DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed 7/6/26. The amendments overcome the previous 112(b) rejection of claim 19.
Claim Objections
Claim 16-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16 recites “a complementary connector of a power cable or of a power pack” and later refers to “the complementary connector of the power cable.” There may not be a complementary connector of a power cable, as the two were recited in the alternative. Only the power cable is shown in the embodiments of Figs. 9-10, so it is suggested the reference to the power pack be deleted, or other alterations made to emphasize that the claim does require the complementary connector of the power cable.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,6,9,14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johansson [US 2017/0021154 A1] in view of Grosjean.
Re. claim 1, Johansson discloses a tattoo device [12a, Fig. 1/12, Figs. 4a-b] comprising:
a machine section comprising a working end and a power receiving end on a side other than the working end [Annotated Fig. 4a], wherein the working end is configured to receive a needle or needle cartridge [70, 68, and 74, Fig. 4b] that facilitates tattooing a working surface [Par. 0039];
a power pack [power supply 14] configured to couple to the power receiving end of the machine section [Fig. 4b], wherein the power pack comprises:
a first section comprising a power interface [44] configured to couple to the power receiving end of the machine section [Par. 0036]; and
a second section [containing battery 46, See Fig. 4b] having a longitudinal axis that is parallel with and offset from a longitudinal axis of the first section and that extends along at least a portion of the machine section in a direction towards the working end [Annotated Figs. 4a/b below].
Johansson fails to teach the illuminating device.
However, Grosjean teaches, in a tattoo device, an illuminating device [10, Fig. 2] comprising an arm member [18] and a coupler [26], wherein a light emitter [16] is positioned at a distal end of the arm member [Fig. 2], and wherein the coupler is configured to removably [see Pars. 0004, and the installation of the device using clamps and clips, Pars. 0023-0024] which are removable couplings] couple the illuminating device to a power receiving end of the device [Pars. 0023-0025]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Johansson to add, to the tattoo machine of Johansson, an illuminating device as taught by Grosjean in order to provide a light source to illuminate a work area [Grosjean Par. 0003] and which is powered by the same power supply as the rest of the tattoo device [Grosjean Par. 0004]. Regarding the light emitter being coupled to a second section of the power pack, because the second section of Johansson is that containing the battery, in order to power the light from the tattoo device power source as taught by Grosjean, one of ordinary skill would reasonably be apprised of the benefits of coupling the light emitter to the second section as claimed.
Re. claim 2, Grosjean further teaches the distal end of the arm member is configured to direct light emanating from the light emitter at the working surface [Fig. 1, Par. 0003]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Johansson to direct light to the working surface in order to “provide optimal light to an area being tattooed” [Grosjean Par. 0009].
Re. claim 6, Grosjean further teaches the arm member comprises an articulating member [arm 18 is articulatable, see Figs. 1-2] coupled to the device, wherein the light emitter is positioned at a distal end of the articulating member [Fig. 1],. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Johansson to add a light emitter as taught by Grosjean in order to provide an articulating member to which the light source is attached, at a distal end, to light an area to be tattooed [Grosjean Par. 0008], “such light being able to be easily adjusted so as to provide optimal light to an area being tattooed” [Grosjean Par. 0009].
Re. claim 9. Johansson discloses the machine section comprises a gripping region that extends from a middle region of the machine section towards the working end of the machine section [Annotated Fig. 1], wherein the second section of the power pack extends up to about the middle region [Annotated Fig. 1] (“so as not to frustrate gripping of the machine section by a user” is the intended use/result, not given further patentable weight).
Annotated Fig. 1
Re. claim 14, Johansson discloses the power pack is configured to be releasably coupled to the power receiving end of the machine section [see Figs. 1-2, Par. 0038].
Re. claim 15, Grosjean further teaches the arm member is removably coupled to the power supply [Par. 0004]. Given this teaching, the illuminating device is inherently capable of being interchanged with a second illuminating device [i.e. a second, identical illuminating device when the first is damaged]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of the modified Johansson such that the arm member is removably coupled to the power supply as taught by Grosjean in order to allow the light source to be removed if it is not needed or to conserve battery power or make the device smaller/lighter. Re. the power supply being the battery pack, this is taught by the combined Johansson-Grosjean as set forth above.
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johansson in view of Grosjean, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wolf [DE 198 18 940 A1].
