DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 11 were amended, claims 2-3, 12-13 were canceled, Claims 14-24 are new. Claims 1, 4-11, 14-24 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 objected to because of the following informalities: claim 23 lines 1-2 " at least an indent, and the at least a modular block is inserted in the at least an indent." should read -- at least indent, and the at least a modular block is inserted in the at least indent. --. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “wherein the at least one modular block comprises a wall outlet” in claim 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “wherein the at least one modular block comprises a wall outlet” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Claim 1 states the modular block to be an item that is removable from the first wall. Does the application intend for the wall outlet to be removal from the modular compartment assembly? In drawings, item 404A is labeled as a wall outlet. However, that item appears to be a wall plug. For the purposes of examination the entire phrase shall be broadly interpreted. For example, a wall outlet on the first surface shall meet the merits of this claim. As such, a wall plug (like that of 404A) can be removably attached to said wall outlet.
The term “wherein the at least one modular block comprises a wall outlet” in claim 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “wherein the at least one modular block comprises a wall outlet” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Claim 1 states the modular block to be an item that is removable from the first wall. Does the application intend for the wall outlet to be removal from the modular compartment assembly? In drawings, item 404A is labeled as a wall outlet. However, that item appears to be a wall plug. For the purposes of examination the entire phrase shall be broadly interpreted. For example, a wall outlet on the first surface (that is not removably attached) shall meet the merits of this claim. As such, a wall plug (like that of 404A) can be removably attached to said wall outlet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 8-9, 11, 15-16, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaci-Mai (see webpage attached), ZealSound (see webpage attached), Allen(US 20190148871 A1), and TC-Homeny (see webpage attached) .
With respect to claim 1, Kaci-Mai discloses a modular compartment assembly, the modular compartment assembly comprising: a base (figure 1); a first sidewall located at a first end of the base and extending orthogonal to the base (fig 1); a second sidewall located at a second end of the base and extending orthogonal to the base (fig 1), wherein the first sidewall and the second sidewall are located on opposing ends of the base; a top wall (fig 1) situated parallel to the base, wherein the first sidewall is connected to the top wall at a first end of the top wall and the second sidewall is connected to the top wall at a second end of the top wall, at least one mobility module (figure 1) located on a surface of the base and extending in a direction opposite of the first sidewall; a compartment area comprising at least one compartment hanger extending vertically on a back wall (fig 2), wherein the compartment area is configured to receive at least one modular tool partition (feature of fig 2 an receive items).
Examiner Note: Kaci-Mai Webpage is https://www.wayfair.com/furniture/pdp/red-barrel-studio-kaci-mai-24-tall-storage-end-table-with-built-in-charging-station-w000516581.html?piid=1099202663
Kaci-Mai failed to disclose an activity mat disposed on top of the top wall, wherein the activity mat is made of a pliable material that is compressed when a tool is placed on it and is configured to minimize damage to the modular compartment assembly. Kaci-Mai did teach of a charger component located on the top wall. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely chargers, ZealSound taught of a wireless charging mat formed from a deformable material that enables charging of multiple devices at once. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charger of Kaci-Mai to be a charging mat as taught by ZealSound in order to allow for charging of more objects.
Kaci-Mai also failed to disclose the at least one modular block removably, the at least one modular block comprising at least one engagement feature, wherein the at least one engagement feature comprises a metal configured to be connected to a magnetized surface of the first sidewall to allow for attachment of the at least one modular block to the modular compartment assembly. However, in a similar field of endeavor namely containers with doors, Allen taught of a cover comprising at least one modular block removably attached (item 22 and page 3 [0023]) with metal inserts (figure 2 and abstract) that can be attached to a magnetic portion of the first sidewall (20). This cover serves to protect a convenience interface that has outlets and access devices that reside within the enclosure without having to open the closure (abstract and page 1 [003]). It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the container of Kaci-Mai to include a magnetic cover for a modular block assembly (convenience interface) as taught by Allen in order to allow for accessibility and charging from the exterior.
