DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is a response to applicant’s arguments and amendment filed 08/12/2026. Claims 1, 4-6, 11 and 14-16 are amended. Claims 1-19 are currently pending.
The objection of claim 16 has been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment.
The rejection of claims 11-14 and 16-19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment.
The rejection of claims 5 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is maintained; see below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 08/12/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barrish, have been fully considered but are not persuasive, in combination with the amendments to the claims. The rejection has been modified, necessitated by applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Applicant argues Barrish does not disclose the plurality of airbags leaning against the end surface of the end cap, because the balloons in Barrish lean against a lateral surface or periphery of the actuator portion 20 as opposed to the end face of the actuator portion (Remarks, pgs. 9-11).
In response to applicant’s argument, it is respectfully submitted the arguments are narrower than the claim limitations. The claim language of an “end surface” does not preclude the plurality of airbags from leaning against other portions of the device besides specifically direct leaning against a distal end face of the tubular body. The claim language does not define the specific location of the end surface or the tubular body having a sidewall, such that the distal half of actuated portion 20 is considered to meet the limitation of an end surface. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 11, 14-15 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4, the claim appears to be amended, but the status identifier indicates the claim as previously presented. Applicant is encouraged to use the appropriate markings consistent with 37 CFR 1.121(c) in any future amended claims.
In claim 4, line 10, the phrase “the measured gas pressure values” should read “the measured gas pressure value”, which appears to be consistent with applicant’s amendment to claim 6.
In claim 11, lines 5-6, the phrase “tube body accommodates the tool” should read “the tube body accommodates the tool”.
In claim 14, line 10, the phrase “the one of the plurality of airbags” should read “the corresponding airbag of the plurality of airbags”, which appears to be consistent with the language of claim 4.
In claim 15, line 7, the phrase “the one of the plurality of airbags” should read “the corresponding airbag of the plurality of airbags”, to properly refer to the corresponding airbag introduced in claim 14.
In claim 15, line 8, the phrase “one of the measured gas pressure value” should read “one of the measured gas pressure values” for grammar purposes.
In claim 17, lines 6-7, the phrase “the corresponding gas delivery channel” should read “the corresponding gas delivery channel of the plurality of gas delivery channels” or similar language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites “a plurality of bending angle values” in line 4. It is unclear whether the phrase includes the target bending angle value previously introduced, or is introducing new, separate bending angle values. Therefore, the scope of the claim is indefinite. For examination purposes, the phrase is interpreted to include the bending angle value previously introduced.
Further, the claim recites “a plurality of the target gas pressure values” in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, since multiple target gas pressure values have not been previously introduced (see ‘the target gas pressure values’). Therefore, the scope of the claim is indefinite. For examination purposes, the phrase is interpreted to refer to a plurality of target gas pressure values including the target gas pressure value previously introduced.
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites “the plurality of target gas pressure values” in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, since a plurality of target gas pressure values has not been previously introduced. Therefore, the scope of the claim is indefinite. For examination purposes, the phrase is interpreted to refer to a plurality of target gas pressure values.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites “a plurality of bending angle values” in line 4. It is unclear whether the phrase includes the target bending angle value previously introduced, or is introducing new, separate bending angle values. Therefore, the scope of the claim is indefinite. For examination purposes, the phrase is interpreted to include the bending angle value previously introduced.
Further, the claim recites “a plurality of the target gas pressure values” in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, since multiple target gas pressure values have not been previously introduced (see ‘the target gas pressure values’). Therefore, the scope of the claim is indefinite. For examination purposes, the phrase is interpreted to refer to a plurality of target gas pressure values including the target gas pressure value previously introduced.
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites “the plurality of the measured gas pressure values” in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, since a plurality of measured gas pressure values has not been previously introduced. Therefore, the scope of the claim is indefinite. For examination purposes, the phrase is interpreted to refer to a plurality of measured gas pressure values including the measured gas pressure value previously introduced (see amendment of claim 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barrish (US 2016/0279388 A1) (previously of record).
