DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-6, 11-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2022/0078687 A1 (hereinafter “Zhu”), in view of U.S. Publication No. 2024/0373301 A1 (hereinafter “Wiszniewski”), and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0076441 A1 (hereinafter “Guha”).
Regarding claims 1 and 11: Zhu teaches a method comprising:
receiving a capability report and a measurement report from a wireless device; and transitioning the wireless device to another access node to allow for [a] mmWave coverage (see, e.g., figure 2, [0031], [0041], [0077], [0127], [0182], [0186]; access node transitioning or handover considers received device capabilities and measurements).
Zhu does not explicitly state “determining based on the capability report that the wireless device supports millimeter wave (mmWave) coverage, but does not support new radio dual connectivity (NRDC).” However, in a similar field of endeavor, this feature is taught by Wiszniewski (see, e.g., [0085]-[0090]; note also overlapping teaching with respect to reporting and handover). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Wiszniewski, such as the signaling and/or support indication functionality, within the system of Zhu, in order to improve resource utilization.
Zhu modified by Wiszniewski does not explicitly state “determining, based on the measurement report, that the wireless device is in a location having a threshold strength of mmWave coverage.” However, in a similar field of endeavor, this feature is taught by Guha (see, e.g., [0049]-[0051], [0056], [0063]; note mmWave signal strength determination). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Guha, such as the signaling and/or state functionality, within the system of Zhu modified by Wiszniewski, in order to maintain quality of service for devices traversing multiple radio access technologies.
The rationale set forth above regarding the method of claim 1 is applicable to the system of claim 11.
Regarding claims 2, 12, 13, and 19: Zhu modified by Wiszniewski and Guha further teaches storing threshold criteria for determining that the wireless device is in a location having the threshold strength of mmWave coverage (see, e.g., Guha [0049]-[0051], [0056], [0063]). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 2.
The rationale set forth above regarding the method of claim 2 is applicable to the systems and medium of claims 12, 13, and 19, respectively.
Regarding claims 3 and 14: Zhu modified by Wiszniewski and Guha further teaches receiving the capability report and the measurement report at a 5G standalone access node (see, e.g., Zhu [0031], [0181], [0182], [0186]; Wiszniewski [0085]-[0090]). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 3.
The rationale set forth above regarding the method of claim 3 is applicable to the system of claim 14.
Regarding claims 4 and 15: Zhu modified by Wiszniewski and Guha further teaches wherein transitioning the wireless device to another access node comprises handing the wireless device over to a long term evolution (LTE) eNodeB in a 5G non-standalone cell (see, e.g., Zhu figure 2, [0031], [0181], [0182], [0186]; Wiszniewski [0085]-[0090]). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 4.
The rationale set forth above regarding the method of claim 4 is applicable to the system of claim 15.
Regarding claims 5 and 16: Zhu modified by Wiszniewski and Guha further teaches providing LTE as a main cell group (MCG) and mmWave as a secondary cell group (SCG) (see, e.g., Zhu [0031]-[0033]; Wiszniewski [0002], [0005], [0085]-[0090]). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 5.
The rationale set forth above regarding the method of claim 5 is applicable to the system of claim 16.
Regarding claims 6 and 17: Zhu modified by Wiszniewski and Guha further teaches triggering a handover of the wireless device from a 5G standalone access node to 5G non-standalone access node having mmWave coverage (see, e.g., Zhu [0031], [0181], [0182], [0186]; Wiszniewski [0085]-[0090]). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 6.
The rationale set forth above regarding the method of claim 6 is applicable to the system of claim 17.
7. Claims 7, 8, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, in view of Wiszniewski, in further view of Guha, and in further view of either U.S. Publication No. 2023/0362752 A1 (hereinafter “Vivanco”) or U.S. Publication No. 2024/0121572 A1 (hereinafter “Ramchandran”).
Regarding claims 7 and 18: Zhu modified by Wiszniewski and Guha substantially teaches the method as set forth above regarding claim 1, but does not explicitly state wherein the measurement report comprises wireless device feedback for which synchronization signal block (SSB) beam is strongest. However, this feature is taught by Vivanco (see, e.g., [0028], [0029]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Vivanco, such as the beam functionality, within the system of Zhu modified by Wiszniewski and Guha, in order to determine coverage(s).
Alternatively, the said feature is taught by Ramchandran (see, e.g., [0088], [0222]). Similarly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Ramchandran, such as the beam functionality, within the system of Zhu modified by Wiszniewski and Guha, in order to determine coverage(s).
The rationale set forth above regarding the method of claim 7 is applicable to the system of claim 18.
Regarding claim 8: Zhu modified by Wiszniewski, Guha, and either Vivanco or Ramchandran further teaches comparing the wireless device feedback with a stored correlation of SSB beams with mmWave coverage (see, e.g., Vivanco [0028], [0029]; or Ramchandran [0088], [0222]). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 7 is applicable to claim 8.
8. Claims 9, 10, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, in view of Wiszniewski, in further view of Guha, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2018/0359790 A1 (hereinafter “Ingale”).
Regarding claim 9: Zhu modified by Wiszniewski and Guha substantially teaches the method as set forth above regarding claim 1, but does not explicitly state wherein the measurement report includes channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) feedback reporting precoding matrix indicator (PMI) values. However, this feature is taught by Ingale (see, e.g., figure 2, [0044]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Ingale, such as the feedback functionality, within the system of Zhu modified by Wiszniewski and Guha, in order to determine coverage(s).
Regarding claims 10 and 20: Zhu modified by Wiszniewski, Guha, and either Vivanco or Ramchandran further teaches comparing the received PMI values to stored information correlating PMI values with mmWave coverage (see, e.g., Ingale figure 2, [0044]). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 9 is applicable to claim 10.
The rationale set forth above regarding the method of claim 10 is applicable to the medium of claim 20.
Relevant Art
9. The following prior art not relied upon in this Office action is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: See form PTO-892.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS SLOMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476