DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments merit new grounds for rejection under 35 U.S.C. §§ 101 and 103 in view of Lagos et al. (Lagos HN, Santos RS, Abdulmassih EM, Gallinea LF, Langone M. Characterization of swallowing sounds with the use of sonar Doppler in full-term and preterm newborns. Int Arch Otorhinolaryngol. 2013 Oct;17(4):383-6.)
With respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101, Applicant's arguments filed 5/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pp. 6-7 of the Remarks dated 5/27/2026, Applicant argues that claims 1 and 11 as not being directed to an abstract idea and characterizes the claims as requiring computer implementation because they recite “a mobile device” and/or “a server device”.
This is not disputed by the examiner, however, the recitation of the mobile device and serve rely purely on general purpose computer functions and courts have held that adding a general purpose computer to an abstract idea does not integrate the abstract idea with a practical application or particular machine, and therefore does not transform the claims into eligible subject matter.
With respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant's arguments are solely directed to whether the Nakar and Piccirillo reference alone teaches identifying when sounds are within a range between 800Hz to 1300Hz as claimed. This is taught in combination with Lagos and Piccirillo is not relied upon in the rejection below.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim includes a typographical error “hz” instead of “Hz”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 7-13, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more.
This analysis in view of 35 U.S.C. § 101 is based on MPEP § 2106, please see
this section of the MPEP for additional information.
First, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim as a whole is
established:
Claims 1 and 11 are directed to a systems including a sensor, processor, sensor, mobile device, (server in claim 14) where the system transmits data to a mobile device, which identifies child suckling and child swallowing sounds in a frequency range of 800Hz-1300Hz.
Step 1 of the analysis is the question: “Is the claim to a process, machine,
manufacture, or composition of matter?” and the answer is determined to be yes, as the
claims as a whole are directed to a manufacture and a method.
For Step 2, the preliminary question is whether the eligibility of the claim is self-
evident. The answer is determined to be no, as the claim is not immediately self-evident
as statutory.
Step 2A Prong One: Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea?
A claim is directed to a judicial exception when a law of nature, a natural
phenomenon, or an abstract idea is recited (i.e., set forth or described) in the claim.
While the terms “set forth” and “describe” are thus both equated with “recite”, their
different language is intended to indicate that there are different ways in which an
exception can be recited in a claim. For instance, the claims in Diehr set forth a
mathematical equation in the repetitively calculating step, the claims in Mayo set forth
laws of nature in the wherein clause, meaning that the claims in those cases contained
discrete claim language that was identifiable as a judicial exception. The claims in Alice
Corp., however, described the concept of intermediated settlement without ever explicitly using the words “intermediated” or “settlement.”
Claim 1 (and equivalently in claim 11) recites the following limitations:
identifies one or more portions of the sensor data as being a sound within a range between 800Hz and 1300Hz
determines a number of identifications of one or more portions of the sensor data being a sound within the range of 800Hz to 1300Hz
determined, using the number of identifications of one or more portions of the sensor data being a sound within the range of 800Hz to 1300Hz, a volume of milk consumed in real time.
The above identified elements comprise an explicit claim recitation of an abstract idea. Therefore, rather than merely involve a judicial exception, the claims are directed to the identified judicial exception.
This claim language is identified as an abstract idea, because in MPEP §
2106.04(a)(2) III B. this language is similar to concepts relating to organizing or
analyzing information in a way that can be performed mentally or are analogous to
human mental work. For example, Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp., 839 F.3d
1138, 120 USPQ2d 1473 (Fed. Cir. 2016). In Synopsys, the patentee claimed methods
of logic circuit design, comprising converting a functional description of a level sensitive
latch into a hardware component description of the latch. 839 F.3d at 1140; 120 USPQ2d at 1475. Although the patentee argued that the claims were intended to be
used in conjunction with computer-based design tools, the claims did not include any
limitations requiring computer implementation of the methods and thus do not involve
the use of a computer in any way. 839 F.3d at 1145; 120 USPQ2d at 1478-79. The
court therefore concluded that the claims “read on an individual performing the claimed
steps mentally or with pencil and paper,” and were directed to a mental process of
“translating a functional description of a logic circuit into a hardware component
description of the logic circuit.” 839 F.3d at 1149-50; 120 USPQ2d at 1482-83.
