DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/15/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-14 and 20 in the reply filed on 5/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li [CN113903271] in view of Wei [CN108630815] and Juni [US2008/0279502].
Li discloses a display module (9) , comprising backplane (2) and at least two display panels disposed on a side of the backplane (paragraph 0033-69; Figure 1-4). Li discloses an adhesive (10) is located between the backplane (2) and the display panels (Figures 1-4; paragraphs 0033-69). Li fails to disclose the backplanes comprise first and second backplane, communication holes though the first backplane, glue filling holes through the second backplane.
Wei discloses a display module including backplane (20) including an adhesive layer (21) and composite structure (22), wherein the backplane (20) includes vent holes (28), and wherein the composite structure (22) includes two layers (buffer layer 22a and soaking layer 22b) (paragraphs 0038-0071; Figures 1-7). Wi discloses the vents which are filled with glue overlap in a thickness direction of the display module.
Juni discloses an article for a display panel. Juni discloses component (1) includes multiple layers (11, 12 and 13) and includes though holes A though the thickness of the component (1) to bond the component (1) to a component (2) (paragraph 0027; Figure 1). Juni discloses though holes for air formed in the thickness of component (1) to vent air during the supply of adhesive (paragraph 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the article of Li by including backplanes comprising a first backplane and a second back plane disposed opposite each other and a glue between the backplane, and holes in the backplanes as taught by Wei in order to improve the stability of the display module; and to include a combination of communication holes and glue filling holes though the first and second backplane as taught by Juni order to improve the efficiency of forming and the quality of the formed adhesive layer.
With respect to claim 2, Juni discloses the communication holes (A) that are configured for performing air extraction and glue injection in the space between the components being bonded (paragraphs 0027, 0046).
With respect to claim 3, Juni discloses communication holes that are configured for performing air extraction and glue injection on space between the components being bonded in a time-sharing manner, and rest of the communication holes are configured for performing glue injection on the space between the first backplane and the second backplane (paragraphs 0027, 0046).
With respect to claim 4, Juni discloses part of the communication holes are configured for performing air extraction and glue injection on space between the first backplane and the second backplane in a time-sharing manner, and rest of the communication holes are configured for performing air extraction on the space between the first backplane and the second backplane (paragraphs 0027, 0046).
With respect to claim 5, Li discloses the backplanes comprise at least two panel disposition regions, and the at least two display panels are disposed in the at least two panel disposition regions; and two panel disposition regions are disposed (paragraph 0033-69; Figure 1-4). Juni discloses a number of communication holes in a panel disposition region of the two panel disposition regions adjacent to an edge of the backplanes is greater than a number of communication holes in a panel disposition region of the two panel disposition regions adjacent to a center of the backplanes (Figure 4a).
With respect to claim 6, Li discloses the backplanes comprise at least two panel disposition regions, and the at least two display panels are disposed in the at least two panel disposition regions; and two panel disposition regions are disposed (paragraph 0033-69; Figure 1-4). Juni discloses the communication holes comprise glue injection holes, and the glue injection holes are at least configured for performing glue injection on space between the first backplane and the second backplane; and two panel disposition regions are disposed, and a number of glue injection holes in a panel disposition region of the two panel disposition regions adjacent to an edge of the backplanes is less than a number of glue injection holes in a panel disposition region of the two panel disposition regions adjacent to a center of the backplanes (Figure 4a).
With respect to claim 7, Li discloses the backplanes comprise at least two panel disposition regions and the at least two display panels are disposed in the at least two panel disposition regions (paragraph 0033-69; Figure 1-4). Juni discloses and the first backplane in each of the at least two panel disposition regions comprises communication holes, and the second backplane in the each panel disposition region comprises glue filling holes (Figure 4).
With respect to claim 8, Juni discloses the first backplane comprises at least two of the communication holes; two of the at least two communication holes are disposed on two opposite sides of a center of the each panel disposition region; or at least one of the at least two communication holes is disposed at a center of the each panel disposition region, and at least one of the at least two communication holes is disposed at an edge of the each panel disposition region (Figure 4).
