DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed July 6, 2026 in which claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 14 and 16 were amended.
The rejection of the claims under 35 USC 103 over Vyakaranam further in view of Arnst is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-5, 8-11 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vyakaranam (US 20230120367-appears on a previous PTO-892) in view of Blackborow (US 5588973-appears on a previous PTO-892).
Vyakaranam teaches a method of reducing or preventing fouling in a plastic-derived synthetic feedstock derived from plastic pyrolysis (see abstract. The method of obtaining the synthetic feedstock comprises: (a) heating plastic under substantially oxygen free conditions at a temperature from about 400° C. to about 850° C. to produce a pyrolysis effluent; (b) condensing the pyrolysis effluent to obtain a synthetic feedstock; and (c) recovering the synthetic feedstock. In some embodiments, after condensing, the effluent is distilled (see para 0040-0044).
The hydrocarbons from the pyrolysis distillate may be diesel fuel (see para 0045). Depending on the processing conditions synthetic feedstock can have characteristics similar to crude oil from petroleum sources. In some embodiments, the synthetic feedstock derived from waste plastic contains 10-50% paraffins and iso-paraffins, 5-25% naphthenes, and 5-35% aromatics. The synthetic feedstocks have carbon lengths of 15-20 wt. % C9-C16; 75-87 wt. % C16-C29; 2-5 wt. % C30+, where the carbon chains are predominantly a mixture of alkanes, alkenes and diolefins (see para 0048).
To the pyrolysate process stream or pyrolysate product is added the antifouling agent, which reduces or prevents foulant formation or deposition in the pyrolysate or process equipment. The antifouling agent is an anhydride of carboxylic acids or their derivatives. The carboxylic acid anhydrides include succinic anhydride, and derivatives thereof (see para 0053). The succinic anhydride compounds include succinamides, succinimides, and N-alkyl, N-alkenyl, N-aryl, and N-alkaryl succinimides (acylated nitrogen compounds) (see para 0055).
The antifouling agent is effective to reduce or prevent fouling when the antifouling agent composition is added to a synthetic pyrolysis stream or synthetic pyrolysis product in an amount corresponding to about 10 ppm to 5000 ppm by weight of the antifouling agent (see para 0059). Other additives can be added to the pyrolysis oil during processing and storage. In some embodiments, the other additives are antioxidants and neutralizers (see para 0069). The teaching of neutralizers suggests metal deactivators. Vyakaranam teaches that for the antioxidants one should look to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/159,266, which is incorporated by reference in its entirety (see para 0069). It should be noted that this provisional application is published as Arnst (US20220289648). The provisional application teaches that the antioxidant comprises alkylated phenols and aromatic diamines. The alkylated phenol comprises a hindered phenol selected from 2-tert- butylphenol, 4-tert-butylphenol 2,4-di-tert-butylphenol, 2,6-di-tert-butylphenol, 2,4,6-tri- tert-butylphenol, 2,5-di-tert-butylhydroquinone or combinations thereof. The aromatic diamine comprises a phenylenediamine, such as N,N’-di-sec-butylphenylenediamine (see paragraphs 0040-0041 and claims 5-8 of the provisional application 63/159,266).
Vyakaranam meets the limitations of the claims other than the differences that are set forth below.
Vyakaranam does not specifically teach adding the acylated nitrogen compound to the fuel oil obtained from the distillation of the pyrolysis oil. However, Vyakaranam does teach that the pyrolysis product may be distilled, that the product contains a range of hydrocarbon products which includes diesel fuel and that an antifouling agent may be added to the pyrolysis products. It should be noted that U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/159,266, which is incorporated by reference in its entirety teaches in claim 14 and paragraph [0029] that the pyrolysis effluent is distilled.
Vyakaranam does not specifically teach that the acylated nitrogen compound is the reaction product of a polyisobutene-substituted succinic acid or succinic anhydride and a polyethylene polyamine. However, Blackborow meets this limitation.