Regarding claim 1, Barrish discloses (see abstract; paras. [0175]-[0327]; figs. 1-35b) a tool posture control device (fig. 1-1), comprising:
a plurality of airbags (balloon array structure, para. [0186]; figs. 3-5a), wherein a tool is allowed to be disposed among the plurality of airbags (paras. [0181]-[0182]);
a gas supply module (54) connected to the plurality of airbags (paras. [0200] and [0209]; fig. 5a); and
a controller (60, para. [0204]) electrically connected to the gas supply module (coupled with valves 90, para. [0209]) and configured to:
control the gas supply module to supply a plurality of gases to the plurality of airbags respectively according to a target bending angle value of the tool (facilitates inflation of subset of balloons to produce a desired articulation, paras. [0207] and [0209]);
wherein the tool posture control device further comprises:
a tube body (body of 12, para. [0181]) accommodating the tool (via working lumen 26); and
an end cap (distal portion of 12, at actuated portion 20) connected with the tube body (figs. 1-1 and 2) and having an end surface (considered to be surface of distal half of 20, encompasses an end surface);
wherein the plurality of airbags lean against the end surface of the end cap (depicted in figs. 4b-d, considered to lean against side/surface of distal half of 20 when actuated portion 20 is bent, fig. 4c).
Regarding claim 2, Barrish discloses the device of claim 1. Barrish further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: control the gas supply module to supply one of the plurality of gases with a first output gas pressure value to one of the plurality of airbags and supply another of the plurality of gases with a second output gas pressure value to another of the plurality of airbags according to the target bending angle value, wherein the first output gas pressure value and the second output gas pressure value are different (selective inflation of subsets of balloons which may be inflated to variable pressures, considered to encompass first and second balloons being inflated to different pressures, paras. [0035], [0096], and [0187]-[0188]).
Regarding claim 3, Barrish discloses the device of claim 1. Barrish further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: obtain a target gas pressure value corresponding to the target bending angle value according to a corresponding relationship between a plurality of bending angle values and a plurality of the target gas pressure values (balloons inflated under direction of processor 60 with direct modulated quantities and/or pressures of fluids corresponding to a plurality of bend profiles with a plurality of bend angles, paras. [0187]-[0188], [0204] and [0207]-[0209]).
Regarding claim 4, Barrish discloses the device of claim 1. Barrish further discloses further comprising: a plurality of gas pressure sensors connected to the plurality of airbags (plurality of pressure sensors, see sensor 63 depicted in fig. 5, which is considered to be a component of the actuation array depicted in fig. 5a, depicting differences in the arrangement of channels 52 relative to fig. 5a, paras. [0032] and [0207]-[0208]), wherein each of the plurality of gas pressure sensors is configured to: sense a measured gas pressure value corresponding to one of the plurality of airbags; and transmit the measured gas pressure value to the controller; wherein the controller is configured to: control the gas supply module to adjust an output value of one of the plurality of gases of the one of the plurality of airbags according to the measured gas pressure values (may include feedback signals provided to the processor for determining further valve actuation signals, paras. [0055], [0086], [0263] and [0308]).
Regarding claim 5, Barrish discloses the device of claim 4. Barrish further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: determine whether a difference between each of a plurality of the measured gas pressure values and a corresponding target gas pressure value of the plurality of target gas pressure values is outside an error range; and control the gas supply module to adjust the output value of the one of the plurality of gases of the one of the plurality of airbags according to one of the measured gas pressure values whose difference value is outside the error range (feedback signals for determining further valve actuation signals considered to include determining a difference between the measured value and the target pressure value and adjusting the pressure accordingly, paras. [0055], [0086], [0263] and [0308]).
Regarding claim 6, Barrish discloses the device of claim 1. Barrish further discloses further comprising: a plurality of gas pressure sensors connected to the plurality of airbags (plurality of pressure sensors, see sensor 63 depicted in fig. 5, which is considered to be a component of the actuation array depicted in fig. 5a, depicting differences in the arrangement of channels 52 relative to fig. 5a, paras. [0032] and [0207]-[0208]), wherein each of the plurality of gas pressure sensors is configured to: sense a measured gas pressure value of a corresponding airbag of the plurality of airbags; and transmit the measured gas pressure value to the controller; wherein the controller is configured to: determine a force-applied direction of the tool according to the measured gas pressure value (may include feedback signals provided to the processor for determining further valve actuation signals encompassing pressure to bend the tools accordingly, paras. [0055], [0086], [0207], [0263] and [0308]).
