Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the reply filed on 10/22/2026, wherein claims 1, 11, 22, and 24 were amended, claims 2-3, 6, 12-13, 16, 21, and 23 are cancelled. Claims 1, 4-5, 7-11, 14-15, 17-20, 22, and 24 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1. Claim . Further it is noted that claim 11 line 5 the term “intent” is used. However, it would appear based on claim 1 that the term “indent” was intended. The term “intent” alone does not have a structural requirement. The structural limitations of an intent could be seen as unclear.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-11, 14-15, 17-20, 22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. claims 1 and 11 state "the first sidewall includes ... plurality of openings in the flat rear wall". However this feature was never taught by the as filed disclosure. It is presumed item 184 is being discussed. Item 184 is never stated to be an opening or a plurality thereof. Further it is unclear what the plurality of openings refers to. For example, is the opening a hole or a top surface of a recess? It also appears item 184 is already discussed in claim 1 as the engagement feature with a magnetized element. Claims , 4-10, 14-20, 22, and 24 directly or indirectly depend from claim 1 or 11 and are also rejected. For the purposes of examination, the new matter shall not be considered.
Addtionally claims 1 and 11 state “at least one modular block comprising a substantially flat rear surface configure to contact the flat rear wall”. This is unsupported by the as filed specification as well. There is no discussion about the rear surface of the modular block contacting the rear wall. For the purposes of examination, the new matter shall not be considered.
Lastly claims 1 and 11 state “a plurality of extending members, wherein each extending member is configured to be inserted into an opening of the plurality of openings”. This is unsupported by the as filed specification as well. There is no discussion of a plurality of extending members or openings. In fact, the first side wall and the modular block already appear to be connected via magnetization of the engagement feature. What is the purpose of the extending member that is inserted into the opening? What do the extending members look like, what do the openings look like? For the purposes of examination, the new matter shall not be considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7-9, 11, 15, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaci-Mai (see webpage attached), ZealSound (see webpage attached), Maravilla (US 20210169192 A1), and Taha (US 20210194257 A1) .
With respect to claim 1, Kaci-Mai discloses a modular compartment assembly, the modular compartment assembly comprising: a base (figure 1); a first sidewall located at a first end of the base and extending orthogonal to the base (fig 1); a second sidewall located at a second end of the base and extending orthogonal to the base (fig 1), wherein the first sidewall and the second sidewall are located on opposing ends of the base; a top wall (fig 1) situated parallel to the base, wherein the first sidewall is connected to the top wall at a first end of the top wall and the second sidewall is connected to the top wall at a second end of the top wall, at least one mobility module (figure 1) located on a surface of the base and extending in a direction opposite of the first sidewall; a compartment area comprising at least one compartment hanger extending vertically on a back wall (fig 2), wherein the compartment area is configured to receive at least one modular tool partition (feature of fig 2 an receive items).
Examiner Note: Kaci-Mai Webpage is https://www.wayfair.com/furniture/pdp/red-barrel-studio-kaci-mai-24-tall-storage-end-table-with-built-in-charging-station-w000516581.html?piid=1099202663
Kaci-Mai failed to disclose an activity mat disposed on top of the top wall, wherein the activity mat is made of a pliable material that is compressed when a tool is placed on it and is configured to minimize damage to the modular compartment assembly. Kaci-Mai did teach of a charger component located on the top wall. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely chargers, ZealSound taught of a wireless charging mat formed from a deformable material that enables charging of multiple devices at once. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charger of Kaci-Mai to be a charging mat as taught by ZealSound in order to allow for charging of more objects.
The references also failed to disclose wherein the side wall includes an indent having a flat rear wall (and a plurality of openings in the flat rear wall); the at least one modular block removably attached to an outer surface of the first side wall the at least one modular block comprising a substantially flat rear surface configure to contact the flat rear wall, and (a plurality of extending members each extending member is configured to be inserted into an opening of the plurality of openings). However, in a similar field of endeavor namely containers, Maravilla taught of a container comprising a removable modular block (202) in its first side (300), said removable modular block allowing for charging of electronic devices (page 3 [0027]). It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the container of Kaci-Mai to include a modular block as taught by Maravilla in order to allow for easy access to a storage device.
Examiner Note: The rear wall of Maravilla can be considered rear wall 309, alternatively the bottom wall may be considered the rear wall. Parenthesis text above are considered new matter and are omitted from examination.
The references also failed to disclose the at least one modular block comprising at least one engagement feature, wherein the at least one engagement feature comprises a metal configured to be connected to a magnetized surface of the first sidewall to allow for attachment of the at least one modular block to the modular compartment assembly. However, in a similar field of endeavor namely containers with electrical components, Taha taught of the retention of a power bank using magnets (page 3 [0047]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of containers with doors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the magnetic engagement mechanism as taught by Taha for the locking mechanism of the modular block as disclosed by Kaci-Mai and Maravilla since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, with the difference being the substitution of the elements. In the present case, the magnetic locking mechanism allows for easier access. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the one known element for the other to produce a predictable result (MPEP 2143).
