DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II, claims 4-15 in the reply filed on 10/01/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-3 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/01/2025.
Response to Amendment
Applicant amendment filed 10/01/2025 has been entered and is currently under consideration. Claims 1-15 remain pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, “putted” should read --put--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the... salt-sprayed glove”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 is further rendered indefinite because the claim recites the soaked glove. However, it is not clear whether the claim is referencing the glove soaked in step S7 or S9. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the claim has been interpreted to meant the soaked glove of step S7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 7-13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN115336828 with reference made to examiner provided machine translation) hereinafter Zhang in view of Zhang et al. (WO2018/049645) hereinafter D1, Flather et al. (US7771644) hereinafter Flather, Ye et al. (US2021/0330004) hereinafter Ye, Fujihana et al. (US2010/0050319) hereinafter Fujihana and Baris (US5822791).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches:
A rubber-dipped glove with wear-resistant fingers (Fig 1-2; ln 30-31), comprising a glove core and rubber-dipped layers (ln 30-31) comprising a finger rubber-dipped layer (ln 30-37) and a palm rubber-dipped layer (Fig 1-2: second dipping coating 1; ln 39-45), wherein the palm rubber-dipped layer is fixed on surfaces of the glove core and the finger rubber-dipped layer (ln 132-157), the finger rubber-dipped layer is embedded within knitting gaps of fingers of the glove core (ln 132-157), the finger rubber-dipped layer comprises a main rubber (ln 33-37; nitrile latex), sulfur (ln 33-37, ln 77-89), zinc oxide (ln 33-37, ln 77-89), an ultra-fast rubber vulcanization accelerator (ln 33-37, ln 77-89; zinc diethyl dithiocarbamate), a peroxide decomposer (ln 33-37, ln 77-89; zinc dibutyl dithiocarbamate), a wetting agent (ln 33-37, ln 77-89; dispersant) and an alkali swelling thickener (ln 33-37, ln 77-92; sodium carboxymethylcellulose), and the palm rubber-dipped layer comprises a main rubber (ln 39-45; nitrile latex), sulfur (ln 39-45, ln 77-89), zinc oxide (ln 39-45, ln 77-89), an ultra-fast rubber vulcanization accelerator (ln 39-45, ln 77-89; zinc diethyl dithiocarbamate), titanium dioxide (ln 39-45, ln 77-89), an anionic surfactant (ln 39-45, ln 63-65), a vulcanization activator (ln 39-45, ln 77-89; zinc oxide) and an emulsifier (ln 39-45, ln 77-92; sodium carboxymethylcellulose).
Zhang further teaches:
A method for producing the rubber-dipped glove with wear-resistant fingers (ln 159-262), the method for producing the rubber-dipped glove with wear-resistant fingers comprising the following steps:
S1, preparing a rubber material of the finger rubber-dipped layer: the main rubber, the sulfur, the zinc oxide, the ultra-fast rubber vulcanization accelerator, the peroxide decomposer, the wetting agent and the alkali swelling thickener are mixed in set proportions and dispersed uniformly (ln 33-37, ln 77-89, 164-166; see mapping of finger rubber dipped layer above);
S2, preparing a rubber material of the palm rubber-dipped layer: the main rubber, the sulfur, the zinc oxide, the ultra-fast rubber vulcanization accelerator, the titanium dioxide, the white carbon black, the anionic surfactant, the vulcanization activator and the emulsifier are mixed in set proportions and dispersed uniformly (ln 39-45, ln 63-65, 77-89, 170-173; see mapping of palm rubber dipped layer above);
S3, mold sleeving (ln 183-184);
S4, rubber-dipping of glove fingers: the fingers of the glove core are first dipped in a coagulator, and then dipped in the finger rubber material prepared in S1 (ln 198-199);
S5, drying treatment (ln 195-196);
S6, glove dipping: the glove with the fingers dipped with the finger rubber-dipped layer in whole is dipped in the palm rubber material prepared in S2 (ln 198-199);
S8, preheating (ln 211);
S9, soaking and washing (ln 213-215); and
S10, ripening: the soaked and washed glove is dried, and after drying, the rubber-dipped glove with wear-resistant fingers is obtained (ln 217-219).
Zhang does not teach the palm rubber-dipped layer comprises white carbon black.
In the same field of endeavor regarding glove production, D1 teaches latex gloves having white carbon black for the motivation of providing reinforcement to the rubber (p 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the palm rubber-dipped layer as taught by Zhang to include white carbon black as taught by D1 in order to provide reinforcement to the rubber.
Zhang in view of D1 does not teach
S4, the fingers of the glove core are air dried after dipping in a coagulator followed by dripping of the excess rubber material and,
S6, the glove with the fingers dipped with the finger rubber-dipped layer in whole is first dipped in a coagulator, air dried, followed by dripping of the excess rubber material.
In the same field of endeavor regarding glove production, Flather teaches applying a coagulant dip for each layer of dipped rubber (col 4, ln 10-13) and air drying after dipping in a coagulator (col 6, ln 23-25) followed by dripping of the excess rubber material (col 6, ln 45-47, 52-55) for the motivation of reaching the desired degree of thickness and flexibility (col 4, ln 10-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method as taught by Zhang in view of D1 to include coagulant dips for each rubber layer and drying and dripping as taught by Flather in order to reach the desired degree of thickness and flexibility.