In the instant case, the identified abstract idea is similar to Synopsys because the
language reads on an individual performing the identification of suckling and swallowing sounds mentally or with a pencil and paper. They do not require any computer implementation that relies specifically upon computer technology and therefore are directed to a mental process of determining areas of a signal that comprise child suckling and child swallowing sounds through observation of sensor signal and analytical decision-making.
Yes. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
First, the additional elements are identified.
In claims 1-3, 7-13, 16, and 18-20: sensor, processor, microphone, mobile device, wireless transmission, server, microphone
The sensor, comprising processor and microphone, is only nominally tied to the abstract idea and the data acquisition is all performed as pre-solution activity to the abstract idea claimed. Therefore the claimed sensor amounts to mere data gathering and considered an insignificant extra-solution activity.
The processor, mobile device, wireless transmission and server appear together to comprise an addition of a general purpose computer post-hoc to an abstract idea and is therefore not considered to transform the abstract idea into patent eligible subject matter. The server is performing only generic computer functions and not, for example, performing any functions particular to serving data.
The remaining features in the claims are directed to further specifying the intended use but do not impose further limits to the recited system because they are generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular field of use or technological environment.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly
more than the judicial exception?
The additional elements were identified in the above section under Step 2A Prong Two.
The sensor, comprising processor and microphone, is only nominally tied to the abstract idea and the data acquisition is all performed as pre-solution activity to the abstract idea claimed. Therefore the claimed sensor amounts to mere data gathering and considered an insignificant extra-solution activity.
The processor, mobile device, wireless transmission and server appear together to comprise an addition of a general purpose computer post-hoc to an abstract idea and is therefore not considered to transform the abstract idea into patent eligible subject matter. The server is performing only generic computer functions and not, for example, performing any functions particular to serving data.
The remaining features in the claims are directed to further specifying the intended use but do not impose further limits to the recited system because they are generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular field of use or technological environment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, 11-13, 16, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakar et al. (WO 2015/040610) hereinafter referred to as Nakar; in view of Lagos et al. (Lagos HN, Santos RS, Abdulmassih EM, Gallinea LF, Langone M. Characterization of swallowing sounds with the use of sonar Doppler in full-term and preterm newborns. Int Arch Otorhinolaryngol. 2013 Oct;17(4):383-6.) hereinafter referred to as Lagos.
Regarding claim 1, Nakar teaches a system, comprising:
a sensor device (Fig. 4, element 400) including a processor and having at least one sensor (Fig. 3, sensor 302 and processor 310); and
a mobile device (Fig. 5, element 500, p. 20, lines 6-8),
wherein the mobile device wirelessly receives sensor data from the at least one sensor (p. 21, lines 25-30, line 32),
identifies one or more portions of the sensor data as being a sound within a range (p. 13, lines 21-27; p. 11, lines 16-19),
determines a number of identifications of one or more portions of the sensor data being a sound within the range (p. 1, lines 5-7, Fig. 1, p. 13, lines 21-27; p. 11, lines 16-19, p. 18, lines 9-25 the signal analyzed is the audio signal, the algorithm identifies peaks in the audio signal and analyzes the temporal patterns around the peaks to determine swallow events, Fig. 2), and
determines, using the number of identifications of one or more portions of the sensor data being a sound within the range, a volume of milk consumed in real time (p. 2, lines 16-20 number of detected infant swallowing events per feeding session; p. 15, lines 24-32 and p. 16, lines 5-10, p. 18, lines 1-6; real time in p. 20, lines 27-30).
Nakar does not teach the detected sound being within a specific predetermined frequency range of 800Hz and 1300Hz for detecting swallows.
Attention is drawn to the Lagos reference, which teaches neonate swallows occurring with peaks specifically in the predetermined frequency range of 800Hz and 1300Hz (Table 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the characteristic patterns in audio that Nakar is analyzing to include specific peaks in the range of 800Hz-1300Hz, as taught by Lagos, because Lagos teaches that the mean initial frequency of swallow and second peak of swallow are 850Hz and 1087Hz, respectively, and precisely detecting the swallowing process is important scientifically and clinically (Lagos, p. 395, § Discussion ¶ 1).
