua in view of Brunsttetter and Mori teaches
wherein the processor further:
combines the game video, the operation information, and the event information such that the event information can be viewed in comparison with the operation information (see Iokua at 1:24-1:44, 6:40-6:49 where various game information is presented during video game).
Claim 5. Iokua discloses wherein
in a case that a first player plays the game in the game video and that another character controlled by a second player appears in the game video (note, the second player is an AI or computer controlled player),
the processor combines the game video, operation information regarding the first player, and operation information regarding the second player such that the operation information regarding the second player can be viewed in comparison with the operation information regarding the first player during the second player is playing the game in the game video (see Iokua at 3:30-3:38, 6:51-6:59 both players’ input commands are displayed simultaneously).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3, 5, and 6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAMON J PIERCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715