Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
The features are: the ring portion, a mounting portion, one or more securing mechanisms, a handle portion, a hinge portion, the mounting portion attaching or clamping to bass boats, pontoon boats, canoes, and kayaks, the ring portion secures the combination fishing net mud spike around a tree, mud spike is capable of being secured to a dock or pier, the one or more securing mechanisms are slots, the mounting portion is a clamp, the mounting portion is movable to more than one position on the combination fishing net mud spike, the mounting portion is affixed to a bar that is capable of being folded, the bar has a hinge portion that folds the mounting portion against the mud spike, wherein the mounting portion is affixed to a pole that is capable of being folded, the handle portion is securable at a right angle relative to a topmost part of the mud spike portion, the ring portion is secured to the mud spike portion through a hinge, the ring portion is capable of being used as part of an anchor ring, the mud spike portion is telescopic and/or adjustable.
No new matter should be entered. (Some of these claimed features appear to be shown but not labeled. Some appear to belong to another embodiment not illustrated. It’s not clear if the some claimed features are considered to be conventional by Applicant in the combination of features claimed.)
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are
“securing mechanism” (synonymous with “mechanism for securing” or “means for securing” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, 12, 14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by over Sheridan (US 20120125247 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Sheridan discloses the combination fishing net mud spike that is capable of attaching or clamping to a personal watercraft to secure the personal watercraft when fishing or other water activities, the combination fishing net mud spike comprising: a mud spike portion (Element 120 and 108); a ring portion (Element 132) attached to the mud spike portion having one or more securing mechanisms to receive a fishing net (the interior of the ring is a mechanism that allows a net to be secured); a mounting portion that is capable of attaching (The portion of 108 above the ring, in way of leaderline for “108” in Fig 2 is capable of attaching to a watercraft with a rope. Also see cited prior art below.) or clamping to the personal watercraft, the mounting portion positioned above the ring portion on the mud spike portion; and a handle portion at a top of the mud spike portion that permits a user to manipulate the combination fishing net mud spike, the handle having a hinge portion that allows the handle to be movable relative to the mud spike. (Element 204 is allows Element 112 to be folded against 108).
Regarding Claim 2, Sheridan discloses the combination fishing net mud spike of claim 1, wherein the personal watercraft is selected from the group comprising: bass boats, pontoon boats, canoes, and kayaks. (An anchor line of the mounting portion is capable of attaching to all of those craft. See MPEP 2114 regarding functional claims of an apparatus.)
Regarding Claim 4, Sheridan discloses the combination fishing net mud spike of claim 1, wherein the combination fishing net mud spike is capable of being secured to a dock or pier. (It is capable of being secured with an line or rope.)
Regarding Claim 7, Sheridan discloses the combination fishing net mud spike of claim 1, wherein the mounting portion is removable from the combination fishing net mud spike. (Element 108 is removable from Element 120)
Regarding Claim 8, Sheridan discloses the combination fishing net mud spike of claim 1, wherein the mounting portion is movable to more than one position on the combination fishing net mud spike. (Element 108 is movable relative to Element 120.)
Regarding Claim 12, Sheridan discloses the combination fishing net mud spike of claim 1, wherein the handle portion is securable at a right angle relative to a topmost part of the mud spike portion. (See Fig. 2.)
Regarding Claim 14, Sheridan discloses the combination fishing net mud spike of claim 1, wherein the ring portion is capable of being used as part of an anchor ring. (paragraph 44)
Regarding Claim 15, Sheridan discloses the combination fishing net mud spike of claim 1, wherein the mud spike portion is telescopic and/or adjustable. (paragraph 41)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3, 5, 6, 9-11, 13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. (Applicant still needs to show in the drawings all the claimed features in order to overcome the drawing objections. If they are present, they must be labeled. Examiner suggests submitting draft drawings and claims in an interview before the next action.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Schwiebert (US 20140007487 A1) discloses anchor lines may be tied to a mounting portion of a spike. Perry (US 7870829 B1) and Baker (US 20180334223 A1) discloses a spike with a mounting bracket. Roemer (US 20080115401 A1) discloses a spike with a rod carrier capable of holding a net. Lenz (US 20220087235 A1) discloses a net mounting portion. Winkler (US 20050126064 A1) discloses a net on a spike. Brooks (US 20050279391 A1) discloses a pivoting handle on a spike.
/ANDREW POLAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615 30 March 2026