DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1 and 22), in the reply filed on 29 June 2026, is acknowledged.
Applicants canceled claim 20 drawn to a method of Group II. However, the Restriction Requirement is not withdrawn. If applicant cancels all the claims directed to a nonelected process invention before rejoinder occurs, the examiner should not withdraw the restriction requirement. This will preserve applicant’s rights under 35 U.S.C. 121. See MPEP 821.04(b).
Current Status of 18/389,356
This Office Action is responsive to the amended claims of 29 June 2026.
Claims 1 and 22 have been examined on the merits. Claim 1 is original. Claim 22 is previously presented.
Priority
The effective filing date is 6 November 2018.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 20 January 2026 and 15 March 2024, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by:
CHEN (CN 104922061 A, (September 2015), WIPO English language machine translation provided).
The prior art reference CHEN teaches a parenteral formulation for intramuscular or subcutaneous injection (page 6/10) comprising a therapeutically effective amount of nalmefene hydrochloride (the “pharmaceutically acceptable salt” of nalmefene) (page 1) and magnesium chloride (the “parenterally acceptable absorption enhancing adjuvant” of claim 1) (page 3/10). Alternatively, the limitation “parenterally acceptable absorption enhancing adjuvant” is interpreted as an inherent property/function of the claim.
Furthermore, page 6/10 of CHEN teaches that the “formulation provides a time to onset of opioid antagonistic action of less than 5 minutes post administration” to a subject experiencing an opioid agonist overdose. Alternatively, the limitation “a time to onset of opioid antagonistic action of less than 5 minutes post administration” can also be interpreted as an inherent property or function of the nalmefene hydrochloride and magnesium chloride adjuvant parenteral formulation taught by prior art reference CHEN.
When the composition recited in the prior art reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I). Also, if the composition is physically the same, it must have the same properties. See MPEP 2112.01(II).
This anticipates claim 1.
Claims 1 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by:
REVEX (“Revex (nalmefene hydrochloride injection).” (January 2008)),
as evidenced by:
SODIUM CHLORIDE (Weleda. “Sodium chloride.” (Before 5 November 2018), Accessed 12 August 2023. Available from: < https://www.weleda.com/ingredients/sodium-chloride-90#:~:text=Sodium > ).
The reference REVEX teaches a parenteral formulation for intramuscular or subcutaneous injection comprising a therapeutically effective amount of nalmefene hydrochloride (the “pharmaceutically acceptable salt” of nalmefene) and sodium chloride (page 1).
Furthermore, the “Pharmacokinetics” section of reference REVEX teaches that the “formulation provides a time to onset of opioid antagonistic action of less than 5 minutes post administration” to a subject experiencing an opioid agonist overdose (see Table 1 on page 2). Alternatively, the limitation “a time to onset of opioid antagonistic action of less than 5 minutes post administration” can also be interpreted as an inherent property or function of the nalmefene hydrochloride and sodium chloride adjuvant parenteral formulation taught by prior art reference REVEX.
Moreover, the reference SODIUM CHLORIDE is relied upon for the beneficial teachings that sodium chloride is a known adjuvant (see page 1/2). The Examiner interprets the limitation “parenterally acceptable absorption enhancing adjuvant” of claim 1 as an inherent property/function.
When the composition recited in the prior art reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I). Also, if the composition is physically the same, it must have the same properties. See MPEP 2112.01(II). This anticipates instant claim 1.
REVEX teaches intravenous, intramuscular, and subcutaneous administration and “nalmefene hydrochloride injection” (emphasis on “injection”) (see page 1, especially title). The “injection” of page 1 infers that a needle/injection (a “drug delivery system comprising an injection device”) will be used thereby anticipating claim 22.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 22 are rejected on the ground of anticipatory nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,857,547 B2. The instant amended claims of 29 June 2026 were used to write this rejection.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims anticipate the instant claims. For example, reference claims 1 and 7, each drawn to a parenteral formulation comprising an aqueous solution of nalmefene free base or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (ie., nalmefene hydrochloride) and an adjuvant, anticipates instant claim 1, drawn to same.
The instant claim 1 limitations: “therapeutically effective amount” is inherently anticipated by the reference claims since it would not be a parenteral formulation if it were not “therapeutically effective”.
Moreover, the limitation “parenterally acceptable absorption enhancing amount of an adjuvant” and “wherein the formulation provides a time to onset of opioid antagonistic action of less than 5 minutes post administration via an intramuscular or subcutaneous injection to a subject experiencing an opioid agonist overdose” each constitute inherent properties or functions. See MPEP 2112.01(I) and (II).
Reference column 18 teaches an injection device of instant claim 22.
Claims 1 and 22 are rejected on the ground of anticipatory nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,865,112 B2. The instant amended claims of 29 June 2026 were used to write this rejection.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims anticipate the instant claims. For example, reference claim 1, drawn to a parenteral formulation comprising a therapeutically effective amount of nalmefene or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof and an adjuvant, wherein the formulation provides a time to onset of opioid antagonistic action of less than 5 minutes post administration via an intramuscular or subcutaneous injection to a subject experiencing an opioid agonist overdose, anticipates instant claim 1, drawn to same.
Moreover, the limitation “parenterally acceptable absorption enhancing amount of an adjuvant” constitutes an inherent property or function. See MPEP 2112.01(I) and (II).
Also, reference claim 13, drawn to a drug delivery system comprising an injection device containing a parenteral formulation of claim 1, anticipates instant claim 22, drawn to same.
Conclusion
No claims are presently allowable as written.
/JOHN S KENYON/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625