Blackborow teaches a fuel composition (a hydrocarbon boiling in the diesel range) comprising a polyisobutene succinimide (see abstract; col. 4, lines 57-59). The PIB succinimides are prepared by the reaction of a PIB-substituted succinic acylating agent, (succinic anhydride) with an amine such as a polyethylene polyamine (see col. 1, lines 39-43; col. 4, lines 40-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used PIB succinimides prepared by the reaction of a PIB-substituted succinic acylating agent, (succinic anhydride) with an amine such as a polyethylene polyamine as the stabilizing additive because Vyakaranam desires succinimides and teaches that these compounds reduce or prevent foulant formation or deposition in the pyrolysate or process equipment and Blackborow teaches that the specific compounds of the present claims do indeed inhibit the formation and facilitate the removal of deposits (see col. 1, lines 5-43).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vyakaranam as applied to the claims above, and further in view of WO 02068570- appears on a previous PTO-892.
Vyakaranam has been discussed above. Vyakaranam does not specifically teach the claimed hydroxylamine. However, WO meets this limitation.
WO teaches a fuel composition comprising a major amount of a normally liquid hydrocarbon based fuel and a minor amount of a hydroxylamine. The hydroxylamine provides improved combustion properties to a wide variety of normally liquid hydrocarbon based fuels, such as middle distillate and diesel fuels. The hydroxylamine has the following formula
wherein Ra and Rb is a hydrocarbyl group of 1-25 carbon atoms and n is from 1 to about 30 (see page 4, lines 25-29; page 6, lines 1-9; page 7, lines 10-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have included the hydroxylamine in the fuel composition because WO teaches that these compounds improve combustion properties to a wide variety of normally liquid hydrocarbon based fuels such as the diesel fuel of Vyakaranam.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vyakaranam as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Vataru (US 4,797,134-appears on a previous PTO 892).
Vyakaranam has been discussed above. Vyakaranam does not specifically teach the alkoxylated amine compounds. However, Vataru teaches this difference.
Vataru teaches the used of ethoxylated and propoxylated derivatives of fatty amines in diesel fuels (see abstract; col. 1, lines 4-10).
Vataru teaches that detergents are commonly employed in fuels for the purposes of maintaining fuel system cleanliness, absorbing traces of moisture, and resisting rust and corrosion. It is desirable that such detergents be ashless--that is, contain no metal salts and burn cleanly in the combustion chamber. It is further desirable that they contain no elements such as phosphorus which could be detrimental to the performance of a catalytic converter or other emission control device. The detergents to be used according to the invention are the fatty amines and the ethoxylated and propoxylated derivatives thereof. The compounds are prepared from ethylene diamine (see col. 3, lines 7-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an alkoxylated amine in the composition of Vyakaranam because Vataru teaches that the compounds are employed in fuels, such as Vyakaranam for the purposes of maintaining fuel system cleanliness, absorbing traces of moisture, and resisting rust and corrosion.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vyakaranam as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Martella (US 5039437-appears on a previous PTO-892).
Vyakaranam has been discussed above. Vyakaranam does not specifically teach that the stabilizing additive comprises aldehyde-alkylphenol copolymers. However, Martella teaches this difference.
Martella teaches additives for improving the low temperature flow properties of hydrocarbon oils which comprise the condensation reaction product of alkylated phenol and aldehyde of the following formula
wherein R’ is an alkyl group , R1 is linear alkyl groups and R2-R5 are H or alkyl groups and n is at least 1 (see abstract; col. 14, lines 21-68). Martella teaches that the polymers are used in fuel oils (see col. 17, lines 50-col. 18, lines 1-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the aldehyde-alkylphenol copolymers as the stabilizing additive because Vyakaranam teaches that wax dispersants and paraffin inhibitors may be used in his invention (see para 0069) and Martella teaches that the aldehyde-alkylphenol additives function as flow improvers which are effective for modification of the size, number, and growth of wax crystals in various hydrocarbon oils, including fuel oils, so as to impart improved low temperature flow properties to these oils.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Vyakaranam does not teach the use of succinimides in diesel fuel and that Vyakaranam discloses anti-fouling agents for use in reducing or preventing foulants in synthetic feedstocks derived from plastic.