With respect to claim 5, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the activity mat comprises a wireless charging mat. As taught by ZealSound, see claim 1 for combination rationale.
With respect to claim 7, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the at least one modular block comprises at least one electrical output feature. As taught by the Maravilla reference (power bank has electrical outputs), see claim 1 rejection above for combination rationale.
With respect to claim 8, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the modular compartment assembly is configured to hold one or more handheld power tools. As taught by Kaci-Mai.
Examiner Note: At no point does the claims state the presence of a power tool, just a capability.
With respect to claim 9, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the at least one modular tool partition is electrically connected to a power source. As taught by Kaci-Ma, also the modular tool partition is not positively recited.
With respect to claim 11, Kaci-Mai discloses a modular compartment assembly, the modular compartment assembly comprising: a base (figure 1); a first sidewall located at a first end of the base and extending orthogonal to the base (fig 1); a second sidewall located at a second end of the base and extending orthogonal to the base (fig 1), wherein the first sidewall and the second sidewall are located on opposing ends of the base; a top wall (fig 1) situated parallel to the base, wherein the first sidewall is connected to the top wall at a first end of the top wall and the second sidewall is connected to the top wall at a second end of the top wall, placing at least one mobility module (figure 1) located on a surface of the base and extending in a direction opposite of the first sidewall; creating a compartment area comprising at least one compartment hanger extending vertically on a back wall (fig 2), wherein the compartment area is configured to receive at least one modular tool partition (feature of fig 2 an receive items).
Kaci-Mai failed to disclose an activity mat disposed on the top wall, wherein the activity mat is made of a pliable material that is compressed when a tool is placed on it and is configured to minimize damage to the modular compartment assembly. Kaci-Mai did teach of a charger component located on the top wall. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely chargers, ZealSound taught of a wireless charging mat formed from a deformable material that enables charging of multiple devices at once. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charger of Kaci-Mai to be a charging mat as taught by ZealSound in order to allow for charging of more objects.
The references also failed to disclose wherein the side wall includes an indent having a flat rear wall (and a plurality of openings in the flat rear wall); the at least one modular block removably attached to an outer surface of the first side wall the at least one modular block comprising a substantially flat rear surface configure to contact the flat rear wall, and (a plurality of extending members each extending member is configured to be inserted into an opening of the plurality of openings). However, in a similar field of endeavor namely containers, Maravilla taught of a container comprising a removable modular block (202) in its first side (300), said removable modular block allowing for charging of electronic devices (page 3 [0027]). It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the container of Kaci-Mai to include a modular block as taught by Maravilla in order to allow for easy access to a storage device.
Examiner Note: The rear wall of Maravilla can be considered rear wall 309, alternatively the bottom wall may be considered the rear wall. Parenthesis text above are considered new matter and are omitted from examination.
The references also failed to disclose the at least one modular block comprising at least one engagement feature, wherein the at least one engagement feature comprises a metal configured to be connected to a magnetized surface of the first sidewall to allow for attachment of the at least one modular block to the modular compartment assembly. However, in a similar field of endeavor namely containers with electrical components, Taha taught of the retention of a power bank using magnets (page 3 [0047]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of containers with doors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the magnetic engagement mechanism as taught by Taha for the locking mechanism of the modular block as disclosed by Kaci-Mai and Maravilla since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, with the difference being the substitution of the elements. In the present case, the magnetic locking mechanism allows for easier access. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the one known element for the other to produce a predictable result (MPEP 2143).
With respect to claim 15, the references as applied to claim 11, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the activity mat comprises a wireless charging mat. As taught by ZealSound, see claim 1 for combination rationale.
With respect to claim 17, the references as applied to claim 11, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the at least one modular block comprises at least one electrical output feature. As taught by the Maravilla reference (power bank has electrical outputs), see claim 1 rejection above for combination rationale.
With respect to claim 18, the references as applied to claim 11, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the modular compartment assembly is configured to hold one or more handheld power tools. As taught by Kaci-Mai.
Examiner Note: At no point does the claims state the presence of a power tool, just a capability.
With respect to claim 19, the references as applied to claim 11, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the at least one modular tool partition is electrically connected to a power source. As taught by Kaci-Mai and Taha, also a modular tool partition is not positively claimed as part of the present invention.
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaci-Mai (see webpage attached), ZealSound (see webpage attached), Maravilla (US 20210169192 A1), and Taha (US 20210194257 A1) and Borello (US 4893885 A).
