DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 - 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papciak et al. (5447699) in view of Steffen et al. (6254330).
Regarding claim 1, the Papciak et al. reference discloses a system for aseptically transferring components into a pharmaceutical isolator (16; Figure 1), the system comprising:
a transfer table having a table surface for supporting a bag containing the components;
a clamping bar (130) movably mounted to clamp down onto the bag; and
a decontamination connector (14) that is mountable in front of a filling port of the isolator: wherein the decontamination connector includes a spray nozzle that contains a decontamination agent and that opens into an interior space of the decontamination connector (see col. 2, lines 28-34). The Papciak et al. reference doesn’t disclose a transfer table being placed in front of the filling port of the isolator, such that a front end of the table surface is close to the filling port and a back end thereof is remote from the filling port: the clamping bar being movably mounted on the transfer table.
The Steffen et al. reference discloses another transfer system having a transfer table (227) being placed in front of the filling port (106) of the isolator, such that a front end of the table surface is close to the filling port and a back end thereof is remote from the filling port (see Figures 7 and 8; col. 6, line 54 – col. 7, line 6): a clamping bar (i.e., a pneumatic latch; col. 7, lines 31-46) movably mounted on the transfer table. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the Papciak et al. device to have a transfer table as, for example, taught by the Steffen et al. reference in order to aid in lifting and transferring material.
Regarding claim 2, the Steffen et al. reference further teaches a tilt mechanism (200) that is mounted on a frame that supports the transfer table and that allows the table surface to be selectively tilted between a horizontal position and a tilt position that creates an inclined surface down toward the front end of the table (see col. 7, lines 16-24).
Regarding claim 3, modified Papciak et al. discloses the invention (discussed supra), but doesn’t disclose a retainer bar that is movably mounted on the back end of the table so as to selectively hold a portion of the component section of the bag against the table. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide an additional retainer bar at the back end of the table, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papciak et al. (5447699), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Wang et al. (6581435).
Regarding claim 8, modified Papciak et al. disclose the invention (discussed supra), but doesn’t disclose a pressure sensor for sensing a prevailing pressure inside the decontamination connector; wherein the pressure sensor is linked to an electronic control and, while sensing the prevailing pressure, signals a drop in pressure if such does occur. The Wang et al. reference discloses a system having multiple sensors to monitor conditions within a pharmaceutical isolator (col. 14, lines 27-34) including a pressure sensor (116) to monitor pressure in a test chamber (108). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the Papciak et al. device to have a pressure sensor as, for example, taught by the Wang et al. reference in order to control the pressure within the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 – 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art of record, alone or in combination, teach:
Regarding claim 4, a ring seal on an outer circumference of the decontamination connector; and a clamping ring that is mounted on the decontamination connector and that is movable between a release position and a clamping position;
wherein, after the front section of the bag has been pushed over the ring seal and the decontamination connector, the clamping ring is movable into the clamping position, thereby holding the bag against the decontamination connector in a gas-tight manner.
Claim 5 is dependent upon claim 4.
Regarding claim 6, a cutter bar that is mounted on the front end of the transfer table and that is movable so as to cut across the bag to open the front end of the bag.
Claim 7 is dependent upon claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The Milla et al. (2023/0365282) reference discloses a high-pressure processing transfer system and tilting table (Figure 17).
The Bonerb (5685454) reference discloses another bag transfer system with tilting table (Figure 1).
The Nagler et al. (12420972) reference discloses a system for transferring material through an isolator with a tilting table (Figure 1).
/TIMOTHY L MAUST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753