Re. claims 3-5, the modified Johansson teaches the apparatus as set forth above but fails to teach the arm member being rotatably and/or slidably coupled to the second section. However, Wolf teaches, in a lighting system for a tattoo device, having an arm member, the arm ember is slidably coupled [by clamp 3, Fig. 1; see claim 1] to a second section (to facilitate sliding…” is the intended use/result of the slidable coupling), and wherein the arm member is rotatably coupled [by claim 3, Fig. 1; see claim 1] to an end of the second section (“to facilitate rotation…” is the intended use, not given further patentable weight). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of the modified Johnasson to form the arm member to be both slidably and rotatably coupled to the second section in order to allow further adjustment of the illumination on the work surface.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johansson in view of Grosjean, as applied to claim 6, and further in view of Collias et al. [US 10226611 B1, hereinafter “Collias”].
Re. claim 7, the modified Johansson discloses the apparatus set forth above. As set forth above, Grosjean teaches the articulating member comprises an articulating housing, [18, Figs. 1-2] and a light source [16] but fails to teach the light pipe. However, Collias teaches, in a tattoo device having a light, an arm comprising a light pipe within an articulating housing [180, Fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 19-20], wherein the light pipe is configured to communicate light that is emitted from a light source within the power pack to the light emitter [Col. 4 lines 20-30]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the arm to have within the housing a light pipe to transmit light emitted from a light source within the power pack as taught by Collias because “providing light to the grip light 102 via a light pipe 180 reduces the manufacturing complexity, weight, and costs of the grip light 102,” [Collias Col. 7 lines 6-8].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johansson in view of Grosjean, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Nath et al. [US 2005/0254237, hereinafter “Nath”]
Re. claim 8, the modified Johansson discloses the apparatus set forth above but fails to teach a telescoping arm. However, Nath teaches, in an illuminating device, an arm member comprises a telescoping arm [14, Fig. 1, Par. 0025] and wherein the light emitter is positioned at a distal end of the telescoping arm [Fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of the modified Johansson to add a telescoping arm for the purpose of supporting and fixing the light beam in a desired direction [Nath Par. 0025]
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johansson in view of Grosjean, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Smith [US 2018/0177992 A1].
Re. claim 10, the modified Johansson discloses the apparatus set forth above but fails to teach an imager. However, Smith teaches, in a tattoo device with an arm member [4], the distal end of the arm member comprises an imager [camera 6] that facilitates capture of one or more images or video of the working surface [Par. 0003]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of the modified Johansson by adding an imager to the arm member, as taught by Smith, in order to record the tattoo process, which improves collaboration and comfort level during the tattooing process [Smith Par. 0005].
Re claim 11. Johansson discloses the power pack comprises a transceiver configured to communicate to a receiving device [Par. 0032. Note that the controller having a transceiver for communicating with the power supply means the power supply must inherently also have a transceiver]. Re. the transceiver configured to communicate the one or more images, given the above modification, it would have been obvious to have the transceiver of Johansson communicate the images captured by the camera taught by Smith in order to allow those images to be viewed by a user or client as intended.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johansson in view of Grosjean and Smith, as applied to claim 10, and further in view of Chan et al. [US 20140324089 A1, hereinafter “Chan.”].
Re. claim 12, the modified Johansson discloses the apparatus set forth above but fails to teach the removable data storage device. However, Chan teaches, in a tattoo device, a power pack is configured to receive a removable data storage device [Figs. 2A and 2C and Par. 0032]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of the modified Johansson to include a removable data storage device as taught by Chan in order to store data on the machine. Regarding the device configured to store the one or more images, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus above to allow this in order for the device to preserve the images collected.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johansson [US 2017/0021154 A1] in view of Grosjean.
Re. claim 13, the modified Johansson discloses the apparatus set forth above but fails to teach the microphone. However, Xiao teaches a tattoo device further comprising a microphone configured to capture audio content [Par. 0045]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of the modified Johansson to add a microphone in order to allow a user to use voice commands to operate the device [[Xiao Par. 0012]
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/6/26 have been fully considered. Upon further consideration, the application of Grosjean to claim 16 is found to have deficiencies and this rejection is therefore removed.
Re. claim 1, Applicant argues that Grosjean fails to teach the illuminating device reasonably being coupled to a second section of the power pack. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Grosjean discloses the illuminating device coupled to the power supply. Applicant cites Par. 0015, that the light is secured to the tattoo machine, as evidence. However, the securing means comprises two parts: electrical connectors 26 and second securing means 30. So a combination of Johansson and Grosjean would reasonably result in an arm being coupled at one part to the electrical supply. Grosjean, teaching a light apparatus which is an after-market apparatus attachable to a tattoo machine, teaches installing the device using clamps and clips [Pars. 0023-0024] which are removable structures.
It is suggested claim 1 be further amended to limit the type of coupling used to e.g. a plug type coupling or similar, as in Applicant’s Fig. 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the claim objection set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN MCGRATH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771