With respect to claim 4, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims except for wherein the at least one mobility module comprises removable wheels. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely compartment storage, Borello taught of a portable container unit with removable wheels (col 1 lines 65-68) which enables transportability of the feature. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mobility module of Kaci-Mai to include removable wheels as taught by Borello in order to allow better transportability.
With respect to claim 14, the references as applied to claim 11, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims except for wherein the at least one mobility module comprises removable wheels. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely compartment storage, Borello taught of a portable container unit with removable wheels (col 1 lines 65-68) which enables transportability of the feature. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mobility module of Kaci-Mai to include removable wheels as taught by Borello in order to allow better transportability.
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaci-Mai (see webpage attached), ZealSound (see webpage attached), Maravilla (US 20210169192 A1), and Taha (US 20210194257 A1) and Boothby (US 20220330718 A1).
With respect to claim 10, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims except for wherein the second sidewall comprises a magnetized surface, the magnetized surface configured to magnetically hold one or more metal tools. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely compartmentalized storage, Boothby taught of a storage container with magnetic sidewalls. The sidewalls allowing for skins to be attached to the container (page 4 [0094]). It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second sidewall of Kaci-Mai to be a magnetized surface as taught by Boothby in order to allow for attachment of a variety skins.
With respect to claim 20, the references as applied to claim 11, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims except for wherein the second sidewall comprises a magnetized surface, the magnetized surface configured to magnetically hold one or more metal tools. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely compartmentalized storage, Boothby taught of a storage container with magnetic sidewalls. The sidewalls allowing for skins to be attached to the container (page 4 [0094]). It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second sidewall of Kaci-Mai to be a magnetized surface as taught by Boothby in order to allow for attachment of a variety skins.
Claim(s) 1, 11, 21-22 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaci-Mai (see webpage attached), ZealSound (see webpage attached), Etsy Side table (see webpage attached), and Mabry (US 11771117 B1) .
With respect to claim 1, Kaci-Mai discloses a modular compartment assembly, the modular compartment assembly comprising: a base (figure 1); a first sidewall located at a first end of the base and extending orthogonal to the base (fig 1); a second sidewall located at a second end of the base and extending orthogonal to the base (fig 1), wherein the first sidewall and the second sidewall are located on opposing ends of the base; a top wall (fig 1) situated parallel to the base, wherein the first sidewall is connected to the top wall at a first end of the top wall and the second sidewall is connected to the top wall at a second end of the top wall, at least one mobility module (figure 1) located on a surface of the base and extending in a direction opposite of the first sidewall; a compartment area comprising at least one compartment hanger extending vertically on a back wall (fig 2), wherein the compartment area is configured to receive at least one modular tool partition (feature of fig 2 an receive items).
Examiner Note: Kaci-Mai Webpage is https://www.wayfair.com/furniture/pdp/red-barrel-studio-kaci-mai-24-tall-storage-end-table-with-built-in-charging-station-w000516581.html?piid=1099202663
Kaci-Mai failed to disclose an activity mat disposed on top of the top wall, wherein the activity mat is made of a pliable material that is compressed when a tool is placed on it and is configured to minimize damage to the modular compartment assembly. Kaci-Mai did teach of a charger component located on the top wall. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely chargers, ZealSound taught of a wireless charging mat formed from a deformable material that enables charging of multiple devices at once. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charger of Kaci-Mai to be a charging mat as taught by ZealSound in order to allow for charging of more objects.
The references also failed to disclose wherein the side wall includes an indent having a flat rear wall (and a plurality of openings in the flat rear wall); the at least one modular block removably attached to an outer surface of the first side wall the at least one modular block comprising a substantially flat rear surface configure to contact the flat rear wall, and (a plurality of extending members each extending member is configured to be inserted into an opening of the plurality of openings). However, in a similar field of endeavor namely containers with doors, Etsy Side table comprising a hidden cavity on its first side wall (Product is features on page 1 and page 5), which serves as a discrete storage compartment. The modular block being the removable portion, that opens the secret side compartment. The back most surface is the rear wall. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the container of Kaci-Mai to include a modular block as taught by Etsy Side Table in order to allow for a discrete storage compartment.
Examiner Note: Parenthesis text above are considered new matter and are omitted from examination. Weblink for Etsy Side Table is: https://www.etsy.com/listing/953528472/side-table-with-rfid-locking-compartment
The references also failed to disclose the at least one modular block comprising at least one engagement feature, wherein the at least one engagement feature comprises a metal configured to be connected to a magnetized surface of the first sidewall to allow for attachment of the at least one modular block to the modular compartment assembly. However, in a similar field of endeavor namely containers with doors, Mabry taught of a door with a magnetic latch that helps maintain the door in a closed configuration (col 5 claim 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of containers with doors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the magnetic engagement mechanism as taught by Mabry for the locking mechanism as disclosed by Kaci-Mai and Etsy Side Table since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, with the difference being the substitution of the elements. In the present case, the magnetic locking mechanism allows for easier access. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the one known element for the other to produce a predictable result (MPEP 2143).