Applicant is claiming a composition and a method of improving the stability of the composition. Vyakaranam teaches this composition. Vyakaranam teaches the oil obtained from the distillation of a pyrolysis oil, an antioxidant and a stabilizing agent. It is well settled that if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020); Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Furthermore, Vyakaranam teaches in paragraph [0045] that the pyrolysis process produces a range of hydrocarbon products from gases (at temperatures from 10° C. to 50° C. and 0.5-1.5 atmospheric pressure and having 5 carbons or less); modest boiling point liquids (like gasoline or naphtha (40-200° C) or diesel fuel (180-360° C). Diesel fuel is a middle distillate.
Applicant argues that Vyakaranam does not teach or suggest that any particular additives are suitable for stabilizing a diesel fuel derived from a pyrolysis oil. Applicant argues that Vyakaranam only teaches that different additives from those currently claimed can stabilize crude-like pyrolysis oils.
Vyakaranam teaches that other additives can be added to the pyrolysis oil during processing and storage. This teaching would encompass the distilled product as well as the crude like product.
Applicant argues that the examples of Vyakaranam relate to the use of a maleic anhydride alpha-olefin copolymer or a tetrapropylene-succinic anhydride to reduce fouling in undistilled pyrolysis feedstocks. Therefore, the examples of Vyakaranam do not show that a succinimide additive can reduce fouling in a diesel fuel derived from a pyrolysis oil feedstock, as alleged by the Examiner. Applicant argues that neither the description nor the examples of Vyakaranam teach the skilled person that succinimide additives would be effective in stabilizing or reducing fouling in a diesel fuel composition derived from a pyrolysis oil. The skilled person would not have been motivated by Vyakaranam to use a succinimide in a diesel fuel composition.
It is well settled that a reference is relied upon for all that it teaches and is not limited to the examples therein. Vyakaranam teaches that in some embodiments, the succinic anhydride compounds include succinic acid, succinamides, succinimides, and N-alkyl, N-alkenyl, N-aryl, and N-alkaryl succinimides. This teaching alone suggests the use of the claimed acylated nitrogen compounds of the present invention. With respect to Applicant repeatedly stating that the claims are directed to diesel fuel, it should be pointed out that the terms “diesel fuel” do not appear anywhere in the claims. Applicant is claiming a middle distillate fuel oil obtained from the distillation of a pyrolysis oil. There are other fuel oils that qualify as a middle distillate fuel oil, i.e., diesel fuel is not the only fuel that is classified as a middle distillate fuel oil. However, it is clear that Vyakaranam teaches that the distillate of his invention may be used as a diesel fuel.
Applicant argues that the skilled person, when reading Blackborow, would be taught to use additives in mineral gasoline, for the reduction of engine valve deposits, and would not have been taught, suggested, or motivated to use these additives in a pyrolysis oil such as that described in Vyakaranam to improve its stability, let alone in a diesel fuel derived from such a pyrolysis oil, as required by the current claims.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Blackborow teaches that the compounds of his invention relates in general to use in hydrocarbon fuel compositions and in particular to hydrocarbon fuel compositions containing a polyisobutene succinimide detergent additive. Hydrocarbon fuels generally contain numerous deposit-forming substances. When used in internal combustion engines, deposits tend to form on and around constricted areas of the engine in contact with the fuel. In diesel engines, deposits tend to accumulate in the fuel injection system, thereby hampering good performance of the engine. Therefore, Blackborow does contemplate use of the compounds in diesel fuels and Vyakaranam teaches that the feedstock of his invention may be a diesel fuel.
Applicant argues that the alleged superior and unexpected results obtained when using the present fuel composition would not have been remotely expected by the skilled person, based on the teachings of Vyakaranam, Blackborow and Arnst.
Applicant has not shown unexpected results. Applicant is claiming generic stabilizing additives and generic phenolic antioxidants. The examiner cannot ascertain if unexpected results are obtained. Whether the alleged unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support.
Applicant argues regarding Arnst are moot due to the rejection being withdrawn. However, it should be pointed out that the provisional application incorporated by reference in Vyakaranam is derived from Arnst and the provisional reference teaches that the phenolic antioxidants are used to inhibit, prevent or reduce oxidation, deterioration, degradation and gum formation. Arnst teaches that the antioxidants are used to stabilize synthetic feedstock derived from plastic and that the feedstock may be used as a diesel fuel.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CEPHIA D TOOMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771 18389414/20260821