DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2023-0084428, filed on 06/29/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/13/2023 and 05/14/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 11/13/2023 were reviewed and are acceptable.
Specification
The specification received on 11/13/2023 was reviewed and is acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 12, line 3, “and be discharged” should be “and is discharged.”
In claim 16, line 5, “are extended” should be “is extended.”
In claim 18, line 1, “the second battery module” should be “a second battery module.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “formed between the pack cover and an opposite lateral finishing member and a front finishing member.” It is unclear which lateral finishing member the claim is referring to, since it is not mentioned what the member is opposite to and the front finishing member is not opposite to any lateral finishing members, but perpendicular to both lateral finishing members. For purposes of this Office Action, it will be assumed that it was intended to recite a lateral finishing member, therefore there is no difference in which one is elected for the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, 16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang et al. (US 2023/0022379 A1; hereinafter "Kang").
Regarding claim 1, Kang discloses a battery pack [0010] for a vehicle (an electric vehicle includes: the battery pack; [0023]), the battery pack comprising:
a tray assembly (an outer frame that is formed on an outer side of the plate with a predetermined height; and a partition frame partitioning an inner space formed by the plate and the outer frame into a plurality of module spaces; [0010]);
a plurality of battery modules arranged to form a planar grid in the tray assembly (battery modules are disposed, and may be configured in a flat plate shape; [0058]; see Fig. 13);
and a pack cover (a battery pack cover; [0021]) coupled to an upper side of the tray assembly
and together with the tray assembly, forming a pack internal space to accommodate the battery modules therein (the battery pack case 10 as a whole, and may be configured of a plate of sufficient size to shield all the space inside the outer frame 200; [0101]),
wherein the battery modules arranged in the tray assembly includes:
first battery modules formed in a longitudinal direction of the battery pack (see modified figure 12, directed to a battery pack) and includes at least one first module outlet for discharging venting gas from insides thereof (the battery module of the present invention may not have an upper cover and a lower cover covering the upper and lower portions of the battery cell [0105]; see modified fig. 14);
and second battery modules formed in a transverse direction of the battery pack (see modified figure 12, directed to a battery pack) and including at least a second module outlet for discharging the venting gas from insides thereof (see modified fig. 14).
Regarding claim 11, Kang discloses all of the claim limitations set forth above.
Kang further discloses that the tray assembly includes:
a lower plate disposed on a lower side of the battery modules (plate on which battery modules are disposed; [0010]);
a plurality of external members coupled to an upper side of the lower plate and forming the pack internal space (an outer frame that is formed on an outer side of the plate with a predetermined height; [0010]);
a plurality of internal members provided inside the pack internal space and positioned between the battery modules arranged forming the planar grid (a partition frame partitioning an inner space formed by the plate; [0010]);
and a venting device provided in at least one of the external members to discharge the venting gas outwards from the pack internal space (vent caps 400 each provided in both end portions of the center beam 310; [0087]).
Regarding claim 16, Kang discloses all of the claim limitations set forth above.
Kang further discloses that the first battery modules include the at least one first module outlet formed between the pack cover and an opposite lateral finishing member and a front finishing member (Point A in modified Fig. 14 below) and between the pack cover and the opposite lateral finishing member and a rear finishing member (Point B in modified Fig. 14 below) as the opposite lateral finishing member of the battery modules are extended up to a bottom surface of the pack cover (see modified Fig. 14 below).
Therefore, the vent outlet in the disclosed modules is located between Points A and B in modified Fig. 14 and the pack cover in modified Fig. 13 below. Further, the lateral finishing members are extended up to a bottom of the pack cover as shown in modified figures 13 and 14.
Regarding claim 18, Kang discloses all of the claim limitations set forth above.
Kang further discloses that the second battery module includes the at least one second module outlet formed between a front finishing member (Point C in modified Fig. 14 below), a rear finishing member (Point D in modified Fig. 14 below), the pack cover (see modified Fig. 13 above), and lateral finishing members as the front finishing member and the rear finishing member of the battery modules are extended up to a bottom surface of the pack cover.
Therefore, the vent outlet in the disclosed module is located between Points C, D, the lateral finishing members and the pack cover in modified Fig. 14 above. Further, the front finishing member and the rear finishing member of the battery modules are extended up to a bottom surface of the pack cover, as shown in modified figures 13 and 14.
Regarding claim 19, Kang discloses all of the claim limitations set forth above.
Kang further discloses that the front finishing member of the battery modules include a module front cover (front finishing member in modified Fig. 14), and wherein the rear finishing member of the battery modules include a module rear cover (rear finishing member in modified Fig. 14 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 2023/0022379 A1; hereinafter "Kang"), in view of Jeon et al. (US 2023/0361420 A1; hereinafter “Jeon”).
Regarding claim 8, Kang discloses all of the claim limitations set forth above.