With respect to claim 11, Kaci-Mai discloses a modular compartment assembly, the modular compartment assembly comprising: a base (figure 1); a first sidewall located at a first end of the base and extending orthogonal to the base (fig 1); a second sidewall located at a second end of the base and extending orthogonal to the base (fig 1), wherein the first sidewall and the second sidewall are located on opposing ends of the base; a top wall (fig 1) situated parallel to the base, wherein the first sidewall is connected to the top wall at a first end of the top wall and the second sidewall is connected to the top wall at a second end of the top wall, placing at least one mobility module (figure 1) located on a surface of the base and extending in a direction opposite of the first sidewall; creating a compartment area comprising at least one compartment hanger extending vertically on a back wall (fig 2), wherein the compartment area is configured to receive at least one modular tool partition (feature of fig 2 an receive items).
Kaci-Mai failed to disclose an activity mat disposed on the top wall, wherein the activity mat is made of a pliable material that is compressed when a tool is placed on it and is configured to minimize damage to the modular compartment assembly. Kaci-Mai did teach of a charger component located on the top wall. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely chargers, ZealSound taught of a wireless charging mat formed from a deformable material that enables charging of multiple devices at once. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charger of Kaci-Mai to be a charging mat as taught by ZealSound in order to allow for charging of more objects.
The references also failed to disclose wherein the side wall includes an indent having a flat rear wall (and a plurality of openings in the flat rear wall); the at least one modular block removably attached to an outer surface of the first side wall the at least one modular block comprising a substantially flat rear surface configure to contact the flat rear wall, and (a plurality of extending members each extending member is configured to be inserted into an opening of the plurality of openings). However, in a similar field of endeavor namely containers with doors, Etsy Side table comprising a hidden cavity on its first side wall (Product is features on page 1 and page 5), which serves as a discrete storage compartment. The modular block being the removable portion, that opens the secret side compartment. The back most surface is the rear wall. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the container of Kaci-Mai to include a modular block as taught by Etsy Side Table in order to allow for a discrete storage compartment.
Examiner Note: Parenthesis text above are considered new matter and are omitted from examination. Weblink for Etsy Side Table is: https://www.etsy.com/listing/953528472/side-table-with-rfid-locking-compartment
The references also failed to disclose the at least one modular block comprising at least one engagement feature, wherein the at least one engagement feature comprises a metal configured to be connected to a magnetized surface of the first sidewall to allow for attachment of the at least one modular block to the modular compartment assembly. However, in a similar field of endeavor namely containers with doors, Mabry taught of a door with a magnetic latch that helps maintain the door in a closed configuration (col 5 claim 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of containers with doors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the magnetic engagement mechanism as taught by Mabry for the locking mechanism as disclosed by Kaci-Mai and Etsy Side Table since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, with the difference being the substitution of the elements. In the present case, the magnetic locking mechanism allows for easier access. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the one known element for the other to produce a predictable result (MPEP 2143).
With respect to claim 21, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the first sidewall includes at least an indent, and the at least a modular block is inserted in the at least an indent. This is taught by the Etsy Side Table reference, see combination rationale above. The indentation allows for the storage compartment With respect to claim 22, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the at least a modular block has an outer surface, and the outer surface is flush with the first sidewall when the at least a modular block is inserted in the at least an indent. This is taught by the Etsy Side Table reference, see combination rationale above. The indentation allows for the storage compartment. An outer surface of the modular block of Etsy Side Table is flush in order to allow the compartment to be hidden.
With respect to claim 24, the references as applied to claim 11, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the at least a modular block has an outer surface, and the outer surface is flush with the first sidewall when the at least a modular block is inserted in the at least an indent. This is taught by the Etsy Side Table reference, see combination rationale above. The indentation allows for the storage compartment. An outer surface of the modular block of Etsy Side Table is flush in order to allow the compartment to be hidden.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 5339956 A, US 6877825 B2, US 20110025181 A1, US 20160095429 A1, US 9661920 B2, US 20170181539 A1, US 20220330718 A1, US 20220379940 A1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant believes amendments to claim 1 overcome the prior art rejection. However, the amendments to claim 1 appear to introduce new matter that was not previously considered. The new matter has been omitted from examination. Only the indent feature and rear wall are included for examination. These features are both taught by the prior art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYMREN K SANGHERA/Examiner, Art Unit 3735