Zhang in view of D1 and Flather does not teach S5, is an oven drying treatment. Zhang teaches drying treatment, but is silent as to the specific method. Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to look to other methods of drying treatments in the art.
Flather teaches an oven drying treatment (col 4, ln 14-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have tried oven drying as taught by Flather for the drying treatment as taught by Zhang in view of D1 and Flather and there would be a reasonable expectation of success since Zhang and Flather teaches drying of rubber layers.
Flather further teaches applying a coagulant dip for each layer. Zhang further teaches applying a third layer of rubber (ln 204-205). Therefore it would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art that the prior art teaches S7, soaking.
Zhang in view of D1 and Flather does not teach shaking the hand mold to make the dipping rubber material even.
In the same field of endeavor regarding glove production, Ye teaches shaking the rubber coated glove for the motivation of reducing the thickness of the coating ([0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught by Zhang in view of D1 and Flather with the shaking as taught by Ye in order to reduce the thickness of the coating.
Zhang in view of D1, Flather, and Ye does not teach the finger rubber material having a viscosity of 100-200 mpa.s.
In the same field of endeavor regarding glove production, Fujihana teaches a coating material having a viscosity that overlaps with the claimed range for the motivation of preventing generation of pinholes and maintaining porosity and flexibility of the coating ([0045]).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05.
Since overlapping ranges are evidence of prima facie obviousness, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have chosen the portion of the finger rubber material viscosity as taught by Fujihana that overlaps with the claimed range in order to prevent generation of pinholes and maintain porosity and flexibility of the coating.
Zhang in view of D1, Flather, Ye, and Fujihana does not teach S10, the soaked and washed glove is oven dried at a low temperature and then at a high temperature.
In the same field of endeavor regarding glove production, Baris teaches a drying step after a water bath comprising two heating steps at different temperatures for the motivation of preventing blistering (col 7, ln 1-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the drying step as taught by Zhang in view of D1, Flather, Ye, and Fujihana with the two step heating as taught by Baris in order to prevent blistering.
Ye further teaches that drying and curing can occur in the same oven ([0042]).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang in view of D1, Flather, Ye, Fujihana, and Baris teaches the method of claim 4.
Zhang further teaches wherein in S1, the main rubber is one of nitrile rubbers, water-based PU resins, and water-based butyl latexes (ln 33-37); the ultra-fast rubber vulcanization accelerator is zinc diethyl dithiocarbamate (ln 33-37, ln 77-89); the peroxide decomposer is zinc dibutyl dithiocarbamate (ln 33-37, ln 77-89); the wetting agent is one of alkyl sulfates, sulfonates, fatty acids or fatty acid ester sulfates, carboxylic acid soaps, and phosphates, or a mixture thereof (ln 33-37, ln 77-89; dispersant); and the alkali swelling thickener is one of hydrophobically modified soluble acrylic emulsions, hydrophobically modified cellulose ethers, and nonionic polyurethanes (ln 33-37, ln 77-92; sodium carboxymethylcellulose).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang in view of D1, Flather, Ye, Fujihana, and Baris teaches the method of claim 4.
Zhang further teaches wherein in S3, the mold sleeving is performed as follows: the glove core is first sleeved on the hand mold (ln 183-184), and then the glove core on the hand mold is preheated, where a temperature for preheating is controlled at 40-50°C (ln 186-187, ln 354).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang in view of D1, Flather, Ye, Fujihana, and Baris teaches the method of claim 4.
Zhang further teaches wherein in S4, the coagulator is one of a calcium nitrate-methanol solution with a concentration of 0.5-2%, and a glacial acetic acid-methanol solution with a concentration of 1.5-3% (ln 223-226, ln 356-357).
Flather further teaches a time for air drying that overlaps with the claimed range (col 6, ln 23-25).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05.
Since overlapping ranges are evidence of prima facie obviousness, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have chosen the portion of the drying time as taught by Flather that overlaps with the claimed range.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang in view of D1, Flather, Ye, Fujihana, and Baris teaches the method of claim 4.
Flather further teaches an oven drying treatment (col 4, ln 14-17).
Zhang further teaches wherein in S5, where a temperature for oven drying is controlled at 40-60°C (ln 195-196, ln 362).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang in view of D1, Flather, Ye, Fujihana, and Baris teaches the method of claim 4.
Flather further teaches applying a coagulator for each layer of material (col 4, ln 10-13).
Zhang further teaches a coagulator is one of a calcium nitrate-methanol solution with a concentration of 1-3%, and a glacial acetic acid-methanol solution with a concentration of 2-5% (ln 223-226, ln 356-357).
Flather further teaches a time for air drying that overlaps with the claimed range (col 6, ln 23-25).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05.
Since overlapping ranges are evidence of prima facie obviousness, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have chosen the portion of the drying time as taught by Flather that overlaps with the claimed range.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang in view of D1, Flather, Ye, Fujihana, and Baris teaches the method of claim 4.
