DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on 4/16/2026.
The Examiner notes claims 1-17 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claims 1-5 are withdrawn due to a Response to Restriction/Election Requirement, see below for details.
All other claims are original or previously presented.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-5 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention 1, a method of assembly a plier, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/16/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13
The claim states " a spring is a part of the forced locking mechanism." There is a no antecedent basis for “the forced locking mechanism” as it is not mentioned in claim 6 from which claim 13 depends. For examining purposes the limitation will be interpreted as “
Dependent claim 15 are rejected for depending from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
And/or
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Glockseisen et al. (20200376693), hereinafter Glockseisen.
Regarding claim 6. (Each claim status is listed above in the Status of Claims section) Glockseisen discloses a pliers actuation assembly group, the pliers actuation assembly group comprising
a) two hand levers [2 & 9], at least one of the hand levers having a first hand lever plate and a second hand lever plate which are rigidly connected to one another [Fig 1 & 10; ¶73; each of 2 is formed by first and second hand lever plates (4 & 5) and 9 is formed by two plates (26a & 26b))],
b) a pivot bolt via which the hand levers are pivotably connected to one another [Fig 1-2; ¶63 & ¶67; 21],
c) a mounting element [Fig 1; ¶37 & ¶73; 21 is a mounting elements used between two plates to join them],
d) the mounting element having a first and second shoulder and a first and second protrusion protruding from the first and second shoulder [Fig 1; ¶67; 21 has two shoulder on opposite ends of the center portion with reduce diameter protrusions, in relation to the center portion, that extend out from each shoulder]; ,
e) the mounting element been joined with the first hand lever plate in a joining direction so that the first protrusion of the mounting element extends into a first accommodation of the firsthand lever plate and the first shoulder of the mounting element contacts the first hand lever plate in the joining direction or is arranged adjacent thereto [Fig 1 & 4; ¶67; 21 is mounted in accommodations in both 5 & 4 at 8],
f) the second hand lever plate being joined in the joining direction onto the mounting element so that the second protrusion of the mounting element extends into a second accommodation of the second hand lever plate and the second shoulder of the mounting element contacts the second hand lever plate or is arranged adjacent thereto [Fig 1 & 4; ¶67; 21 is mounted in accommodations in both 5 & 4 at 8],
g) a relative position of the first and second hand lever plate being fixed to each other [Fig 1 & 4; ¶67; 21 is mounted in accommodations in both 5 & 4 at 8],
h) the first and second shoulder of the mounting element being trapped between the first and second hand lever plate so that the mounting element is secured against disassembly from the first and second accommodation of the first and second hand lever plate [Fig 1 & 4; ¶67; 21 is mounted in accommodations in both 5 & 4 at 8].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-10 & 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beetz et al. (US 20020056309) in view of Glockseisen et al. (US 20200376693), hereinafter Beetz and Glockseisen, respectively.
Regarding claim 6. (Each claim status is listed above in the Status of Claims section) Beetz discloses a pliers actuation assembly group designed and configured to be coupled to a pliers head to form pliers in such a way that a stroke of die halves of the pliers head can be brought about by means of manual actuation of the pliers actuation assembly group [Fig 1, the pliers actuation assembly group comprising
a) two hand levers [21 & 22], …,
b) a pivot bolt via which the hand levers are pivotably connected to one another [Fig 1; 23],
c) a mounting element [Fig 1; ¶38; 31 is a joint that used a mounting element to connect 30 to the handle levers],
…
However Beetz may not explicitly disclose at least one of the hand levers having a first hand lever plate and a second hand lever plate which are rigidly connected to one another,
d) the mounting element having a first and second shoulder and a first and second protrusion protruding from the first and second shoulder,
e) the mounting element been joined with the first hand lever plate in a joining direction so that the first protrusion of the mounting element extends into a first accommodation of the firsthand lever plate and the first shoulder of the mounting element contacts the first hand lever plate in the joining direction or is arranged adjacent thereto,
f) the second hand lever plate being joined in the joining direction onto the mounting element so that the second protrusion of the mounting element extends into a second accommodation of the second hand lever plate and the second shoulder of the mounting element contacts the second hand lever plate or is arranged adjacent thereto,
g) a relative position of the first and second hand lever plate being fixed to each other,
h) the first and second shoulder of the mounting element being trapped between the first and second hand lever plate so that the mounting element is secured against disassembly from the first and second accommodation of the first and second hand lever plate.
