CTFR 18/389,013 CTFR 93912 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment This Office Action is a response to applicant’s arguments and amendment filed 01/28/2026. Claims 1-2, 4-12 and 14-19 are amended. Claims 1-19 are currently pending. The objection of claims 1-2, 4-12, 14-15 and 17-19 has been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment. The objection of claim 16 is maintained; see below. The rejection of claims 5 and 11-19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is maintained; see below. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 01/28/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barrish, have been fully considered but are not persuasive, in combination with the amendments to the claims. The rejection has been modified, necessitated by applicant’s amendments to the claims. Applicant argues Barrish does not disclose the plurality of airbags leaning against the end cap, because the balloons or balloon array structure do not lean against an end surface of any end cap (Remarks, pg. 14). In response to applicant’s argument, it is respectfully submitted the arguments are narrower than the claim limitations. The claim language does not recite the plurality of airbags specifically leaning against the end surface of the end cap. Further, the claim language does not further define any connecting structure to the end cap besides the limitation that it is connected with the tube body, such that the distal portion of 12 is considered to function as an end cap. Figure 4c of Barrish depicts the balloons of the balloon array inflating to cause bending of the articulated portion 20, such that the balloons are considered to lean against the catheter as the catheter is being bent or articulated, due to attachment/connection to the catheter body during inflation. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 16, line 3, the phrase “the plurality of gases pressure sensors” should read “the plurality of gas pressure sensors” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 5 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 5, the claim recites “the plurality of target gas pressure values” in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, since a plurality of target gas pressure values has not been previously introduced. Therefore, the scope of the claim is indefinite. For examination purposes, the phrase is interpreted to refer to a plurality of target gas pressure values. Regarding claim 11, the claim recites “a controller” in lines 5 and 9. It is unclear whether the phrase is referring to the controller previously introduced, or introducing new, separate controllers. Therefore, the scope of the claim is indefinite. For examination purposes, the phrase is interpreted to refer to the controller previously introduced, which appears consistent with the instant specification (see controller 120). Regarding claim 15, the claim recites “the plurality of target gas pressure values” in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, since a plurality of target gas pressure values has not been previously introduced. Therefore, the scope of the claim is indefinite. For examination purposes, the phrase is interpreted to refer to a plurality of target gas pressure values. Claims 12-14 and 16-19 are indefinite due to their dependencies on indefinite base claim 11. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Barrish (US 2016/0279388 A1) (previously of record) . Regarding claim 1, Barrish discloses (see abstract; paras. [0175]-[0327]; figs. 1-35b) a tool posture control device (fig. 1-1), comprising: a plurality of airbags (balloon array structure, para. [0186]; figs. 3-5a), wherein a tool is allowed to be disposed among the plurality of airbags (paras. [0181]-[0182]); a gas supply module (54) connected to the plurality of airbags (paras. [0200] and [0209]; fig. 5a); and a controller (60, para. [0204]) electrically connected to the gas supply module (coupled with valves 90, para. [0209]) and configured to: control the gas supply module to supply a plurality of gases to the plurality of airbags respectively according to a target bending angle value of the tool (facilitates inflation of subset of balloons to produce a desired articulation, paras. [0207] and [0209]); wherein the tool posture control device further comprises: a tube body (body of 12, para. [0181]) accommodating the tool (via working lumen 26); and an end cap (distal portion of 12, at actuated portion 20) connected with the tube body (figs. 1-1 and 2) and having an end surface (distal surface of 12); wherein the plurality of airbags lean against the end cap (depicted in figs. 4b-d, considered to lean when actuated portion 20 is bent, fig. 4c). Regarding claim 2, Barrish discloses the device of claim 1. Barrish further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: control the gas supply module to supply one of the plurality of gases with a first output gas pressure value to one of the plurality of airbags and supply another of the plurality of gases with a second output gas pressure value to another of the plurality of airbags according to the target bending angle value, wherein the first output gas pressure value and the second output gas pressure value are different (selective inflation of subsets of balloons which may be inflated to variable pressures, considered to encompass first and second balloons being inflated to different pressures, paras. [0035], [0096], and [0187]-[0188]). Regarding claim 3, Barrish discloses the device of claim 1. Barrish further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: obtain a target gas pressure value corresponding to the target bending angle value according to a corresponding relationship between a plurality of bending angle values and a plurality of the target gas pressure values (balloons inflated under direction of processor 60 with direct modulated quantities and/or pressures of fluids corresponding to a plurality of bend profiles with a plurality of bend angles, paras. [0187]-[0188], [0204] and [0207]-[0209]). Regarding claim 4, Barrish discloses the device of claim 1. Barrish further discloses further comprising: a plurality of gas pressure sensors connected to the plurality of airbags (plurality of pressure sensors, see sensor 63 depicted in fig. 5, which is considered to be a component of the actuation array depicted in fig. 5a, depicting differences in the arrangement of channels 52 relative to fig. 