Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 5 it should be clarified that the direction indicator is the geometric element because that’s only one of the options presented in claim 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-7 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arav (US 4,671,546). Arav discloses a fastener system comprising a bolt (21) insertable into a fastener hole (11, 13), a nut (19), and a directional washer (25). The directional washer comprising a body with first and second body surfaces (29 and 31 respectively); a direction-dependent element (27) associated with the washer body configured to be complementary to the nut when in contact with the nut (Fig. 3); a direction indicator (pointed to below) formed as a circumferential chamfer at the juncture of the first surface of the washer and an outer surface of the washer; the direction-dependent element is formed as a polymeric seal in the shape of an O-ring including portion within an inner surface of the washer (35) and axially beyond the first surface (“protrudes from the assembly” column 3, paragraph beginning line 27); and the seal would be capable to seal inside a counterbore of a nut.
Claims 1-2, 5-7 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Briles (US 3,550,498). Briles discloses a fastener system comprising a bolt (54) insertable into a fastener hole (64), a nut (15), and a directional washer (14,16). The directional washer comprising a washer body (14) with second and first body surfaces (32 and surface opposite (not labeled)); a direction-dependent element (16) associated with the washer body configured to be complementary to the nut when in contact with the nut (Fig. 2); a direction indicator formed as a protrusion (36) extending from the first washer body surface; the direction-dependent element is formed as a polymeric seal including first seal portion (46) coupled within an inner surface of the washer (34) and a seal second portion (44) axially beyond the first surface and within a nut counterbore when secured on the bolt.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arav or Briles as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Whitlock (US 9,802,715). Neither Arav nor Briles discloses the washer body having a dielectric coating. Whitlock discloses a washer body including a dielectric coating (Abstract). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the washer body of Arav and Briles with a dielectric coating as disclosed in Whitlock to protect against electromagnetic effects for improved resiliency to environmental corrosion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Berg (US 4,257,465) is cited to teach direction indicating protrusions. Blair (US 5,681,136) is cited to teach a washer with a direction indicating marking. The other references cited teach protruding sealing portions with a structure which can indicate direction.
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675