However Glockseisen teaches the pliers actuation assembly group comprising
a) two hand levers [2 & 9], at least one of the hand levers having a first hand lever plate and a second hand lever plate which are rigidly connected to one another [Fig 1 & 10; ¶73; each of 2 is formed by first and second hand lever plates (4 & 5) and 9 is formed by two plates (26a & 26b))],
b) a pivot bolt via which the hand levers are pivotably connected to one another [Fig 1-2; ¶63 & ¶67; 21],
c) a mounting element [Fig 1; ¶37 & ¶73; 21 is a mounting elements used between two plates to join them],
d) the mounting element having a first and second shoulder and a first and second protrusion protruding from the first and second shoulder [Fig 1; ¶67; 21 has two shoulder on opposite ends of the center portion with reduce diameter protrusions, in relation to the center portion, that extend out from each shoulder]; ,
e) the mounting element been joined with the first hand lever plate in a joining direction so that the first protrusion of the mounting element extends into a first accommodation of the firsthand lever plate and the first shoulder of the mounting element contacts the first hand lever plate in the joining direction or is arranged adjacent thereto [Fig 1 & 4; ¶67; 21 is mounted in accommodations in both 5 & 4 at 8],
f) the second hand lever plate being joined in the joining direction onto the mounting element so that the second protrusion of the mounting element extends into a second accommodation of the second hand lever plate and the second shoulder of the mounting element contacts the second hand lever plate or is arranged adjacent thereto [Fig 1 & 4; ¶67; 21 is mounted in accommodations in both 5 & 4 at 8],
g) a relative position of the first and second hand lever plate being fixed to each other [Fig 1 & 4; ¶67; 21 is mounted in accommodations in both 5 & 4 at 8],
h) the first and second shoulder of the mounting element being trapped between the first and second hand lever plate so that the mounting element is secured against disassembly from the first and second accommodation of the first and second hand lever plate [Fig 1 & 4; ¶67; 21 is mounted in accommodations in both 5 & 4 at 8].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pliers activation assembly group as disclosed by Beetz to have a construction of multiple plates joined together; specifically a) two hand levers, at least one of the hand levers having a first hand lever plate and a second hand lever plate which are rigidly connected to one another, d) the mounting element having a first and second shoulder and a first and second protrusion protruding from the first and second shoulder, e) the mounting element been joined with the first hand lever plate in a joining direction so that the first protrusion of the mounting element extends into a first accommodation of the firsthand lever plate and the first shoulder of the mounting element contacts the first hand lever plate in the joining direction or is arranged adjacent thereto, f) the second hand lever plate being joined in the joining direction onto the mounting element so that the second protrusion of the mounting element extends into a second accommodation of the second hand lever plate and the second shoulder of the mounting element contacts the second hand lever plate or is arranged adjacent thereto, g) a relative position of the first and second hand lever plate being fixed to each other, h) the first and second shoulder of the mounting element being trapped between the first and second hand lever plate so that the mounting element is secured against disassembly from the first and second accommodation of the first and second hand lever plate as taught by Glockseisen for the purpose of constructing the pliers out of flat plate joined together by distance holders [Glockseisen: ¶37] which reduces manufacturing as complicated 3D shapes do not need to forged or machined down into specific shapes.
Regarding claim 7. Beetz as modified teaches the pliers actuation assembly group of claim 6, wherein said mounting element is embodied as a) a pulling bar which is pivotally linked to the first and/or second hand lever plate and arranged and configured for coupling the pliers actuation assembly group to a pliers head [Beetz: Fig 1 & 7-8; 30 is a pulling bar pivotally linked by 15 of Glockseisen to the plier actuation assembly group first and second hand lever plates; 30 couples a pliers head to the actuation assembly group].