The references failed to disclose of the modular block attached to an outer surface of the first sidewall. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely containers with doors, TC-Homeny teaches of the need for a modular block on the side surface by having its outlets located on a side surface (see figure in webpage attached). There are only a finite number of locations for the modular block (and outlet). Thus, it would have been obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the modular block on the first side wall as taught by TC-Homeny since there are only a finite number of predictable solutions. Either, the modular block is on the front, back or one of the sidewalls. Thus, making the modular block on the first side wall would have been obvious because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product was not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103." KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. See MPEP 2143.
With respect to claim 5, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the activity mat comprises a wireless charging mat. As taught by ZealSound, see claim 1 for combination rationale.
With respect to claim 6, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the at least one modular block comprises a wall outlet. As taught by the Allen reference (convenience interface), see claim 1 rejection above for combination rationale.
With respect to claim 8, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the modular compartment assembly is configured to hold one or more handheld power tools. As taught by Kaci-Mai.
Examiner Note: At no point does the claims state the presence of a power tool, just a capability.
With respect to claim 9, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the at least one modular tool partition is electrically connected to a power source. As taught by Kaci-Mai and Allen.
With respect to claim 11, Kaci-Mai discloses a modular compartment assembly, the modular compartment assembly comprising: a base (figure 1); a first sidewall located at a first end of the base and extending orthogonal to the base (fig 1); a second sidewall located at a second end of the base and extending orthogonal to the base (fig 1), wherein the first sidewall and the second sidewall are located on opposing ends of the base; a top wall (fig 1) situated parallel to the base, wherein the first sidewall is connected to the top wall at a first end of the top wall and the second sidewall is connected to the top wall at a second end of the top wall, placing at least one mobility module (figure 1) located on a surface of the base and extending in a direction opposite of the first sidewall; creating a compartment area comprising at least one compartment hanger extending vertically on a back wall (fig 2), wherein the compartment area is configured to receive at least one modular tool partition (feature of fig 2 an receive items).
Kaci-Mai failed to disclose an activity mat disposed on the top wall, wherein the activity mat is made of a pliable material that is compressed when a tool is placed on it and is configured to minimize damage to the modular compartment assembly. Kaci-Mai did teach of a charger component located on the top wall. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely chargers, ZealSound taught of a wireless charging mat formed from a deformable material that enables charging of multiple devices at once. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charger of Kaci-Mai to be a charging mat as taught by ZealSound in order to allow for charging of more objects.
Kaci-Mai also failed to disclose receiving at least one modular block removably attached to an outer surface of the modular compartment assembly, the at least one modular block comprising at least one engagement feature, wherein the at least one engagement feature comprises a metal configured to be connected to a magnetized surface of the first wall to allow for attachment of the at least one modular block to the modular compartment assembly. However, in a similar field of endeavor namely containers with doors, Allen taught of a cover comprising at least one modular block removably attached (item 22 and page 3 [0023]) with metal inserts (figure 2 and abstract) that can be attached to a magnetic portion of the first sidewall (20). This cover serves to protect a convenience interface that has outlets and access devices that reside within the enclosure without having to open the closure (abstract and page 1 [003]). It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the container of Kaci-Mai to include a magnetic cover for a modular block assembly (convenience interface) as taught by Allen in order to allow for accessibility and charging from the exterior.
The references failed to disclose of the modular block attached to an outer surface of the first sidewall. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely containers with doors, TC-Homeny teaches of the need for a modular block on the side surface by having its outlets located on a side surface (see figure in webpage attached). There are only a finite amount of locations for the modular block (and outlet). Thus, it would have been obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the modular block on the first side wall as taught by TC-Homeny since there are only a finite number of predictable solutions. Either, the modular block is on the front, back or one of the sidewalls. Thus, making the modular block on the first side wall would have been obvious because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product was not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103." KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. See MPEP 2143.