Regarding claim 7, Barrish discloses the device of claim 1. Barrish further discloses further comprising: the end cap having a tool channel (distal portion of working lumen 26, para. [0181]) and a plurality of gas delivery channels (78, para. [0203]); and a plurality of gas delivery tubes (52, para. [0200]) each connected to a corresponding airbag of the plurality of airbags (para. [0209]); wherein the tool enters and exits the end cap through the tool channel (para. [0181]), and each of the plurality of gas delivery tubes is connected to the corresponding airbag through a corresponding gas delivery channel of the plurality of gas delivery channels (para. [0203]).
Regarding claim 8, Barrish discloses the device of claim 7. Barrish further discloses wherein the end cap further has a plurality of position-limited grooves (grooves formed by coil 34, para. [0193]; fig. 4b), each of the plurality of position-limited grooves is connected to the tool channel (via balloons) and extends along a movement direction (fig. 4b) to provide the tool with a degree of freedom of movement in the movement direction (allows imposition of bend increments, para. [0193]).
Regarding claim 9, Barrish discloses the device of claim 7. Barrish further discloses wherein the end cap further has a plurality of position-limited grooves (grooves formed by coil 34, para. [0193]; fig. 4b), and each of the plurality of position-limited grooves is configured to accommodate the corresponding airbag of the plurality of airbags (accommodates balloons 36, fig. 4b).
Regarding claim 10, Barrish discloses the device of claim 1. Barrish further discloses further comprising: a plurality of gas delivery tubes (52, paras. [0200] and [0209]) each connected to a corresponding airbag of the plurality of airbags (fig. 5a); wherein the tube body (12, para. [0181]) accommodates the plurality of gas delivery tubes (figs. 1-1 and 5).
Regarding claim 11, Barrish discloses (see abstract; paras. [0175]-[0327]; figs. 1-35b) a tool posture control method (paras. [0204]-[0209]), comprising:
providing a tool posture control device (fig. 1-1), wherein the tool posture control device comprises a plurality of airbags (balloon array structure, para. [0186]; figs. 3-5a), a gas supply module (54), a controller (60, para. [0204]), a tube body (body of 12, para. [0181]) and an end cap (distal portion of 12, at actuated portion 20), wherein a tool is allowed to be disposed among the plurality of airbags (paras. [0181]-[0182]), the gas supply module is connected to the plurality of airbags (paras. [0200] and [0209]; fig. 5a), the controller (60) is electrically connected to the gas supply module (coupled with valves 90, para. [0209]), the tube body accommodates the tool (para. [0181]), the end cap is connected with the tube body (figs. 1-1 and 2) and has an end surface (considered to be surface of distal half of 20, encompasses an end surface), and the plurality of airbags lean against the end surface of the end cap (depicted in figs. 4b-d, considered to lean against side/surface of distal half of 20 when actuated portion 20 is bent, fig. 4c); and
controlling the gas supply module to supply a plurality of gases to the plurality of airbags respectively according to a target bending angle value of the tool by the controller (facilitates inflation of subset of balloons to produce desired articulation, paras. [0207] and [0209]).
Regarding claim 12, Barrish discloses the method of claim 11. Barrish further discloses further comprising: controlling the gas supply module to supply one of the plurality of gases with a first output gas pressure value to one of the plurality of airbags and supply another of the plurality of gases with a second output gas pressure value to another of the plurality of airbags according to the target bending angle value by the controller, wherein the first output gas pressure value and the second output gas pressure value are different (selective inflation of subsets of balloons which may be inflated to variable pressures, considered to encompass first and second balloons being inflated to different pressures, paras. [0035], [0096], and [0187]-[0188]).
Regarding claim 13, Barrish discloses the method of claim 11. Barrish further discloses further comprising: obtaining a target gas pressure value corresponding to the target bending angle value according to a corresponding relationship between a plurality of bending angle values and a plurality of the target gas pressure values (balloons inflated under direction of processor 60 with direct modulated quantities and/or pressures of fluids corresponding to a plurality of bend profiles with a plurality of bend angles, paras. [0187]-[0188], [0204] and [0207]-[0209]).