Regarding claim 8. Beetz as modified teaches the pliers actuation assembly group of claim 7, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the mounting element is formed integrally with the first and second shoulder and the first and second protrusion.
However it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pulling bar as taught by Beetz to be integrally formed with the mounting element as taught by Glockseisen as per MPEP 2144.04-VI-A, it has been held that mere reversal of parts has no patentable significance absent of new and unexpected results produced by the claimed invention as compared to the prior art, it considered to be matters of design/engineering choice which a person skilled in the art would have found obvious. Specifically allowing the mounting element to be integral with the rotating part and the protrusion rotate instead of the protrusion being integral with the plates and the pulling part rotating around the central portion of the mounting element.
Regarding claim 9 & 10. Beetz as modified teaches the pliers actuation assembly group of claim 7, wherein the first and second accommodation of the first and second hand lever plate wherein the first and second protrusion are accommodated and supported each have a cross section with a closed edge [Beetz: Fig 1; the accommodations and the protrusions are circular (i.e. have a closed edge cross-section)].
Regarding claim 13. Beetz as modified teaches the pliers actuation assembly group of claim 6, wherein
a) said mounting element is embodied as a pulling bar which is pivotally linked to the first and/or second hand lever plate and arranged and configured for coupling the pliers actuation assembly group to a pliers head [Rejected for the same reasons as Claim 7],
b) a spring is a part of the forced locking mechanism, a spring base of the spring being supported on the first and/or second hand lever plate and the spring biasing a locking pawl of the forced locking mechanism [Beetz: Figure 1 of this action (see below) & Fig 1 & 3; ¶37; a spring is part of the locking unit and the spring is connected to the locking unit and the first and/or second hand lever plate; the spring biases the locking pawl],
c) the spring of the forced locking mechanism is a leg torsion spring, a coil or spiral spring [Beetz: Figure 1 of this action (see below) and Fig 1 & 3; the spring is a coil spring] or a circular spring having two legs [As Beetz teaches the coil spring and not the circular spring having two legs the ca) and cb) portions of the claims are moot], wherein
ca) one leg has an end-sided angled section which is oriented parallel to a bending axis of the leg spring, coil or spiral spring or circular spring and forms a third protrusion which is received in a third accommodation of the first or second hand lever plate and
cb) the other leg biases the locking pawl of the forced locking mechanism.
Figure 1: Annotated Fig 3 of Beetz
Regarding claim 14. Beetz as modified teaches the pliers actuation assembly group of claim 6, wherein
a) said mounting element is embodied as a locking pawl being part of a forced locking mechanism which provides that a partially closed position of the hand levers reached within the stroke is secured in a ratchet-like manner and an opening movement of the hand levers is only possible at an end of the stroke [Beetz: Figure 1 of this action and Fig 1 & 3; the mounting element that is a locking pawl is the item 28 is pointing at in Fig 1 and engages the teeth of the opposite handle as seen in Fig 3 to provide a partially closed position of the hand levers reached within the stroke is secured in a ratchet-like manner and an opening movement of the hand levers is only possible at an end of the stroke],
b) a spring is a part of the forced locking mechanism, a spring base of the spring being supported on the first and/or second hand lever plate and the spring biasing the locking pawl of the forced locking mechanism [Beetz: Figure 1 of this action & Fig 1 & 3; ¶37; a spring is part of the locking unit and the spring is connected to the locking unit and the first and/or second hand lever plate; the spring biases the locking pawl],
c) the spring of the forced locking mechanism is a leg torsion spring, a coil or spiral spring [Beetz: Figure 1 of this action (see below) and Fig 1 & 3; the spring is a coil spring] or a circular spring having two legs [As Beetz teaches the coil spring and not the circular spring having two legs the ca) and cb) portions of the claims are moot], wherein
ca) one leg has an end-sided angled section which is oriented parallel to a bending axis of the leg spring, coil or spiral spring or circular spring and forms a third protrusion which is received in a third accommodation of the first or second hand lever plate and
cb) the other leg biases the locking pawl of the forced locking mechanism.