With respect to claim 15, the references as applied to claim 11, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the activity mat comprises a wireless charging mat. As taught by ZealSound, see claim 1 for combination rationale.
With respect to claim 16, the references as applied to claim 11, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the at least one modular block comprises a wall outlet. As taught by the Allen reference (convenience interface), see claim 11 rejection above for combination rationale.
With respect to claim 18, the references as applied to claim 11, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the modular compartment assembly is configured to hold one or more handheld power tools. As taught by Kaci-Mai.
Examiner Note: At no point does the claims state the presence of a power tool, just a capability.
With respect to claim 19, the references as applied to claim 11, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the at least one modular tool partition is electrically connected to a power source. As taught by Kaci-Mai and Allen.
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaci-Mai (see webpage attached), ZealSound (see webpage attached), Allen(US 20190148871 A1), TC-Homeny (see webpage attached) and Borello (US 4893885 A).
With respect to claim 4, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims except for wherein the at least one mobility module comprises removable wheels. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely compartment storage, Borello taught of a portable container unit with removable wheels (col 1 lines 65-68) which enables transportability of the feature. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mobility module of Kaci-Mai to include removable wheels as taught by Borello in order to allow better transportability.
With respect to claim 14, the references as applied to claim 11, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims except for wherein the at least one mobility module comprises removable wheels. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely compartment storage, Borello taught of a portable container unit with removable wheels (col 1 lines 65-68) which enables transportability of the feature. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mobility module of Kaci-Mai to include removable wheels as taught by Borello in order to allow better transportability.
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaci-Mai (see webpage attached), ZealSound (see webpage attached), Allen(US 20190148871 A1), TC-Homeny (see webpage attached) and Boothby (US 20220330718 A1).
With respect to claim 10, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims except for wherein the second sidewall comprises a magnetized surface, the magnetized surface configured to magnetically hold one or more metal tools. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely compartmentalized storage, Boothby taught of a storage container with magnetic sidewalls. The sidewalls allowing for skins to be attached to the container (page 4 [0094]). It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second sidewall of Kaci-Mai to be a magnetized surface as taught by Boothby in order to allow for attachment of a variety skins.
With respect to claim 20, the references as applied to claim 11, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims except for wherein the second sidewall comprises a magnetized surface, the magnetized surface configured to magnetically hold one or more metal tools. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely compartmentalized storage, Boothby taught of a storage container with magnetic sidewalls. The sidewalls allowing for skins to be attached to the container (page 4 [0094]). It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second sidewall of Kaci-Mai to be a magnetized surface as taught by Boothby in order to allow for attachment of a variety skins.
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 11, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaci-Mai (see webpage attached), ZealSound (see webpage attached), Maravilla (US 20210169192 A1), and Taha (US 20210194257 A1) .
With respect to claim 1, Kaci-Mai discloses a modular compartment assembly, the modular compartment assembly comprising: a base (figure 1); a first sidewall located at a first end of the base and extending orthogonal to the base (fig 1); a second sidewall located at a second end of the base and extending orthogonal to the base (fig 1), wherein the first sidewall and the second sidewall are located on opposing ends of the base; a top wall (fig 1) situated parallel to the base, wherein the first sidewall is connected to the top wall at a first end of the top wall and the second sidewall is connected to the top wall at a second end of the top wall, at least one mobility module (figure 1) located on a surface of the base and extending in a direction opposite of the first sidewall; a compartment area comprising at least one compartment hanger extending vertically on a back wall (fig 2), wherein the compartment area is configured to receive at least one modular tool partition (feature of fig 2 an receive items).