With respect to claim 10, Juni discloses the communication holes comprise air extraction holes and glue injection holes, the air extraction holes are at least configured for performing air extraction on space between the first backplane and the second backplane, and the glue injection holes are at least configured for performing glue injection on the space between the first backplane and the second backplane. Juni and Wei disclose holes that are of different cross-section, and it would have been within the ability of one of ordinary skill to choose the shape of any of the components in the article.
With respect to claim 11, Wei discloses the second backplane comprises a plurality of glue filling holes, and the plurality of glue filling holes are uniformly distributed in the second backplane (Figures 1 and 2).
With respect to claim 20, Li discloses a display device including a display module (9) , comprising backplane (2) and at least two display panels disposed on a side of the backplane (paragraph 0033-69; Figure 1-4). Li discloses an adhesive (10) is located between the backplane (2) and the display panels (Figures 1-4; paragraphs 0033-69). Li fails to disclose the backplanes comprise first and second backplane, communication holes though the first backplane, glue filling holes through the second backplane.
Wei discloses a display module including backplane (20) including an adhesive layer (21) and composite structure (22), wherein the backplane (20) includes vent holes (28), and wherein the composite structure (22) includes two layers (buffer layer 22a and soaking layer 22b) (paragraphs 0038-0071; Figures 1-7). Wi discloses the vents which are filled with glue overlap in a thickness direction of the display module.
Juni discloses an article for a display panel. Juni discloses component (1) includes multiple layers (11, 12 and 13) and includes though holes A though the thickness of the component (1) to bond the component (1) to a component (2) (paragraph 0027; Figure 1). Juni discloses though holes for air formed in the thickness of component (1) to vent air during the supply of adhesive (paragraph 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the article of Li by including backplanes comprising a first backplane and a second back plane disposed opposite each other and a glue between the backplane, and holes in the backplanes as taught by Wei in order to improve the stability of the display module; and to include a combination of communication holes and glue filling holes though the first and second backplane as taught by Juni order to improve the efficiency of forming and the quality of the formed adhesive layer.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, Wei, Juni, and further in view of Beau et al. [US20240276657].
Li as modified discloses a display module, applicant is referred to paragraph 5 for a detailed discussion of Li as modified. Juni discloses the communication holes comprise air extraction holes and glue injection holes, the air extraction holes are at least configured for performing air extraction on space between the first backplane and the second backplane, and the glue injection holes are at least configured for performing glue injection on the space between the first backplane and the second backplane; the air extraction holes and the glue injection holes are independently disposed.
Li fails to disclose a first and second value for controlling the opening of the air holes and the glue injection holes. Beau discloses a display device including injection valve (52) that controls the passage of fluid into an injection opening, and a vent valve that controls the passage of gas into the air vent (paragraphs 0054-55, 0059, 0097, 0103 and 0119).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the article of Li by including glue injection valve and air valves as taught by Beau in order to improve the control of the supply of adhesive and removal of air from between the components being bonded.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, Wei, Juni, and further in view of Lei [CN113140167].
Li as modified discloses a display module, applicant is referred to paragraph 5 for a detailed discussion of Li as modified. With respect to claims 12 and 13 Li discloses a backplane but fails to disclose a curved backplane. Lei discloses a display device including a curved backplane, and openings (151 and 152) that allow the injection of adhesive and the venting of air from between the components being bonded (Figures 2 and 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the device of Li to include a curved backplane as taught by Lei in order to change the display characteristics including viewing angle and distortion. It would have been within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to choose the opening distribution and location to ensure an optimized amount and spread of adhesive takes place while optimizing the exhaust of air to prevent bubbles or voids in the adhesive.
With respect to claim 14, Li discloses a backplane but fails to disclose a curved backplane. Lei discloses a display device including a curved backplane, and openings (151 and 152) that allow the injection of adhesive and the venting of air from between the components being bonded (Figures 2 and 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the device of Li to include a curved backplane as taught by Lei in order to change the display characteristics including viewing angle and distortion. Juni discloses a groove disposed at an edge the surface side of the backplane to collect adhesive (paragraph 0027).
Conclusion
/DANIEL MCNALLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746
DPM
August 10, 2026