Kang fails to disclose the battery pack of claim 1, wherein a front finishing member of the battery modules includes at least one of a module front cover and a front sensing block to sense voltage and temperature of the battery cells, and wherein a rear finishing member of the battery modules includes at least one of a module rear cover and a rear sensing block to sense the voltage and the temperature of the battery cells.
Jeon teaches, directed to the battery module, that it may further include a sensing module 500 connected to the busbar assembly 200. The sensing module 500 may include a temperature sensor or a voltage sensor [0068]. Further, Jeon teaches a cover assembly coupled to at least one side of the housing [0012]. The cover assembly 300 may be provided as a pair of cover assemblies, respectively coupled to opposite sides of the housing 400 [0071], see modified figure 2. The cover assembly 300 may include an end cover 310 covering at least one side of a housing 400, an insulating cover preventing short-circuit between the end cover 310 and a busbar assembly 200, and a duct member 330 forming a venting flow path [0077].
Kang and Jeon are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery modules.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include a front and a rear covers in the battery module with the reasonable expectation that doing so would protect elements in the battery module from an external environment [0078], as suggested by Jeon.
Regarding claim 13, Kang discloses all of the claim limitations set forth above.
Kang fails to disclose the battery pack of claim 11, further including a metal plate on an upper side of the lower plate to support a lower side of the battery modules and prevent the battery modules from being melted upon a breakout of fire.
Jeon teaches a housing 400 included in the battery module [0047], wherein the housing 400 may include a metal material such as aluminum [0069]. Jeon further teaches that a metal such as aluminum or the like may be included to structurally withstand a temperature and a pressure of gas flowing through the venting flow path [0090].
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include a metal plate on an upper side of the lower plate to support a lower side of the battery modules with the reasonable expectation that doing so would protect the cell stack and other electrical equipment, accommodated in the internal space, from external impacts [0069], as suggested by Jeon.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 2023/0022379 A1; hereinafter "Kang"), in view of Jeon et al. (US 2023/0361420 A1; hereinafter “Jeon”), as applied in claim 13 above, and in further view of Jung et al. (US 20230128142 A1; hereinafter "Jung").
Regarding claim 12, Kang discloses all of the claim limitations set forth above.
Kang fails to disclose the battery pack of claim 11, wherein the internal members are lower in height than the battery modules, so that the venting gas flows from the battery modules through an upper side of the internal members and be discharged out of the battery pack through the venting device.
Jung teaches a battery pack, wherein there is at least one partition 113 traversing an internal space of the pack housing 100 vertically or horizontally may be disposed on the lower plate 111 [0039]. The partitions transversing an internal space read on the internal members claimed by the applicant, and the internal members are lower than the battery modules (see modified Fig. 8).
Further, Jung teaches that the gas inside the battery pack 1 may be discharged externally of the pack housing 100 through a vent portion 500 provided in the pack housing 100. The vent portion 500 includes a vent hole 510 connecting the inside and the outside of the pack housing 100 [0053]. Therefore, the flammable gas ejected from the battery module 200, passes through inside the battery pack [0055]. The gas venting flows through the upper side of the internal members (see modified Fig. 8).
Kang and Jung are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery packs.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include internal members lower in height than the battery modules with the reasonable expectation that doing so would allow the gas to pass through the inside of the battery pack and escape externally, without being ignited [0055], as suggested by Jung.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 2023/0022379 A1; hereinafter "Kang"), in view of Jeon et al. (US 2023/0361420 A1; hereinafter “Jeon”), as applied in claim 13 above, and in further view of Jin et al. (US 2022/0109199 A1; hereinafter "Jin").
Regarding claim 14, Kang discloses all of the claim limitations set forth above.
Kang fails to disclose the battery pack of claim 13, wherein the battery modules are disposed above the metal plate with a thermal interface material (TIM) pad interposed therebetween.
Jin teaches a thermally conductive resin 40 may be interposed between the lower end portion of the pouch-type secondary batteries 11 and the upper surface of the bottom plate 33 [0053].
Kang and Jin are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery modules.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to dispose the battery modules above the metal plate with a thermal interface material (TIM) pad interposed therebetween with the reasonable expectation that doing so would reduce a difference in surface roughness between the structures and lower the thermal contact resistance [0052], as suggested by Jin.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 2023/0022379 A1; hereinafter "Kang"), in view of Ng et al. (US 2020/0185686 A1; hereinafter “Ng”).
Regarding claim 17, Kang discloses all of the claim limitations set forth above.
Kang fails to disclose the battery pack of claim 16, wherein the opposite lateral finishing member of the battery modules includes endplates coupled pressurizing the stacked battery cells from both sides.
Ng teaches a module casing that may include a base, a cover, and four side walls including a front side wall, a rear side wall, a right side wall and a left side wall [0027]. Ng further teaches that the battery module vent(s) and the casing vent(s) may prevent a battery module from over-pressurizing and/or over-heating, such as in the case of a cell failure and/or thermal runaway, thereby improving thermal runaway mitigation of the electrical system [0046]. Therefore, the casing, that includes the opposite lateral members pressurize the battery cells from the sides.