5a, paras. [0032] and [0207]-[0208]), wherein each of the plurality of gas pressure sensors is configured to: sense a measured gas pressure value corresponding to one of the plurality of airbags; and transmit the measured gas pressure value to the controller; wherein the controller is configured to: control the gas supply module to adjust an output value of one of the plurality of gases of the one of the plurality of airbags according to the measured gas pressure values (may include feedback signals provided to the processor for determining further valve actuation signals, paras. [0055], [0086], [0263] and [0308]). Regarding claim 5, Barrish discloses the device of claim 4. Barrish further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: determine whether a difference between each of the plurality of measured gas pressure values and a corresponding target gas pressure value of the plurality of target gas pressure values is outside an error range; and control the gas supply module to adjust the output value of the one of the plurality of gases of the one of the plurality of airbags according to the measured gas pressure value whose difference value is outside the error range (feedback signals for determining further valve actuation signals considered to include determining a difference between the measured value and the target pressure value and adjusting the pressure accordingly, paras. [0055], [0086], [0263] and [0308]). Regarding claim 6, Barrish discloses the device of claim 1. Barrish further discloses further comprising: a plurality of gas pressure sensors connected to the plurality of airbags (plurality of pressure sensors, see sensor 63 depicted in fig. 5, which is considered to be a component of the actuation array depicted in fig. 5a, depicting differences in the arrangement of channels 52 relative to fig. 5a, paras. [0032] and [0207]-[0208]), wherein each of the plurality of gas pressure sensors is configured to: sense a measured gas pressure value of a corresponding airbag of the plurality of airbags; and transmit the measured gas pressure value to the controller; wherein the controller is configured to: determine a force-applied direction of the tool according to the measured gas pressure values (may include feedback signals provided to the processor for determining further valve actuation signals encompassing pressure to bend the tools accordingly, paras. [0055], [0086], [0207], [0263] and [0308]). Regarding claim 7, Barrish discloses the device of claim 1. Barrish further discloses further comprising: the end cap having a tool channel (distal portion of working lumen 26, para. [0181]) and a plurality of gas delivery channels (78, para. [0203]); and a plurality of gas delivery tubes (52, para. [0200]) each connected to a corresponding airbag of the plurality of airbags (para. [0209]); wherein the tool enters and exits the end cap through the tool channel (para. [0181]), and each of the plurality of gas delivery tubes is connected to the corresponding airbag through a corresponding gas delivery channel of the plurality of gas delivery channels (para. [0203]). Regarding claim 8, Barrish discloses the device of claim 7. Barrish further discloses wherein the end cap further has a plurality of position-limited grooves (grooves formed by coil 34, para. [0193]; fig. 4b), each of the plurality of position-limited grooves is connected to the tool channel (via balloons) and extends along a movement direction (fig. 4b) to provide the tool with a degree of freedom of movement in the movement direction (allows imposition of bend increments, para. [0193]). Regarding claim 9, Barrish discloses the device of claim 7. Barrish further discloses wherein the end cap further has a plurality of position-limited grooves (grooves formed by coil 34, para. [0193]; fig. 4b), and each of the plurality of position-limited grooves is configured to accommodate the corresponding airbag of the plurality of airbags (accommodates balloons 36, fig. 4b). Regarding claim 10, Barrish discloses the device of claim 1. Barrish further discloses further comprising: a plurality of gas delivery tubes (52, paras. [0200] and [0209]) each connected to a corresponding airbag of the plurality of airbags (fig. 5a); wherein the tube body (12, para. [0181]) accommodates the plurality of gas delivery tubes (figs. 1-1 and 5). Regarding claim 11, Barrish discloses (see abstract; paras. [0175]-[0327]; figs. 1-35b) a tool posture control method (paras. [0204]-[0209]), comprising: providing a tool posture control device (fig. 1-1), wherein the tool posture control device comprises a plurality of airbags (balloon array structure, para. [0186]; figs. 3-5a), a gas supply module (54), a controller (60, para. [0204]), a tube body (body of 12, para. [0181]) and an end cap (distal portion of 12, at actuated portion 20), wherein a tool is allowed to be disposed among the plurality of airbags (paras. [0181]-[0182]), the gas supply module is connected to the plurality of airbags (paras. [0200] and [0209]; fig. 5a), a controller (60) is electrically connected to the gas supply module (coupled with valves 90, para. [0209]), the tube body accommodates the tool (para. [0181]), the end cap is connected with the tube body (figs. 1-1 and 2) and has an end surface (distal surface of 12), and the plurality of airbags lean against the end cap (depicted in figs. 4b-d, considered to lean when actuated portion 20 is bent, fig. 4c); and controlling the gas supply module to supply a plurality of gases to the plurality of airbags respectively according to a target bending angle value of the tool by a controller (facilitates inflation of subset of balloons to produce desired articulation, paras. [0207] and [0209]). Regarding claim 12, Barrish discloses the method of claim 11. Barrish further discloses further comprising: controlling the gas supply module to supply one of the plurality of gases with a first output gas pressure value to one of the plurality of airbags and supply another of the plurality of gases with a second output gas pressure value to another of the plurality of airbags according to the target bending angle value by the controller, wherein the first output gas pressure value and the second output gas pressure value are different (selective inflation of subsets of balloons which may be inflated to variable pressures, considered to encompass first and second balloons being inflated to different pressures, paras. [0035], [0096], and [0187]-[0188]). Regarding claim 13, Barrish discloses the method of claim 11. Barrish further discloses further comprising: obtaining a target gas pressure value corresponding to the target bending angle value according to a corresponding relationship between a plurality of bending angle values and a plurality of the target gas pressure values (balloons inflated under direction of processor 60 with direct modulated quantities and/or pressures of fluids corresponding to a plurality of bend profiles with a plurality of bend angles, paras. [0187]-[0188], [0204] and [0207]-[0209]). Regarding claim 14, Barrish discloses the method of claim 11. Barrish further discloses wherein the tool posture control device further comprises a plurality of gas pressure sensors, and the plurality of gas pressure sensors are connected to the plurality of airbags (plurality of pressure sensors, see sensor 63 depicted in fig. 5, which is considered to be a component of the actuation array depicted in fig. 5a, depicting differences in the arrangement of channels 52 relative to fig. 5a, paras. [0032] and [0207]-[0208]); the tool posture control method further comprises: sensing a measured gas pressure value of a corresponding airbag of the plurality of airbags by each of the plurality of gas pressure sensors; transmitting the measured gas pressure value to the controller by each of the plurality of gas pressure sensors by the controller; and controlling the gas supply module to adjust an output value of one of the plurality of gases of the one of the plurality of airbags according to the measured gas pressure values by the controller (may include feedback signals provided to the processor for determining further valve actuation signals, paras. [0055], [0086], [0263] and [0308]). Regarding claim 15, Barrish discloses the method of claim 14. Barrish further discloses further comprising: determining whether a difference between each of the plurality of measured gas pressure values and a corresponding target gas pressure value of the plurality of target gas pressure values is outside an error range by the controller; and controlling the gas supply module to adjust the output value of the one of the plurality of gases of the one of the plurality of airbags according to the measured gas pressure value whose difference value is outside the error range by the controller (feedback signals for determining further valve actuation signals considered to include determining a difference between the measured value and the target pressure value and adjusting the pressure accordingly, paras. [0055], [0086], [0263] and [0308]). Regarding claim 16, Barrish discloses the method of claim 11. Barrish further discloses wherein the tool posture control device further comprises a plurality of gas pressure sensors, and the plurality of gases pressure sensors are connected to the plurality of airbags (plurality of pressure sensors, see sensor 63 depicted in fig. 5, which is considered to be a component of the actuation array depicted in fig. 5a, depicting differences in the arrangement of channels 52 relative to fig. 5a, paras. [0032] and [0207]-[0208]); the tool posture control method further comprises: sensing a measured gas pressure value of a corresponding airbag of the plurality of airbags by each of the plurality of gas pressure sensors; transmitting the measured gas pressure value to the controller by each of the plurality of gas pressure sensors; and determining a force-applied direction of the tool according to the measured gas pressure values by the controller (may include feedback signals provided to the processor for determining further valve actuation signals encompassing pressure to bend the tools accordingly, paras. [0055], [0086], [0207], [0263] and [0308]). Regarding claim 17, Barrish discloses the method of claim 11. Barrish further discloses wherein the tool posture control device further comprises a plurality of gas delivery tubes (52, para. [0200]), the end cap has a tool channel (working lumen 26, para. [0181]) and a plurality of gas delivery channels (78, para. [0203]) and each of the plurality of gas delivery tubes is connected to a corresponding airbag of the plurality of airbags (para. [0209]); the tool enters and exits the end cap through the tool channel (para. [0181]), and each of the plurality of gas delivery tubes is connected to the corresponding airbag of the plurality of airbags through the corresponding gas delivery channel (para. [0203]). Regarding claim 18, Barrish discloses the method of claim 17. Barrish further discloses wherein the end cap further has a plurality of position-limited grooves (grooves formed by coil 34, para. [0193]; fig. 4b), each of the plurality of position-limited grooves is connected to the tool channel (via balloons) and extends along a movement direction (fig. 4b) to provide the tool with a degree of freedom of movement in the movement direction (allows imposition of bend increments, para. [0193]). Regarding claim 19, Barrish discloses the method of claim 17. Barrish further discloses wherein the end cap further has a plurality of position-limited grooves (grooves formed by coil 34, para. [0193]; fig. 4b), and each of the plurality of position-limited grooves is configured to accommodate the corresponding airbag of the plurality of airbags (accommodates balloons 36, fig. 4b). Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRIGID K BYRD whose telephone number is (571)272-7698. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:00-5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Darwin Erezo can be reached at (571)-272-4695. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BRIGID K BYRD/Examiner, Art Unit 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/389,013 Page 2 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/389,013 Page 3 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/389,013 Page 4 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/389,013 Page 5 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/389,013 Page 6 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/389,013 Page 7 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/389,013 Page 8 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/389,013 Page 9 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/389,013 Page 10 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/389,013 Page 11 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/389,013 Page 12 Art Unit: 3771