Regarding claim 2, Nakar as modified teaches the system of claim 1.
Nakar further teaches wherein the at least one sensor is a microphone (Fig. 3, sensor 302 is a microphone, p. 16, lines 25-30).
Regarding claim 3, Nakar as modified teaches the system of claim 2.
Nakar further teaches wherein the processor receives sensor data from the microphone and transmits the received sensor data to the mobile device (Fig. 3, sensor 302 and processor 310; p. 21, lines 25-30, line 32).
Regarding claim 7, Nakar as modified teaches the system of claim 1.
Nakar further teaches wherein the mobile device calculates a volume of milk ingested by multiplying a constant per-swallow volume by a number of identified suckling and swallowing sounds during the predetermined time (p. 18, lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 8, Nakar as modified teaches the system of claim 7.
Nakar further teaches wherein the mobile device displays one or more of a real time volume of swallowed milk and a volume of swallowed milk per feeding session (p. 20, lines 27-30).
Regarding claim 9, Nakar as modified teaches the system of claim 1.
Nakar further teaches wherein the at least one sensor includes an accelerometer and a microphone (Fig. 3, sensor 302 is a microphone, p. 16, lines 25-30).
Regarding claim 11, Nakar teaches a system, comprising:
a sensor device (Fig. 4, element 400) including a processor and having at least one sensor (Fig. 3, sensor 302 and processor 310); and
a mobile device (Fig. 5, element 500, p. 20, lines 6-8),
a server device(p. 22, lines 1),
wherein the mobile device wirelessly receives sensor data from the at least one sensor (p. 21, lines 25-30, line 32), and the server wirelessly receives sensor data from the mobile device (p. 21, lines 31-32 and p. 22, lines 1-3)
identifies one or more portions of the sensor data as being a sound within a range (p. 13, lines 21-27; p. 11, lines 16-19),
determines a number of identifications of one or more portions of the sensor data being a sound within the range (p. 1, lines 5-7, Fig. 1, p. 13, lines 21-27; p. 11, lines 16-19, p. 18, lines 9-25 the signal analyzed is the audio signal, the algorithm identifies peaks in the audio signal and analyzes the temporal patterns around the peaks to determine swallow events, Fig. 2), and
determines, using the number of identifications of one or more portions of the sensor data being a sound within the range, a volume of milk consumed in real time (p. 2, lines 16-20 number of detected infant swallowing events per feeding session; p. 15, lines 24-32 and p. 16, lines 5-10, p. 18, lines 1-6; real time in p. 20, lines 27-30).
Nakar does not teach the detected sound being within a specific predetermined frequency range of 800Hz and 1300Hz for detecting swallows.
Attention is drawn to the Lagos reference, which teaches neonate swallows occurring with peaks specifically in the predetermined frequency range of 800Hz and 1300Hz (Table 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the characteristic patterns in audio that Nakar is analyzing to include specific peaks in the range of 800Hz-1300Hz, as taught by Lagos, because Lagos teaches that the mean initial frequency of swallow and second peak of swallow are 850Hz and 1087Hz, respectively, and precisely detecting the swallowing process is important scientifically and clinically (Lagos, p. 395, § Discussion ¶ 1).
Regarding claims 12-13, 16, 18-19, the claims are directed to substantially the same subject matter as claims 2-3, 7-9 and are rejected under substantially the same sections of Nakar and Lagos.
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakar and Lagos as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Chung et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0106020) hereinafter referred to as Chung.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Nakar as modified teaches the system of claim 2/19.
Nakar further teaches the mobile device processing data from the sensor for detection of a suckle or swallowing sound (Fig. 1, Fig. 6)
Nakar as modified does not teach comparing accelerometer data with microphone data to validate detection of a suckle or swallowing sound.
Attention is brought to the Chung reference, which teaches comparing accelerometer data with microphone data to validate detection of a sound of interest (¶[0107])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the swallow event detection of Nakar as modified to include mutual validation between an accelerometer and microphone, as taught by Chung, for “increased accuracy” (Chung ¶[0107]).
Conclusion
/AMANDA L STEINBERG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3792