Kang and Ng are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery packs.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the opposite lateral finishing member of the battery modules include endplates coupled pressurizing the stacked battery cells from both sides with the reasonable expectation that doing so would improve thermal runaway mitigation of the electrical system [0046], as suggested by Ng.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 2023/0022379 A1; hereinafter "Kang"), in view of Park et al. (US 2022/0344743 A1; hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding claim 20, Kang discloses all of the claim limitations set forth above.
Kang fails to disclose the battery pack of claim 19, wherein the module front cover and the module rear cover include elastically transformable portion on upper sides thereof to be elastically in contact with the bottom surface of the pack cover.
Park teaches a holding band 700 is a member that wraps the battery cell stack 200 at both end parts of the battery cell stack [0054], composed of a material having a predetermined elastic force, and specifically, a structure of a leaf spring can be applied [0054]. The holding band is in contact with the insulating cover (400) that reads on the claimed front and rear covers. Park further mentions that the battery module includes an insulating cover, however, the module may form a module-less structure in which the module frame and the end plate are removed [0063]. The module-less structure disclosed by Park would have the holding band in contact with the bottom part of the pack cover, as shown in Fig.9
Kang and Park are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery pack.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the module front cover and the module rear cover include an elastically transformable portion on upper sides thereof to be elastically in contact with the bottom surface of the pack cover with the reasonable expectation that doing so would fix the plurality of battery cells and the side face plates constituting the battery cell stack, as well as dispose an insulating cover on the front surface and the back surface of the battery cell stack [0054], as suggested by Park.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2-7, 9-10 and 15 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The present invention is related to, inter alia, a battery pack for a vehicle, wherein
(claim 2) the first battery modules include a first module top cover forming the at least one first module outlet at at least one of first and second end portions of the first module top cover in a longitudinal direction of the first battery modules, and wherein the second battery modules include a second module top cover forming the at least one second module outlet at at least one of first and second end portions of the second module top cover in a transverse direction of the first battery modules.
Kim et al. (WO 2022270777 A1; hereinafter “Kim”; hereinafter US 2023/0361413 A1 will be referenced as the English language equivalent) is considered the closest relevant prior art to dependent claim 2. Kim discloses a battery module with a venting cover that includes a venting part that extends along a longitudinal direction of the upper frame and protrudes outward with respect to an upper surface of the upper frame [Abstract]. The upper frame of the battery pack has a melting point higher than the melting point of the material constituting the lower frame, thereby it is capable of improving safety and venting performance [0031].
However, Kim does not disclose, teach, fairly suggest, nor render obvious the recited second modules transverse vent inside the battery pack. To the contrary, Kim explicitly discloses that the venting covers should extend along the longitudinal direction of the upper frame. Accordingly, there does not appear to be reasonable basis for the skilled artisan to abandon the structure of Kim and be directed towards the recited longitudinal and transverse outlets in the first and second modules, respectively, because such would defeat the purpose of improving the venting performance through the integrated structure of the upper surface of the upper frame and the venting cover described [0074], as suggested by Kim.
Feltham et al. (US 20220416359 A1; hereinafter “Feltham”) is considered close relevant prior art to dependent claim 2. Feltham discloses a battery system that includes a touch cover arranged above the first end of the battery cells, wherein the touch cover includes a plurality of opening features configured to direct the gas to flow away from the plurality of battery cells, or away from sensitive components, to a predetermined direction that differs from the upward direction [Abstract].
However, Feltham does not disclose, teach, fairly suggest, nor render obvious the recited transverse vent of the second module vent inside the battery pack. To the contrary, Feltham explicitly discloses that the predetermined direction of the vent in battery module is oriented toward a side venting port, toward a plenum, away from sensitive components, or other suitable flow destination.
Further Feltham discloses a touch cover that may include at least one opening configured to direct the gas emitted from the vent of the battery cell in a predetermined direction that may be different from the first direction (upward). In some instances, the touch cover includes a plurality of openings configured to direct gas, air, and/or a combination thereof to away from the plurality of battery cells and/or the first end of the one or more cells, among other possibilities.
Accordingly, there does not appear to be reasonable basis for the skilled artisan to abandon the structure of Feltham and be directed towards the recited longitudinal and transverse outlets in the first and second modules, respectively; because such would defeat the purpose of reducing cost, reducing complexity, improving vehicle performance, improving battery performance, or a combination thereof [0074], as suggested by Feltham.
Claims 3-7, 9-10 and 15 are allowable subject matter due to dependency on claim 2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Philips et al. (US 2007/0236177 A1) discloses a thermal management system for a battery pack, to reduce the temperature of the gases, prior to venting the gases externally.
/J.N.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725