Examiner Note: Kaci-Mai Webpage is https://www.wayfair.com/furniture/pdp/red-barrel-studio-kaci-mai-24-tall-storage-end-table-with-built-in-charging-station-w000516581.html?piid=1099202663
Kaci-Mai failed to disclose an activity mat disposed on top of the top wall, wherein the activity mat is made of a pliable material that is compressed when a tool is placed on it and is configured to minimize damage to the modular compartment assembly. Kaci-Mai did teach of a charger component located on the top wall. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely chargers, ZealSound taught of a wireless charging mat formed from a deformable material that enables charging of multiple devices at once. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charger of Kaci-Mai to be a charging mat as taught by ZealSound in order to allow for charging of more objects.
The references also failed to disclose the at least one modular block removably attached to an outer surface of the first side wall. However, in a similar field of endeavor namely containers, Maravilla taught of a container comprising a removable modular block (202) in its first side (300), said removable modular block allowing for charging of electronic devices (page 3 [0027]). It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the container of Kaci-Mai to include a modular block as taught by Maravilla in order to allow for easy access to a storage device.
The references also failed to disclose the at least one modular block comprising at least one engagement feature, wherein the at least one engagement feature comprises a metal configured to be connected to a magnetized surface of the first sidewall to allow for attachment of the at least one modular block to the modular compartment assembly. However, in a similar field of endeavor namely containers with electrical components, Taha taught of the retention of a power bank using magnets (page 3 [0047]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of containers with doors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the magnetic engagement mechanism as taught by Taha for the locking mechanism of the modular block as disclosed by Kaci-Mai and Maravilla since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, with the difference being the substitution of the elements. In the present case, the magnetic locking mechanism allows for easier access. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the one known element for the other to produce a predictable result (MPEP 2143).
With respect to claim 6, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the at least one modular block comprises a wall outlet. As taught by the Maravilla reference (power bank has electrical outputs), see claim 1 rejection above for combination rationale.
With respect to claim 7, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the at least one modular block comprises at least one electrical output feature. As taught by the Maravilla reference (power bank has electrical outputs), see claim 1 rejection above for combination rationale.
With respect to claim 11, Kaci-Mai discloses a modular compartment assembly, the modular compartment assembly comprising: a base (figure 1); a first sidewall located at a first end of the base and extending orthogonal to the base (fig 1); a second sidewall located at a second end of the base and extending orthogonal to the base (fig 1), wherein the first sidewall and the second sidewall are located on opposing ends of the base; a top wall (fig 1) situated parallel to the base, wherein the first sidewall is connected to the top wall at a first end of the top wall and the second sidewall is connected to the top wall at a second end of the top wall, placing at least one mobility module (figure 1) located on a surface of the base and extending in a direction opposite of the first sidewall; creating a compartment area comprising at least one compartment hanger extending vertically on a back wall (fig 2), wherein the compartment area is configured to receive at least one modular tool partition (feature of fig 2 an receive items).
Kaci-Mai failed to disclose an activity mat disposed on the top wall, wherein the activity mat is made of a pliable material that is compressed when a tool is placed on it and is configured to minimize damage to the modular compartment assembly. Kaci-Mai did teach of a charger component located on the top wall. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely chargers, ZealSound taught of a wireless charging mat formed from a deformable material that enables charging of multiple devices at once. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charger of Kaci-Mai to be a charging mat as taught by ZealSound in order to allow for charging of more objects.
The references also failed to disclose receiving the at least one modular block removably attached to an outer surface of the first side wall. However, in a similar field of endeavor namely containers, Maravilla taught of a container comprising a removable modular block (202) in its first side (300), said removable modular block allowing for charging of electronic devices (page 3 [0027]). It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the container of Kaci-Mai to include a modular block as taught by Maravilla in order to allow for easy access to a storage device.