Regarding claim 15 & 16. Beetz as modified teaches the pliers actuation assembly group of claim 13, wherein the other leg has an end-sided angled section which is oriented parallel to a bending axis of the leg spring, coil or spiral spring or circular spring and forms a fourth protrusion that engages a fourth accommodation of the locking pawl [As Beetz teaches the coil spring and not the circular spring having two legs the limitations drawn to the legs of the circular spring are moot].
Claim(s) 11 & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beetz in view of Glockseisen further in view of Glockseisen et al. (US 20210184412), hereinafter Glockseisen2.
Regarding claim 11. (original) Beetz as modified teaches the pliers actuation assembly group of claim 6, wherein the mounting element is embodied as a locking pawl being part of a forced locking mechanism which provides that a partially closed position of the hand levers reached within the stroke is secured in a ratchet-like manner and an opening movement of the hand levers is only possible at an end of the stroke [Figure 1 of this action and Fig 1 & 3; the mounting element that is a locking pawl is the item 28 is pointing at in Fig 1 and engages the teeth of the opposite handle as seen in Fig 3 to provide a partially closed position of the hand levers reached within the stroke is secured in a ratchet-like manner and an opening movement of the hand levers is only possible at an end of the stroke], the locking pawl being… - an engaging part for a toothing of the forced locking mechanism [Figure 1 of this action and Fig 3; the engaging part of the locking pawl is engaged with a toothing of the locking unit] and - an actuating part for a spring of the forced locking mechanism [Figure 1 of this action and Fig 1 & 3; the spring is connected to an actuating part of the locking unit].
Beetz may not explicitly disclose the locking pawl being a bent sheet metal part, the bent sheet metal part integrally forming- the first and second shoulder, - the first and second protrusion.
However Glockseisen2 teaches a locking pawl for pliers [Fig 1 & 9; 8 is the locking pawl for the pliers (1)] wherein the locking pawl being a bent sheet metal part [¶98; 8 is a sheet metal part], the bent sheet metal part integrally forming- the first and second shoulder [Fig 1; ¶98; the protrusions (68) extend away from shoulders], - the first and second protrusion [Fig 1; ¶98; 68], - an engaging part for a toothing of the forced locking mechanism [Fig 1, 12, & 14; the tip of 8 closest to 35 is the engaging part] and - an actuating part for a spring of the forced locking mechanism [Fig 1; the opposite end of 8 from the engaging part is the actuating part for a spring (9)].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the locking unit as taught by Beetz to have the locking pawl being a bent sheet metal part, the bent sheet metal part integrally forming- the first and second shoulder, - the first and second protrusion, - an engaging part for a toothing of the forced locking mechanism and - an actuating part for a spring of the forced locking mechanism as taught by Glockseisen2 as a known locking structure that can be used as stated in ¶37 of Beetz.
Regarding claim 17. Beetz as modified teaches the pliers actuation assembly group of claim 11, wherein the locking pawl
a) has a securing position in which it can slide in a ratchet-like manner along a toothing of the forced locking mechanism during a closing movement of the hand levers, but blocks an opening movement of the hand levers [Beetz: Fig 3],
b) has a release position in which it can slide in a ratchet-like manner along the toothing of the forced locking mechanism during an opening movement of the hand levers [Beetz: Fig 1], wherein the spring is coupled to the locking pawl in a way such that a biasing of the spring is at a minimum in a position between the securing position and the release position [Beetz: Figure 1 of this action and Fig 1].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but appears to be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Specifically the limitations “the spring being a T-shaped metal sheet spring,- a vertical leg of the T forming a leaf spring,- horizontal legs of the T forming the first and second protrusion and - transitions from the vertical leg to the horizontal legs of the T forming the first and second shoulder” appear to contain allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited, PTO form 892.
/AARON R MCCONNELL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723