Regarding claim 14, Barrish discloses the method of claim 11. Barrish further discloses wherein the tool posture control device further comprises a plurality of gas pressure sensors, and the plurality of gas pressure sensors are connected to the plurality of airbags (plurality of pressure sensors, see sensor 63 depicted in fig. 5, which is considered to be a component of the actuation array depicted in fig. 5a, depicting differences in the arrangement of channels 52 relative to fig. 5a, paras. [0032] and [0207]-[0208]); the tool posture control method further comprises: sensing a measured gas pressure value of a corresponding airbag of the plurality of airbags by each of the plurality of gas pressure sensors; transmitting the measured gas pressure value to the controller by each of the plurality of gas pressure sensors by the controller; and controlling the gas supply module to adjust an output value of one of the plurality of gases of the one of the plurality of airbags according to the measured gas pressure value by the controller (may include feedback signals provided to the processor for determining further valve actuation signals, paras. [0055], [0086], [0263] and [0308]).
Regarding claim 15, Barrish discloses the method of claim 14. Barrish further discloses further comprising: determining whether a difference between each of the plurality of the measured gas pressure values and a corresponding target gas pressure value of a plurality of target gas pressure values is outside an error range by the controller; and controlling the gas supply module to adjust the output value of the one of the plurality of gases of the one of the plurality of airbags according to one of the measured gas pressure value whose difference value is outside the error range by the controller (feedback signals for determining further valve actuation signals considered to include determining a difference between the measured value and the target pressure value and adjusting the pressure accordingly, paras. [0055], [0086], [0263] and [0308]).
Regarding claim 16, Barrish discloses the method of claim 11. Barrish further discloses wherein the tool posture control device further comprises a plurality of gas pressure sensors, and the plurality of gas pressure sensors are connected to the plurality of airbags (plurality of pressure sensors, see sensor 63 depicted in fig. 5, which is considered to be a component of the actuation array depicted in fig. 5a, depicting differences in the arrangement of channels 52 relative to fig. 5a, paras. [0032] and [0207]-[0208]); the tool posture control method further comprises: sensing a measured gas pressure value of a corresponding airbag of the plurality of airbags by each of the plurality of gas pressure sensors; transmitting the measured gas pressure value to the controller by each of the plurality of gas pressure sensors; and determining a force-applied direction of the tool according to the measured gas pressure value by the controller (may include feedback signals provided to the processor for determining further valve actuation signals encompassing pressure to bend the tools accordingly, paras. [0055], [0086], [0207], [0263] and [0308]).
Regarding claim 17, Barrish discloses the method of claim 11. Barrish further discloses wherein the tool posture control device further comprises a plurality of gas delivery tubes (52, para. [0200]), the end cap has a tool channel (working lumen 26, para. [0181]) and a plurality of gas delivery channels (78, para. [0203]) and each of the plurality of gas delivery tubes is connected to a corresponding airbag of the plurality of airbags (para. [0209]); the tool enters and exits the end cap through the tool channel (para. [0181]), and each of the plurality of gas delivery tubes is connected to the corresponding airbag of the plurality of airbags through the corresponding gas delivery channel (para. [0203]).
Regarding claim 18, Barrish discloses the method of claim 17. Barrish further discloses wherein the end cap further has a plurality of position-limited grooves (grooves formed by coil 34, para. [0193]; fig. 4b), each of the plurality of position-limited grooves is connected to the tool channel (via balloons) and extends along a movement direction (fig. 4b) to provide the tool with a degree of freedom of movement in the movement direction (allows imposition of bend increments, para. [0193]).
Regarding claim 19, Barrish discloses the method of claim 17. Barrish further discloses wherein the end cap further has a plurality of position-limited grooves (grooves formed by coil 34, para. [0193]; fig. 4b), and each of the plurality of position-limited grooves is configured to accommodate the corresponding airbag of the plurality of airbags (accommodates balloons 36, fig. 4b).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2014/0194776 A1 to Gunday, disclosing a medical instrument comprising a balloon leaning against a needle.
US 6283947 B1 to Mirzaee, disclosing a catheter comprising needles leaning against a balloon.
/BRIGID K BYRD/Examiner, Art Unit 3771