The references also failed to disclose the at least one modular block comprising at least one engagement feature, wherein the at least one engagement feature comprises a metal configured to be connected to a magnetized surface of the first sidewall to allow for attachment of the at least one modular block to the modular compartment assembly. However, in a similar field of endeavor namely containers with electrical components, Taha taught of the retention of a power bank using magnets (page 3 [0047]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of containers with doors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the magnetic engagement mechanism as taught by Taha for the locking mechanism of the modular block as disclosed by Kaci-Mai and Maravilla since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, with the difference being the substitution of the elements. In the present case, the magnetic locking mechanism allows for easier access. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the one known element for the other to produce a predictable result (MPEP 2143).
With respect to claim 16, the references as applied to claim 11, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the at least one modular block comprises a wall outlet. As taught by the Maravilla reference (power bank has electrical outputs), see claim 11 rejection above for combination rationale.
With respect to claim 17, the references as applied to claim 11, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the at least one modular block comprises at least one electrical output feature. As taught by the Maravilla reference (power bank has electrical outputs), see claim 1 rejection above for combination rationale.
Claim(s) 1, 11, 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaci-Mai (see webpage attached), ZealSound (see webpage attached), Etsy Side table (see webpage attached), and Mabry (US 11771117 B1) .
With respect to claim 1, Kaci-Mai discloses a modular compartment assembly, the modular compartment assembly comprising: a base (figure 1); a first sidewall located at a first end of the base and extending orthogonal to the base (fig 1); a second sidewall located at a second end of the base and extending orthogonal to the base (fig 1), wherein the first sidewall and the second sidewall are located on opposing ends of the base; a top wall (fig 1) situated parallel to the base, wherein the first sidewall is connected to the top wall at a first end of the top wall and the second sidewall is connected to the top wall at a second end of the top wall, at least one mobility module (figure 1) located on a surface of the base and extending in a direction opposite of the first sidewall; a compartment area comprising at least one compartment hanger extending vertically on a back wall (fig 2), wherein the compartment area is configured to receive at least one modular tool partition (feature of fig 2 an receive items).
Examiner Note: Kaci-Mai Webpage is https://www.wayfair.com/furniture/pdp/red-barrel-studio-kaci-mai-24-tall-storage-end-table-with-built-in-charging-station-w000516581.html?piid=1099202663
Kaci-Mai failed to disclose an activity mat disposed on top of the top wall, wherein the activity mat is made of a pliable material that is compressed when a tool is placed on it and is configured to minimize damage to the modular compartment assembly. Kaci-Mai did teach of a charger component located on the top wall. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely chargers, ZealSound taught of a wireless charging mat formed from a deformable material that enables charging of multiple devices at once. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charger of Kaci-Mai to be a charging mat as taught by ZealSound in order to allow for charging of more objects.
The references also failed to disclose the at least one modular block removably attached to an outer surface of the first side wall. However, in a similar field of endeavor namely containers with doors, Etsy Side table comprising a hidden cavity on its first side wall (Product is features on page 1 and page 5), which serves as a discrete storage compartment. The modular block being the removable portion, that opens the secret side compartment. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the container of Kaci-Mai to include a modular block as taught by Etsy Side Table in order to allow for a discrete storage compartment.
Examiner Note: Weblink for Etsy Side Table is: https://www.etsy.com/listing/953528472/side-table-with-rfid-locking-compartment
The references also failed to disclose the at least one modular block comprising at least one engagement feature, wherein the at least one engagement feature comprises a metal configured to be connected to a magnetized surface of the first sidewall to allow for attachment of the at least one modular block to the modular compartment assembly. However, in a similar field of endeavor namely containers with doors, Mabry taught of a door with a magnetic latch that helps maintain the door in a closed configuration (col 5 claim 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of containers with doors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the magnetic engagement mechanism as taught by Mabry for the locking mechanism as disclosed by Kaci-Mai and Etsy Side Table since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, with the difference being the substitution of the elements. In the present case, the magnetic locking mechanism allows for easier access. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the one known element for the other to produce a predictable result (MPEP 2143).
