DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/21/2024 and 06/12/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 4-5 recite “including, the video stream including a sequence of frames” which Examiner suggests amending to “including a sequence of frames” (deleting “, the video stream including”). Line 10 recites “video steam” which Examiner suggests amending to “video stream”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 6-7 recite “including, the video stream including a sequence of frames” which Examiner suggests amending to “including a sequence of frames” (deleting “, the video stream including”). Line 12 recites “video steam” which Examiner suggests amending to “video stream”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 6, 10, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the media stream" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as there is no earlier mention of a media stream, only a video stream. Examiner suggests amending to “the video stream” and has interpreted the limitation as such.
Claim 6 depends on claim 5 and thus is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the media stream" in Line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as there is no earlier mention of a media stream, only a video stream. Examiner suggests amending to “the video stream” and has interpreted the limitation as such.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the media stream" in Lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as there is no earlier mention of a media stream, only a video stream. Examiner suggests amending to “the video stream” and has interpreted the limitation as such.
Claim 14 depends on claim 13 and thus is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (CN 113397516, see translated version).
With regards to claim 9, Chen et al. discloses a system for non-contrastive unsupervised learning of a physiological signal from a video stream, the system comprising:
a processor (Para. 0110 lines 1-4, "control terminal" "computer"); and
a memory storing one or more programs for execution by the processor, the one or more programs including instructions (Para. 0034 lines 1-2, 0108 lines 1-2, "control terminal" "storage unit") for:
capturing the video stream of a subject including, the video stream including a sequence of frames (Para. 0076 lines 1-2, 0082 lines 1-3, "video information" "multiple frames of images");
processing each frame of the video stream to update a physiological signal detection function (Para. 0078 lines 1-2, 0085 lines 1-2, 0086 lines 1-2, 0104 lines 1-3, "each frame" "train" "optimize" "deep learning model");
determining the physiological signal of the subject from the video stream (Para. 0098 lines 1-2, "heart rate estimation"); and
applying the updated physiological signal detection function to a subsequent video steam (Para. 0079 line 1, 0080 lines 1-2, 0107 lines 1-2, 0108 lines 1-4, "video information to be detected").
With regards to claim 10, Chen et al. discloses the system according to claim 9, wherein the media stream includes one or more of a visible-light video stream (Para. 0076 lines 1-2, 0082 lines 1-3, "video"), a near-infrared video stream, a longwave-infrared video stream, a thermal video stream, and an audio stream of the subject.
With regards to claim 11, Chen et al. discloses the system according to claim 9, the physiological signal includes at least one of pulse rate, blood pressure, or eye blink rate (Para. 0080 lines 1-2, 0098 lines 1-2, "heart rate").
With regards to claim 12, Chen et al. discloses the system according to claim 9, wherein the physiological signal includes at least one of pulse rate or voice frequency (Para. 0080 lines 1-2, 0098 lines 1-2, "heart rate").
With regards to claim 13, Chen et al. discloses the system according to claim 9, further comprising cropping each frame of the media stream to encapsulate a region of interest that includes one or more of a face, cheek, forehead, or an eye (Para. 0087 lines 1-7, 0090 lines 1-2, "facial region").
With regards to claim 14, Chen et al. discloses the system according to claim 13, wherein the region of interest includes two or more body parts (Para. 0087 lines 1-7, 0090 lines 1-2, Fig. 3, "facial region", where the facial region includes at least two body parts on the face).
With regards to claims 1-6, they recite the functions of the apparatus of claims 9-14, respectively, as processes. Thus, the analyses in rejecting claims 9-14 are equally applicable to claims 1-6, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 8, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN 113397516, see translated version) in view of Fan et al. (CN 106580294, see translated version).
With regards to claim 15, Chen et al. discloses the system according to claim 9.
Chen et al. does not explicitly teach further comprising: combining at least two of a visible-light video stream, a near-infrared video stream, and a thermal video stream into a fused video stream.
However, Fan et al. teaches the concept of combining visible-light, near-infrared, and thermal video streams into a fused video stream in order to more accurately determine physiological signals (Para. 0014 lines 1-5, 0015 lines 1-4, 0016 lines 1-3, 0017 lines 1-3, 0083 lines 1-2, 0085 lines 1-2, "data fusion").
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the concept of combining visible-light, near-infrared, and thermal video streams into a fused video stream as taught by Fan et al. into the system of Chen et al. The motivation for this would be to more accurately determine the physiological signal.
With regards to claim 16, the combination of Chen et al. and Fan et al. discloses the system according to claim 15, wherein the visible-light video stream, the near- infrared video stream, and/or the thermal video stream are combined according to a synchronization device (Fan et al.: Para. 0077 lines 1-5, 0078 lines 1-2, 085 lines 1-2, 0089 lines 7-8, "control terminal").
With regards to claims 7 and 8, they recite the functions of the apparatus of claims 15 and 16, respectively, as processes. Thus, the analyses in rejecting claims 15 and 16 are equally applicable to claims 7 and 8, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith.
Contact Information
/CAROL W CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672