Zhang further teaches wherein in S6, the glove with the fingers dipped with the finger rubber-dipped layer is dipped at the following position: a palm surface alone of the glove, a palm surface and a portion of a hand back of the glove, or the entire glove (Fig 1-2; ln 148-149).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang in view of D1, Flather, Ye, Fujihana, and Baris teaches the method of claim 4.
Flather further teaches applying a coagulator for each layer of material (col 4, ln 10-13).
Zhang further teaches a third layer dip (ln 204-205) and a coagulator comprising an acid-methanol solution (ln 233-236).
Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the prior art teaches wherein in S7, the soaking is performed as follows: the glove dipped with the finger rubber-dipped layer and the palm rubber-dipped layer is immersed in an acid-methanol solution for soaking, and after soaking, the glove is salt-sprayed or left untreated.
Zhang further teaches a range of values for the concentration of the acid-methanol solution that overlaps with the claimed range (ln 233-236).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05.
Since overlapping ranges are evidence of prima facie obviousness, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have chosen the portion of the concentration of the acid-methanol solution as taught by Zhang that overlaps with the claimed range.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang in view of D1, Flather, Ye, Fujihana, and Baris teaches the method of claim 4.
Zhang further teaches wherein in S8, the preheating is performed as follows: the soaked or salt-sprayed glove is putted into an oven for curing, where a temperature for curing is controlled at 65-75°C, and a time for curing is 15-40 minutes (ln 211, ln 452).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang in view of D1, Flather, Ye, Fujihana, and Baris teaches the method of claim 4.
Baris teaches a two-step heating for drying and vulcanization (col 7, ln 1-7).
Ye further teaches a temperature for low-temperature oven drying is 60-80°C and a time for low-temperature oven drying is 20-40 minutes ([0041]; Ye teaches heating after a wash at 70°C for 20 minutes prior to a further heating step).
Baris further teaches wherein in S10, a range of values for the temperature for high-temperature oven drying, and range of values for the time for high-temperature oven drying that overlaps or is close to the claimed ranges (col 7, ln 1-7).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP 2144.05.
Since overlapping and close ranges are evidence of prima facie obviousness, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have chosen the temperature and time for high-temperature oven drying as taught by Baris that overlaps with or is close to the claimed range.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of D1, Flather, Ye, Fujihana, and Baris as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Weih et al. (US5496884) hereinafter Weih and Ye et al. (US2012/0041130) hereinafter D2.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang in view of D1, Flather, Ye, Fujihana, and Baris teaches the method of claim 4.
Zhang further teaches wherein in S2, the main rubber is one of nitrile rubbers, water-based PU resins, and water-based butyl latexes (ln 39-45); the ultra-fast rubber vulcanization accelerator is zinc diethyl dithiocarbamate (ln 39-45, ln 77-89); and the emulsifier is sodium carboxymethylcellulose (ln 39-45, ln 77-92).
Zhang in view of D1, Flather, Ye, Fujihana, and Baris does not teach the anionic surfactant is Turkish red oil and the vulcanization activator is triethanolamine.
In the same field of endeavor regarding latex formation, Weih teaches that Turkish red oil is a suitable anionic surfactant for forming latex compositions.
Zhang teaches forming latex compositions (ln 33-37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the anionic surfactant as taught by Zhang in view of D1, Flather, Ye, Fujihana, and Baris with the Turkish red oil as taught by Weih and the results would have been predictable since the prior art references teach using anionic surfactants in the formation of latex compositions.
Zhang in view of D1, Flather, Ye, Fujihana, Baris, and Weih does not teach the vulcanization activator is triethanolamine.
Zhang teach an active agent, but is silent as to the specific composition. Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to other activators in the field of glove production.
In the same field of endeavor regarding glove production, D2 teaches triethanolamine as a suitable activator in glove production ([0022, 0044-0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have tried the triethanolamine as taught by D2 for the active agent as taught by Zhang in view of D1, Flather, Ye, Fujihana, Baris, and Weih and there would be a reasonable expectation of success since the prior art references teaches using activators in the production of gloves.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of D1, Flather, Ye, Fujihana, and Baris as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Sandakelum et al. (US2018/0148892) hereinafter Sandakelum.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang in view of D1, Flather, Ye, Fujihana, and Baris teaches the method of claim 4.
Zhang further teaches wherein in S9, the soaking and washing is performed as follows: the cured glove is soaked and washed in water (ln 379).
Zhang in view of D1, Flather, Ye, Fujihana, and Baris does not teach the cured glove is soaked and washed in warm water at 40-60°C, where a time for soaking and washing is 0.5-1 hour.
In the same field of endeavor regarding glove production, Sandakelum teaches soaking and washing in warm water at 40-60°C, where a time for soaking and washing is 0.5-1 hour to form a glove ([0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the soaking and washing step as taught by Zhang in view of D1, Flather, Ye, Fujihana, and Baris with the soaking and washing step as taught by Sandakelum and the results would have been predictable since the prior art references teach soaking and washing to form a glove.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER A WANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741