With respect to claim 11, Kaci-Mai discloses a modular compartment assembly, the modular compartment assembly comprising: a base (figure 1); a first sidewall located at a first end of the base and extending orthogonal to the base (fig 1); a second sidewall located at a second end of the base and extending orthogonal to the base (fig 1), wherein the first sidewall and the second sidewall are located on opposing ends of the base; a top wall (fig 1) situated parallel to the base, wherein the first sidewall is connected to the top wall at a first end of the top wall and the second sidewall is connected to the top wall at a second end of the top wall, placing at least one mobility module (figure 1) located on a surface of the base and extending in a direction opposite of the first sidewall; creating a compartment area comprising at least one compartment hanger extending vertically on a back wall (fig 2), wherein the compartment area is configured to receive at least one modular tool partition (feature of fig 2 an receive items).
Kaci-Mai failed to disclose an activity mat disposed on the top wall, wherein the activity mat is made of a pliable material that is compressed when a tool is placed on it and is configured to minimize damage to the modular compartment assembly. Kaci-Mai did teach of a charger component located on the top wall. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely chargers, ZealSound taught of a wireless charging mat formed from a deformable material that enables charging of multiple devices at once. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charger of Kaci-Mai to be a charging mat as taught by ZealSound in order to allow for charging of more objects.
The references also failed to disclose receiving the at least one modular block removably attached to an outer surface of the first side wall. However, in a similar field of endeavor namely containers with doors, Etsy Side table comprising a hidden cavity on its first side wall (Product is features on page 1 and page 5), which serves as a discrete storage compartment. The modular block being the removable portion, that opens the secret side compartment. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the container of Kaci-Mai to include a modular block as taught by Etsy Side Table in order to allow for a discrete storage compartment.
Examiner Note: Weblink for Etsy Side Table is: https://www.etsy.com/listing/953528472/side-table-with-rfid-locking-compartment
The references also failed to disclose the at least one modular block comprising at least one engagement feature, wherein the at least one engagement feature comprises a metal configured to be connected to a magnetized surface of the first sidewall to allow for attachment of the at least one modular block to the modular compartment assembly. However, in a similar field of endeavor namely containers with doors, Mabry taught of a door with a magnetic latch that helps maintain the door in a closed configuration (col 5 claim 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of containers with doors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the magnetic engagement mechanism as taught by Mabry for the locking mechanism as disclosed by Kaci-Mai and Etsy Side Table since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, with the difference being the substitution of the elements. In the present case, the magnetic locking mechanism allows for easier access. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the one known element for the other to produce a predictable result (MPEP 2143).
With respect to claim 21, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the first sidewall includes at least an indent, and the at least a modular block is inserted in the at least an indent. This is taught by the Etsy Side Table reference, see combination rationale above. The indentation allows for the storage compartment With respect to claim 22, the references as applied to claim 21, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the at least a modular block has an outer surface, and the outer surface is flush with the first sidewall when the at least a modular block is inserted in the at least an indent. This is taught by the Etsy Side Table reference, see combination rationale above. The indentation allows for the storage compartment. An outer surface of the modular block of Etsy Side Table is flush in order to allow the compartment to be hidden.
With respect to claim 23, the references as applied to claim 11, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the first sidewall includes at least an indent, and the at least a modular block is inserted in the at least an indent. This is taught by the Etsy Side Table reference, see combination rationale above. The indentation allows for the storage compartment
With respect to claim 24, the references as applied to claim 23, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the at least a modular block has an outer surface, and the outer surface is flush with the first sidewall when the at least a modular block is inserted in the at least an indent. This is taught by the Etsy Side Table reference, see combination rationale above. The indentation allows for the storage compartment. An outer surface of the modular block of Etsy Side Table is flush in order to allow the compartment to be hidden.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 5339956 A, US 6877825 B2, US 20110025181 A1, US 20160095429 A1, US 9661920 B2, US 20170181539 A1, US 20220330718 A1, US 20220379940 A1.
Conclusion
/SYMREN K SANGHERA/Examiner, Art Unit 3735